Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi all

Friendly reminder --

Remember to pay ur TV licence after u have moved in. I had MDA officer spot check on me 2 mths back & was issued warning.

If u have already paid up in ur old flat & is moving to this new one, u can call them up to transfer the address. That's what I did & it's ok.

Also remember to buy insurance to cover ur new flat contends incase of fire *touchwood*.

Poon_75

How are u & wife. Haven't heard from u for a while. Sorry has been busy with own things & hasn't been in touch.

Hi Alister & Family,

Long time no see also. Was not in town very much the past few weeks. So when is the next Kopi session?? Seems like there's alot of catching up to do. :)

Hi Alister.thanks for the contact...but is it one digit missing from the hp? :P

Sorry i guess the contractor that you are using is BCA certified right?

Hi Alister.thanks for the contact...but is it one digit missing from the hp? :P

Sorry typo - 9823 6613

Yes, they r BCA certified. I have handed over my flat, no issue with the windows after the rivets changes.

Hi Alister & Family,

Long time no see also. Was not in town very much the past few weeks. So when is the next Kopi session?? Seems like there's alot of catching up to do. :)

Maybe the next holiday coming up ? See u around the block.

Edited by alister

Hi all

Friendly reminder --

Remember to pay ur TV licence after u have moved in. I had MDA officer spot check on me 2 mths back & was issued warning.

If u have already paid up in ur old flat & is moving to this new one, u can call them up to transfer the address. That's what I did & it's ok.

Also remember to buy insurance to cover ur new flat contends incase of fire *touchwood*.

Poon_75

How are u & wife. Haven't heard from u for a while. Sorry has been busy with own things & hasn't been in touch.

Hi Alister,

Tks4 ur reminder on tv licence & hse content insur.

I'm@ final stage of reno but a bit slow lately cos busy & yet2 arrange4 some deliveries. Heard reception there's good, got many channels so, mayn't nid2 subscribe2 cable, wil decide later.

Ru da 1 whose water filter had much rust in it? Any reply frm da authorities yet? Frm wat I c, water quality leaves much 2b desired, how2 drink?? Tis is unlyk some countries we went where we gotta drink bottled water all da time (HB who went thru reservist even rinsed mouth w bottled water).

Hi Pooh75,

Yes indeed! The SPF has got lots to learn from their counterparts in other countries, for example HK. Why only appear to clean up the mess when you could have prevented it in the first place? How? By making more foot patrols in the neighborhoods... in the city... in the vice districts... by making their presence felt... but no, they only do patrol in the air-conditioned comfort of their patrol cars!! :furious:

How often do you see them Policemen doing foot patrols in the city or your neighbourhood?... and I'm not talking about 'patrols' to the kopitiam to tapow makan & kopi siew dai!

I've only seen the patrol cars driving along the small road behind our blocks... that's all... maybe the occasional trip up and down the multi-storey carpark. Never once did I see any of them get down the car to patrol on foot!

I suppose the only sure way to make them appear in droves and in a instant, is to get Dr Chee to hold a peaceful citizen protest with placards and loudhailers!... which he did so, over the Labour Day holiday next to the TPY Library and Bata shop. Since they did not have any placards this time, no uniformed Policemen were visibly present to arrest them.

I suppose we'll have to be more vocal and proactive in complaining to the Police when things get out of hand, especially on the 12th floor. Or maybe someone should highlight this issue to the MP when he makes his next "shake hand & take photo" appearance.

I hope some SPF folks are reading this. Better buck up hor! Don't waste time with that escaped limping terrorist anymore ok? :bow:

Hi Meepok,

What u said is true. Last Saturday, was awaken by some 6-8 teenagers playing and shouting at the playground downstairs around 1.30pm. Called the TP NPC, a patrol car came after 20mins. the moment it arrived, the teenagers ran in all directions. Instead of coming down to chase them and book them, they just drive off.

In Australia or the states, If anyone try running off at the sight of a police patrol, that's it man. The guy better be prepared to be chased and mazed.

Guess what?? The group proceeded to 8th floor sky garden, called them again to inform and update them. Said they will send someone down to book them. I waited 30mins. No sight of Police... Kids still playing a fool around the garden. Called them 3rd time at 2.15am. The police officer who answer gave all sort of execuses. :drunk: I was really tired then so didn't give him a piece of my mind.

The police in Singapore are really too pampered and having too good a life compared to their western counterparts. They are all show and no action, better suited to model police uniforms and equipments for Law enforcement equipment manufacturers. :P

That's why we need to rally the support and help of all civic minded neighbours to "scan" our little neighbourhood for undesirable characters and activities.

If everyone adopts a "BO CHUB" or "non of my business" attitude, then I rest my case :bangwall:

Edited by Pooh_75

Sorry typo - 9823 6613

Yes, they r BCA certified. I have handed over my flat, no issue with the windows after the rivets changes.

Maybe the next holiday coming up ? See u around the block.

Thanks for the info! i was wondering how much i need to fork out to change the rivets. Almost forgot to call MDA too.

HDB officer also called me today to remind me to remove the toilet window panes and hoard it up. says the technical officer may not want to take over the flat if the panes are in danger of falling off.

tomorrow arranging with town council to clear out the old furniture from my old unit.

Here's the reply from TC (with some amendments) -

Our PO, Ms Vivian Lee has spoken to you on 24/04/08, we have arranged for PUB to check on your water quality.

1) Water sample from your kitchen direct tap was taken back to PUB on 24/04/08. the report shows that the water is fit for drinking under the World Health Organisation's (WHO) regulation. We have instructed the contractor to carry out another time of water tank flushing which they are arranging for the work to be carried out soon.

I have fitted a piece of white cloth on the tap and after 2 wks, already showing brown stains. I will take the photo after another 2 wks. Will leave it as evidence to PUB man and ask him whether he will drink from the tap after seeing the cloth.

3) The corridor/staircase lights are functioned in "autocell" system. If area is dim due to raining period or late hours, the lights will be turned on.

4) The blocks at the Town Centre, including Block 177 are currently undergoing upgrading programme, as such the flooring will be carried out during the programme. Nevertheless, we will do patching works at the badly affected area in the meantime.

Edited by alister

Hi Meepok,

What u said is true. Last Saturday, was awaken by some 6-8 teenagers playing and shouting at the playground downstairs around 1.30pm. Called the TP NPC, a patrol car came after 20mins. the moment it arrived, the teenagers ran in all directions. Instead of coming down to chase them and book them, they just drive off.

In Australia or the states, If anyone try running off at the sight of a police patrol, that's it man. The guy better be prepared to be chased and mazed.

Guess what?? The group proceeded to 8th floor sky garden, called them again to inform and update them. Said they will send someone down to book them. I waited 30mins. No sight of Police... Kids still playing a fool around the garden. Called them 3rd time at 2.15am. The police officer who answer gave all sort of execuses. :drunk: I was really tired then so didn't give him a piece of my mind.

The police in Singapore are really too pampered and having too good a life compared to their western counterparts. They are all show and no action, better suited to model police uniforms and equipments for Law enforcement equipment manufacturers. :P

That's why we need to rally the support and help of all civic minded neighbours to "scan" our little neighbourhood for undesirable characters and activities.

If everyone adopts a "BO CHUB" or "non of my business" attitude, then I rest my case :bangwall:

yeah you are right about the police in singapore getting too pampered nowadays and almost to the extent that they are losing their authority. no thanks to Mas SK at all. i remembered the days the fear of policemen that was instilled by my parents. that's why older people are more law-abiding. :sport-smiley-003:

Hi Meepok,

No, dun rem costing a bomb. PM me if interested, i go dig invoice cos we looked@ several models (saw diff prices so can't rem) & had2 find 1 tat fits our bathrm length, @same time not too cramp for my height. "Built-in jacuzzi" price is cheaper but u nid ur own/engage a contractor 2build tile wall.

Cos I had invoice longer (b4 our last min. ditch4 jacuzzi), I rem my contractor quoted us $1100 for normal bathtub (incl supply & construct low tiled wall), wch I tink quite reasonable. He even ordered the color 2match.

Generally we trust his tiling work cos contractor in industry almost 2 decades liao. Oso did many of HB's frens' hses. So far my floors luk ok & tat day while waitin, I mentioned to him some units hv uneven/hollow flrs, he say he hadda spend $100+ a container of (special?) adhesive4 tiles (carpenter arrived so i no time ask wat/nid how many container). He say some contractors not willing to spend xtra.. Guess he assumed no inexperienced/careless tiler.

Ei, u made (full) glass screens for bath oredi rite? If u make tub, gotta saw 1/2, man!

I oso gotta live w da ugly blue & orange colors, jus cover up >sore-eye space only. If not, wear shades 2bathe lor, stylo mylo ah! : ) We all wait 3 yrs la, then do nice2 (maybe immune 2 sore-eye blue & orange by then, hahha!)

Hi Hana79,

Actually, I'm already immune to the blue & orange tiles liao!!

Like what I always tell my wife... toilet can wash n bathe can liao... next time win Toto then say! :D

I have a neighbour moving hse this week and is giving up a MJ table. It's still in gd condition.

Anyone interested ? Let me know & u can pick it up this weekend.

Edited by alister

Here's the reply from TC (with some amendments) -

Our PO, Ms Vivian Lee has spoken to you on 24/04/08, we have arranged for PUB to check on your water quality.

1) Water sample from your kitchen direct tap was taken back to PUB on 24/04/08. the report shows that the water is fit for drinking under the World Health Organisation's (WHO) regulation. We have instructed the contractor to carry out another time of water tank flushing which they are arranging for the work to be carried out soon.

I have fitted a piece of white cloth on the tap and after 2 wks, already showing brown stains. I will take the photo after another 2 wks. Will leave it as evidence to PUB man and ask him whether he will drink from the tap after seeing the cloth.

3) The corridor/staircase lights are functioned in "autocell" system. If area is dim due to raining period or late hours, the lights will be turned on.

4) The blocks at the Town Centre, including Block 177 are currently undergoing upgrading programme, as such the flooring will be carried out during the programme. Nevertheless, we will do patching works at the badly affected area in the meantime.

Hi Alister,

Tks4 da info. Water samples frm yr tap has been filtered (u jus cleaned/replaced yr filters) so I wud assume it's prob gonna meet some min. std, hopefully reassuring4 yr family. I missed tat bit jus now...Wat?? Cloth brown oredi after 2 wks? Yikes!

I jus tink they shud hv taken water samples frm any of the unfiltered taps ard the blocks for testing. While I'm likely to buy a filter syst, there're families which may not (Hb oso not a firm believer in filter systs sayin govt provides drinking quality water). Hope these families hv members readin tis forum & go get some kinda filter.

Good 2know tat they're at least gonna do a tank flushing but I wonder if & how they wud get rid of any sediments.

Tk care!

Hi Meepok,

Hi Pooh_75,

Those punks making a din at the 12th floor sky garden are students in uniform... white & dark blue... anyone knows which school?... guys and gals... teasing each other and running around shouting... food and drinks strewn all over the table... didn't actually see them defacing anything so didn't confront them.

As there are a few 'hidden spots' on the sky garden, these kids will congregate and do funny stuff, thinking nobody will see them. Haven't seen the situation at night though... but during the day, you can see a few group of students occupying the tables there. One table is already defaced with liquid paper ink.

Besides the sky garden, other 'hidden' areas include certain stairwells with door. Have shocked young couples/students sitting on the steps in close embrace or smoking.

I've long given up on our SPF... expensive big-budget TV ads... glossy conceptual print ads... just like our NDP... for show only... wayang! :sport-smiley-003:

I think it's time we take matters in our own hands... to a certain extent. Teenagers today are unlike our era... with literally no corporal punishment and discipline in the schools... they have become more pampered and daring.. defying teachers & parents!

If I see such unsavoury acts happening the next time, I will go up to them and tell them off... if they persist, I will simply "trouble" our "esteemed" neighbourhood police to pay them a visit! But if they're of the unsavoury gangster type, it's better to just let the boys in blue do the dirty work and clean them up! 8|

Well said.

Talking about the limping terrorist, I really :bow: to him. Either he is really that good at playing hide and seek or "uh-hmm" don't know what they are doing..and there are no more update on the progress.. zz

Hi Redwyrm,

If u believe the few conspiracy theories floating around... the truth may not be that far away!

The whole COI report is only a show to appease the people... nothing more, nothing less.

No accountability. No transparency.

"It has happened. What to do?" - PM Lee

Regarding the school uniform punks, I have seen them a few times already. Why dun you guys rally the blk 79 forumers to write a powderful letter to the MP and all sign in regards to the vandalism of our sky gardens and attitude of the "wayang" spf. Hehe... :D

Hi jacky and dracula,

sorry for "flying kite" yesterday... was sick and in bed whole day... wanna go see the installation of TV also cant climb out of bed... 39 degree.. Feel like dying... :(:(

Thanks for the info, carelinwen. :D

Hi meowie,

Its ok ah... most important is your health. Next time we can go for house viewing again ah. I will be there again this sat from 1pm. If you are around or available, can pm me ah.

dang.... yaya.. paiseh.. sick until blurr le.. :bow:

My house? Sigh! They came to fix my storage heater which we checked and realised it was not working. When my hubby called my ID? He said maybe his worker did not connect the wiring thats y cant work. He even told my hubby off saying that we should tell him all defects at one go. He wants to have the last payment ASAP cos his worker is waiting for his pay.

If he dare to say that to me, I would definitely tell him off. Who in good mind would fix the storage heater without connecting it? If we din check, how we know. He is making us so paranoid that we cant take things for granted and got to check through everything. I havent stayed in there yet and wouldnt have thought of checking the storage heater if not for reminder from my brother.

He better dun push his luck too far...my boiler will burst anytime. Dun make me write an official complaint to his bosses. Afterall this is his ricebowl. :furious:

toppie, hmmm...let me say something.

i experienced the same thing as you.

workers come to install instant heaters but didn't connect the wiring.

at 1st, i was like you, angry. asked ID y he do things half way.

that time he was also waiting for last payment. (sensitive period)

so I also told him, u can do all things together, y have to do half way.

then ID explained that the one who install is plumber,

but the wiring connection part is the electrician's job.

so it is 2 separate jobs.

oooo.

but ID can still arrnage them to come together on the same day.

so that I have to bath in cold for a few days.

ur ID cannot rush u de, since u have nothing with him, take ur time.

btw, i realised i have a light white patch on my laminate flooring, just one piece.

weird. it looks like a footprint, when the floor is clean with a little water, the patch is gone but when it dry up, the patch appeared again.

I msg my ID to arrange supreme to come and take a look, no response yet.

those who do laminate flooring from supreme AC3, did supreme or ur ID give u a warranty cert for 15 years?

let me know.thanks.