meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 16, 2008 (edited) hi all,check with u all. How much roughly did u all spend on curtains? Also, any idea where we can get nice n cheap bar stools? Edited April 16, 2008 by meowie49 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted April 16, 2008 Hi Meepok...As requested the following picture of the noticeboard for your reference...heheHi Liana,Thanks for the pix! I've decided to just make 1 shelf instead... ID's going to charge me for making 3 shelves... as for the single pipe on top, maybe think of something to DIY liao hi all,check with u all. How much roughly did u all spend on curtains? Also, any idea where we can get nice n cheap bar stools?Hi meowie,I think alot depends of what material & type of curtains/blinds you're using for each individual room... be it day+night, roller blinds, roman blinds, etc.Went asking around few shops like the ones in TPY central, jimmy, e-curtains, etc. So far from what I've gathered... the range is between $1K+ to $1.4K for doing day+nite in living room, nite only for mbr, roman blinds for the 2 bedrooms & aircon ledge window for my 4-room. If you're doing curtains for all rooms, then will be cheaper. Roman blinds cost slightly more loh.Not sure if the 5-room units have more windows?? and if you have the L-shaped window in the mbr then will have additional cost also. meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 16, 2008 (edited) Hi all,for those who wish to buy the same MK switch as provided by HDB, here is the price at which I bought. FYI only.3G2W - $102G2W - $6Double Socket Plug - $6Water Heater - $12.50Door Bell (the one u press outside) - $4I realise the price can really differs a lot. Called other places to check the price. Mostly are marked up by 5bucks each. Their knife really sharp lor..Hi meowie,I think alot depends of what material & type of curtains/blinds you're using for each individual room... be it day+night, roller blinds, roman blinds, etc.Went asking around few shops like the ones in TPY central, jimmy, e-curtains, etc. So far from what I've gathered... the range is between $1K+ to $1.4K for doing day+nite in living room, nite only for mbr, roman blinds for the 2 bedrooms & aircon ledge window for my 4-room. If you're doing curtains for all rooms, then will be cheaper. Roman blinds cost slightly more loh.Not sure if the 5-room units have more windows?? and if you have the L-shaped window in the mbr then will have additional cost also. meepokdang! another K .... haiz.... why cannot go by tens or hundreds? meepok: thanks for the info jialat!! I think I did window pelmet for all rooms.. alamak!! eyy do window pelmet can still do roman blinds? Edited April 16, 2008 by meowie49 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
toppie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 Hi Toppie,Or alternatively, you can change to those slide & swing bi-fold PD door, about $280+ each. Don't need to hack anything, they'll just add on another frame to your existing door frame, that's it. If lazy, don't even need to open full, just slide to half length and enter! meepokHow does the door looks like? Any recommendation which contractor can fix it at reasonable price? Did your hse change to this door also? Any chance of taking photos of it?hi people, would like to know where i can get the aluminum extendable pole for hanging clothes and the holder thing...anywhere near tpy would be best as i would like to get the holder and install first...thanks~Hi Sushibabe, Do you mean those traditional hooks we drilled to our ceilings to place the poles indoor? My dad helped me to get it at a TPY shop. Can help you to find out the block no. if you are interested. As for the extendable poles, you can get it at "Ang Mo Supermart". Just behind our blk, along Singaporepools if you need a landmark to ask how to get there. But extendable one may not be strong enough. Use non extendable one will do. My mum's house uses it currently. Very good. You can get them at Toa Payoh Industrial Park, this shop called Toyogo. Its warehse like selling many stuff. Their products can be found in Carrefour also but much more expensive to get it there.Hi Zephy,Mine is also a #xx-17 unit. Done the aircon trucking as what the rest did also. You can take a look if you want. I'm usually there on Sun or my hubby will be there weekdays cos we are at the final stage of renovation Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
toppie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 hi all,check with u all. How much roughly did u all spend on curtains? Also, any idea where we can get nice n cheap bar stools?I spent abt 1k on the curtains. Day and Night curtains for MBR and Living rm. The other small window to aircon ledge and 2 other bedrooms, I asked for roller blind. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 I spent abt 1k on the curtains. Day and Night curtains for MBR and Living rm. The other small window to aircon ledge and 2 other bedrooms, I asked for roller blind.hi toppie,that is quite reasonable. May I know where u did urs? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
toppie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 hi toppie,that is quite reasonable. May I know where u did urs? I left the contact at home. Met this uncle in the lift of blk 79B. He is the boss of a factory in Ubi. The cloth design not so nice but I choose him cos not so exp. Got another contact where a middle age couple sew from home. I prefer their design but cos diff of price by $80 so I use the former.Which contact you want? You can get them to go to your house for measurement. No obligation. I told them I am getting more than a quote so they must give me good price else wun let them do. So they gave quite good price. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 I left the contact at home. Met this uncle in the lift of blk 79B. He is the boss of a factory in Ubi. The cloth design not so nice but I choose him cos not so exp. Got another contact where a middle age couple sew from home. I prefer their design but cos diff of price by $80 so I use the former.Which contact you want? You can get them to go to your house for measurement. No obligation. I told them I am getting more than a quote so they must give me good price else wun let them do. So they gave quite good price.Hi,possible to PM me these 2 contacts? Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
toppie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 Hi,possible to PM me these 2 contacts? Thanks. Sure, you got a PM. Hehe, on MC today so can reply u so soon !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 jialat!! I think I did window pelmet for all rooms.. alamak!! eyy do window pelmet can still do roman blinds? !!Hi Meowie,I think still can do roman blinds bah, but may look out of place?? Better to check with the curtain people loh.So you actually intend to make curtains for all rooms, that's why all the pelmets?? Roman blinds will cost more than roller and normal curtains loh.The cheapest I've found so far is from E-Curtains; Nite+Day in Living, Nite in MBR, Roman blinds for all other rooms & aircon ledge for $1K+ only. I think if doing roller blinds for the other 2 rooms may be even cheaper?? Their pricing quite competitive and we saw the material range also not too bad, alot of those retail curtain shops send their orders for them to sew also. By going direct, we cut off the middle-man cost loh. meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 (edited) How does the door looks like? Any recommendation which contractor can fix it at reasonable price? Did your hse change to this door also? Any chance of taking photos of it?Hi Toppie,I did mine with PD Door (www.pddoor.com) for the mbr bathroom for $280+. You can have a clearer picture of how the door works from their website, I took some photos but can't really see much cos of the obstructed camera angle. If you're getting the door from them, they deliver and fix up everything, including removing the current wooden door. Their bi-fold is slightly different from the normal bi-fold door as you can see from their website illustration. The normal type will just fold into a V-shape to one side, but this will actually slide and fold away 180degrees flat onto the wall. meepok Edited April 17, 2008 by meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 Hi Meowie,I think still can do roman blinds bah, but may look out of place?? !! Better to check with the curtain people loh.So you actually intend to make curtains for all rooms, that's why all the pelmets?? Roman blinds will cost more than roller and normal curtains loh.The cheapest I've found so far is from E-Curtains; Nite+Day in Living, Nite in MBR, Roman blinds for all other rooms & aircon ledge for $1K+ only. I think if doing roller blinds for the other 2 rooms may be even cheaper?? Their pricing quite competitive and we saw the material range also not too bad, alot of those retail curtain shops send their orders for them to sew also. By going direct, we cut off the middle-man cost loh. meepokmeepok... contact pls.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 meepok... contact pls.. meowie, PM u liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 Sure, you got a PM. Hehe, on MC today so can reply u so soon toppie,will u be at TPY later? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
toppie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2008 toppie,will u be at TPY later?I stayed in TPY. Going to koon due to medication. Anything I can help? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites