alister 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 aiyo...how come suddenly i read my nickname??? btw, can i just check if any of you going to use alumix system for wardrobe??? that day i went to strawberry_pear's house, i see the wardrobe is the custom-made kind but it's not what i wanted...because the area for the wardrobe in my mbr has that square aircon window so if it's better for me to use alumix kind of wardrobe because it uses the wall as its backing and the floor will be the floor in the mbr...in short, they just install the poles, shelves and doors...it can save me space and at least i can make use of the space at the stupid aircon window too...if i do a normal wardrobe, i can't cover the aircon window, thus, i will need to have a smaller wardrobe....i dunno if anyone can understand what i wanna say anot....hahaha...anyway, do IDs do alumix kind of wardrobe??? i'm also thinking not to do any hacking already....squeezy than let it be la....now thinking just squeeze the bed and wardrobe in the mbr...the next room will be a study room and entertainment room, will only custom make a suspended study table and top cabinets....so if next time if wanna transform into a bedroom, it's still possible....headache ar~~~If you are worry abt the wardrobe blocking the aircon board, you can ask your ID to make sure the back of the wardrobe is 'alive'. That means the back plank can be removed. But hor, if you use system 3 or 4 aircon, u will not be using the mbr aircon ledge in future anyway. I think using the alumix system will cost more, but if you prefer, go ahead. Just dun think it will be a smaller wardrobe b'cos of the aircon ledge.I also never carryout any hacking of wall as well. So squeeze queen size bed and wardrobe lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 aiyo...how come suddenly i read my nickname??? btw, can i just check if any of you going to use alumix system for wardrobe??? that day i went to strawberry_pear's house, i see the wardrobe is the custom-made kind but it's not what i wanted...because the area for the wardrobe in my mbr has that square aircon window so if it's better for me to use alumix kind of wardrobe because it uses the wall as its backing and the floor will be the floor in the mbr...in short, they just install the poles, shelves and doors...it can save me space and at least i can make use of the space at the stupid aircon window too...if i do a normal wardrobe, i can't cover the aircon window, thus, i will need to have a smaller wardrobe....i dunno if anyone can understand what i wanna say anot....hahaha...anyway, do IDs do alumix kind of wardrobe??? i'm also thinking not to do any hacking already....squeezy than let it be la....now thinking just squeeze the bed and wardrobe in the mbr...the next room will be a study room and entertainment room, will only custom make a suspended study table and top cabinets....so if next time if wanna transform into a bedroom, it's still possible....headache ar~~~I'm doing alumnix! You can ask your ID to source for you. But cons is very very very dusyt! My HB wants so i give in lor did u have fun today? hehe! i think u will cos we're enjoying our reno process cum WINDOW shopping...lol! I very stress leh.. !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 *knock josephine's head* $1400 is quite reasonable. all white very hard to maintain leh. look at me, i've to maintain myself until siao! hahahaha! kidding~if u dun mind cleaning and polishing, white is definitely beautiful. but if u dun have the determination to clean your ENTIRE hse every week, one of my friend's friend actually does that to keep the white white, would advise u not to. super shiong...how's ur air-con ah? a lot of visable trunking ah?? i'm doing mine this Sat... which reminds me, zanie98 & s_pear...i can't meet u ladies for the appt liao lah! i've to be around when they do trunking... !!did u have fun today? hehe! i think u will cos we're enjoying our reno process cum WINDOW shopping...lol! I am charged $2900 for both bathrooms, so the price is right. But I never use white 'cos too lazy to maintain.Juz went to my hse early in the morning to see the air-con trucking. Alamak ! trucking so ugly. Luckily will have false ceiling to hide. Whew ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 I am charged $2900 for both bathrooms, so the price is right. But I never use white 'cos too lazy to maintain.Juz went to my hse early in the morning to see the air-con trucking. Alamak ! trucking so ugly. Luckily will have false ceiling to hide. Whew !Hi alister, can I confirm if both your toilets cost $2900 to overlay the wall and tiles (excluding all other stuff like vanity top, PD doors etc)? Mine was also around this range for the overlay and I thought it was kinda high initially...but it seems like this is the norm...Do you have any restriction on the types (price...) of tiles you can use? Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywu 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 aiyo...how come suddenly i read my nickname??? btw, can i just check if any of you going to use alumix system for wardrobe??? that day i went to strawberry_pear's house, i see the wardrobe is the custom-made kind but it's not what i wanted...because the area for the wardrobe in my mbr has that square aircon window so if it's better for me to use alumix kind of wardrobe because it uses the wall as its backing and the floor will be the floor in the mbr...in short, they just install the poles, shelves and doors...it can save me space and at least i can make use of the space at the stupid aircon window too...if i do a normal wardrobe, i can't cover the aircon window, thus, i will need to have a smaller wardrobe....i dunno if anyone can understand what i wanna say anot....hahaha...anyway, do IDs do alumix kind of wardrobe??? i'm also thinking not to do any hacking already....squeezy than let it be la....now thinking just squeeze the bed and wardrobe in the mbr...the next room will be a study room and entertainment room, will only custom make a suspended study table and top cabinets....so if next time if wanna transform into a bedroom, it's still possible....headache ar~~~i aso tot of not hacking the wall... but i dun noe how to squeeze the wardrobe and bed in tat small MBR. How will u put ur bed and wardrobe coz i really can't tink of any ways except to hack the wall Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 Hi alister, can I confirm if both your toilets cost $2900 to overlay the wall and tiles (excluding all other stuff like vanity top, PD doors etc)? Mine was also around this range for the overlay and I thought it was kinda high initially...but it seems like this is the norm...Do you have any restriction on the types (price...) of tiles you can use? Thanks!Yes, the $2,900 is for wall & floor tiles only. Didn't really care abt tile prices, juz went with my ID, saw the tiles we liked and chose it. The price of tile we chose was a mixture of $3.00, $4.80 & $5.20. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 i aso tot of not hacking the wall... but i dun noe how to squeeze the wardrobe and bed in tat small MBR. How will u put ur bed and wardrobe coz i really can't tink of any ways except to hack the wall just squeeze them in lor...i believe can be done, just have to accept the fact that the mbr can only have the bed and wardrobe, maybe no tv etc lor....and can save $ on the hacking also...what to do??? bor bian leh.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
a_star 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 Has anyone used Square Room Interior Design in Balestier Rd before? Any comments? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
josephine 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2007 O great. I still tot got ka-tok! haha. my tile is $6 for wall and $4 for floor. its the rose designs. those that went Hafari may have seen it as well. got only 3 colors- red, black and white roses. did most of u do air-con before or after false ceiling? cos i tot logic shld be do before so that false ceiling can cover up BUT my ID says do ceiling first le.. so now my ceiling done.. dont know how to conceal the aircon pipes. think must ask him again. also anybody buying fan for hse? i know its ugly BUT practical cos cannot everytime on air-con. skin very dry and very costly. moreover aft this reno super broke liao.. so got any recommendations? alister for your downlights, isit single or double bulb? cost is $22 isit? what size isit? square w glass type or aluminium edges? cos need to go select soon. stress Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ebing 0 Report post Posted November 21, 2007 O great. I still tot got ka-tok! haha. my tile is $6 for wall and $4 for floor. its the rose designs. those that went Hafari may have seen it as well. got only 3 colors- red, black and white roses. did most of u do air-con before or after false ceiling? cos i tot logic shld be do before so that false ceiling can cover up BUT my ID says do ceiling first le.. so now my ceiling done.. dont know how to conceal the aircon pipes. think must ask him again. also anybody buying fan for hse? i know its ugly BUT practical cos cannot everytime on air-con. skin very dry and very costly. moreover aft this reno super broke liao.. so got any recommendations? alister for your downlights, isit single or double bulb? cost is $22 isit? what size isit? square w glass type or aluminium edges? cos need to go select soon. stress hi... ya, i saw ur tiles, very temped to get the black n red one... but couldn;t find a plain black tile of the same siz to match so end up we chose the mirror mirror effect tiles... u saw??sigh... my id say might need to wait for abt 4 weeks for hdb to do the cement thing leh... so long... sian! is it too early if i buy the sink n all toilet accessories this weekend?? coz might not be free to do shopping will late dec liao... can buy first then ask them to deliver later one right?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zanie98 0 Report post Posted November 21, 2007 Has anyone used Square Room Interior Design in Balestier Rd before? Any comments?Hi a-starI went to get a quote from them before. Was served by a lady named be***ly. She was very friendly and warm but don't think she really know abt interior design coz she suggested some ideas which are totally unworkable for our flat. We didn't bother to go back to her after her first quoteHope this info helps! (^_^) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cece 0 Report post Posted November 21, 2007 i aso tot of not hacking the wall... but i dun noe how to squeeze the wardrobe and bed in tat small MBR. How will u put ur bed and wardrobe coz i really can't tink of any ways except to hack the wall skywu,i did squeeze in a walk-in wardrobe, queen size bed, and tv into my MBR without hacking wall... according to my ID, it is possible lar... but maybe u need to be comfortable that the walking space will not be big lor.. is yours a 5 rm or 4 rm? cos mine is a 5 rm so still can squeeze abit lar. not sure abt 4 rm.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 21, 2007 O great. I still tot got ka-tok! haha. my tile is $6 for wall and $4 for floor. its the rose designs. those that went Hafari may have seen it as well. got only 3 colors- red, black and white roses. did most of u do air-con before or after false ceiling? cos i tot logic shld be do before so that false ceiling can cover up BUT my ID says do ceiling first le.. so now my ceiling done.. dont know how to conceal the aircon pipes. think must ask him again. also anybody buying fan for hse? i know its ugly BUT practical cos cannot everytime on air-con. skin very dry and very costly. moreover aft this reno super broke liao.. so got any recommendations? alister for your downlights, isit single or double bulb? cost is $22 isit? what size isit? square w glass type or aluminium edges? cos need to go select soon. stress My air-con pipe is done b4 the false ceiling goes up. Also thot the false ceiling is use to conceal the pipes ?But when I go thru my pictures, realised some pipes will not be concealed. Also read somewhere pipes shouldn't conceal incase there is a leak, we can still identify where. Can others share ?I will be buying normal standing fan, not those ceiling fans.My downlights are $26 for double tube (13w x 2) & $19 for single tube (10w). Atco ballast & Osram tubes.Hi a-starI went to get a quote from them before. Was served by a lady named be***ly. She was very friendly and warm but don't think she really know abt interior design coz she suggested some ideas which are totally unworkable for our flat. We didn't bother to go back to her after her first quoteHope this info helps! (^_^)Same for me. I approached a lady by name of Iren*. Somehow also feel she is not experience enough and the 3D pict showed to me not impressive. Asked them to requote & redo the 3D but still not satisfied, so didn't use them in the end. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zanie98 0 Report post Posted November 21, 2007 I am charged $2900 for both bathrooms, so the price is right. But I never use white 'cos too lazy to maintain.Juz went to my hse early in the morning to see the air-con trucking. Alamak ! trucking so ugly. Luckily will have false ceiling to hide. Whew !Oh no! I've just been kak-tok by Substance!! Went to see the contract I signed and realised the total I have to pay for relaying my tiles will be: $4758!! Meaning, it will cost me $2379 per bathroom! Wah! Ok, here's what the quote says:1)Supply Labour and materials to overlay Anti-Slip Homogeneous Floor Tiles @ 2 Bathrooms: $688.2)Supply Labour and materials to overlay Anti-Slip Homogeneous Wall Tiles @ 2 Bathrooms: $25703)Suppply and Lay Motar Base Cement Screed @ 2 Bathrooms Floor and Wall: $1500Grand Total: $4758!!Wah biang! To think I actually signed with him? And why would I need antislip wall tiles for? I don't walk on the walls... Ms White: Wat was the amt he quoted you? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 21, 2007 Oh no! I've just been kak-tok by Substance!! Went to see the contract I signed and realised the total I have to pay for relaying my tiles will be: $4758!! Meaning, it will cost me $2379 per bathroom! Wah! Ok, here's what the quote says:1)Supply Labour and materials to overlay Anti-Slip Homogeneous Floor Tiles @ 2 Bathrooms: $688.2)Supply Labour and materials to overlay Anti-Slip Homogeneous Wall Tiles @ 2 Bathrooms: $25703)Suppply and Lay Motar Base Cement Screed @ 2 Bathrooms Floor and Wall: $1500Grand Total: $4758!!Wah biang!!! To think I actually signed with him? And why would I need antislip wall tiles for? I don't walk on the walls... Ms White: Wat was the amt he quoted you?Hi ZanieI also say 'Wah Biang" ! Where got point 3 ? Should already be factored into point 1 & 2.My saysSupply materials & labour to lay special effect coating at both toilet wall (tiles) $2,200Supply materials & labour to lay special effect coating at both toilet floor (tiles) $700Better confront them to explain. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites