meepok 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Hi Meepok,For the defects rectification, good to find some ways to place your markings so that u noe where are the defects. Previously I used masking tape and after the rectification, all the tapes are removed. So me and my poor wife got to verify everything again. On the 2nd verification, we took photos. However might not be too practical if the 1st round has a lot of defects. I have no good suggestions to offer at the moment. perhaps more season neighbours here can advise? My only suggestion is to use a notebook to track. U can give each wall/ floor a reference and then use letters for the rows and then use numerals for the tiles (hee just a personal suggestion dunno if it works Thanks M&M... points noted. Will bring along camera & notebook to record down any defects.hi meepok, welcome to the forum.Juz to clear a misconception that doing laminate is more expensive. It is wrong. Homo tiles are infact more expensive than laminates. When u do laminates, HDB carries out cement screeding for u FOC. If you do homo tiles, u bear the cost of the cement.U can check by asking ur ID to quote homo tiles for living room & laminates for ur bedrooms. Divide out to get the cost per square feet.Also, I'm doing up my whole flat with budget of 30k, no need 40k. If u really have tight budget & u already hv an idea of what u want, look for contractor instead of ID as u pay for ID fees as well. The downside is u have to co-ordinate everything urself instead of leaving it to ID.Thanks for the advice alister! We'll probably get quotes for both flooring types and decide... any downside to laminates you know of? Like water spills, termites and stuff? I know for definite that parquet is out of our list.So far so good for your ID? Will be going down IMM tomorrow to check out some of the IDs there first. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
josephine 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Yupz ill be there at 1130am? wanna check out the rest too. see ya all then! =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 My flooring has gone thru 1st acid wash, now it doesn't look like war zone anymore. Feel free to drop by as I enjoy talking to neighbours.I will also go hopping to Ms White, Crispy, Josephine's hse (if I can get them) as well, so if my door is lock, do wait for me. Else give me a call on my mobile. Juz a note, appreciate u take out ur shoes if u drop by my hse.Thanks and happy holidays !Hi CarelinwenU activate ur electricity & water on the day u collect ur keys. One of the steps when u collect ur keys will be to open an account with PUB b4 the HDB officer pass the keys to u. If u don't use the electricity & water, u can turn them off as u are given the keys to the meter.Not sure if I'm correct but I was told by the HDB officer the other day that PUB will still charge you a minimum of $10 per month even if you have no water usage charge, true???Cos I didn't turn on both power and water on key collection day since reno won't be starting so soon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Thanks M&M... points noted. Will bring along camera & notebook to record down any defects.Thanks for the advice alister! We'll probably get quotes for both flooring types and decide... any downside to laminates you know of? Like water spills, termites and stuff? I know for definite that parquet is out of our list.So far so good for your ID? Will be going down IMM tomorrow to check out some of the IDs there first.There's two faces to every coin. For laminate, u have to worry abt water and wrapping. But if u do not let the water stay too long in one spot (wipe dry), it shld be ok. Mostly use in bedrooms. I was thinking of using in living room but gave out on that idea b'cos I have a kid. I juz can't imaging my kid spilling curry at the dining table & us rushing to clean it up.But laminate gives a cosy feeling & all condos uses them. Dun think need to worry too much, else no one should be using it. No worrys on termites as all laminates are treated.For homo tiles, it makes the space looks bigger. Bad side is looks cold and if have water, might slip. So mostly use for living room.Not sure if I'm correct but I was told by the HDB officer the other day that PUB will still charge you a minimum of $10 per month even if you have no water usage charge, true???Cos I didn't turn on both power and water on key collection day since reno won't be starting so soon.I am taking a look at my current SP services invoice. Has the following components.Electricty services - no charge if no usageWater services - no charge if no usageRefuse removal (by 800 super waste mgt p/l) - I think this is the charge u are talking abt. Current is $4.50 for me at old TPY flat Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chrispy 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 My flooring has gone thru 1st acid wash, now it doesn't look like war zone anymore. Feel free to drop by as I enjoy talking to neighbours.I will also go hopping to Ms White, Crispy, Josephine's hse (if I can get them) as well, so if my door is lock, do wait for me. Else give me a call on my mobile. Juz a note, appreciate u take out ur shoes if u drop by my hse.Thanks and happy holidays !Hi CarelinwenU activate ur electricity & water on the day u collect ur keys. One of the steps when u collect ur keys will be to open an account with PUB b4 the HDB officer pass the keys to u. If u don't use the electricity & water, u can turn them off as u are given the keys to the meter.Orrh...can turn off then okay..can't imagine if you activate liao but cannot off mains then if one switch forgot to off after checking or taps not tight... then few days no one knows. *$$ fly*I will also pop by your place if free then, you sprayed yr common toilet right? I want to see effect good or not. Hee... i haven't seen Crispy's nor Jo's place yet too.is chrispy... !! welcome all new neighbours! ytd is my company D&D now still got some hangover... but only can reach my unit at ard 1pm+alister if today i cant meet u today... weekend k... sry.... really jialet now cant even talk no voice.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 is chrispy... !! welcome all new neighbours! ytd is my company D&D now still got some hangover... but only can reach my unit at ard 1pm+alister if today i cant meet u today... weekend k... sry.... really jialet now cant even talk no voice.... hi all,I just receive a bad news from HDB that my hacking requires a P.E endorsement. Anyone has experience in finding a P.E and how much did P.E cost you? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chrispy 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 hi all,I just receive a bad news from HDB that my hacking requires a P.E endorsement. Anyone has experience in finding a P.E and how much did P.E cost you?i think is a procedure to have a P.E endorsement when u are hacking the wall... think if u read the previous thread u can find the cost also.sry i nv hack wall so cannot tell u how much... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 Hi 79 kakis,Anyone here from 79A know when will we be getting the keys?.. sorry if i seems impatient.. hmm.. seems like no one is from 79A.. anyway Happy Holidays!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 hmm.. seems like no one is from 79A.. anyway Happy Holidays! !! it's not nobody from blk A, it's just that nobody knows when we are taking keys...i also wait for very long already... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 it's not nobody from blk A, it's just that nobody knows when we are taking keys...i also wait for very long already... Hi Hi sushibabe, so you also from blk A. I been there a few times but they still have not bring down the fences. Once it's down, would want to go there and see see look look.. hehe.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rachel79 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 Hi Hi sushibabe, so you also from blk A. I been there a few times but they still have not bring down the fences. Once it's down, would want to go there and see see look look.. hehe..Hi RedwyrmI am from 79A too, I did manage to sneak in to 6th level last weekend.All doors are not locked yet and they had just washed the common corridor floor.I saw a notice on the ground floor lift stated as followed:BLK 79A1st BIT INSPECTION3 JAN 08, 4 JAN 08 & 7 JAN 082nd BIT INSPECTION14 JAN 08, 15 JAN 08DEFECTS CLOSE UP18 JAN 08BTD AUDIT21 JAN 08So my guessing the loan letter will be end of Jan 2008 once the building was handled over to HDB after final Audit.Key collection will be starting after CNY or earlier March 2008.So all 79A neighbours will have to wait long long and don't have to rush the reno work.Start spring cleaning of the old flat and prepare CNY. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 hi all,I just receive a bad news from HDB that my hacking requires a P.E endorsement. Anyone has experience in finding a P.E and how much did P.E cost you?Engaging a P.E cost $500. The contractor will find the P.E for you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
a_star 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 Thanks for the info bro! Just out of curiosity... have u completed your reno?Hi meepok,Still waiting for my keys lah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 Hi RedwyrmI am from 79A too, I did manage to sneak in to 6th level last weekend.All doors are not locked yet and they had just washed the common corridor floor.I saw a notice on the ground floor lift stated as followed:BLK 79A1st BIT INSPECTION3 JAN 08, 4 JAN 08 & 7 JAN 082nd BIT INSPECTION14 JAN 08, 15 JAN 08DEFECTS CLOSE UP18 JAN 08BTD AUDIT21 JAN 08So my guessing the loan letter will be end of Jan 2008 once the building was handled over to HDB after final Audit.Key collection will be starting after CNY or earlier March 2008.So all 79A neighbours will have to wait long long and don't have to rush the reno work.Start spring cleaning of the old flat and prepare CNY.Hi Rachel79, for the great info. At least now we roughly know the estimate time when we going to collect the keys. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted December 20, 2007 (edited) Not sure if I'm correct but I was told by the HDB officer the other day that PUB will still charge you a minimum of $10 per month even if you have no water usage charge, true???Cos I didn't turn on both power and water on key collection day since reno won't be starting so soon.Hi Meepok,I had been paying $10 for the past 2 months. The $10 is for the following:Refuse collection - $4Sanitary appliance fee - $6 Edited December 20, 2007 by M&M Share this post Link to post Share on other sites