droplets 0 Report post Posted December 10, 2007 ewww.... I left my lock outside just now. I must have been lucky man.I will be using homo for my living room (sobsob - if I had my way, it would have been parquet)yeah, my ID says some types have a higher tendency to cause unevenness. Droplets, am not sure the cause of your unevenness, what did your ID say?ID says tat so far no problem leh.. dunno how come my batch has this issue. Maybe i'm the "lucky" ones lor !! Anyway i've request for a changed of tiles... hope this batch turns up well.. Hey, i agree with u. But we olso mus play our part. Yes, its e hse mover sticker, red color 1. Mine olso stil got stain. **** irritated. Dunoe izit consider vandalism? Tot wana cal up e tel no. on e sticker & screw them upside-dn. Or maybe ask them 2 cleanup for mi. Hey, u got PM. Hey, its very nice of yor contractor to warn u. Gota b kiasu/kiasi for us inexperience neighbors in future. For mi, i heard a grp of younsters hanging arnd on e high flrs in either blk D or E. (4goten). Wat do u mean by uneven?(1) e tile surface is not 100% flat (wavy)? or(2) e joint between e tiles? Tiles not leveled? !!The tiles are not leveled! It is due to the cutting of the edges and it is very obvious leh. Anyway, the new tiles will be up tomorrow. M&M, thanks for showing me your house... What a small world hor!Ms White, we'll meet up some other time... We mei you yuan fen this 2 days... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chrispy 0 Report post Posted December 10, 2007 Apology from my harsh words. My point of view , if we had already bought the item, pass it over to the IDs, renovator then it is the responsibilities of the contractor to ensure everything is up and ready in the final state. As a customer, we received the final goods in good condition. If the item is lost then the personel lost it should be held guilty of it. Why de-grade oneself and families member to become a jaga? So tiring and bothering everybody.actually i also quite agree with TPY. actually when we use no. lock is a sure can open lock if u got the time and try out every combination. y we use no. lock leh is because is easier for our id's worker to work even when they are not ard. and diff kind of worker cum and finish their job. they juz need to change no. so they cant come in again. Is all for the convenience for our ID/contractor.if our things get lost say frankly i feel they shld also be responsible abit. if not they shld juz use the key type tat is the best.... unless the thieves can cut away ur lock like tat we shld consider we suay lor... and pray our sg police can catch them... at least they made some effort to break in... haha not break code and come in.... Oh dear, so sad to hear about the thefts. Am using a lock that the ID has passed to me. May consider using more locks when I have more stuff inside (right now it's empty).Btw, do you have this super irritating advertising sticker on your main door. Took me more than an hour to get it removed. Even then, there are still stains on it.ya when i see the sticker i also lucky my id say will take it off for me... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted December 10, 2007 (edited) Apology from my harsh words. My point of view , if we had already bought the item, pass it over to the IDs, renovator then it is the responsibilities of the contractor to ensure everything is up and ready in the final state. As a customer, we received the final goods in good condition. If the item is lost then the personel lost it should be held guilty of it. Why de-grade oneself and families member to become a jaga? So tiring and bothering everybody.The above all sounded nice and well in thoery, but wait till you lose something like a 40" LCD TV and then the theory will be put to the real test! Apologies if I sounded harsh too !! Edited December 10, 2007 by gadgetman Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 M&M, thanks for showing me your house... What a small world hor!Hi Droplets,No problem thanx for showing me u house too. Just sent a message to ur email account asking u to add me to ur facebook.Hi Ms White and Strawberry Pear,Thanx for letting us into ur house. Strawberry Pear, ur house is very nice. Good job Hi Zannie,Nice meeting with you... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shercjw 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 hi all,juz saw this site and was super excited to join in all these discussion.... me and my FH will be staying in Blk A, Level 13.... 4 rm, 75sqm.... was being scheduled on the last 2 days to select a flat... duh..... still rmb how kan chiong we (incl my mummy) are, looking at the HDB website to see which flats are being 'left' for us to choose from.... however, i can say tat we are still blessed to be able to select a flat at level 13 instead of being left with those low level flats.... my FH will nv agree to take it up if we are left with flats at level 7 and below..... heng ar!!currently waiting anxiously for the HDB loan letter to come to my letter box.. seems that the letter are still crawling towards it..... so envy that some of you already are in the process (some even near to completion) of the reno.... hope mine can come earlier.... though most probably we will only start our reno after CNY as most reno company will not take in any more projects after dec.... sob sob.... anyone in Blk A already receive letter for Loan???????? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
carelinwen 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 Hi gotten urs key soon? Nope no news about date to collect yet. But an email was sent out to ask them when can it be expected yesterday. So who knows may get my letter today? Hi shercjw,Welcome! Well the good thing about starting later is we can learn from all the "seniors" here mah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shercjw 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 Nope no news about date to collect yet. But an email was sent out to ask them when can it be expected yesterday. So who knows may get my letter today? Hi shercjw,Welcome! Well the good thing about starting later is we can learn from all the "seniors" here mah.Hi carelinwen,which blk you took?? yuppie.... i am working very hard everyday going thru the forum and see how i can go abt doing my house.... but the more i see the more ideas i have for my new home and more confusing.... hahahah.....tot of adding wallpaper to my featured wall and househole shelter.... but i think its gonna cost a bomb... anyone also doing wallpaper to your featured wall and household shelter?? can recommend and advice? Thanks!!saw ms_white pics of her toilets and featured wall..... superb nice lae.... was wondering whether i can change the colour of the toilets wall tiles without hacking down the tiles??? Super expensive if i were to hack them down.... and i tot i saw someone in this forum saying we CANT hack the wall and floor tiles??? anyone also changing the WC and basin?? Or we CANT change them??? i feel that the basin is too near the WC.... maybe will change the basin to those nicer one (like hotels kind) if i can do something to the wall of the toilets..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 Hi carelinwen,which blk you took?? yuppie.... i am working very hard everyday going thru the forum and see how i can go abt doing my house.... but the more i see the more ideas i have for my new home and more confusing.... hahahah.....tot of adding wallpaper to my featured wall and househole shelter.... but i think its gonna cost a bomb... anyone also doing wallpaper to your featured wall and household shelter?? can recommend and advice? Thanks!!saw ms_white pics of her toilets and featured wall..... superb nice lae.... was wondering whether i can change the colour of the toilets wall tiles without hacking down the tiles??? Super expensive if i were to hack them down.... and i tot i saw someone in this forum saying we CANT hack the wall and floor tiles??? anyone also changing the WC and basin?? Or we CANT change them??? i feel that the basin is too near the WC.... maybe will change the basin to those nicer one (like hotels kind) if i can do something to the wall of the toilets.....there is a type of laminate that looks like wall paper, called EDL, u can check it out.toilet- they are overlaying, not hacking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mapleleaf 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 Anyone overlaying or hacking kitchen tiles (wall or floor)?I am in a dilemma now. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 tot of adding wallpaper to my featured wall and househole shelter.... but i think its gonna cost a bomb... anyone also doing wallpaper to your featured wall and household shelter?? can recommend and advice? Thanks!!Hi Shercjw,My ID suggested wallpaper for my bomb shelter. They told me they not going to charge me for it cos i only using a few wall paper. I guess these had been built into the costs when they quoted me perhaps u get a quote from ur ID and then tell them u want wall paper t certain areas and ask them to give u free? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
carelinwen 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 Hi carelinwen,which blk you took??I'm in B.Anyone overlaying or hacking kitchen tiles (wall or floor)?I am in a dilemma now.I will not be doing feature walls for bomb shelter, tv console etc, rather spent the $ in favour of overlaying toilet tiles and hacking/overlaying kitchen floor tiles (don't like the light bluish colour and texture). But the kitchen wall tiles I should be able to accept.Why dilemma? If you don't like and got budget, then overlay lor. For kitchen, unless you like to flood the kitchen when washing, should not worry about waterproofing/leaking issues etc so can overlay. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mapleleaf 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 Why dilemma? If you don't like and got budget, then overlay lor. For kitchen, unless you like to flood the kitchen when washing, should not worry about waterproofing/leaking issues etc so can overlay.I am able to accept the colour but the quality of the workmanship...hmm....is mildly irritating to the eye. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chrispy 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 Anyone overlaying or hacking kitchen tiles (wall or floor)?I am in a dilemma now.follow ur heart say if really cannot stand it then juz overlay or hack it. if got budget juz hack the titles lor cuz u dun like the titles and replace a nicer one. haha~ like me cannot stand my HS so build a fixture and cover it... but now i scare the fixture wall will made my foyer passage very small space cuz the other side of my door i will have shoe cabinet. i may want to take away...see how ba Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 (edited) Hi shercjw, welcome to renotalk!yuppie.... i am working very hard everyday going thru the forum and see how i can go abt doing my house.... but the more i see the more ideas i have for my new home and more confusing.... hahahah.....yup, it can be confusing if you read more. but i think just be focus on what you want, esp what theme areyou look for. talk to your contractor or ID abt it. I'm sure after some discussion you'll have a better pic how to go abt doing it.tot of adding wallpaper to my featured wall and househole shelter.... but i think its gonna cost a bomb... anyone also doing wallpaper to your featured wall and household shelter?? can recommend and advice? Thanks!! yes, wallpaper can be a bit ex. also depends on what design and brand you are intending to take brand like Pergo....etc.... haha. forget some of the brands liao. or maybe you can try to ask your ID to give your for free like what M&M suggest. hehe! but why wallpaper for bomb shelter room?? saw ms_white pics of her toilets and featured wall..... superb nice lae.... was wondering whether i can change the colour of the toilets wall tiles without hacking down the tiles??? Super expensive if i were to hack them down.... and i tot i saw someone in this forum saying we CANT hack the wall and floor tiles??? under HDB rules you can't hack the wall tiles yet, wait till 3 yrs later ba. but you can overlay them if you find them ugly. but overlaying cost a bit more also. heard from zanie98 that one of the shortlisted IDs have ideas on how to covering the tiles that HDB supply to save cost. anyone also changing the WC and basin?? Or we CANT change them??? i feel that the basin is too near the WC.... maybe will change the basin to those nicer one (like hotels kind) if i can do something to the wall of the toilets.....yes, you can change the WC and the basin to suit your style. and if you feels that the basin is too near to the WC, you can always ask your ID to do a service for you to shift the basin further away. so if you have the budget, overlay the wall and change the basins la. Edited December 11, 2007 by shay_d Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shercjw 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 saw ms_white pics of her toilets and featured wall..... superb nice lae.... was wondering whether i can change the colour of the toilets wall tiles without hacking down the tiles??? Super expensive if i were to hack them down.... and i tot i saw someone in this forum saying we CANT hack the wall and floor tiles??? under HDB rules you can't hack the wall tiles yet, wait till 3 yrs later ba. but you can overlay them if you find them ugly. but overlaying cost a bit more also. heard from zanie98 that one of the shortlisted IDs have ideas on how to covering the tiles that HDB supply to save cost.zanie98,can just check with you abt the ways to cover the toilet wall tiles to save cost???? Thanks!!shay_d,Thanks for the advice... i know wad theme i would wan for my home.... just that i am looking at wad kind of other ways i can future beautify it.... wanna be sure that i knw wad are the other ways i can beautify it... eg, wallpapers, i only learn abt it after i went thru a forum.... heee.... that's y now i am kinda of confused on wad i shld do for my home..... anyway, i think its still a bit early to fret over it... will take time to read and find more ideas.....BTW, i saw another forum that we can actually do some spraying (think its call epox-something), is it good?? Cheaper than overlaying?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites