jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 (edited) Hello...My fren has a question, so am thinking to post it here if anyone is aware of an answer... should flooring be done first or electrical works be done first?per some ppl, they manage to hide the wiring under the floor in order not to see the long boxes all over the wall. However, some contractor says its against the HDB rules. is it true? and seeing all those boxes all over the wall - no nice leh...Hey soudezne,like dat then by concealing e wires in e wall, 'bdh' oleady go against their own rules? frm ur posting, u oleady noe ur ans 2 ur qns. If no major shifting of elect pts 2 e opp side, then can proceed,(1) Wet works - lay flooring.If got shifting of elect pts 2 e opp side, then can proceed,(1) frm e ext'g pts to e new pts, laid a conduit & run wires in it, then lay flooring, cover-up e ext'g pts.or(2) wet works - lay flooring. run e wires in trunking (expose), along e skirting/ on wall/ceiling.There is no right or wrong, jus preference of methods.Below is e hdb general reno guidelines link, fyi & necessary actions ->HDB Flat General Renovation GuidelinesBelow is e hdb electrical reno guidelines link, fyi & necessary actions ->HDB Flat Electrical Renovation Guidelines Edited February 10, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yeoman 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Yo gadgetman,Your living room looks nice. May i know how much did you pay foryour renovation? if not convenient to post here, can you pm me.Thanks. Dun wana get "tock" by my ID.. my quotation so far already$45k... Hope to visit some of my neighbours hse too over the weekend.anyone organising any "open house" . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mrs_Png 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Not sure about the HDB rules, although hiding the cable boxes look nice, but it would be a problem if there is any electrical line fault.. then you need to hack the floor?Anyway just my opinion..Hi Redwyrm,The wire will be in a plastic cover, you should take note that the electrician put a longer cover so that the cement will not go into the plastic cover. if next time there is problem, jus remove one tile, and pull the wire can le... Hey Gadgetman, Your pictures are nice... like your foyer area.... is that build-in-shoe cabinet? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Hey Happy!,las time hor, (mayb abt 10yrs ago), homo tiles all came from western countries like Italy etc, very X. Ceramic tiles came frm neighbouring countries like M'sia & China etc. Much cheaper.Nowadays hor, homo tiles mostly import frm China. We do have some imports frm western countries like Italy. But e price is on e higher side. e quality wise, its e same for both. So if its of e same quality, y stil choose e 1 which is much higher in price?(i heard frm contractors & IDs 1) Abt e fees ->1) Haulage fees payable to e Term Contractor dnstr e blk ($800-$1000). (Carry 'things' up for u)2) Town Council fees (<$200). (Provided a collection tank near e rubbish bin ctr, for u 2 throw reno debris)3) Fees for Clearing of Debris. Gota check with ID/contractor whether izit included in ur reno quotation.Hi Happy,Homo tiles can be tricky cos they dun come in the same shape therefore might feel a bit of uneveness when the tiles are laid. For me quite suay the batch I selected not too good so some portion a bit uneven but to me still ok lah. My sis who is doing her reno selected homo tiles too but her batch is better so the uneveness is very minimal. best is to check with ur ID which tiles he had used before and if there is any uneveness problem with the tiles. That is the only way to minimize the risk of having uneven tiles. I guess for the price we are paying for the china made homo tiles, that is the problem we got to bear with.As for haulage fees, a notice had been put up on blk 79C lift lobby saying how much haulage and debris fees to pay. Haulage is paid to the contractor. 5 room flat is $1100. Debris fees is paid to town council. 5 room flat is $187. If ur ID charges u another debris fee on top of the mentioned amount, then better get him to knock the amound off from the quote. Essentially they will be using hdb contractors for the haulage and debris so u will be paying extra if u need to pay to the ID.Be patient with choosing ur ID/ Project manager. We took 2 months to decide on my ID/ contractor and so far no regrets. So dun rush into it. get one both u and ur spouse is comfortable with. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coco_mybibi 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 (edited) I am rather confused over the haulage and debris fees. Our ID will have their own contractors. Aren't their contractors going to carry and clear away the debris? The haulage and debris fee supposed to be included or not in the quote? Edited January 29, 2008 by coco_mybibi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 I am rather confused over the haulage and debris fees. Our ID will have their own contractors. Aren't their contractors going to carry and clear away the debris? The haulage and debris fee supposed to be included or not in the quote?Hi Coco Mybibi,No our contractors do not clear the rubbish. Their practise of (as per my contractor and my neighbours' contractor) is that all rubbish arising from the renovation is placed on the corridor. The HDB contractor are supposed to clear the rubbish. To-date, I will say the HDB contractor had not been doing their job... my corridor is full of rubbish which had not been cleared like for 1 month already.As for the charging, it all depends. My initial quote does not contain the haulage and debris fees because at that time, my contractor did not know the amount. However in the contract, it was specified that these items are to be billed as charged and a VO will be issued for the amount. At that time, HDB had not put the haulage and debris fees on the lobby. Now we noe how much it is and do note that 4 room and 5 room will have different haulage and debris fees. If you are still unsure the of amount, suggest u check out at Blk 79C lift lobby.So, for neighbours who are still doing renovation, take note that your hualage and debris fees should not exceed $1,287.5 ($1100 + 187.5) for 5 room flats. 4 room flats should be lower than that by about $200 to $300.Good luck with your renovation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coco_mybibi 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Hi M&M,Thanks for your clear explaination. I get the picture now. My ID did include the haulage fee in the quote but it is lower than the amount you mentioned. So he will absorb the remainder... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Hi M&M,Thanks for your clear explaination. I get the picture now. My ID did include the haulage fee in the quote but it is lower than the amount you mentioned. So he will absorb the remainder...Hi Coco,that is good for you Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Yo gadgetman,Your living room looks nice. May i know how much did you pay foryour renovation? if not convenient to post here, can you pm me.Thanks. Dun wana get "tock" by my ID.. my quotation so far already$45k... !! Hope to visit some of my neighbours hse too over the weekend.anyone organising any "open house" . Yo Yeo! Check yr PM! Cheers!Hey Gadgetman, Your pictures are nice... like your foyer area.... is that build-in-shoe cabinet?Hi Mrs Png,Thanks for your kind comments...the pictures probably look better than the real thing cos they are soooo small! There are two drawers below the front settee that are used to hold our misc junk now...I suppose they can be used to contain shoes too...but that will have to wait till CNY is over when we have some real time to unpack! The dining settee also has concealed storage underneath....cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Hi Coco,that is good for you Hi M&M and Jo,Thanks for letting us view your very beautiful and awesome homes yesterday...sorry we got to rush off earlier. But we really enjoyed the sharing and company! Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shercjw 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 yay yay!! I got the loan letter liao.... finally my turn... hope to get the key after CNY.... btw that day i tried to sneak in to Blk A and the guy told me that wed then they will pass the key to HDB... and they will open up the area.....so no more sneaking in to look at out flats le.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 (edited) yay yay!! I got the loan letter liao.... finally my turn... hope to get the key after CNY.... btw that day i tried to sneak in to Blk A and the guy told me that wed then they will pass the key to HDB... and they will open up the area.....so no more sneaking in to look at out flats le.... Hi Shercjw,Thanks for the update... will be going to Blk A next week.. Edited January 29, 2008 by Redwyrm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 yay yay!! I got the loan letter liao.... finally my turn... hope to get the key after CNY.... btw that day i tried to sneak in to Blk A and the guy told me that wed then they will pass the key to HDB... and they will open up the area.....so no more sneaking in to look at out flats le.... !!i can hear my keys ringing already....finally.... Hi allJuz moved in over the weekend. Very angry with my ID. Some neighbours should know what I'm talking abt.Today carpenter came to follow up on the outstanding work without setting up appt w me. Told them to inform me if they are coming today so I can take leave, and they didn't. Now have to rushed home b'cos they juz dropped by. So for those considering my ID, forget it. For those already signed with him, if you are not rushing, then should be no problem. Good luck !I will share the problems when I have the chance.alister...dun angry lah...think of the positive side that u will have a beautiful home soon...i also dunno if my reno will end up like yours...but since the choice was made, just pray that everything will go through smoothly...but then again, getting a 'popular' ID maybe is like that??? they are always having so many projects on hand... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Happy! 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 SUMMIT DESIGNthinking about using this ID but dunno if good....here is the quote for your reference wooo...there is a cheaper one called Yikai 1 Design consultation & space planning 2 Design proposal & prespective drawings 3 Selection of colour, material & accessories , decoration advice 4 Site co-ordination & supervision 5 Submisson of Permit A MASONRY WORKS 1 Supply materials & labour to lay 600x600 homogeneous floor China $2,107.00 tiles ****/Dining area (Tiles up to $2.80) 2 Supply materials & labour to lay 600x600 homogeneous floor China $2,639.00 tiles at all bedrooms (Tiles up to $2.80) 3 Supply & construct 01 no of Kitchen cabinet base $240.00B WINDOW GRILLE 1 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille **** $232.002 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Bedroom 2 $116.003 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Bedroom 3 $116.004 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Master bedroom $116.005 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Kitchen $203.00C SHOWER SCREEN 1 Supply & install 02 no 10mm Frameless Tempered glass c/w swing door $960.00 (Ht 6ft & width is wall to wall) E PLUMBING WORK (OWNER SUPPLY FITTING) 1 Supply & install new Stainless steel piping for Sink & W.machine $180.002 Supply labour to install 01 nos of Kitchen sink Just labour only $60.003 Supply labour to install Sink Tap fitting $30.004 Supply labour to install 02 no Accessories & mirror $60.00F KITCHEN CABINET 1 Design & fabricate kitchen cabinet complete with : $2,950.00a doors in seleted laminate finish and ABS trimmings b 14ft bottom cabinet internal carcass in white pvc finish c 01 nos of Aluminium frames with sandblasted glass door d s/s dish rack (Design will be out to you when you sign up the contract) G SOLID SURFACE 1 Supply & install solid surface top at kitchen approx 14ft $980.00H CLEANING WORK 1 Clearing of debris, haulage & uploading of sand $380.002 Supply & lay corrugated paper for whole house flooring F.O.C3 Provide chemical washing for whole house flooring F.O.CI LIGHTING 1 Supply labour to fix lighting ($12 per light point) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 (edited) SUMMIT DESIGNthinking about using this ID but dunno if good....here is the quote for your reference wooo...there is a cheaper one called Yikai 1 Design consultation & space planning 2 Design proposal & prespective drawings 3 Selection of colour, material & accessories , decoration advice 4 Site co-ordination & supervision 5 Submisson of Permit A MASONRY WORKS 1 Supply materials & labour to lay 600x600 homogeneous floor China $2,107.00 tiles ****/Dining area (Tiles up to $2.80) 2 Supply materials & labour to lay 600x600 homogeneous floor China $2,639.00 tiles at all bedrooms (Tiles up to $2.80) 3 Supply & construct 01 no of Kitchen cabinet base $240.00B WINDOW GRILLE 1 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille **** $232.002 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Bedroom 2 $116.003 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Bedroom 3 $116.004 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Master bedroom $116.005 Supply & install powder coated aluminium grille at Kitchen $203.00C SHOWER SCREEN 1 Supply & install 02 no 10mm Frameless Tempered glass c/w swing door $960.00 (Ht 6ft & width is wall to wall) E PLUMBING WORK (OWNER SUPPLY FITTING) 1 Supply & install new Stainless steel piping for Sink & W.machine $180.002 Supply labour to install 01 nos of Kitchen sink Just labour only $60.003 Supply labour to install Sink Tap fitting $30.004 Supply labour to install 02 no Accessories & mirror $60.00F KITCHEN CABINET 1 Design & fabricate kitchen cabinet complete with : $2,950.00a doors in seleted laminate finish and ABS trimmings b 14ft bottom cabinet internal carcass in white pvc finish c 01 nos of Aluminium frames with sandblasted glass door d s/s dish rack (Design will be out to you when you sign up the contract) G SOLID SURFACE 1 Supply & install solid surface top at kitchen approx 14ft $980.00H CLEANING WORK 1 Clearing of debris, haulage & uploading of sand $380.002 Supply & lay corrugated paper for whole house flooring F.O.C3 Provide chemical washing for whole house flooring F.O.CI LIGHTING 1 Supply labour to fix lighting ($12 per light point)Hey Happy!,wat's ur doubt Personally, i feel dat;- e items r clearly listed out in e quotation.- e pricing r reasonable.- e labour for light installation, mayb can negotiate to $10/pt. Jus dat u gota;- double-check item H1 with e ID.2 mi $380 to buy cement & sand from e Term Contractor (for tile base) for whole unit, its kinda cheap.but if on-top of dis $380, u stil gota pay e Term Contractor Haulage Fees of $800 -$1100, then its expensive liao. - double-check e clause (Tiles up to $2.80) with e ID.cos $2.80 tile is e cheapest tile. once u select a much nicer tile (mayb $3.50), wil e new quote for the flooring increase? !! Edited January 29, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites