Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi Neighbours,

An add-on info! Please beware while walking outside the building. One of the evening between 8-9pm, the kids from the sky garden were throwing water-bomb to the ground floor. It's nearly hit on me & an aunty while we were passing-by. And I heard them screaming & laughing happily after it nearly hit onto someone. While aunty was looking up to check, they threw again.

Please be careful guys. Take care!

:jawdrop: 'No Law No Sky'

I have been reading thru many pages of past postings and realised that they are actually alot of forum members living in BLK 79. How come suddenly all seem to have vanished into thin air when we started discussing about the security problem in our estates.

What happened to the kampong spirit and purpose of joining these forums when many just keep quiet when we are voicing out to the authorities. Is it our Kiasi attitude or we just act blur because some are less affected than others

Come on lah......you can run away from these problems temporarily but you can't hide from them. sooner or later, it will start haunting you too if everyone of us don't do our part and contribute....

- las time, b4 move in, dunoe reno stuf, so cums in here gather info & make frnds with new nighbours loh.

- now, reno complete liao, moved in, bz settling dn, got own grp of frnds, no time & no nid reno info, so hardly or neber log in loh.

- wil lah. wil log in 'Once A Blue Moon' if got info dat can b obtained frm Renotalk.

;)

Kids nowadays are unstoppable, they just do what they like and get off with it easily. Call 999 also useless lah, at the most the Blues Brothers will still give them a warning. Bringing them back to the station would require them to write report and all the troublesome paperworks loh.

Write to MP (take weeks to months to reply), call police (no use), write to TC (no reply), write to HDB (not their problem), complain in forum (also no use), write to press (ppl will start criticizing on the topic).

Hmm... let me see wat else can be done..... nothing???

Wait.... i think i know wat can be done...... we just........

endure.gif

- 90% correct.

- 10% go where?

- well, e balance 10% is 'Strings & Connections' esp powerful 1, then things wil speed up.

Out if topic for awhile

Finally Singapore will have a medal in the Beijing 2008 Olympics, all thanks to Ms Li Jiawei & Kaki's.

Olympics: Singapore enter women's table-tennis team final

SINGAPORE: Singapore's women paddlers have ended the country's 48-year Olympic medal drought.

The country is assured of a medal after the paddlers advanced into the final of the team event.

The team beat their South Korean counterparts 3-2 on Friday to qualify for Sunday's final.

Semi-final results:

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Dang Ye Seo (KOR) 11-5, 11-5, 11-2

Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) bt Li Jiawei (SIN) 5-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-6, 11-9

Wang Yuegu/Li Jiawei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young/Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) 11-7, 11-6, 11-9

Dang Ye Seo (KOR) bt Wang Yuegu (SIN) 11-8, 14-12, 11-9

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young (KOR) 11-7, 12-10, 3-11, 11-9

ChannelNewsAsia.com

:yamseng::dancingqueen::yamseng:

- las time hor, i olso play table-tennis 1.

- dat time, 1 game is 21 nos. of serving & e 'ping-pong' diameter is smaller.

- olso las time hor, SG dun focus much on sports. Gota work & earn $$$, so sports cant earn a living.

- now different liao. if not hor, i wld hav go join e National Team liao.

- everyday play 'ping pong' stil got $$$. If win games overseas, even more $$$.

- oh olmost 4got. Dun tel ppl hor, las time i used 2 play 4 Toa Payoh Constituency 1.

- but dat was 'donkey' yrs ago.

:sport-smiley-004:

Congrats.... errmm... at the expense of a few millions $$$ from taxpayer's pockets in exchange for an olympic silver/gold medal??? divide by 46 years... maybe still quite worth loh :dunno:

And for the finals, it will be China Truebred vs SG China FT :dancingqueen:

- err. wat can i say?

- mayb las time i shd hav go play 'ping pong' instead of play 'truant'.

:lol:

Kids nowadays are unstoppable, they just do what they like and get off with it easily. Call 999 also useless lah, at the most the Blues Brothers will still give them a warning. Bringing them back to the station would require them to write report and all the troublesome paperworks loh.

Write to MP (take weeks to months to reply), call police (no use), write to TC (no reply), write to HDB (not their problem), complain in forum (also no use), write to press (ppl will start criticizing on the topic).

Hmm... let me see wat else can be done..... nothing???

Wait.... i think i know wat can be done...... we just........

endure.gif

To endure or to ignore??? Can't endure leh, unless don't go up the sky garden loh... out of sight, out of mind.

I think the only solution is to tell these punks off... take photos or report to the authorities immediately. I was hoping that we can have some kind of citizen's arrest or authority to stop these bastards in their tracks. Short of pretending to be someone from the gahmen or mata (which is against the law), maybe the relevant authorities should grant us some form of 'diplomatic immunity', so that we can 'do the right thing'. Maybe???

Otherwise we'll need vigilante cops... "yippee kai yay mudder...." 8|

Just the other afternoon, saw a group of young kids running and playing punk on the sky garden... they were climbing up the walls and ledges, jumping from ledge to ledge, all the way from 79C to 79E... with total disregard for safety... maybe they're practising Parkour for the next National Day Parade? NKF Charity Show?? :dunno:

We'll just have to wait for a fatal accident to happen. Till then just bear with the graffiti, noise, mess, monkeys, water bombs, etc.

I have been reading thru many pages of past postings and realised that they are actually alot of forum members living in BLK 79. How come suddenly all seem to have vanished into thin air when we started discussing about the security problem in our estates.

What happened to the kampong spirit and purpose of joining these forums when many just keep quiet when we are voicing out to the authorities. Is it our Kiasi attitude or we just act blur because some are less affected than others

Come on lah......you can run away from these problems temporarily but you can't hide from them. sooner or later, it will start haunting you too if everyone of us don't do our part and contribute....

Can't really blame them... after 43 years of 'nation building'...

'not my house, not my problem'... this we learnt very well from the gahmen :good:

Well... if push come to shove... rest assured that I will personally teach these punk *** kids some respect and moral education... something which our schools have suddenly turn their backs and ignored, out of fear of the demanding 'customer' parents!

Throw me a water bomb and I'll make sure they'd wish they were never born! 8|

Dear Mr SPF,

If you're reading this... kindly schedule some foot patrol to the 12th level sky garden during the afternoon and late evening... after school hour finishes... that's when these punk *** kids make their way up there to create havoc.

Late nights are usually reserved for more mature lovebirds looking for some romantic time... intimacy I can still accept in land & baby scarce SG.

When these punks know that the matas are patrolling the sky garden, they'll probably think twice before committing such moronic acts.

Juz to let u know the older members r still reading the forum occasionally & is aware of the problem. I think if really start a petition, we will put our names in as well.

I am thinking of doing up a sign at the garden to say the place is under camera survillance and vandalism will be reported to the police. Not sure if it will help or is against the law. Typed out the wordings today but forgot to printout.

Might do that by next weekend.

Juz to let u know the older members r still reading the forum occasionally & is aware of the problem. I think if really start a petition, we will put our names in as well.

I am thinking of doing up a sign at the garden to say the place is under camera survillance and vandalism will be reported to the police. Not sure if it will help or is against the law. Typed out the wordings today but forgot to printout.

Yes, those earlier participants are still alive and still reading. hehe! thou we may not contribute as much as before, that doesn't mean we dun really care abt this forum. and i think its normal for new members to contribute a bit more to this "still evergreen" forum, as new problems and ideas will always surface. new members usually have more passion to contribute! feel free to PM us. hehe!

as i have white synthetic leather dining chairs, i've just found someone to do the chair covers for me. will update how's his service.

Alister, let me know if you need any help!

cheerz to blk 79 forumer~! :yamseng:

LATEST UPDATE

Good news!

The 12th floor Sky Garden has been cleaned up. All graffiti have been painted over and removed.

Let's hope it stays this way for good. :good:

Hi, Onzzz lah..... Please include me for signing "ceremony".... Don't think it is against the law..... Don't see any law forbidding concerned residents from collecting a petition.

Please update us on date and time, will definitely find time to meet up to sign.. :sport-smiley-003::yamseng:

Update As At 2008Aug16 8pm

- 2 new small 'artistic' creations had jus been added at e Sky Garden. :o

f_DSC00196m_89420ae.jpg

- a 'merlion stunt' was perform earlier.

- lok at e 'pool of vomit' on e left side, e sight & smell of it makes mi wana faint.

- dunoe how if 'he/she' were 2 perform 'it' over e railing. :wacko:

f_DSC00197m_ad04aa1.jpg

Police Patrol Had Been Stepped-up

- while i was checking-out e Sky Garden, i met 2 Policemen frm Toa Payoh NPC, so i spoke 2 them.

- told mi 'they' had been doin 'foot patrol' at e Sky Garden 4 quite sometime liao.

- 2-3 times daily esp in e nite.

- 'they' wil 'screen' nuisance creator esp youngsters in grps etc.

- 'they' wil olso feedback 2 e relevant authorities on other issues such as graffiti etc.

- any queries & complains & concern on security, can call their direct line.

Tel : 1800 - 251 9999

No wonder 2nite e Sky Garden looks slightly more peaceful then b4.

:bath:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Useful add. & tel. nos. 4 fellow neighbours, 4yi & necessary actions

Toa Payoh Town Council Office

BLK 125A, Lor 2 Toa Payoh

#01-134, S'pore 311125

Tel: 6259 6700

HDB Branch Office

Toa Payoh Branch Office

BLK 190, Lor 6 Toa Payoh

#04-510, S'pore 310190

Tel: 1800-2255432

HOME LINK (24 Hours)

Tel: 1800-866 3060

Carpark Enforcement (24 Hours)

Tel:1800-272 1409

Breakdown of Service

TC Essential Maintenance Service Unit (EMSU) - 24 Hours Service

Tel: 1800-325 8888

Public Utilities Board (PUB) - Water Supply

Tel: 1800-284 6600

Singapore Power Gas Ltd

Tel: 1800-752 1800

Electricity / Street Lighting (Power Grid)

Tel: 1800-778 6666

LTA Operations (Traffic Jams/Traffic Lights)

Tel: 1800-377 0000

Toa Payoh Central CC

Tel: 6252 1249

Toa Payoh East CC

Tel: 6256 7601

Toa Payoh South CC

Tel: 6259 6602

Toa Payoh West CC

Tel: 6353 4487

List of NPPs in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

Boon Teck

Blk 207 Toa Payoh North #01-1231

Tel: 1800-254 9999

Bishan

Blk 196 Bishan Street 13

Tel: 1800-258 9999

Kim Keat

Blk 231 Toa Payoh Lorong 8

Tel: 1800-252 9999

List of NPCs in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

Bishan

20 Bishan St 23 S(579757)

Tel: 1800-552 9999

Toa Payoh NPC

93 Lor 4 Toa Payoh Central #01-02, Toa Payoh Central Community Building S319194

Tel: 1800-251 9999

:paint:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Side-track ->

- kinda blur. Pix taken using my SE hp, slightly zoom-in.

- part City View frm my window at 7.30pm. :notti:

f_DSC00194m_c1b0feb.jpg

Edited by jaCKY777

Update As At 2008Aug16 8pm

- 2 new small 'artistic' creations had jus been added at e Sky Garden. :o

f_DSC00196m_89420ae.jpg

WTF?! So fast kena vandalised again???!!!

Did you ask the mata boys to patrol during the afternoon? that's when lost of students and kids congregate there in groups... at night a different group of people... more couples and adults. They may want try patrolling the corridors with the hidden corners at night as well as the Sky Garden.

Let's hope they are able to reduce the state of vandalism with their increased presence! :sport-smiley-003:

WTF?! So fast kena vandalised again???!!!

Did you ask the mata boys to patrol during the afternoon? that's when lost of students and kids congregate there in groups... at night a different group of people... more couples and adults. They may want try patrolling the corridors with the hidden corners at night as well as the Sky Garden.

Let's hope they are able to reduce the state of vandalism with their increased presence! :sport-smiley-003:

- dat's e only up2date pcs of 'art'.

- those earlier graffiti were now replaced with another type of 'creation' -> coats of paint, patchy x2 type.

- nevertheless, i find e atmosphere & surrounding is not same s day 1 liao. :(

- yup.

- suggested 2 them 2 patrol during wkdays between late afternoon & evening time, on-top of their usual routine.

- told them dats e timings e havoc ppl in sch uniform wil gather in grps, TCSS, smoke, create nuisance etc.

- pts noted & if any residents need their presence & assitance, feel free 2 call

1800 251 9999

- told them many of my neighbours & frnds had oleady complained 2 dis & dat & here & there, including Mr MP. Glad actions r takin place...

:rolleyes:

Edited by jaCKY777

Dear Neighbors, (Follow Up)

I hvnt forgotten our Security concerns. Spoke w RC chair a couple of days ago (I bz, tats y din login 1wk liao, oso din wan2 disturb RC ppl, who were bz preparin4 NatDay). Hvg reiterated my concerns & askin if anythg fruitful frm RC's meet w SPF, HDB, TC etc, he initially suggested I write in2 RC & they will fwd mail 4reply by NPP. Later he said he's willing 2request/arrange4 a meetin bet us, Blk 79 concerned residents with NPP (chief/ asst/ rep..) for a meaningful dialog. We can suggest a time & he will do his best 2arrange a meetin@ nearby Blk 179 RC/ CC nxt2 Blk E.

Let's hope a meetin can take place & we use d opportunity 2meet NPP, voice our safety concerns & undue irritation by punks@ SkyGdn :deal:

Btw, suggest we don't anyhow "hantam" 8| NPP w accusations & blow whole meetin outta proportions rather, voice our areas of concern, listen to their explanations/ any measure(s) taken then, if inadequate, we suggest they do more... Objective: Fruitful meetin for Effective solutions

So HOW? Shall we proceed 2fix a date & time & get RC 2revert? (say, choose bet 3pm on nearest Sat or, 5pm Sun?) ONLY w yr support can tis meetin occur. Yr replies/ comments most welcomed : )

Rem 2ADD yr name if ur agreeable 2attend meeting. I will kickstart :sport-smiley-003:

_______________(cut & paste segment below)__________

- Proposed Meeting w NPP, 2b arranged by TPC Zone2RC (Sat 3pm* OR, Sun 5pm* - Date 2b confirmed)

- Agenda:

i) murder, burglaries, suspicious characters@ fire escape stairs (info & preventive measures, advice)

ii) recommendations on unbecoming conduct of students/punks loiterin@SkyGdn..(graffiti, litterin, intimacy..)

iii) dangerous acts eg. sittin on railing, ball flyin over railing onto passersby/ vehicles below, water bombs...)

iv) any other (residents'/ NPP) observations & comments

1. Hana79 - Blk C. Sat 3pm

- yup.

- suggested 2 them 2 patrol during wkdays between late afternoon & evening time, on-top of their usual routine.

- told them dats e timings e havoc ppl in sch uniform wil gather in grps, TCSS, smoke, create nuisance etc.

- pts noted & if any residents need their presence & assitance, feel free 2 call

1800 251 9999

- told them many of my neighbours & frnds had oleady complained 2 dis & dat & here & there, including Mr MP. Glad actions r takin place...

:rolleyes:

Hi Jacky,

Congratz on da commencemt of ur reno! :yamseng: Dun make me jealous w ur v.high flr pic la. Tis time my turn go kpo ur plc okie?

Edited by Hana79

- Proposed Meeting w NPP, 2b arranged by TPC Zone2RC (Sat 3pm* OR, Sun 5pm* - Date 2b confirmed)

- Agenda:

i) murder, burglaries, suspicious characters@ fire escape stairs (info & preventive measures, advice)

ii) recommendations on unbecoming conduct of students/punks loiterin@SkyGdn..(graffiti, litterin, intimacy..)

iii) dangerous acts eg. sittin on railing, ball flyin over railing onto passersby/ vehicles below, water bombs...)

2. Meepok & Babymaro2003 - Blk C. Sat 3pm / Sun 5pm

- Agenda:

3. Khim & missy - Blk D Sun 5pm

extracted frm Channelnewsasia.com

Olympics: Singapore paddlers settle for silver in women's team final

By Hoe Yeen Nie, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 17 August 2008 2118 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore has clinched the silver medal in the Olympic women's table tennis team event. It is the nation's first Olympic medal in 48 years.

The gold went to top seed China.

The two teams played a thrilling final which lasted nearly two hours at the Peking University Sports Stadium on Sunday night.

But despite giving it their best shot, the Singapore trio - comprising captain Li Jiawei, Wang Yuegu and Feng Tianwei - were no match for their opponents, losing 0-3 in the end.

With a lively crowd chanting "Go China Go", veteran Wang Nan - who won her fourth Olympic gold to become the most decorated table tennis player there is - brushed aside Feng 9-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-6.

World number one and Athens singles gold medallist Zhang Yining then stepped up to battle past Li 9-11, 11-3, 11-4, 11-7 in a match peppered by long rallies.

Zhang and world champion Guo Yue then paired to steamrolled Li and Wang Yuegu 11-8, 11-5, 11-6 to win the title.

Despite the landmark gold medal for China, Singapore also celebrated a rare medal. The last time anyone from Singapore stood on an Olympic podium was at the 1960 Rome Olympics when weightlifter Tan Howe Liang won silver - Singapore's only previous medal.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong congratulated the Singapore women paddlers on winning the silver medal. He told the media after his National Day Rally speeches that with more training, there will be more chances in the future.

"We are a bit disappointed that we didn't get the gold, but the Chinese were a very strong team and our team have done very well and we are very proud of them. It's been a long time since we had a medal at the Olympics and Team Singapore have not disappointed us," Mr Lee said.

South Korea took bronze in the women's team table tennis, easing past Japan 3-0 in the play-off match, ending any hope the Japanese had of snapping a 20-year medal drought in the sport.

Kim Kyung-Ah, who won a singles bronze medal at the Athens Olympics, got the ball rolling for the Koreans by overcoming Sayaka Hirano 11-5, 11-4, 7-11, 12-10.

The popular Ai Fukuhara, ranked 12 in the world, then lost to Chinese-born Dang Ye-Seo 11-4, 13-12, 7-11, 11-3 before Kim paired with Park Mi-Young in the doubles to beat Hirano and Haruna Fukuoka 11-6, 11-8, 13-11.

Women's team table tennis result: China beat Singapore 3-0

Wang Nan (CH) bt Feng Tianwei (SIN) 9-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-6

Zhang Yining (CH) bt Li Jiawei (SIN) 9-11, 11-3, 11-4, 11-7

Guo Yue/Zhang Yining (CH) bt Wang Yuegu/Li Jiawei (SIN) 11-8, 11-5, 11-6.

- CNA/AFP/ir

:good::dancingqueen::yamseng:

Edited by jaCKY777

- Agenda:

3. Khim & missy - Blk D Sun 5pm

4. Stay79 & hubby - Blk E Sat 3pm