Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Chen Tian Wen used to stay in blk 28 before moving over. Most of the time wearing a cap.

Yes, the gara guni is a singaporean chinese uncle.

My rain roller screen is finally installed after almost 2 months of waiting from the date of submission to HDB Branch Office.

Here are the pictures.

Rain roller screen up

IMG_4104.jpg

Rain roller screen down

IMG_4102.jpg

Seems like gd stuff. The 'thunderstorm' last night was pelting against our front door till the floor was wet. Contemplating to install these. How to go about installing this eh?

Btw, any1 has any contacts for ST newspaper delivery service? Tks ya. :)

Edited by Vlanze

Seems like gd stuff. The 'thunderstorm' last night was pelting against our front door till the floor was wet. Contemplating to install these. How to go about installing this eh?

Last night's thunderstorm was the first test the screen was put through. It worked very well. :good:

To ask HDB to install this, you got to make a 'Complain' at the branch office about the rain pelting on your door. After which, they will mail you a form to fill to accept some Terms and Conditions. If you accept them, sign it and pass the form back to them and the wait begins. :bow:zz

There is only 1 company installing these screens for the whole of Singapore HDB flats. So they will consolidate the request and go to the different estates to install 1 by 1. When they were installing mine, I was told that only 3 flats in TPY Blk 79 requested for it so far. :dunno:

Normally I subscribe thru http://circulation.sph.com.sg/worldatyourd.../newspapers.asp.

It is slightly cheaper if you pay up in full for a year. There is additional of $24 for a year of delivery.

But if you just want the normal delivery, here's the information :-

T.J.S Newspaper Services

Tamil Chelvan HP: 90037024

Gossip : this morning got people jump from 12th floor garden between blk 79d & 79e. Police and covered body was still there at 8plus.

Maybe tonite must buy wanbao ?

Gossip : this morning got people jump from 12th floor garden between blk 79d & 79e. Police and covered body was still there at 8plus.

Maybe tonite must buy wanbao ?

Hi Alister,

I saw it this morning when going to work. Body covered up and two policeman were around.

Babymaro2003

oh my.... so now blk 79 is the new location for jumpers.... and convenient too with a nice view.... hopefully something can be done to prevent more ppl from jumping.... not a nice sight... :(

No wonder I saw an ambulance and police car around 7.30am this morning on my way to work.

Hope these jumpers look before they jump... otherwise innocent residents walking past downstairs will kenna killed for nothing....Maybe the new CCTVs will be able to reveal more details.

With the economy in a downward spiral and cost of living skyrocketing, there will be many people ending up with financial problems....expect to see more jumpers….

So fellow residents, the next time our highly paid MP in white come round for visits, we should give them credit for

1) Allowing public transport operators, health care, power grid operator and other GLCs to increase prices while collecting record profits during this recession period.

2) MAS for allowing such risky derivative products e.g Lehman products to be sold to retail customers who have totally no clue or financial knowledge about what they are buying. Causing many to lose their hard earned savings.

3) Their over liberal migration policies allowing the influx of so called "skilled workers" coming here in large numbers to compete for our jobs, flats and places in schools.

In summary, thank you Men / Women in White for screwing us and sucking our hard earned money from our back and making us compete for employment in a country where we were born and which our fathers had tolled hard for and allowing foreign workers to artificially depress our wages against ever raising cost..... Your deeds will be deeply entrenched in our minds and hearts for generations to come.........Thanks leh...........

Edited by PissedCitizen

No wonder I saw an ambulance and police car around 7.30am this morning on my way to work.

Hope these jumpers look before they jump... otherwise innocent residents walking past downstairs will kenna killed for nothing....Maybe the new CCTVs will be able to reveal more details.

With the economy in a downward spiral and cost of living skyrocketing, there will be many people ending up with financial problems....expect to see more jumpers….

So fellow residents, the next time our highly paid MP in white come round for visits, we should give them credit for

1) Allowing public transport operators, health care, power grid operator and other GLCs to increase prices while collecting record profits during this recession period.

2) MAS for allowing such risky derivative products e.g Lehman products to be sold to retail customers who have totally no clue or financial knowledge about what they are buying. Causing many to lose their hard earned savings.

3) Their over liberal migration policies allowing the influx of so called "skilled workers" coming here in large numbers to compete for our jobs, flats and places in schools.

In summary, thank you Men / Women in White for screwing us and sucking our hard earned money from our back and making us compete for employment in a country where we were born and which our fathers had tolled hard for and allowing foreign workers to artificially depress our wages against ever raising cost..... Your deeds will be deeply entrenched in our minds and hearts for generations to come.........Thanks leh...........

Yes indeed. We must thank our First World Gahmen for the economic success of Sinkieland in spite of all the collateral damage to our social fabric and the degeneration of true Sinkie citizens.

These obscenely paid CBL ministers are not helping much and neither is our useless daddy's boy PM. Opening his golden mouth weeks after the minibonds incident. The same happened with the Mas Selamat incident. I suppose he needs to sack his speech writer soon for doing such a lousy job, cos daddy always beats him to it. Though at times he may seem to be spouting rubbish as well.

Expect more of such tragedies in the days to come. Maybe more after the IR opens. Knowing how they will twist, turn and change goal posts. I'll not be surprised if they let every Tom, Dick and Harry Sinkie gambler in to the casinos if they are not making enough money from the international gamblers.

“Layoffs not all bad. If there are no retrenchments at all, then I worry for Singapore.” - PM Goh Chok Tong, 22nd March, 2003

Town councils' sinking funds not substantially affected by financial turmoil

By May Wong, Channel NewsAsia

SINGAPORE : The sinking funds under all 14 PAP-managed town councils are safe and not significantly affected by the failed Lehman Brothers products.

Town councils said only a small percentage of their total investments were spent on those affected products.

Town councils use their individual sinking funds to carry works such as repairing damages at HDB (Housing & Development Board) common areas or maintaining an HDB elevator.

Every PAP town council has between S$30 million dollars and S$150 million in their sinking funds.

Under current guidelines, each town council can use 65 per cent of their sinking funds to invest in government bonds, while up to 35 per cent can be invested in other financial instruments like corporate bonds and equities.

Although some of the town councils have purchased Lehman Brothers-linked products, the investments are minimal.

"Maybe a couple of percentage out of the total investment portfolio (were used in those investments), so the exposure will not affect the overall investment portfolio or the sinking funds per se. There's definitely no fear that any of the PAP town councils' sinking funds will be wiped out. All the supporting PAP town councils' sinking funds are in safe hands," assured Dr Teo Ho Pin, Coordinating Chairman of the 14 PAP Town Councils. He is also the mayor of North West District.

For Jurong Town Council, it has not invested in any Lehman-linked products, but explains that it only spends about 18 per cent or S$15 million of its S$84 million sinking funds in slightly riskier products.

Even then, that investment guarantees the principal amount.

"The position that we've taken is really to be very cautious with our investments because we're very clear that these are public funds, and therefore we decided to err on the side of being conservative in our investment policy. The public do not have to worry... there will not be enough funds in order to take care of their needs," said Jurong MP Halimah Yacob.

Many agree the current financial turmoil has taught the town councils that they should further diversify their investments in the future.

Going forward, town councils are expected to exercise even greater prudence when investing their sinking funds. But it's hoped that they will still be able to get up to 4 per cent of returns on their investments annually. - CNA /ls

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Assuming the most conservative 1 percent of the sinking fund is used in those investments, this will represent a loss ranging from S$300,000 to S$1.5 million dollars for ONE Town Council only. We do not know how many town councils have bought the products. “Some” can mean three, four or even ten town councils, but what we can be sure about is that the TOTAL LOSS incurred by the PAP Town Councils are definitely close to or even more than S$ 1 million dollars!

How much public funds did PAP Town Councils lose in total from the failed minibond investments?

You Give Your Money To Your Town Council So That It Can Play The Stock Market

If Chiam See Tong had invested a single cent of the Potong Pasir sinking fund in minibonds, he would have been called irresponsible and careless. The Straits Times would be dispensing lessons on why voting for the opposition is unwise. Luckily, the town councils that lost money in minibonds were all from PAP GRCs so we are spared these lessons and we should be able move on because it is only a small matter.

The town councils have been increasing conservancy charges year after year telling us that costs have risen. However, what really happened is that the sinking funds have been rising to such levels that PAP town councils get to play fund managers. I guess old habits die hard. The PAP has never felt good unless it is sitting on busloads of citizens' money - when it comes govt reserves they have to build one far larger than what is necessary even as its citizens find it hard to make ends meet as they are squeezed to contribute to the govt's coffers. So what do they do when we have such a huge pile of money around - invest like fund managers. For Temasek, we have Ho Ching who is the best in the land for the job and coincidentally the wife of our current Prime Minister.

The PAP guys, they are always so humble about their fund management skills they don't really tell us what they do with the money. We occasionally hear of the highlights of their achievements such as investing in troubled western banks and regional telcos such as the one owned by Thaksin. We have been told that these funds are needed so that they can be used to help Singapore(eans?) in times of crisis. However, a large part of it is invested in stocks and real estate that will be badly hit during crisis....so how is it going to help Singapore when the funds themselves will incur heavy losses?

Town councils are just mini-versions of the Singapore govt. The sinking fund is meant to provide maintenance for the housing estates with some buffer for emergencies. They are not meant to be so big that the town councils don't know what to do and put them in risky assets such as stocks and minibonds. Many families struggle to make ends meet and for many paying the conservancy charges can mean depriving the family of better food and clothing. From govt to town councils, the PAP squeezing just never ends.

Edited by meepok

veri difficult.If wanna jump, 12, 13, ....40 any one can also jump.How to prevent? :(

hmmm.....no wonder around 7.20am, I heard a loud bang sound. Thot what happened. When go to work around 7.25am, didn't notice anything special while crossing the traffic light. Everything like per normal.

Town councils' sinking funds not substantially affected by financial turmoil

By May Wong, Channel NewsAsia

SINGAPORE : The sinking funds under all 14 PAP-managed town councils are safe and not significantly affected by the failed Lehman Brothers products.

Town councils said only a small percentage of their total investments were spent on those affected products.

Town councils use their individual sinking funds to carry works such as repairing damages at HDB (Housing & Development Board) common areas or maintaining an HDB elevator.

Every PAP town council has between S$30 million dollars and S$150 million in their sinking funds.

Under current guidelines, each town council can use 65 per cent of their sinking funds to invest in government bonds, while up to 35 per cent can be invested in other financial instruments like corporate bonds and equities.

Although some of the town councils have purchased Lehman Brothers-linked products, the investments are minimal.

"Maybe a couple of percentage out of the total investment portfolio (were used in those investments), so the exposure will not affect the overall investment portfolio or the sinking funds per se. There's definitely no fear that any of the PAP town councils' sinking funds will be wiped out. All the supporting PAP town councils' sinking funds are in safe hands," assured Dr Teo Ho Pin, Coordinating Chairman of the 14 PAP Town Councils. He is also the mayor of North West District.

For Jurong Town Council, it has not invested in any Lehman-linked products, but explains that it only spends about 18 per cent or S$15 million of its S$84 million sinking funds in slightly riskier products.

Even then, that investment guarantees the principal amount.

"The position that we've taken is really to be very cautious with our investments because we're very clear that these are public funds, and therefore we decided to err on the side of being conservative in our investment policy. The public do not have to worry... there will not be enough funds in order to take care of their needs," said Jurong MP Halimah Yacob.

Many agree the current financial turmoil has taught the town councils that they should further diversify their investments in the future.

Going forward, town councils are expected to exercise even greater prudence when investing their sinking funds. But it's hoped that they will still be able to get up to 4 per cent of returns on their investments annually. - CNA /ls

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Assuming the most conservative 1 percent of the sinking fund is used in those investments, this will represent a loss ranging from S$300,000 to S$1.5 million dollars for ONE Town Council only. We do not know how many town councils have bought the products. "Some" can mean three, four or even ten town councils, but what we can be sure about is that the TOTAL LOSS incurred by the PAP Town Councils are definitely close to or even more than S$ 1 million dollars!

How much public funds did PAP Town Councils lose in total from the failed minibond investments?

You Give Your Money To Your Town Council So That It Can Play The Stock Market

If Chiam See Tong had invested a single cent of the Potong Pasir sinking fund in minibonds, he would have been called irresponsible and careless. The Straits Times would be dispensing lessons on why voting for the opposition is unwise. Luckily, the town councils that lost money in minibonds were all from PAP GRCs so we are spared these lessons and we should be able move on because it is only a small matter.

The town councils have been increasing conservancy charges year after year telling us that costs have risen. However, what really happened is that the sinking funds have been rising to such levels that PAP town councils get to play fund managers. I guess old habits die hard. The PAP has never felt good unless it is sitting on busloads of citizens' money - when it comes govt reserves they have to build one far larger than what is necessary even as its citizens find it hard to make ends meet as they are squeezed to contribute to the govt's coffers. So what do they do when we have such a huge pile of money around - invest like fund managers. For Temasek, we have Ho Ching who is the best in the land for the job and coincidentally the wife of our current Prime Minister.

The PAP guys, they are always so humble about their fund management skills they don't really tell us what they do with the money. We occasionally hear of the highlights of their achievements such as investing in troubled western banks and regional telcos such as the one owned by Thaksin. We have been told that these funds are needed so that they can be used to help Singapore(eans?) in times of crisis. However, a large part of it is invested in stocks and real estate that will be badly hit during crisis....so how is it going to help Singapore when the funds themselves will incur heavy losses?

Town councils are just mini-versions of the Singapore govt. The sinking fund is meant to provide maintenance for the housing estates with some buffer for emergencies. They are not meant to be so big that the town councils don't know what to do and put them in risky assets such as stocks and minibonds. Many families struggle to make ends meet and for many paying the conservancy charges can mean depriving the family of better food and clothing. From govt to town councils, the PAP squeezing just never ends.

Cruel fact but it is true. People always listen to good music and abort the noise.

Who don't like to be pample and listen to sweet talks? If investment is gain, then people take it for granted. If loses , hee hee you know. The same applies to the current society.

I wonder should TC keeps the money under the pillow just like house wives did ?

Cruel fact but it is true. People always listen to good music and abort the noise.

Who don't like to be pample and listen to sweet talks? If investment is gain, then people take it for granted. If loses , hee hee you know. The same applies to the current society.

I wonder should TC keeps the money under the pillow just like house wives did ?

Since they dare proclaim themselves as FIRST WORLD GAHMEN and FIRST DIVISION MINISTERS, drawing SUPER FIRST WORLD SALARIES, I expect nothing less than FIRST WORLD PERFORMANCE from them. Anything short of that is an embarrassment to the country and it's people.

The TC should be using the surplus of money to upgrade the estate or out of goodwill, as rebates to the owners. Can you imagine the surplus collected from all the fees? Why do they need so much money? The TC is not a private company by the way. All their surpluses are tax payer's money.

The thing is that they are not transparent with their accounts to the public. Just like the gahmen. How then do we know how much was lost or gained from these "investments"?

It is time Sinkies wake up from their PAP-induced dreamland and realise the cold hard truth.

Since they dare proclaim themselves as FIRST WORLD GAHMEN and FIRST DIVISION MINISTERS, drawing SUPER FIRST WORLD SALARIES, I expect nothing less than FIRST WORLD PERFORMANCE from them. Anything short of that is an embarrassment to the country and it's people.

The TC should be using the surplus of money to upgrade the estate or out of goodwill, as rebates to the owners. Can you imagine the surplus collected from all the fees? Why do they need so much money? The TC is not a private company by the way. All their surpluses are tax payer's money.

The thing is that they are not transparent with their accounts to the public. Just like the gahmen. How then do we know how much was lost or gained from these "investments"?

It is time Sinkies wake up from their PAP-induced dreamland and realise the cold hard truth.

Is this a proclaimation or a vision of an individual?