Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

liana, i can understand totally how u feel.

for the lights shop, u r not in the wrong. U have the right to ask them to come. May I know did u pay the lights in full before they deliver?

did ur buy the lights on ur own?

for me, i bought my lights with my ID,

though everything is somewhat more expensive than other shops,

but ID assured me that lights will be up and

his electrician will receive the delivery on my behalf, so for me no such problem.

I have heard of people buying spoilt lights, shop say replacement is free, so they deliver down but they charge for transportation which is $30, imagine if only 1 downlight is not working, then u pay $30, isnt this more ex than the light?

cool down liana, i think most of us will be around on sats.. hah.

if u are waiting for delivery, plan to do other things as well, maybe house hopping, or something else.

u know, at 1st, on sat my carpenter told me he will reach my house at 1030a.m I reached at 1015am, waited till 1045am, also see no one.

I called him up, he said he is buying some stuff, his workers should be on the way.

they reached at 12.30 eventually. I thought they will come at 1030,so I think by 1pm they should finish their work, so I can house hop.

But sometimes they just cant helpto be late.

I ever waited for my ID for 4 hours before..zzz

so I took that 2 hours to shop around TPY loh or makan, go library read books, then u wont feel so angry.

Hi Tensionz

i bought lights on my own...my uncle used to work in a lighting shop and he says that it would be much much cheaper to buy on my own...so i did..and even paid full before the delivery....haiz...wats done cannot be undone...just cant stand all this ppl...

anyway let me know when u wanna come by..u have my number rite...

Hi Liana,

Nope, i wasnt ard that day , i came later in the evening, think u were not ard already.... but i heard abt ur $5k kitchen... :notti: i want to see!!! hee...

wanna ask everyone.... wad is the difference between indian granite and china granite? i did china granite for my tabletop, but seems like my top is abit thin layer, understand that indian granite very thick... think mine is half of that onli... need advise pls.... thanks!:bow:

- mayb its ur lighting probm. haha.

- if its jus hairline crack, hdb wil only plaster it 2 make it looks nicer, 4 free. But if u pay 2 get somone 2 plaster 4 u, then NOT ALLOWED.

- structurally u r safer than ur neighbour above.

- make known 2 CSC of 79, see wat dey can do. i guess, nothin can b done.

- e only suggestion i can think of, is 2 tilt ur lighting/bulb at e opp direction. So dat e ceiling wil lok parellel 2 ur floor wen lite is turn on.

:bow:

Hi Jacky,

I think it's the ceiling which is uneven. Went up the ladder to feel the ceiling today... not flat loh. So when light is reflected, it creates a shadow line. Dam jialat. Don't think they can plaster it to level it either. Will go down tomorrow and make some noise.

Here's how it looks with the lights switched on...

image042wx2.jpg

meepok

yes liana, i have ur number.

meepok, i should be buying the normal one. Budget.

the line looked obvious under lighting.

strange, we didnt notice that when we visit ur plc.

Hi Tension_z!

You are one patient person, really amazing actually! !!

By the way, nice to meet you on Saturday, thanks for having us over.

Real sucky that we didn't have time to house hop with you guys, would have been a great experience.

cheers!

liana, i can understand totally how u feel.

for the lights shop, u r not in the wrong. U have the right to ask them to come. May I know did u pay the lights in full before they deliver?

did ur buy the lights on ur own?

for me, i bought my lights with my ID,

though everything is somewhat more expensive than other shops,

but ID assured me that lights will be up and

his electrician will receive the delivery on my behalf, so for me no such problem.

I have heard of people buying spoilt lights, shop say replacement is free, so they deliver down but they charge for transportation which is $30, imagine if only 1 downlight is not working, then u pay $30, isnt this more ex than the light?

cool down liana, i think most of us will be around on sats.. hah.

if u are waiting for delivery, plan to do other things as well, maybe house hopping, or something else.

u know, at 1st, on sat my carpenter told me he will reach my house at 1030a.m I reached at 1015am, waited till 1045am, also see no one.

I called him up, he said he is buying some stuff, his workers should be on the way.

they reached at 12.30 eventually. I thought they will come at 1030,so I think by 1pm they should finish their work, so I can house hop.

But sometimes they just cant helpto be late.

I ever waited for my ID for 4 hours before..zzz

so I took that 2 hours to shop around TPY loh or makan, go library read books, then u wont feel so angry.

usually they get their commission from the shop,

while the shop sell u more expensive than walk-in cust.

eg, retail price for walk in= $ 100

come with ID= $ 130

$30 is their commission.

invoice will have ID's name written somewhere.

- NO. This shouldnt b e way.

- e price of walk-in & e price of ID accompanied shd b e same s stated on e price tac.

- eg. $100 hamburger lite, walk-in customer, profit for shop is $40

- same $100 hamburger lite, ID accompanied, profit = shop $20, ID $20.

- end of e day, its e deal between e liting shop & e ID. Though earn less after spliting, its earning more in e long run, by refering more customers.

- e ID name written on e invoice is 4 e liting shop 2 tabulate e total profit 4 e mth 4 e ID, then ask him cum dn collect his side incum.

:wub:

Forgot to share my experience last Saturday!!

THOMSON LIGHTING in SHAW BALESTIER!! SERVICE IS TERRIBLE!!

Not only the salesperson at the shop is soooo rude even the guy arranging the schedule is **** rude!! it runs in the company!!

ELECTROLUX Oven (bought fm Harvey Norman):

HOW COULD THIS BE...HOW DO THESE PPL WORK???? This sooo FRUSTRATING!!

So one lesson learnt: double confirm a hundred times with these ppl...take down their names when making delivery schedules or making changes to schedules!!!!!

- Aiyo, realy a bad experience.

- i think nex time u gota ask a street wise or an ah beng type of frnd accompany u go shopping.

- any1 here wan volunteer?

Hi Jacky,

I think it's the ceiling which is uneven. Went up the ladder to feel the ceiling today... not flat loh. So when light is reflected, it creates a shadow line. Dam jialat. Don't think they can plaster it to level it either. Will go down tomorrow and make some noise.

Here's how it looks with the lights switched on...

image042wx2.jpg

:bow:

meepok

- cant really see frm e pix

- if e slab is reinforce concrete, then its left behind by e formwork. Formwork is e mould 2 cast e slab wen e cement is in moten state. Plaster wil do, no worry lah. But u cant plaster e ceiling, hdb can.

- if e slab is prestressed or precast slab, then its cement joint. Plaster wil do, no worry lah. But u cant plaster e ceiling, hdb can.

Edited by jaCKY777

Any of you installed storage heater in the kitchen? notice that it is leaking at the valve on and off. My plumber came down and say nothing wrong with the pipes. but said that the valve is meant to release the hot air after the water is heated and the air may have been condensated, therefore causing the leak through the valve.

Is it the real reason? or shall i call the plumber to come down and check again??

Hi neighbours,

Was just wondering if anyone did any carpentry or DIY to cover up the ugly hot/cold and gas pipes in their kitchen? I'm using instant heater for both bathrooms, so did not utilise these piping for any storage heater connection.

I remembered seeing Liana's kitchen with a red shelf and board thingy covering up the pipes, quite a good idea also... was wondering if anyone made any other design to conceal the pipes. My ID said the next best thing is to cut away the U-shaped pipe and shorten it. But then I'll still be left with 3 short pipes sticking out from the wall!

image037gf4.jpg

meepok

i also want to hide this thing. let me know how much ur ID charge for it.

I saw liana's one but not very clear as it was blocked by some doors previously.

hi all,

a big thanks to tension for organising this gathering and also rachel and liana for letting us visit their units.

Tension : wish that ur nightmare will soon pass ... (Tomorrow will be a better day)

Rachel : Colorful place and thanks for lending ur toilet.. :notti:

Liana : Thanks for "helping" me sweettalk my hubby into getting the BLUM system for my kitchen.. High 5 man... :yamseng: Also, not forgetting to thank you for ur generous offer to gift me the door. (But I took the wrong side :bangwall: )

Bonkitty : Been a long long time since I last seen u. hehe.. thanks for ur toilet door too. :good:

Hi neighbours,

Was just wondering if anyone did any carpentry or DIY to cover up the ugly hot/cold and gas pipes in their kitchen? I'm using instant heater for both bathrooms, so did not utilise these piping for any storage heater connection.

I remembered seeing Liana's kitchen with a red shelf and board thingy covering up the pipes, quite a good idea also... was wondering if anyone made any other design to conceal the pipes. My ID said the next best thing is to cut away the U-shaped pipe and shorten it. But then I'll still be left with 3 short pipes sticking out from the wall!

image037gf4.jpg

meepok

Meepok : for my house, my contractor removed the pipes (I think they cut n hide it inside the tiles). Totally cannot see any pipes. :)

i also want to hide this thing. let me know how much ur ID charge for it.

I saw liana's one but not very clear as it was blocked by some doors previously.

Hi Tension,

My wife suggested doing either 1 or 3 shelves to 'hide' the pipes... meaning the 1st shelf sitting on top the cold/hot U-pipe, 2nd shelf in between the U-pipe and top pipe, the 3rd shelf sitting just below the top pipe.

So when you view from standing height, all pipes should be 'hidden' by the shelves. Not sure how much it'll cost yet. But if it's just doing the 1st shelf, then it's FOC.

I think Liana's version had the pipes embedded within the wooden planks. My version is to just let the planks 'sit' on the pipes, so the pipes can still be seen if you bend down and look up below...

meepok

Do anyone of you puts a dehumidifier in your toilet? Is it useful and necessary, esp if you have installed vanity top and cabinets in the toilet?

Meepok : for my house, my contractor removed the pipes (I think they cut n hide it inside the tiles). Totally cannot see any pipes. :yamseng:

Hi Meowie,

Can cut and hide like that ah??? My ID say cannot leh, just cut away the U-shape but there'll still be 2 short pipes sticking out. The top pipe cannot even cut short.

So yours they cut away everything then use white cement to cover the hole? or they use tiles to cover up? Got photo to see?? very paiseh!

Cos if really can cut away everything and make flat, I will tell my ID to do likewise loh. But I remembered my ID say that if cut away the U-pipe, you'll only get water flow when you swing the tap to one side. Cos hot and cold flow now disconnected, left with one flow only. True??

meepok

Edited by meepok

btw, do u guys think it is very stupid to do an SCV point in the kitchen? and somemore put so high!!

yes, i wonder y ...

i dun dare to cut... duno if i will use it in the future?

anyway, no need to thank me for organising.

I hope we can share info about future purchases/reno stuff and

all learn something along the way.

Must let ur ID know that you have a huge network of neighbours

and most of us are also renovating. Words of mouth spread fast.

Like the one man show uncle in baby maro's house,

we smile when we see his workmanship;)

sorry, no makan and drinks provided that day,

made u all walk and see so many houses,

many neighbours were friendly and kind to show us their houses.

we have to split 2 lifts..lol...