Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi all 79 kakis,

I"m new here, and I'm facing a problem here with my renovation, which I need some advice. :help:

My package includes installation of a System 3 air-con, but the installation by the sub-con is really very ugly. Initially he told me that since compressor ledge is just outside the living room, he hack a hole through my living room, causing a block of ducting in the middle of my living room wall. Not only that, the running of the ducting is so un-organized. I came across one of the household with piping to 2 toilets, but mine only 1 pipe to toilet. :bangwall:

Can someone please advise what should I do?

If possible, can someone share some photos that you have done in your house?

Thanks in advance! :(

Hi all 79 kakis,

I"m new here, and I'm facing a problem here with my renovation, which I need some advice. :help:

My package includes installation of a System 3 air-con, but the installation by the sub-con is really very ugly. Initially he told me that since compressor ledge is just outside the living room, he hack a hole through my living room, causing a block of ducting in the middle of my living room wall. Not only that, the running of the ducting is so un-organized. I came across one of the household with piping to 2 toilets, but mine only 1 pipe to toilet. :bangwall:

Hi zephy,

Is yours a 4 room or 5 room? For my house (4 room), the aircon piping goes from the compressor thru the wall (just below the window) of the toilet. The piping then goes from that toilet to the MBR toilet then goes out to the MBR. From the MBR, the piping is connected to the other bedroom. For the BR2 & BR3, the aircon is placed back to back on each side of their walls. All the pipings from the compressor onwards are sealed by trunking. If your contractor is doing the piping thru the living room, then i guess he needs to box up the piping. Did he tell you that?

Any others do their aircon trunking some other way? Can share?

Hi Neighbours

Howlupiac & Gadgetman: Once again thanx for the compliments.....Gadgetman: Wen u wanna invite me to ur hse...fm the pic sure swee swee one...and urs is 5rm im sooo jealous ...jus like how im jealous of Meowie's hse...got island somemore...nothing compared to my blum system leh......haiz

Meowie49: Im keen with the velvet accessories trays or holder whatever u call it...how much and how it looks like??

Meepok: im having the 'sort of same' problem as u with the ceiling in the masterbedroom bathroom...ID say he will check and let me know...

carelinwen & redcrystal: sorry i just saw ur msg...sorry i didnt pm u my unit no or contact no...didnt log in to renotalk earlier today....hehe anyway u seen my place just now..hehe

Hi few things i missed out

Howlupiac: i cant remember the colour code for my MBR i will check with ID and let u know plss remind me if i forgot...im super forgetful

Meepok, tensionz: the thingy that hides the heater inlet outlet whatever u call it im not so sure what its called is a magnetic notice board that my ID did for me...feel free to come by to look at it again coz i dun know how to post pics here....

Jacky777: the ABS trimming in my kitchen has got design 'lines' for easy 'pulling and pushing' the drawers - as advised/commented by neighbours who came by to have a look today...u scare me leh saying its diff frm the houses u seen....

Hi Neighbours

Howlupiac & Gadgetman: Once again thanx for the compliments.....Gadgetman: Wen u wanna invite me to ur hse...fm the pic sure swee swee one...and urs is 5rm im sooo jealous ...jus like how im jealous of Meowie's hse...got island somemore...nothing compared to my blum system leh......haiz

Meowie49: Im keen with the velvet accessories trays or holder whatever u call it...how much and how it looks like??

Meepok: im having the 'sort of same' problem as u with the ceiling in the masterbedroom bathroom...ID say he will check and let me know...

carelinwen & redcrystal: sorry i just saw ur msg...sorry i didnt pm u my unit no or contact no...didnt log in to renotalk earlier today....hehe anyway u seen my place just now..hehe

hi liana,

I will go to some shop in singapore to check it out.. if really cant find, then i will gather orders n buy online :bangwall:

meepok, your wife had the same idea as i do...i'm thinking of doing shelves but i'm worried it will make the kitchen very cramp etc...later will discuss with id what can be done...

Hi Sushibabe,

Yeah, I guess it'll be a little cramped. My contractor just told me that he will do the planks to cover up the pipes, something like Liana's version but without the backing board thing. The pipes will then be 'embedded' within the planks, then the external area covered with laminates. I got a feeling it'll not be cheap to do the carpentry for all 3 planks. Maybe just do FOC for 1, then think of some DIY to cover up the top pipe?

My living room, kitchen and bedrooms r all level... no need to trim doors...my bedroom kerb also very low almost level

No sure why meowie49 need to pay $150 for more cement. u mean they use more cement HDB will charge them mah?

Hi Bonkitty,

Maybe it's becos of more than usual cement/sand usage?? Extra cost on top of the usual haulage fee I suppose??

:bangwall: very obvious line.. there should be some way to plaster and level it..I think..

btw you a knight rider fan ah.. :(

Hi Redwyrm,

Yeah, went down to report defect and the guy there said they'll plaster and level it. Hope it turns out alright!

Knight Industries Two Thousand! now is Three Thousand liao! Was a fan since the early 80's series man! Way before Hasselhoff did Baywatch... KITT was like the dream car then! Caught the pilot of the new series yet? KITT is more 'muscular' now being a Mustang... still prefer the Pontiac though...

I rather save my energy than be angry already.

=)

yes, the pipes were stuck. Should be workers' cement or whatever things that come along.

I am staying positive that I am the one who was with the plumber today

then I know the root of the problem.

informed ID via phone call and email already.

Hope to post good things here soon =)

Cheers,

Hi Tension,

Think now must be calm liao... stay positive... I guess part of the problem also lies with the design of these sinks. Not like those older HDB flats where you use a black rubber stopper to hold the water in the basin. These new built-in type stoppers just isn't as good. Once you remove the stopper, there's a big hole in the sink and everything & anything will just drop in! I was thinking of a way to minimise the drainage hole without using the stopper provided. Maybe get a separate metal drainage filter and place it on top? Similar to those used in kitchen sinks.

:help:

meepok

A tip for those who engaged a contractor instead of an ID. If u have problem finding n matching the wall colours, you may go to Home Fix - Nippon counter. The professional there will advice you on matching colours.. :bangwall:

Hi Redwyrm,

Yeah, went down to report defect and the guy there said they'll plaster and level it. Hope it turns out alright!

Knight Industries Two Thousand! now is Three Thousand liao! Was a fan since the early 80's series man! Way before Hasselhoff did Baywatch... KITT was like the dream car then! Caught the pilot of the new series yet? KITT is more 'muscular' now being a Mustang... still prefer the Pontiac though...

:help:

meepok

Ya I also watched it alot during that time.. :dribble: I have download the pilot episode (Opps!) :bangwall: but have not watch it yet and the new full series will be out soon. :(

Just to check, is the standard height of shower screen 1.8m? cos mine was installed but i'm about 1.75m so i was thinking the water will splash over the shower screen. I was told by ID that i need to top up about $300+ to make it to 2m. Anyone faced this problem?

Hi Kiwy,

I thought 1.8m should be quite sufficient in blocking the splashing water? Mine is 1.8m but the screen stands on top of a 2" kerb between the shower and the sink area. I have yet to actually shower in the bathroom yet, so can't tell if the water will indeed splash over the top of the screen. Unless you have those 'rain forest' shower thing? I'm about 1.9m so I guess water may splash over when I'm washing my hair? Are those in the hotels higher or the same??? Can't recall... maybe just have to hunch over abit when washing hair??? :dunno:

Wow, did not log in over the weekends and so much has happended since! :)

Anyway, thanks so much for all the wonderful neigbors who have opened up your lovely homes for us to view on Saturday. Nice to meet the other neighbors too who are on the house-hopping trip, sorry did not get all your names, but I am sure there will alwasy be a next time! Special thanks goes to Tension_z, Meowie, Meepok, Bonkitty and Liana79B whose houses I have personally visited (did I miss anybody out?). So exciting to see all the different ideas, themes and concepts and see until my eyes go blurr! All the units are at different stages of completion, but I can see that all will end up very nice homes eventually. Then of course there are the bright ideas that really stand out lah:

- Cannot resist but to first mention Liana79B's knockout wardrobe and fully "Blumed" kitchen - I think my wife will faint if she ever sees this!

- Meowie's wet/dry kitchen concept is also very unique and I can already imagine how cosy their living area will be. She said got area planned for wine chillers and a large fridge - can already imagine them sipping wine and sitting by a bar counter - how romantic!

- Bonkitty's unit is still in progress and most of the laminates and doors are still not up, but can already tell that their toilets has a nice designer touch. Can also imagine that the TV console area will be quite nice once the mirrors are in place

- I think without question, Meepok has found himself a very good carpenter. Very impressed with the workmanship of the kitchen cabinets. Everything swee swee and to the point. Saw the uncle at work and can tell that his is an "old-hand". Although they are going for mininal buildup, the items done are of really solid quality. Love the nice and practical wardrobe with color coordinated laminates with the wall. The bomb shelter is also very nicely done up and goes perfectly well with the black mirror for the living room!

- Tension_z has got a functional WIW that will be the envy of many! Granted the workmanship can be a bit better, but still it's a practical and roomy solution to hang all your favorite clothes for display! The pebbled stone walkway is also unique and adds a resort-like feel to her home. They may not look very much now, but I knew that they will stand out once the coat of lacquer is applied (cos I got the same thing too). The large mirror on her (slanted) bombshelter door would also do a lot to create a sense of space in the living room

Congrats to all for being proud owners of your lovely Blk79 apartments! :good::good::good:

Hi Gadgetman,

Thanks for your kind comments! :D Just hope everything will be done up swee swee... cos we have minimal carpentry stuff also... plan was to do basic/minimal reno works, then compliment with other accessories and furniture items loh. Tight budget, that's why didn't do any bathroom makeovers like some of our neighbours here... can only admire and drool!

Hi all 79 kakis,

Hi Zephy,

Did you fix any unit in your living room? Or your Sys-3 all meant for the bedrooms? For mine, my aircon guys hacked a hole from my bathroom to the living room aircon ledge outside. Then, the gas pipes ran on top of my 1st bathroom to the mbr bathroom, then across the beam into bedroom 2, and finally into bedroom 3. For the drainage pipe, they did a split-off in the gas pipe trunking in the mbr bathroom, then hid the pipe inside my shower kerb, and drain off at the corner of the kerb. Is one of your bathroom in the kitchen?

Hi Liana,

I went down to the office at 79C today, showed them the photo also. Seems like they're able to fix the problem. Something like plastering it or something to level it. But will need to repaint the ceiling after that. Is yours a line or in patches?? I was told it's due to the uneven joining of the slabs. Maybe you want to go to the office and file a defects request as well? Or unless your ID can help to 'even out' the ceiling problem then don't need trouble the HDB people liao??

Ya I also watched it alot during that time.. :D I have download the pilot episode (Opps!) :rolleyes: but have not watch it yet and the new full series will be out soon. :dribble:

Hi Redwyrm,

HAHA same here! (oops!) I think they only shot the pilot episode for now, haven't start with the actual series yet, right? Must go check again... But The Sarah Connor Chronicles Season 1 already ended. Hope to catch that series too, saw the pilot and it looked promising. Anyway... hope to find some movie buff neighbours too, so can exchange DVDs or have Movie Weekends! :dunno: I'm a movie fanatic, so if u need any movie, maybe I can help :notti:

meepok

Edited by meepok

Jacky777: the ABS trimming in my kitchen has got design 'lines' for easy 'pulling and pushing' the drawers - as advised/commented by neighbours who came by to have a look today...u scare me leh saying its diff frm the houses u seen....

Hey Liana79B,

- did i? think u recal wrong person lah.

- dat day kinda late liao, no lites, how 2 see ur kitchen cabinets ABS trimmings?

- i only saw a blum system drawer.

- u asked mi 2 check out e edges of e top-hung/ctr pivot cabinet door, where e laminates meet at right angle. u even tried 2 use ur camera 2 take a flashed pix but stil 2 dark 2 see.

- u asked abt whether can see e edges of e laminates of carpentry.

- olso e black glossy laminates of e shoe storage outside household shelter door which looks kinda wavy.

- olso e frame of ur sliding wardrobe which seems kinda filmsy.

- olso e painting works which r yet 2 hav e final coat & touchup.

- olso e bedrm with 'expensive items'.

- olso e overlaid tiles of e master bathrm.

- olso e window which opens out 2 e aircon ledge.

- olso e feature wall/glass 2 cover up e household shelter door.

Dats wat i can recal leh. Hope i din giv u wrong info & scare u lah.

- clean design of kit cabinets r e ones dat minus off e protruding designers handles. It is replaced by recessed grooves, which r constructed at 45 deg. & finished off with ABS trimmings.

- ABS trimmings got many designs & colours 2 choose frm 2 blends in with e overall cabinets design.

- easy pulling (open) & pushing (close) of drawers/cabinets r dependent on e hinges & runners, not trimmings lah.

Edited by jaCKY777

Hi all 79 kakis,

I"m new here and pardon me for selling some thing cos I bought the wrong thing on impulse. :)

I have a brand new Queen Size Dunlopillo Royal Executive mattress for sale.

The mattress comes with a 2-inch latex comfortable plush top.

It has not been delivered yet.

It comes with free bed frame with high and comfortable bed head.

Free 2 anti-dustmite "Seven Heaven" pillows.

Free 1 Dunlopillo high quality mattress protector.

Free 1 "White Cloud" bolster.

We bought it on impulse because of low price at promotion. However, spouse regretted it later.

Original Price is $2099. (Got receipt as proof)

Now selling at $1699. ($400 discount)

You can't get this low price anywhere!

Interested parties can PM me or email to harrytn01@yahoo.com.sg

Hi Redwyrm,

HAHA same here! (oops!) I think they only shot the pilot episode for now, haven't start with the actual series yet, right? Must go check again... But The Sarah Connor Chronicles Season 1 already ended. Hope to catch that series too, saw the pilot and it looked promising. Anyway... hope to find some movie buff neighbours too, so can exchange DVDs or have Movie Weekends! 8| I'm a movie fanatic, so if u need any movie, maybe I can help 8|

meepok

Ya I also finished watching Sarah Connor Chronicles.. :P I also watched the following

Heroes

Lost

Smallville

Jericho

Prison Break

Bionic Woman (too bad they cancel the show)

hmm.. think i out of topic..ok back to reno talk.. 8|

zz

Dear All,

Anyone checked on the shower head of the bathrooms? I just realised that the shower head located in the common toilet is not in order. When you turn on the water, the water will splash out from all direction. Got myself all wet when I tried to wash my feet over the weekend cos the floor is really dusty.

Went to check my MBR's shower head, its ok leh. Have started my renovation. Dun know if they will change the shower head for me. :P

Dear All,

Anyone checked on the shower head of the bathrooms? I just realised that the shower head located in the common toilet is not in order. When you turn on the water, the water will splash out from all direction. Got myself all wet when I tried to wash my feet over the weekend cos the floor is really dusty.

Went to check my MBR's shower head, its ok leh. Have started my renovation. Dun know if they will change the shower head for me. :)

Hi toppie,

If I not wrong, the shower head is adjustable for different kind of spraying effect.. er hope you know what i meant.

Hi toppie,

If I not wrong, the shower head is adjustable for different kind of spraying effect.. er hope you know what i meant.

Yep, I know. But the leak came from the connecting robber hose to the showerhead. Thats y I tested my MBR one, its ok