Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

yeah rojak is good but to me there's a better stall.

in air-con bus terminal, there's a basement food court, the rojak there better. :wub:

go during peak hr, you can easily wait 30-45mins.

usually go during non peak, also got to wait 10-15mins.

anyone tried the blk 69 market selling porridge, fried bee hoon, etc hk style?

shd try their or kueh, wow heaven, so smooth and tender. :P

For all info, the rojak stall at blk 177 now is not the original stall le. Dunno how it got famous one. The old stall has now moved to the basement food court which redcrystal is talking about. That is the authentic TPY rojak that we gotta queue up for at least 1/2 hours last time just to get a pack !

Btw, thouse interested in mutton soup, the old stall at the used to be kopitiam (now is Banquet) has also moved to the basement foodcourt. Its a must try cos it has accompanied my hubby thru his childhood and the taste is still as good now :wub::yamseng::good::good:

For all info, the rojak stall at blk 177 now is not the original stall le. Dunno how it got famous one. The old stall has now moved to the basement food court which redcrystal is talking about. That is the authentic TPY rojak that we gotta queue up for at least 1/2 hours last time just to get a pack !

Btw, thouse interested in mutton soup, the old stall at the used to be kopitiam (now is Banquet) has also moved to the basement foodcourt. Its a must try cos it has accompanied my hubby thru his childhood and the taste is still as good now :wub::yamseng::good::good:

Hi howlupjac,

just saw your signature and realised that we are very close neighbour.. :P and I think we have met..

:wub:

ID told me plumber cannot come today.

Reason: accident. (plumber passed away)

Me: my condolescence to plumber. (silence a while)

ok, can you get a replacement plumber?

ID: No.

Me: I am sure your company have more than 1 plumbers?

ID: The deceased is the plumber's coordinator brother, so the whole team did not work today.

Me: Fine, what time is the tiler coming?

ID: 4.30 pm.

Me: (looked at watch, 12.45noon), able to ask tiler to come earlier?

ID: (called tiler) mumbled that tiler will bring 2 workers to do up the uneven tiles. told tiler to replace 8 tiles when he come later.

Me: (Rather pissed off that 2 out of 3 things cannot be done)

u call me when the tiler reached, 4 hours here nothing to do.

Please come with tiler, I do not want to talk to your tiler

as you will know more of the technical terms,

I do not want anymore miscommunication.

ID left.

Tiler came at 3.30pm (but only 1 person came-no tools, nothing)

I saw tiler, I asked him who else is coming, he said no one.

only him.

I asked him did he know about the 8 tiles thing?

Tiler said, he just got to know it and rushed down.

Pity my heart.

who is ID talking to in the morning?

Eventually, NOTHING is done today.

I have used up my leave.

ID asked me in the morning,

do you have experience of a close friend dying?

My reply: I feel like dying.

-------------------------------------------------

Hi Tension,

Tks for showing me yr hollow tiles & other parts of yr house today.

I didn't know you went thru so much earlier cos by the time I reached yr place late afternoon, hot & flustered (i forgot aircon remote so, few hrs "sauna" while shop electrician put up remaining light & fan-light), I jus listened & looked@ those defects you pointed out.

The cut-leg tiles were pretty obvious so, when the Replacement tiler came & you pointed them out, I oso 'beh tahan', went to step on raised edges & told him v.sharp.. I believed he said he will replace those but dunno abt hollow tiles cos I gettin missed calls & returned call2 technician who oredi at my house. I tot if yr tiler refused to rectify, I gonna add that raised tiles (sharp or otherwise) are dangerous cos can cut & hurt/cause accidents... good thing he understands but, he din do anything despite being there? Huh??

Since you hv conveyed yr items-to-rectify to ID, there's little reason for such slipshod! Guess u got2 tell ID firmly 2coordinate & ensure ALL defects done properly & ASAP.

When my electricians told me 1 pendant light can't be shortened, I brought back to shop which said can shorten so, i told shop you shorten it OR exchange tat light. I dun wan to keep calling my electrician to & fro. Just wan light up ASAP... Tat's why shop ppl came to fix instead. I mean, if shop ppl familiar how to shorten then they're in best position to put up light. So if tat (team of) carpenter can't deliver, ask ID to get another carpenter to fix. I'm relating tis cos I oso quite patient but when tis light kept giving me probs, I had to cut the nonsense somewhere.

You tk care ok, dun stress too much :yamseng: . I get crap too, maybe not together but here & there.

ID told me plumber cannot come today.

Reason: accident. (plumber passed away)

Me: my condolescence to plumber. (silence a while)

ok, can you get a replacement plumber?

ID: No.

Me: I am sure your company have more than 1 plumbers?

ID: The deceased is the plumber's coordinator brother, so the whole team did not work today.

Me: Fine, what time is the tiler coming?

ID: 4.30 pm.

Me: (looked at watch, 12.45noon), able to ask tiler to come earlier?

ID: (called tiler) mumbled that tiler will bring 2 workers to do up the uneven tiles. told tiler to replace 8 tiles when he come later.

Me: (Rather pissed off that 2 out of 3 things cannot be done)

u call me when the tiler reached, 4 hours here nothing to do.

Please come with tiler, I do not want to talk to your tiler

as you will know more of the technical terms,

I do not want anymore miscommunication.

ID left.

Tiler came at 3.30pm (but only 1 person came-no tools, nothing)

I saw tiler, I asked him who else is coming, he said no one.

only him.

I asked him did he know about the 8 tiles thing?

Tiler said, he just got to know it and rushed down.

Pity my heart.

who is ID talking to in the morning?

Eventually, NOTHING is done today.

I have used up my leave.

ID asked me in the morning,

do you have experience of a close friend dying?

My reply: I feel like dying.

-------------------------------------------------

- i hav not seen e actual defects, but base on my own perceptions,

(1) some defects can b accepted,

whereas

(2) some canot b accepted.

- e fact is sub-con (workers ngage by ID) sometimes do 'put aeroplane'. Many types of excuses & patterns.

- attendance, punctuality, attitude, diligence, responsiblity & pride wil reflect how e employees/workers treat his job & work. This applies 2 everbody in dis world.

- end of e day, all this in turn can b seen by e end products. In dis case, its e workmanship & how they rectify e defects done by them.

- many of e neighbours & frnds here had seen ur hm & e defects. Wat's their verdict? Well, they hav e same verdict - poor workmanship & coordination & irresponsibility.

- u gota accept e fact dat u r unlucky dis time. Seriously learn frm it s a painful lesson, u sure wil gain in e near future.

- u gota sit dn & analyse carefully, discus with family members if need 2.

(1) Wat is ur priority rite now?

(2) How many times & wats e duration had u given them 2 rectify e defects?

(3) Do u really need them 2 rectify e defects? or rather izit a must?

(4) Do u care so much abt e freebies?

(5) R u willing 2 listen 2 others' kind advice & suggestion?

(6) Wats e purpose of keeping ur cool?

(7) Wats e gain by keeping mum who's ur ID?

My personal opinion ->

- u hav e hdb dateline thingy 2 observe. Try stick 2 e watever rules & regulations, 2 reduce possible problems.

- over & over again, i'v been reading e same story, they r not trying 2 do their best 2 rectify e defects. Despite e nos. of rectifications attempts & durations, e correct standard & requirements stil could not b achieved. u gota face it, gave them up.

- u gota let it go, no point holding on 2 ur beliefs or assumptions. Stop watever balance payment 2 them, totally cease e dealing with them. If u stil cant live with e defects, can fork out abit more by payin a min. sum of $$$, get a thirty party contractor 2 rectify 4 u. There r many who r willing & can do much better.

- freebies is everybody's wish, including mi. If u willing 2 let it go, 4get abt e freebies, its not e rite time. i can intro u branded items at a gd price. In fact, this items r much better than ur freebies, in terms of designs, functions & value.

- majority of neighbours here feels dat u r being too nice. Many felt dat u r being bullied by an unprofessional ID. Frm e way they responded, its insulting. Mayb u r stubborn, try listen 2 neighbours here who r streetwiser than u. It works wonder by listening 2 others rather than waiting 4 miracle by sharing agony & unhappiness in e forum.

- controling ur temp, doesnt help at all. u noes dat very well. So its time 2 turn around.

- by keeping mum who's ur ID co & ID did not help u in anyway, everybody noes dat unless u cant see. With ur story & pix, ID co & ID name publicize, it may expedite e rectification process. u never noes if u wouldnt wana try.

My words may not b nice, its up 2 u 2 read, absorb, evaluate & take action.

Dats all i can say s a neigbour.

There is still Banquet in Toa Payoh? I thought it has closed down, near the library one, right?

Btw, thouse interested in mutton soup, the old stall at the used to be kopitiam (now is Banquet) has also moved to the basement foodcourt. Its a must try cos it has accompanied my hubby thru his childhood and the taste is still as good now :notti::disturb::bleah::bleah:

On the topic of food, we like the Chey Sua carrot cake. I think it's Blk 127 or something, near Lor 1. And if you travel a bit more, there's Botak Jones at 970A TP North. There's also Italian (pizza, pasta) and other stuff. I like the roti peng at the kopitiam opp our blk (nearer 79A/B).

Juz to share. The porriage stall at Oasis Kallang has moved to TPY garden. Not sure if open yet but do check it out in future.

Everynite we can see the bright blue & white lights from my flat and it looks inviting.

Juz to share. The porriage stall at Oasis Kallang has moved to TPY garden. Not sure if open yet but do check it out in future.

Everynite we can see the bright blue & white lights from my flat and it looks inviting.

I think should be opening soon and I thought it is a chinese restaurant.. :disturb:

The oasis porridge is ex but nice especially the SUM CHAM BAK (pork belly). 8|:~

3 types of dishes cost around $25++ but portion is quite big. Estimation for 3 pax. :~

We should have a dinner gathering there next time. :deal:

Not sure if we referring to the same one, i like the fried carrot cake at the hawker centre there (lor 1A blk 12 something, 2nd storey). The name is Qing Shan (direct translation green mountain), they fried till crispy on the outside. Another famous stall there is the Teochew pau, i like their fatty meat pau (not really fatty thou). If u like bak kwa, u can frequent a corner shop in the same hawker centre, can't remember the name thou, but there's only one there. They will set up stall downstairs during CNY and have to book in advance during that period.

Thanks jacky for the advice.

(my ans in brackets)

(1) some defects can b accepted, (ok)

whereas

(2) some canot b accepted. (what are those that cannot be accepted?)

- e fact is sub-con (workers ngage by ID) sometimes do 'put aeroplane'. Many types of excuses & patterns.

(the fact is they came but are always doing things only when I tell them, not automatic, workers believe that that is the standard, but it is not)

- attendance, punctuality, attitude, diligence, responsiblity & pride wil reflect how e employees/workers treat his job & work. This applies 2 everbody in dis world.

(I am not their boss, I cant control them though I have already paid 95%)

- end of e day, all this in turn can b seen by e end products. In dis case, its e workmanship & how they rectify e defects done by them. (True)

- many of e neighbours & frnds here had seen ur hm & e defects. Wat's their verdict? Well, they hav e same verdict - poor workmanship & coordination & irresponsibility.

(Fact is yes, I have raised this to the ID, they don't mind changing for me but time is a factor now, I am at a disadvantage)

- u gota accept e fact dat u r unlucky dis time. Seriously learn frm it s a painful lesson, u sure wil gain in e near future. (Sure, thanks)

(To solve the unacceptable defects, and move in)

(Mininal time, about 1 week)

(Some are not but you have paid cold hard cash, I dont see y i should accept a sub standard goods when I know it can be better)

(This point hurts, if I care about freebies, I would have signed with Home Interior at TPY with all sort of freebies, my ID company only gives a complimentary hood and hob,

the solid surface has been cut in such a way to only suit that model of hood and hob,

yes u may say, then i buy on my own, but I have a budget. I am not hard-up for freebies.)

(yes I am, i know most neighbours want me to shout at the sub con, turn face towards ID, go CASE etc.. meowie, babymario have seen my subcon,

they know by shouting, by neing angry, doesn't work. Those were guys/man/old man, I am just a woman)

( I just want to complete things in peace)

( I believe it has many factors that are causing all these,

ID did not disappear, does it help in my situation to disclose ID thus far?My purpose to tell neighbours here is to ask for advice and open for comparasion for workmanship, the intent is never to disclose ID, disclose ID firm or threatening them to whatever action, as a consumer, my loss is more than them.)

My personal opinion ->

- u hav e hdb dateline thingy 2 observe. Try stick 2 e watever rules & regulations, 2 reduce possible problems. (ok)

- over & over again, i'v been reading e same story, they r not trying 2 do their best 2 rectify e defects. Despite e nos. of rectifications attempts & durations, e correct standard & requirements stil could not b achieved. u gota face it, gave them up.

- u gota let it go, no point holding on 2 ur beliefs or assumptions. Stop watever balance payment 2 them, totally cease e dealing with them. If u stil cant live with e defects, can fork out abit more by payin a min. sum of $$$, get a thirty party contractor 2 rectify 4 u. There r many who r willing & can do much better.

(that will be last resort)

- freebies is everybody's wish, including mi. If u willing 2 let it go, 4get abt e freebies, its not e rite time. i can intro u branded items at a gd price. In fact, this items r much better than ur freebies, in terms of designs, functions & value. ( I have answered the above)

- majority of neighbours here feels dat u r being too nice. Many felt dat u r being bullied by an unprofessional ID. Frm e way they responded, its insulting. Mayb u r stubborn, try listen 2 neighbours here who r streetwiser than u. It works wonder by listening 2 others rather than waiting 4 miracle by sharing agony & unhappiness in e forum. ( I didnt wait for miracle, that is y i open my house to neigbours to comment, it helps by tell subcon/ID that I have been to various house, and this work they do is not standard work)

- controling ur temp, doesnt help at all. u noes dat very well. So its time 2 turn around.

(if killing is legal, I will kill them, if I have $$$$$, I will also kill them. =)

- by keeping mum who's ur ID co & ID did not help u in anyway, everybody noes dat unless u cant see. With ur story & pix, ID co & ID name publicize, it may expedite e rectification process. u never noes if u wouldnt wana try.

(I PM u for this)

Dats all i can say s a neigbour. (Once again, Thank you jacky)

:deal:

Back to water filter system... Hyflux is have a roadshow at Suntec Level 4 tomorrow.

http://www.hyflux.com/consumer_pdts.htm

eLife Water Filter + eLife Shower Filter = $699 neg

You might wanna go down n take a look. 8|

But of course, the salesman promise me that if we buy more, got more discounts. Hence, perhap we can arrange to go together ?

Then maybe after seeing filter, we can go see clocks... :deal:

Edited by meowie49

Sorry to go back into food topic again 8|

Recommended food by reviews

Blk 111 Lor 1 Toa Payoh #01-366 (Chicken Rice Ball)

Blk 127 Lor 1 Toa Payoh #02-02 (TeoChew Handmade Pau)

Blk 127 Lor 1 Toa Payoh #02-11 (Fishball Noodle)

Blk 127 Lor 1 Toa Payoh #02-27 (Hokkien Prawn Mee)

Blk 127 Lor 1 Toa Payoh #02-29 (Hong Kong Style Porridge, Mee Suah, Raw Fish)

Blk 128 Lor 1 Toa Payoh #01-811 (Roast Duck Rice, Roast Chicken Noodle, Wantan Mee)

Blk 190 Lor 6 Toa Payoh #01-522/524 (Roast Meat, Wantan Mee, Dumpling Noodle)

Blk 22 Lor 7 Toa Payoh #01-03 (Hokkien Popiah, Kueh Pie Ti Cups)

Blk 22 Lor 7 Toa Payoh #01-24 (Chicken Rice, Stewed Duck Noodle, Wanton Noodle)

Blk 22 Lor 7 Toa Payoh #01-35 (Hainan Snacks, Nasi Lemak, Hainan Laksa)

Blk 22 Lor 7 Toa Payoh #01-47 (Vegetarian Dessert, Cheng Tng Gingko Nut, Tau Suan)

Blk 210 Lor 8 Toa Payoh #01-135 (Porridge $2, Cuttlefish Kangkong $3/4/5)

Blk 210 Lor 8 Toa Payoh #01-153 (Hao Ji Handmade Pau)

Blk 177 Toa Payoh Central #01-124/126 (Fillet Of Fish, Spaghetti, Oven Baked Chicken)

Thats all for the moment

Thanks jacky for the advice.

(my ans in brackets)

(1) some defects can b accepted, (ok)

whereas

(2) some canot b accepted. (what are those that cannot be accepted?)

(the fact is they came but are always doing things only when I tell them, not automatic, workers believe that that is the standard, but it is not)

(I am not their boss, I cant control them though I have already paid 95%)

- end of e day, all this in turn can b seen by e end products. In dis case, its e workmanship & how they rectify e defects done by them. (True)

(Fact is yes, I have raised this to the ID, they don't mind changing for me but time is a factor now, I am at a disadvantage)

- u gota accept e fact dat u r unlucky dis time. Seriously learn frm it s a painful lesson, u sure wil gain in e near future. (Sure, thanks)

(To solve the unacceptable defects, and move in)

(Mininal time, about 1 week)

(Some are not but you have paid cold hard cash, I dont see y i should accept a sub standard goods when I know it can be better)

(This point hurts, if I care about freebies, I would have signed with Home Interior at TPY with all sort of freebies, my ID company only gives a complimentary hood and hob,

the solid surface has been cut in such a way to only suit that model of hood and hob,

yes u may say, then i buy on my own, but I have a budget. I am not hard-up for freebies.)

(yes I am, i know most neighbours want me to shout at the sub con, turn face towards ID, go CASE etc.. meowie, babymario have seen my subcon,

they know by shouting, by neing angry, doesn't work. Those were guys/man/old man, I am just a woman)

( I just want to complete things in peace)

( I believe it has many factors that are causing all these,

ID did not disappear, does it help in my situation to disclose ID thus far?My purpose to tell neighbours here is to ask for advice and open for comparasion for workmanship, the intent is never to disclose ID, disclose ID firm or threatening them to whatever action, as a consumer, my loss is more than them.)

My personal opinion ->

- u hav e hdb dateline thingy 2 observe. Try stick 2 e watever rules & regulations, 2 reduce possible problems. (ok)

(that will be last resort)

- freebies is everybody's wish, including mi. If u willing 2 let it go, 4get abt e freebies, its not e rite time. i can intro u branded items at a gd price. In fact, this items r much better than ur freebies, in terms of designs, functions & value. ( I have answered the above)

- majority of neighbours here feels dat u r being too nice. Many felt dat u r being bullied by an unprofessional ID. Frm e way they responded, its insulting. Mayb u r stubborn, try listen 2 neighbours here who r streetwiser than u. It works wonder by listening 2 others rather than waiting 4 miracle by sharing agony & unhappiness in e forum. ( I didnt wait for miracle, that is y i open my house to neigbours to comment, it helps by tell subcon/ID that I have been to various house, and this work they do is not standard work)

(if killing is legal, I will kill them, if I have $$$$$, I will also kill them. =)

(I PM u for this)

Dats all i can say s a neigbour. (Once again, Thank you jacky)

I believe tension's mentality is just want the renovation to get over and done with. She may have alot of factors that she need to consider and I believe her burden is quite heavy since she is the decision maker for the renovation pkg. If things dun turn out well, she probably felt she is partly to blame since she made the choice.

As neighbours, we should just help out if she needs and listen to her grievances. Afterall, "Jia Jia You Ben Nan Nian De Jing".

Tension, you may wish to lodge a complaint to RADAC or HBay of the contractor is their member after your renovation. To be a RADAC member, they cant have any complaints for 2 consecutive years. May not be able to help out in your situation but at least it helps others who may sign up with them and end up in your position. When you want or am comfortable to let us know who your ID is, just let us know. Otherwise, it ok. Dun stress yourself with other stuff at this point in time. Dun worry, you have our support.