thanks meepok & cutebaby :D

i called the company ystday to check..

apparently they r nt charging for the devices currenly

regardless of where u r residing ..

contradicting... :unsure:

cos their staff who knocked the door said that it's a community service given

to residents in our neighbourhood..

and he said there's nothing to be paid to the company..

only tat our residential phone line charges will be abt $30++ a mth ..

but the gal who talked to me on the phone

told me that i have to pay $38 to the company every mth

and i have to be bonded to them for a min term of 3 yrs.

m still considering abt it ..

anyway, i was at the garden on national day the other day

gosh..so many ppl..

and loads of teenagers who apparently i believe dun even stay there..

kinda upset to see the vandalism being done to our block...

i also feel that our garden safety features is not very good..i find the railings kinda low for children..

kinda easy to fall over ...

anyway..

i think u guys in here share the sentiments as me abt the security

and vandalism issues...

i read abt u guys mentioning of allowing access to the garden

only to residents of block of 79..

which i think is gd..

any updates how things are??

Hey neighbours,

For a lighter note, enjoy this youtube clip. Very funny.

LOL sipeh funny! laugh until peng!

This video tells the truth more than any of the state propaganda media craps ever will!

Heil PAP!

Anyway correct, the system is free but monthly service fee of $26-$36 is payable for 36 months if i am not wrong. They are either sales ppl from ADT (Tyco) or Certis Cisco, they will target estates which recently have crimes published in the papers. Go for it if you have limitless budget, but take note that these systems are also an eyesore or magnet to these crimes too.

I rather unscrew the door and sell the wood for more $$$ man :good:

hmm....

seems like i hv to go and c which level install the security thing

anyway..

y did u say tat it's an eyesore or even a magnet.. :unsure:

hmm....

anyway..

- take e stairs at e back.

- walk dn frm D-10, u wil see it.

- owner is a Renotalker here.

- since gona b neighbour liao, bfrnd him loh.

:rolleyes:

anyway..

i think u guys in here share the sentiments as me abt the security

and vandalism issues...

i read abt u guys mentioning of allowing access to the garden

only to residents of block of 79..

which i think is gd..

any updates how things are??

Latest Update

Some of the graffiti have been painted over, but not all. Maybe they're painting one wall per day. Slow no doubt, but it's a start. There are about 12 graffiti-infected walls, so give and take, they'll probably need a week to finish the job.

As for security, I guess it's up to us residents at the end of the day. Keep our eyes and ears open for suspicious or weird characters and happenings. So far, still no signs of foot patrol from our matas. I'm not pinning any hope on them, and I don't blame them. Like someone said, "If you want to beat the dog, first you must know who is its master."

I guess we need some to import some Division-One standard town council people and mata boys and pay them Superscale-G salaries real soon! :dancingqueen:

hmm....

anyway..

y did u say tat it's an eyesore or even a magnet.. :unsure:

In my opinion only, those whom installs security systems in residential areas either have gold bars at home or old folks for security reasons. Thats what the magnet is for, it is to tell the so called burglars that those are what I have at home, come and try.

Anyway there is a very easy way to bypass these systems and it is very easy especially for our estate.

Hint: I will not say, lata ppl tot i burglar ah. (Go and see the system being installed for yourself and you may know what i am talking about) Hehe.... :notti:

Anyway it is still up to individual on their needs and reasons for the systems.

Good Luck! :yamseng:

Latest Update

Some of the graffiti have been painted over, but not all. Maybe they're painting one wall per day. Slow no doubt, but it's a start. There are about 12 graffiti-infected walls, so give and take, they'll probably need a week to finish the job.

As for security, I guess it's up to us residents at the end of the day. Keep our eyes and ears open for suspicious or weird characters and happenings. So far, still no signs of foot patrol from our matas. I'm not pinning any hope on them, and I don't blame them. Like someone said, "If you want to beat the dog, first you must know who is its master."

I guess we need some to import some Division-One standard town council people and mata boys and pay them Superscale-G salaries real soon! :dancingqueen:

Is it you secretly go paint it at night? Hehe.... :bleah:

Anyway to paint over these beautifully decorated artwork, alot of coats are required. So i guess we got to give them the benefit of doubt and give them some time to paint finish. At least something is being done rather then nothing.

:drunk:

In my opinion only, those whom installs security systems in residential areas either have gold bars at home or old folks for security reasons. Thats what the magnet is for, it is to tell the so called burglars that those are what I have at home, come and try.

Anyway there is a very easy way to bypass these systems and it is very easy especially for our estate.

Hint: I will not say, lata ppl tot i burglar ah. (Go and see the system being installed for yourself and you may know what i am talking about) Hehe.... :notti:

Anyway it is still up to individual on their needs and reasons for the systems.

:drunk:

well..the missy at hm has been asking me abt it..

so m telling her i m gathering information in here..

before agreeing to anything..

she's easily swayed by tis and tat ..

m thinking tat it's nt tat visible too..

cos if they wan to break in, they hv means and ways to do it..

as for the vandalism, well.....

the only way to stop is basically to stop them fr gg up to the garden..

rem how they use to block the entrance to the garden before it was fully operational..

well maybe they can install access gates at the same locations...

Latest Update

As for security, I guess it's up to us residents at the end of the day. Keep our eyes and ears open for suspicious or weird characters and happenings. So far, still no signs of foot patrol from our matas. I'm not pinning any hope on them, and I don't blame them. Like someone said, "If you want to beat the dog, first you must know who is its master."

Hi Neighbours,

An add-on info! Please beware while walking outside the building. One of the evening between 8-9pm, the kids from the sky garden were throwing water-bomb to the ground floor. It's nearly hit on me & an aunty while we were passing-by. And I heard them screaming & laughing happily after it nearly hit onto someone. While aunty was looking up to check, they threw again.

Please be careful guys. Take care!

Hi Neighbours,

An add-on info! Please beware while walking outside the building. One of the evening between 8-9pm, the kids from the sky garden were throwing water-bomb to the ground floor. It's nearly hit on me & an aunty while we were passing-by. And I heard them screaming & laughing happily after it nearly hit onto someone. While aunty was looking up to check, they threw again.

Wow. If i were you and i saw them doing that, i would go up and screw the living daylight out of them. Just snap their photos with your camera phone and call the police...

These kids needs to be conditioned like pets..... once they learn that they can't "piss" around our estate, they will learn not to come back and fool around.

Edited by CUTEBABY

Latest Update

As for security, I guess it's up to us residents at the end of the day. Keep our eyes and ears open for suspicious or weird characters and happenings. So far, still no signs of foot patrol from our matas. I'm not pinning any hope on them, and I don't blame them. Like someone said, "If you want to beat the dog, first you must know who is its master."

I have been reading thru many pages of past postings and realised that they are actually alot of forum members living in BLK 79. How come suddenly all seem to have vanished into thin air when we started discussing about the security problem in our estates.

What happened to the kampong spirit and purpose of joining these forums when many just keep quiet when we are voicing out to the authorities. Is it our Kiasi attitude or we just act blur because some are less affected than others

Come on lah......you can run away from these problems temporarily but you can't hide from them. sooner or later, it will start haunting you too if everyone of us don't do our part and contribute....

Hi Neighbours,

Hi Yan485,

If i were you, I will start calling 999 liao. "WATER BOMB" very serious lay. I think i need to wear helmet everytime i pass by the ground floor liao. Thanks for sharing with us.

Babymaro2003

Hi Neighbours,

Kids nowadays are unstoppable, they just do what they like and get off with it easily. Call 999 also useless lah, at the most the Blues Brothers will still give them a warning. Bringing them back to the station would require them to write report and all the troublesome paperworks loh.

Write to MP (take weeks to months to reply), call police (no use), write to TC (no reply), write to HDB (not their problem), complain in forum (also no use), write to press (ppl will start criticizing on the topic).

Hmm... let me see wat else can be done..... nothing???

Wait.... i think i know wat can be done...... we just........

endure.gif

Edited by Dracula

Out if topic for awhile

Finally Singapore will have a medal in the Beijing 2008 Olympics, all thanks to Ms Li Jiawei & Kaki's.

Olympics: Singapore enter women's table-tennis team final

SINGAPORE: Singapore's women paddlers have ended the country's 48-year Olympic medal drought.

The country is assured of a medal after the paddlers advanced into the final of the team event.

The team beat their South Korean counterparts 3-2 on Friday to qualify for Sunday's final.

Semi-final results:

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Dang Ye Seo (KOR) 11-5, 11-5, 11-2

Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) bt Li Jiawei (SIN) 5-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-6, 11-9

Wang Yuegu/Li Jiawei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young/Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) 11-7, 11-6, 11-9

Dang Ye Seo (KOR) bt Wang Yuegu (SIN) 11-8, 14-12, 11-9

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young (KOR) 11-7, 12-10, 3-11, 11-9

ChannelNewsAsia.com

Edited by Dracula

Out if topic for awhile

Finally Singapore will have a medal in the Beijing 2008 Olympics, all thanks to Ms Li Jiawei & Kaki's.

Olympics: Singapore enter women's table-tennis team final

SINGAPORE: Singapore's women paddlers have ended the country's 48-year Olympic medal drought.

The country is assured of a medal after the paddlers advanced into the final of the team event.

The team beat their South Korean counterparts 3-2 on Friday to qualify for Sunday's final.

Semi-final results:

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Dang Ye Seo (KOR) 11-5, 11-5, 11-2

Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) bt Li Jiawei (SIN) 5-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-6, 11-9

Wang Yuegu/Li Jiawei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young/Kim Kyung Ah (KOR) 11-7, 11-6, 11-9

Dang Ye Seo (KOR) bt Wang Yuegu (SIN) 11-8, 14-12, 11-9

Feng Tianwei (SIN) bt Park Mi Young (KOR) 11-7, 12-10, 3-11, 11-9

ChannelNewsAsia.com

Congrats.... errmm... at the expense of a few millions $$$ from taxpayer's pockets in exchange for an olympic silver/gold medal??? divide by 48 years... maybe still quite worth loh :dunno:

And for the finals, it will be China Truebred vs SG China FT :dancingqueen:

Edited by meepok