Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

btw, do u guys think it is very stupid to do an SCV point in the kitchen? and somemore put so high!!

Maybe those HDB designers think we want to watch TV in the kitchen like the Americans mah! But then you gotta fix those mounted type TV loh... like those in govt stat boards... even some stat boards using LCD wall mount liao!

meepok

Do anyone of you puts a dehumidifier in your toilet? Is it useful and necessary, esp if you have installed vanity top and cabinets in the toilet?

sorry, noob here. if I didnt put a dehumidifier, what will happened? I have a wiw near the toilet, i read from somewhere that I need to buy these.

Hi Meowie,

Can cut and hide like that ah??? My ID say cannot leh, just cut away the U-shape but there'll still be 2 short pipes sticking out. The top pipe cannot even cut short.

So yours they cut away everything then use white cement to cover the hole? or they use tiles to cover up? Got photo to see?? very paiseh!

Cos if really can cut away everything and make flat, I will tell my ID to do likewise loh. But I remembered my ID say that if cut away the U-pipe, you'll only get water flow when you swing the tap to one side. Cos hot and cold flow now disconnected, left with one flow only. True??

meepok

hmmm... for my case, coz i happen to be hacking the wall also.. hence, those pipes are all "in the open".. hence, my contractor can easily cut n conseal it.. then patch up with the hdb tiles. :bangwall: About the water flow, I am not sure abt the swinging of tap. But, my contractor told me, if i am not putting storage heater, no difference de. :yamseng:

Maybe those HDB designers think we want to watch TV in the kitchen like the Americans mah! But then you gotta fix those mounted type TV loh... like those in govt stat boards... even some stat boards using LCD wall mount liao!

meepok

they are not thinking like American!! Just look at our pigeon hole bedroom!! grrrrrrrr :notti:

hmmm... for my case, coz i happen to be hacking the wall also.. hence, those pipes are all "in the open".. hence, my contractor can easily cut n conseal it.. then patch up with the hdb tiles. :bangwall: About the water flow, I am not sure abt the swinging of tap. But, my contractor told me, if i am not putting storage heater, no difference de. :yamseng:

Hi Meowie,

Hmmm.... maybe that's why all your piping can cut away... Mine not hacking any walls loh. I guess if no choice then just use the shelving idea to 'hide' the pipes liao... you're using instant heater as well?

they are not thinking like American!! Just look at our pigeon hole bedroom!! grrrrrrrr :good:

:notti: very true! more like HK or Tokyo pigeon hole flats loh! now all the new flats soooo small... but yet so expensive!

you know the previous old Blk 79 was only 12th storey tall if I remembered correctly... not sure how many units stretching across from the current 79A to 79E length area. But I'm very sure they made a huge bundle from demolishing the old 79 to build the new 79A-79E flats! And that's after deducting the $$$ paid to those for en-bloc!

HDB : Let's make lots of MONEY!

meepok

Edited by meepok

BTW, today I went to my unit... saw the cement screeding guy working... :P

faster ran to buy him some bread n kopi.. hehehe hope he did a good job for my unit.. :bangwall:

hmm.. I have 1 question though... That Ah-Di guy told my contractor that our floor is very raised. Hence, more sand n cement is needed. Therefore, either they do lower.. OR we pay 150 bucks to raised the cement level.. :good: Did anyone also face this problem? I know my contractor is not lying.. coz I am around when that Ah-Di made that comment and he also tried to "explain" why that 150 bucks is needed! :yamseng:

I feel like a "robert" sia.. ("robert" means carrot head) :)

Hi Meowie,

Hmmm.... maybe that's why all your piping can cut away... Mine not hacking any walls loh. I guess if no choice then just use the shelving idea to 'hide' the pipes liao... you're using instant heater as well?

meepok

yeah.. using instant heater also.. i heard of cases where ppl have to wait 5mins for water to heat up etc etc.. higher cost bla bla bla.. think stick to instant heater better.. :notti:

BTW, today I went to my unit... saw the cement screeding guy working... :)

faster ran to buy him some bread n kopi.. hehehe hope he did a good job for my unit.. :yamseng:

hmm.. I have 1 question though... That Ah-Di guy told my contractor that our floor is very raised. Hence, more sand n cement is needed. Therefore, either they do lower.. OR we pay 150 bucks to raised the cement level.. :notti: Did anyone also face this problem? I know my contractor is not lying.. coz I am around when that Ah-Di made that comment and he also tried to "explain" why that 150 bucks is needed! :bangwall:

I feel like a "robert" sia.. ("robert" means carrot head) :good:

not too sure about this though... maybe other neighbours can clarify?? Me also curious...

My homo tiles for the living, foyer, bedrooms are all level with the HDB kitchen tiles, only the 2 bathrooms got a small kerb entrance. Is this normal?? I've heard another neighbour say they had to trim all their bedroom doors just so that the tiles can be on level with the kitchen tiles. But my doors were not shortened though... :yamseng:

meepok

Edited by meepok

meepok, i should be buying the normal one. Budget.

the line looked obvious under lighting.

strange, we didnt notice that when we visit ur plc.

Hi Tension,

I think didn't switch on the lights that afternoon, that's why didn't see loh. Only with the lights on then can see. So we did not get HDB to rectify when we checked for defects earlier on. Dunno is it too late now since reno already started and going to complete liao! :yamseng:

- cant really see frm e pix

- if e slab is reinforce concrete, then its left behind by e formwork. Formwork is e mould 2 cast e slab wen e cement is in moten state. Plaster wil do, no worry lah. But u cant plaster e ceiling, hdb can.

- if e slab is prestressed or precast slab, then its cement joint. Plaster wil do, no worry lah. But u cant plaster e ceiling, hdb can.

Hi Jacky,

I also suspect is formwork defect when they did the slab cast. Like when you make snow skin mooncake, then suay suay kena the skin never mould properly come out koyak pattern!!

meepok

Hi Tension,

My wife suggested doing either 1 or 3 shelves to 'hide' the pipes... meaning the 1st shelf sitting on top the cold/hot U-pipe, 2nd shelf in between the U-pipe and top pipe, the 3rd shelf sitting just below the top pipe.

So when you view from standing height, all pipes should be 'hidden' by the shelves. Not sure how much it'll cost yet. But if it's just doing the 1st shelf, then it's FOC.

I think Liana's version had the pipes embedded within the wooden planks. My version is to just let the planks 'sit' on the pipes, so the pipes can still be seen if you bend down and look up below...

meepok

meepok, your wife had the same idea as i do...i'm thinking of doing shelves but i'm worried it will make the kitchen very cramp etc...later will discuss with id what can be done...

sorry, noob here. if I didnt put a dehumidifier, what will happened? I have a wiw near the toilet, i read from somewhere that I need to buy these.

it's just to prevent humidity...for wiw, if too humid, your clothes will be affected because it's open concept...

not too sure about this though... maybe other neighbours can clarify?? Me also curious...

My homo tiles for the living, foyer, bedrooms are all level with the HDB kitchen tiles, only the 2 bathrooms got a small kerb entrance. Is this normal?? I've heard another neighbour say they had to trim all their bedroom doors just so that the tiles can be on level with the kitchen tiles. But my doors were not shortened though... :yamseng:

meepok

My living room, kitchen and bedrooms r all level... no need to trim doors...my bedroom kerb also very low almost level

No sure why meowie49 need to pay $150 for more cement. u mean they use more cement HDB will charge them mah?

hi all,

let me clarify.. for those who have seen my place, u realise that I actually have a water pipe linked to my living room. In order to conseal the pipes, my contractor have to make my floor higher.. hence, when ah-di came, he said my floor is ABOVE standard.. and therefore the need to add 150bucks for the extra cement :D

just wondering if anyone have the same problem as me...

Hi Liana,

Nope, i wasnt ard that day , i came later in the evening, think u were not ard already.... but i heard abt ur $5k kitchen... :bangwall: i want to see!:D hee...

wanna ask everyone.... wad is the difference between indian granite and china granite? i did china granite for my tabletop, but seems like my top is abit thin layer, understand that indian granite very thick... think mine is half of that onli... need advise pls.... thanks!:D

Hi Mrs Png

Heee...thanx to ppl who gave me all the compliments actually its nothing really juz that the colour stands out and the blum system thingy....other than that im a bit upset abt the colour of my glass backing..i chose the wrong colour!:P

anywaythere's always next time....about the granite u may want to look at my kitchen top. Im using Black galaxy. Not sure how to see the diff between china and india. ID says mine is India granite. Since ur using the china granite u might be able to tell the diff...i will be there at 6.30pm - 7.30pm Monday - Wednesday maybe even Thursday....Let me know if u wanna come by..

For neighbours who wanna see the notice board thats hiding the heater inlet outlet feel free to come by to take a look again....now im abit worried if it starts leaking frm inside!:) somebody plsss advise!!

Hi, anyone has clothes dryer in the kitchen? Planning to have one to put on top of the washer but not sure if the height is sufficient 'cos there is a clothes hanger at the back of the kitchen.

For those that have storage heater, where do u place it?

Wasted that I can't join in the house-hopping and miss the chance to know u neighbours. Keep me informed if there's another 'hopping' chance ok :D My flat's at 79E.

Hi Jacky,

I think it's the ceiling which is uneven. Went up the ladder to feel the ceiling today... not flat loh. So when light is reflected, it creates a shadow line. Dam jialat. Don't think they can plaster it to level it either. Will go down tomorrow and make some noise.

Here's how it looks with the lights switched on...

image042wx2.jpg

meepok

:D very obvious line.. there should be some way to plaster and level it..I think..

btw you a knight rider fan ah.. :P

Thanks to tension_z, meowie, Liana & Rachel for inviting us to their house and allowing us to meet so many nice neighbours

tension_z really :P to your patience level. I like your bedroom color. very warm and cozy. Hopefully your nitemare will be over soon :)

Liana : really LOVE and :D at your full BLUM system kitchen leh and your bedroom color also very nice. May I know whats the color code? And we love your toilets. Both toilets very nicely done up

Meowie: after see your flat both of us really felt like giants trapped in cages in our own flat :D ... and looking forward to see your completed wet & dry kitchen

Rachel, Nice to meet you and knowing we have nice neighbours downstairs will sure invite you over once our unit to ready

Regarding the dehumidifier, I read that if we always us use hot shower and the room is not well ventilated, its very easy to make the wood mouldy...esp if we have a WIW near the toilet, the clothes will turn yellowish easily. Cos my hubby's colleagues mentioned no matter how many thirsty hippos you put in the wardrobe also no use...all his white clothes beome off-white... After hearing this, we confirm will be getting ventilation fans for both toilets...can take the risk of my clothes getting yellowisha and pokadotish...esp my my wardrobe is without door....

You may want to refer to the thread on ventilation fan for further info

Edited by howlupjac

I was sick and sleeping whole afternnon on Sat, couldn't join the house hopping but when I popped by in the evening with HB to check on the main door retification, I saw some of you guys at your end point at B's lvl 1 lift lobby. Hope those whom we did not know but saw us waving didn't think we were siao.

The issue of buying things with your ID is very true, I went hunting at Jalan Besar yesterday and was at Poh Joo. (met Shivan there!). The lady attending to us admitted that had we come with ID, pricing will be definately be more.

Also discovered that the pricing at Jalan Besar is so much better than Balestier shops. For example a sink (normal China type) I was eyeing was quoted about $30 difference. The same hob+oven was about $240 difference. But of course the displays lose out to those at Balestier.

Now I am determined to go Jln Besar/Kelantan Lane for lights and toilet stuff, got direct bus 139 from TPY central, just as convenient. So for those that have not bought their stuff, you can spend one day walking down Balestier to see, then jolt down codes/prices/dimensions/drawings etc, then go check out Jln Besar.

Hi Mrs Png

Heee...thanx to ppl who gave me all the compliments actually its nothing really juz that the colour stands out and the blum system thingy....other than that im a bit upset abt the colour of my glass backing..i chose the wrong colour!;)

anywaythere's always next time....about the granite u may want to look at my kitchen top. Im using Black galaxy. Not sure how to see the diff between china and india. ID says mine is India granite. Since ur using the china granite u might be able to tell the diff...i will be there at 6.30pm - 7.30pm Monday - Wednesday maybe even Thursday....Let me know if u wanna come by..

For neighbours who wanna see the notice board thats hiding the heater inlet outlet feel free to come by to take a look again....now im abit worried if it starts leaking frm inside!;) somebody plsss advise!!

Hi Liana,

I will be doing Blum kichen too, HB and I would like to visit your place today so we'll know what to expect and ask for. Can PM me your unit?