Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Latest Update

A number of walls on the 12th level Sky Garden between 79C and 79E has been vandalised by some very uncreative graffiti in the guise of a horribly drawn butterfly and the calling numbers of a local "Sipeh Sart" gang "369".

I have already notified the BTPTC about this matter. Let's hope they clean up the mess in time for PAP Day.

With so many groups of these young punks hanging around the sky garden day and night. It is of no surprise that such acts of vandalism persists.

These punks sit around the tables, at times eating or smoking, at times pretending to study while enjoying a puff. Discarding their rubbish all over the place after they'd finish. Now, they've got even bolder by defacing the walls with their sub-standard graffiti! :furious:

Maybe the TC should consider installing those "eye in the sky" like the ones in Geylang to deter these would-be punks. That is, if the cost for cleaning up is costlier than for installing the surveillance cams. Otherwise, why have a beautiful sky garden only to be constantly destroyed by some inconsiderate scums??? Might as well not build it in the first place or spend the $$$ on other areas. :dunno:

Peom of e day ->

Expensive Doesn't Mean Good.

Cheap Doesn't Mean No Good,

Got Warranty Doesn't Mean Good,

No Warranty Doesn't Mean No Good.

Reno Progress Fast Doesn't Mean Good,

Reno Progress Slow Doesnt Mean No Good.

- aniway, i'l b at 79 dis wkend.

- let mi noe if u needs my kpo-ness.

:rolleyes:

I just saw your "peom" this morning. Thanks for your offer. The plumber should try to get back by this Tuesday. If no reply, then maybe you can help out this weekend?

Hi Toppie,

There is a neighbour of ours who works as a case trust assessor. Maybe u want to seek his advice?

Jacky777,

i just sent the quotation(another format) already, see if u can view.

Hi Tension, I am aware. But I dun know his name though I often see him in the vicinity. Furthermore, my ID very smart. He also reverted on the 3rd day with a response which was nv a reply or to solution to solve the problem. He called my hubby on a Sat at 12.30pm at say plumber will reach my place at 12.45pm. How are we able to reach my place on time? Furthermore, that is after we asked him on Fri evening what time/ which day is his plumber available. He seems to be trying to play with time.

With my ID playing with time, dun know when he will play one my warranty period and also get away from CASE.

Hi Meowie

Tks4 ur kind offer. I din go 79 tdy cos my schedule was stretched & twas late by da time I wan2 go.

Welcome back, Toppie!

Dunno if we referrin2 same thg.. letter is primarily 2urge police 2step up patrol in our neighborhood, etc esp w current murder case. Will incl. urs, Droplets, Meowie, Drac, Jacky & ...'s signatures then : )

All Neighbors,

Btw, I spoke w RC chair earlier. The police is currently investigating da case, wch i gather is not a break-in. RC is hvg a meeting nxt wk w da relevant authorities ie. police, HDB, etc.

-> Suggest we wait4 any conclusive outcome of meeting & KIV our letter for now.

Yes Hana,

We are referring to the same thing. I will sure join in the signature

Dear All,

Long time nv post liao. But I am still reading all postings daily :D

The security of our neighbourhood is really a problem. Not just for the ladies ...even for guys...I will join in to sigh the petition once confirmed. Let me know.

Saw meowie wil her dogs last Sunday, was cycling and wearing my specs, maybe she couldnt recognise me cos she looks blur when I smile at her.

Saw Liana's hubby that day at the lift lobby and say HI to him, he also blur...probably wondering how come I know him. No really staying there yet so maybe not much impression.

Have been quite busy with new job and the problems of Cirxxern ID. Thought my nightmare will be over after completion of renovation.

Now my kitchen cabinet wood had some "popping up" areas. Definitely due to some piping problem and water seepage. Called up my ID, nv pick up call. Call the office, say my ID will follow up with me. Can have the face to tell me our usual procedure is our ID will call up within 3 working days. So I waited till 4th day, still no call. I called up the office again. Demand them to give me an ans by that 4th day else I go to CASE. Finally my ID call me and tell me his HP got pblm so cant receive cal..*bull*****.

Then finally send plumber to my house. But the plumber just came in awhile and say its my washing machine leaking, tightened the hose and left. How can the water from the washing machine seep to the internal of my kitchen cabinet? I also not an expert in this area to be aware.

My hubby called them up again. This time round, after a week, the carpenter came down. Say will help me do laminate on the "popped" areas FOC. Asked him, whats the problem. At least need to know the cause then can axed all future problems. He told me he is not a plumber, dun know.

Hubby called them up again. ID took 2 days to reply (maybe to meet 3days procedure). Tell us will arrange for plumber. Asked them date and time. He said will check and let me know. 1 day has passed, no reply. Maybe another 2 days (to meet procedure of 3 working days) to reply again.

Can anyone advise me what to do? Go strsight to CASE got case? They reply within 3 days but not doing anything. What "branded" ID firm, got ISO, got HDB vertified....all full load of rubbish.

Hi Toppie,

So sorry to hear that problems arises again shortly after your

reno is done..

Like what most forummers have mentioned, no matter which ID

firm, "branded" or "ulu", is sure to have dark horses..

Perhaps you are just unlucky to bump into one of them..

So far, my ID has been still very "on the ball" in regards to minor

rectifications to my reno.. In fact, the painter has came back at least

5 times to touch up the painting works. (some of which is my own doings :notti: )

:thumbs up:

Think it really boils down to the reputation of the ID. Gd IDs would want good

feedback and hence will usually do a good job and of course hoping for positive

"word of mouth" to promote their services.

Good luck and stay cool. Remember, most imptly is to get the defects rectified.

I guessing who you will be voting for the next GE.. :P

wa.. 5.52am login and post liao.. play MJ and no sleep ah?? :P

no ar... cough until cannot sleep.. :(

Hey I got someone from tyco knocking on my door on Sat to ask me to install a "FOC", fully subsidised ADT alarm system...the mass installation is on Tue and Wed.

Anyone signed up for it?? He claim "they send him here cos of the recent high crime rates in our neighbourhood".

But I keep peeping at the invoices and found there are payment to be made. ard $40+ per month.

Hey I got someone from tyco knocking on my door on Sat to ask me to install a "FOC", fully subsidised ADT alarm system...the mass installation is on Tue and Wed.

Anyone signed up for it?? He claim "they send him here cos of the recent high crime rates in our neighbourhood".

But I keep peeping at the invoices and found there are payment to be made. ard $40+ per month.

hmmm ... 40+ per mth.... for how long?? I think you better call the company to double confirm. :D

Hi jac,

yes the installation is free, but the service is payable and i think there is a contract of 36 months which cannot be broken once signed. And the whole load of crap about being sent here because of high crime rates is rubbish ah, its all sales talk ah. Actually, i personally think that with the ADT alarm system we are trying to let our "thieves" know which unit to target and try their luck.

I have tried their service at my friends place before and the police came about 30 mins lata. Heres the procedure of their call system.

Step 1: Alarm gets activated after 1-2mins of break-in.

Step 2: ADT receives the signal and starts to call you 3 times with intervals before activating the police. (false activation will resort in warnings from the police to ADT)

Step 3: Police gets activated and rolls themselves down. (U can imagine how long they will take)

Step 4: Thieves only need max of 10-15mins to get what they need and runs.

So the morale of the story is "How long will our Mr Police officer take to reach our homes?"

Hehe.... enjoy.... :notti:

Just a little History lesson i came across :notti:

Toa Payoh and the Malaysia period (1963-1965)

The second major new town to be built was Toa Payoh. This name wasn't created, unlike Queenstown. It came from local usage and is quite a unique blending of Hokkien Chinese and pidgin Malay.

This area was part of an extensive, low-lying section of the island. In places it had been a swamp, though for a few generations already, it had been drained and made into farms.

The eastern portion of the lowlands today carries the Malay name 'Paya Lebar', which simply means 'broad swamp'. The western part of it to today's Toa Payoh.

'Toa' in the Hokkien (Fujian) dialect of Chinese means 'big', but 'Payoh' –- and it's always spelt as a single word even though it consists of 2 syllables -– is a corruption of the Malay 'Paya'. Hence, Toa Payoh is a place name made up of a Hokkien Chinese adjective, qualifying a corrupted Malay noun. It reminds us of the easy mingling of Chinese and Malay farmers of days long gone.

However, Toa Payoh was conceived during the Malaysia period [2], when primacy was accorded to the Malay language. For that reason, the roads in Toa Payoh were named Lorong 1, Lorong 2 and so on. 'Lorong' means 'lane' in Malay.

Hehehe, our ID better. I think he abandoned ship already, 3 weeks never call, never return calls, looks like he doesn't want his last 10%, hehe.

Hi Toppie,

So sorry to hear that problems arises again shortly after your

reno is done..

Like what most forummers have mentioned, no matter which ID

firm, "branded" or "ulu", is sure to have dark horses..

Perhaps you are just unlucky to bump into one of them..

So far, my ID has been still very "on the ball" in regards to minor

rectifications to my reno.. In fact, the painter has came back at least

5 times to touch up the painting works. (some of which is my own doings :notti: )

:thumbs up:

Think it really boils down to the reputation of the ID. Gd IDs would want good

feedback and hence will usually do a good job and of course hoping for positive

"word of mouth" to promote their services.

Good luck and stay cool. Remember, most imptly is to get the defects rectified.

hmmm ... 40+ per mth.... for how long?? I think you better call the company to double confirm. :D

He didn't say how long or contract term...but only say it will increase your phone bill by $1++ per day cos they need to create / link your phone number to the CID number....so its machiam like a monthly subscription fee...if you interested in the brochure I can pass to you this evening :D

Hi jac,

yes the installation is free, but the service is payable and i think there is a contract of 36 months which cannot be broken once signed. And the whole load of crap about being sent here because of high crime rates is rubbish ah, its all sales talk ah. Actually, i personally think that with the ADT alarm system we are trying to let our "thieves" know which unit to target and try their luck.

I have tried their service at my friends place before and the police came about 30 mins lata. Heres the procedure of their call system.

Step 1: Alarm gets activated after 1-2mins of break-in.

Step 2: ADT receives the signal and starts to call you 3 times with intervals before activating the police. (false activation will resort in warnings from the police to ADT)

Step 3: Police gets activated and rolls themselves down. (U can imagine how long they will take)

Step 4: Thieves only need max of 10-15mins to get what they need and runs.

So the morale of the story is "How long will our Mr Police officer take to reach our homes?"

Hehe.... enjoy.... :notti:

Hey...thanks for the info. My husband not interested leh....he says the logo only attract more bees to eye on the unit...but of cos i think if there are elderly at home then its good lor cos one button can attract ambulance.

Anyway i keep asking them who is the "they" who sent him here he just say is "they" so i guess the they is Tyco Sales Department lor hahaha ;)

Edited by howlupjac

He didn't say how long or contract term...but only say it will increase your phone bill by $1++ per day cos they need to create / link your phone number to the CID number....so its machiam like a monthly subscription fee...if you interested in the brochure I can pass to you this evening :D

Hey...thanks for the info. My husband not interested leh....he says the logo only attract more bees to eye on the unit...but of cos i think if there are elderly at home then its good lor cos one button can attach ambulance.

Anyway i keep asking them who is the "they" he just say is "they" so i guess the they is Tyco Sales Department lor hahaha ;)

hahaha... thanks for the offer.. but guess i will give it a miss... hehe.... pokkai liao... :P

I only like their "Duress" alarm where it does not sound at all, but it notifies the police immediately. For ambulance, sad to say they will still call you to ask if u need ambulance loh. Like that i might as well call 995 faster. But if u say elderly then no choice ah.

But the fact that ur number will link to CID??? Hahaha.... they are really misleading man.... :notti:

CID ware got time to entertain us? :D

But anyway, its juz my point of view lah.... :dancingqueen:

halo.... anyone got put something like a plastic board at the gate area to prevent dogs from running out the gate?? (dont knw wad is it call.....)

can give me contacts for the person in charge??

halo.... anyone got put something like a plastic board at the gate area to prevent dogs from running out the gate?? (dont knw wad is it call.....)

can give me contacts for the person in charge??

eyy... me n a few neighbours ... we put those plastic fences.. DIY de.. buy from hardware shop or petshop then use cable tie to tie to the gate :D

toppie, keep ur ID sms/calls (recorded) if possible. Have evidence on ur side that he is playing time will be good when it come to CASE.

what problem do u need the plumber to solve?

get your husband to talk to him.

let ID know if he want to bear the cost if u engage an external plumber.