Wildreds2 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 I think it makes sense to use Starhub Digital Voice (where it is free till end of 2008) If not, can switch to Skype phone or use mobile phone. Those staying in older HDB flats will be affected as they will be with Singtel fixed line for decades which makes it nearly impossible to switch operators now. Companies who use phones as well will also be impacted severely. For me, it doesnt make much sense to use fixed line phones and pay the monthly subscriptions when my spouse and I are not at home more than 50% of the time every day. This is an amazing time for a GLC to increase their prices when the recession clouds are just above us. It's 18 years since they last raise the charges, why not wait for another 2 years where things will get better? Will their bottomline be so severely affected? Sidenote: yeah i think we should have more parking lots for season-parking holders. If want to park after 9.30pm , i think can only park on carpark floor 4B onwards. Not funny when you are driving with a headache. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Vlanze 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 SingTel to raise phone rates Yeah read this. Hope that Starhub doesnt increases the rate for the digital voice service. If not, there'll be no alternative for us other than the internet. Just use mobile phone? Reception's pretty bad in the estate. zzz. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Dracula 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 Yeah read this. Hope that Starhub doesnt increases the rate for the digital voice service. If not, there'll be no alternative for us other than the internet. Just use mobile phone? Reception's pretty bad in the estate. zzz. Oops... Luckily I do not have a home phone and will not have anytime soon. I seldom use the phone anyway, so i guess a handphone is more then sufficient for my usage. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CUTEBABY 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 Oops... Luckily I do not have a home phone and will not have anytime soon. I seldom use the phone anyway, so i guess a handphone is more then sufficient for my usage. For those using SingNet like myself, we are all screwed.... time to consider switching once contract ends. Hello people in the Garmen, you think we are printing $$$ in our homes izit or do you think we citizens are cows? Milk us everyday for $$$....... Even if we are cows, we young voters have good memories unlike the older folks. We will become very angry pissed off "Bulls" in the next GE...... Good Luck Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 For those using SingNet like myself, we are all screwed.... time to consider switching once contract ends. Hello people in the Garmen, you think we are printing $$$ in our homes izit or do you think we citizens are cows? Milk us everyday for $$$....... Even if we are cows, we young voters have good memories unlike the older folks. We will become very angry pissed off "Bulls" in the next GE...... Good Luck Yes indeed. For Sinktel subscribers like myself, we literally screwed. Without a fixed land line point, our modem is as good as dead. For all you know, Stuckhub may be raising their prices soon... knowing that both are actually "related" and will no doubt be in cahoots in times of looting the peasants. Sinkies must brace themselves for more inflation and "justified" increases from the gahmen in the days to come for the gahmen coffers & our CeePeeF have been bled dry by the "smart" investments of our Mdm Temasick. But will our million dollar ministers take a pay cut?? Your guess is as good as mine! Next GE??? You think they won't redraw the GRC boundaries to their advantage? I can confirm they will merge Serangoon Gardens with Marine Parade in 2011, you think they'll still let it be part of Aljunied after the recent fiasco?? Don't forget about the pre-GE ang pows from the gahmen which "buys" back a certain percentage of the voters or the promises of upgrading! "People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TPY 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 What to do? Singapore have no natural reserve nor oil. Everything is imported. so inflation is everywhere in the world. Unless singapore self invent a source of clean energy just like to NEwater Do we want to the nation to perate like our neighbour conuntry, everything uses national's reserves to subsidy, leaving on credits till a day our children have to pay for it? A channel to voice out is great but be rationale in times. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Vlanze 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 Yes indeed. For Sinktel subscribers like myself, we literally screwed. Without a fixed land line point, our modem is as good as dead. For all you know, Stuckhub may be raising their prices soon... knowing that both are actually "related" and will no doubt be in cahoots in times of looting the peasants. Sinkies must brace themselves for more inflation and "justified" increases from the gahmen in the days to come for the gahmen coffers & our CeePeeF have been bled dry by the "smart" investments of our Mdm Temasick. But will our million dollar ministers take a pay cut?? Your guess is as good as mine! Next GE??? You think they won't redraw the GRC boundaries to their advantage? I can confirm they will merge Serangoon Gardens with Marine Parade in 2011, you think they'll still let it be part of Aljunied after the recent fiasco?? Don't forget about the pre-GE ang pows from the gahmen which "buys" back a certain percentage of the voters or the promises of upgrading! "People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." Let's see how Starhub responds to this. For now, I only know that the digital voice service basic fee is free till 2010 which I feel is a good deal considering wat Singtel is doing. Only time will tell.... Hope and pray for the best Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 Yo peeps, Wanna seek your valuable advice on something. Currently, our home is in the 'rectification' stage after reno. One of the defects are line scratches on the homo-tiles. ID has proposed to 'polish' all the tiles for us. Question is what are the after-effects of this polishing? Will the tiles lose their shine? Any1 done this b4? Tks. Hey Vlanze, - Hows ur homo tile scratches liao? - wat rectification did ur ID do? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Vlanze 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2008 Hey Vlanze, - Hows ur homo tile scratches liao? - wat rectification did ur ID do? For the chips, they replaced the whole tile. Believe me...it is a dirty and tedious process. For the light scratches, he is proposing to polish the entire floor whichi should be happening this Sat. Hope all goes well... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2008 What to do? Singapore have no natural reserve nor oil. Everything is imported. so inflation is everywhere in the world. Unless singapore self invent a source of clean energy just like to NEwater Do we want to the nation to perate like our neighbour conuntry, everything uses national's reserves to subsidy, leaving on credits till a day our children have to pay for it? A channel to voice out is great but be rationale in times. Yes sir, our master is the best! They're morally upright, selfless, honourable, gracious and honest leaders indeed. Let's serve them till our last breath and contribute our blood money at their every request without questioning. Let them import more "talents" to flood this little dot and boost the economy at the expense of the Sinkie Heart, Soul & Spirit. We, the true-bred citizens/peasants are even prepared to be downgraded to 2nd or even 3rd class citizens after the "imports" and "elites" for we are not worthy. We have absolute trust & faith in our leaders! Why? Cos they are the best gahmen money can ever buy. Who else can write an official condolence letter with such flair and wit? Only the best gahmen in the world! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- CONDOLENCE LETTER FROM PRIME MINISTER LEE HSIEN LOONG ON DEMISE OF JB JEYARETNAM 30 September 2008 Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam Mr Philip Jeyaretnam Dear Kenneth and Philip Jeyaretnam I was sad to learn that your father, Mr Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, has passed away. Mr JB Jeyaretnam was a Member of Parliament for Anson constituency from 1981 till 1986, and a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament from 1997 till 2001. He used to engage in heated debates in the House. Perhaps it was because he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government. Unfortunately, this helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition. Nevertheless, one had to respect Mr JB Jeyaretnam’s dogged tenacity to be active in politics at his age. However, our differences were not personal. In 1993, one of you (Kenneth) wrote to Mr Goh Chok Tong, who was then Prime Minister, to say that you found employers in Singapore reluctant to offer you a job, and your only explanation was that the employers felt the authorities would not welcome your employment because of your name. Mr Goh replied with a letter which could be shown to prospective employers, to say that the government did not hold anything against you, and that employers should evaluate you fairly on your own merits, like any other candidate, because Singapore needed every talented person that it could find. Mr Goh had previously made the same point to your brother Philip, whom he had invited to lunch. I am therefore happy that both of you have established yourselves in Singapore. Please accept my deepest condolences. Yours sincerely Lee Hsien Loong Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TPY 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2008 Yes sir, our master is the best! They're morally upright, selfless, honourable, gracious and honest leaders indeed. Let's serve them till our last breath and contribute our blood money at their every request without questioning. Let them import more "talents" to flood this little dot and boost the economy at the expense of the Sinkie Heart, Soul & Spirit. We, the true-bred citizens/peasants are even prepared to be downgraded to 2nd or even 3rd class citizens after the "imports" and "elites" for we are not worthy. We have absolute trust & faith in our leaders! Why? Cos they are the best gahmen money can ever buy. Who else can write an official condolence letter with such flair and wit? Only the best gahmen in the world! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- CONDOLENCE LETTER FROM PRIME MINISTER LEE HSIEN LOONG ON DEMISE OF JB JEYARETNAM 30 September 2008 Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam Mr Philip Jeyaretnam Dear Kenneth and Philip Jeyaretnam I was sad to learn that your father, Mr Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, has passed away. Mr JB Jeyaretnam was a Member of Parliament for Anson constituency from 1981 till 1986, and a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament from 1997 till 2001. He used to engage in heated debates in the House. Perhaps it was because he and the PAP never saw eye to eye on any major political issue and he sought by all means to demolish the PAP and our system of government. Unfortunately, this helped neither to build up a constructive opposition nor our Parliamentary tradition. Nevertheless, one had to respect Mr JB Jeyaretnam's dogged tenacity to be active in politics at his age. However, our differences were not personal. In 1993, one of you (Kenneth) wrote to Mr Goh Chok Tong, who was then Prime Minister, to say that you found employers in Singapore reluctant to offer you a job, and your only explanation was that the employers felt the authorities would not welcome your employment because of your name. Mr Goh replied with a letter which could be shown to prospective employers, to say that the government did not hold anything against you, and that employers should evaluate you fairly on your own merits, like any other candidate, because Singapore needed every talented person that it could find. Mr Goh had previously made the same point to your brother Philip, whom he had invited to lunch. I am therefore happy that both of you have established yourselves in Singapore. Please accept my deepest condolences. Yours sincerely Lee Hsien Loong Sad to be in this hot soap of inflation. So do I. I believe direct confrontation is an old out of date approach in today society. JB did it and successfull during his early days. LCC teochew angry man used to be like it before. But today the angry man is ancient but seeking to a more approachable political means. Humble, listening and hardworking. It needed to stay cool in life. Sad to say but have to acknowledge every place has it rules and guides. We needed to manaovaring around it but not tourching on the sensitive part of it. A well articulate message to bring across to the decease and public We perform, advertise and needed to be empathy... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Dracula 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2008 Let's see how Starhub responds to this. For now, I only know that the digital voice service basic fee is free till 2010 which I feel is a good deal considering wat Singtel is doing. Only time will tell.... Hope and pray for the best I going to apply for the starhub home phone line because it is totally free till 31st December 2010 for all Starhub Cable and Online users. No incoming or outgoing charge, no monthly charge, no equipment charge and no installation charge. Where else to get free stuffs? Hehe... except starhub i guess Free Home Phone Line by Starhub Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
congee77 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2008 Hi guyz, Side track abit. Paisay. Do anyone of you guyz hav contacts for Mr Karang Guni? No fate to see them face to face to sell them my treasured newspaper le... Or anyone want, can get from me oso? Thank you many many... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2008 Hi guyz, Side track abit. Paisay. Do anyone of you guyz hav contacts for Mr Karang Guni? No fate to see them face to face to sell them my treasured newspaper le... Or anyone want, can get from me oso? Thank you many many... Yes I do hv. He's a singaporean uncle, giving me better rates than those China garang guni men. I will post the contact when I get fr my wife. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2008 (edited) Sharing a reply from Comfort Delgro when I wrote in to ask about the 30cts extra charge.... Dear Mr Lau We are glad that fuel prices have been trending downwards in recent weeks and we are closely monitoring the situation. At current prices, fuel is still trading at a significant premium to what it was less than a year ago. Diesel is now selling at $1.58 per litre in the market compared to the $1.19 it was retailing for in December 2007. We are hopeful that oil prices will continue to trend downwards and we will definitely remove the fuel surcharge when market pump prices drop to their December 2007 levels as we have committed. Thank you. Belinda Yeow Group Corporate Communications ComfortDelGro Corporation Limited alister_lau 10/06/2008 11:23 PM To info@comfortdelgro.com Subject : ComfortDelGro - Feedback Oil has dropped below US$90. I would expect your company to remove the 30cts old surcharge within this week. Thanks Edited October 9, 2008 by alister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites