meepok 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2008 (edited) It's not a hairline crack... more like uneven ceiling, like one side higher than the other... cos now with the lights up, it casts a shadow mah... previously no lights can't tell from naked eye. It's more like a mini-slope on the ceiling.You think it's serious?? Structurally should be safe, but visually abit jialat cos it stretches almost the entire length of the ceiling with the lights on! I think my ID can't do much also... but what can HDB do? Can't plaster right? The ceiling in the other area all ok, except for this room. After fixing & switch on the lights, nearly fainted!meepok Edited April 12, 2008 by meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2008 It's not a hairline crack... more like uneven ceiling, like one side higher than the other... cos now with the lights up, it casts a shadow mah... previously no lights can't tell from naked eye. It's more like a mini-slope on the ceiling.You think it's serious?? Structurally should be safe, but visually abit jialat cos it stretches almost the entire length of the ceiling with the lights on! I think my ID can't do much also... but what can HDB do? Can't plaster right? The ceiling in the other area all ok, except for this room. After fixing & switch on the lights, nearly fainted!meepok- mayb its ur lighting probm. haha.- if its jus hairline crack, hdb wil only plaster it 2 make it looks nicer, 4 free. But if u pay 2 get somone 2 plaster 4 u, then NOT ALLOWED.- structurally u r safer than ur neighbour above.- make known 2 CSC of 79, see wat dey can do. i guess, nothin can b done.- e only suggestion i can think of, is 2 tilt ur lighting/bulb at e opp direction. So dat e ceiling wil lok parellel 2 ur floor wen lite is turn on. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 Updates for todayThank you neighbours for coming today. Hope it was a good experience for all. I believe our legs were aching. =) but worth it.learnt a few things today:1) hollow tiles when hacked and replaced, will experience unevenness, a cut leg feeling. (I will ask my tiler to do something about it.)2) My slightly slanted Home shelter feature wall door. (Sure have to change, I see 1 complete door with mirror not slanted, 3 other neighbours' door also not slanted.so carpenter better don't 'smoke' me in believing that door is standard. you should see how the carpenter try to convince me he said he cant guarantee a perfectly straight door even if change to new one, he even said if i can look for a contractor to can make a perfect door, he pay for me. 3 neighbours heard that.is carpenter trying to tell me he has no skill? if i need to find the contact to get my door made, what is an ID for?Anyway, carpenter agreed to change the door, so let it rest.)My mirror door doesn't flush. carpenter told me cos I need that bulge area to do tic tac.Also not true. I have seen perfectly flushed(Straight ones) 3) Kitchen workmanship is rather rough. My laminate joint lines is just too big until I can see the brown wood.And it is not uniform. ABS trimming isn't well done. I should just ask my main ID to take a close look. forgot to tell u that I have 2 ID. (The main ID is the one I signed the reno, the 2nd ID is his asst.his asst was the one who was in charge of the carpentary part, I was rather shocked that he didn't see that the workmanship isn't really tip top)4) Laminated flooring. I realised my ID used a different type of skirting, not the straight kind but triangle kind. As for the floaty feeling,I heard 2 sayings. HDB floor not even, weight of owner will balance the uneveness5) PaintCommon.Minor touch up needed.tension_z, for hollow tiles right, our tiler did whatever they could...for the hollow tiles at the entrance of our common toilet, they hack off everything and re-do the tiling...they also hacked and relay 1 tile in the kitchen near the toilet entrance...however, for the toilet wall tiles, the tiler said it's quite minor and it's at the corners...he asked if we wanna hack them and redo because if hack, it will affect the surrounding tiles and there will be more hollow areas...we asked if they could inject some chemicals into the hollow areas, he said because it's overlaid and the materials used for overlaying is different, the chemicals may not be easily sipped in...so we decided not to hack the toilet wall tiles...for the living room homogeneous tiles, we choose to inject chemicals inside the hollow areas instead of hacking off and re-tile because it's surely not going to be even and i also wouldn't wanna have more hollow areas to appear...my hubby's dad used to be a contractor and he's the one who told us about the injecting of chemicals into the hollow tiles instead of hacking off and re-tile...btw, we would love to join you people on saturday but we were very busy at our house because of our carpentry works, plumbing works etc...need to confirm some things with id and the workers...hopefully, we will be able to meet up the next time because my carpentry will finish on mon followed by the final touch-up...actually, despite all the arguments, conflicts, hiccups etc, reno is actually quite fun and a learning process...haha...when i see my house slowly getting dressed up, i feel so happy...and of course, so far our id is ok and the workers are really nice... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 the input of chemical was suggested before, but we didn't take it. we don't really know how much the chemical can do. do u have any idea?we go for the tougher, safer solution, hack.it takes 1 day to hack and relay.as i was talking on the phone with babymaro just now, i have no idea why tilers want to make hollow tiles.they are just making themselves busier with the little amt of cement they saved.tilers can do a gob job 1.. my bedroom room no hollow tiles @ all. same team doing. strange tiler. depends on mood mah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 the input of chemical was suggested before, but we didn't take it. we don't really know how much the chemical can do. do u have any idea?we go for the tougher, safer solution, hack.it takes 1 day to hack and relay.as i was talking on the phone with babymaro just now, i have no idea why tilers want to make hollow tiles.they are just making themselves busier with the little amt of cement they saved.tilers can do a gob job 1.. my bedroom room no hollow tiles @ all. same team doing. strange tiler. depends on mood mah?actually, no matter how experienced the tiler is, i guess hollow tiles are just part and puzzle of their works...of course they wouldn't want to do so much work, but sometimes, the problems perhaps lie on the tiles? maybe they tiles got problems 'absorbing' the cement or what??? got alot of reasons lah...even the hollow tiles, some might not even pop up next time also...it's like that lor, cannot everything perfect also...for me, can no need to hack, we of course dun hack...if the hollowness is really way to much, then we hack...if hack, also worry the neighbouring tiles being affected etc... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 perhaps =) since they have agreed to change, and it is changed already.I didn't ask much. we can't tell 5 yrs from now, whether hollow tiles will pop.it is better to be safe than sorry. Warranty for workmanship is at most 3 yrs, some even shorter.punggol have many of hollow tiles pop up cases, (those were built 5 yrs ago)and it is really inconvenient. as one tile pop, will affect the whole row.those who have children at home, also need to be careful. Good day. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rachel79 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 Sat house hopping was really a fruitful trip and yes all ours legs are tired as well but worth it. Nice meeting lot of freiendly neighbors and specially thanks to tension_Z, Liana79b, meowie49, Bonkitty and Mrs_Png for showing us your lovely houses. !! Hope to see guys again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bonkitty 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 (edited) Many thanks to tension_z, meepok, meowie49, liana79b, Mrs Phng, rachel79 for opening their house and happy to get to know a couple of other neighbours like 312079, ryukie It really gave me more ideas and drooling over the blum kitchen... but now can only be a dream hahaa..So sorry nothing much now for you guys to see.... another day when things r more settled I will open my hse again for everyone to come tension_z, shall let u know once my bomb shelter is up whether is it slantedMrs Phng, yah I am very lucky that my opposite neighbour is very nice and he help me jaga my renovation when we r not around. I think it is important to have good neighours I like ur vanity top so nice....meowie49, I can't wait to see ur kitchen cos it looks very interestingmeepok, muz say ur carpentry work is vey goodrachel79, I love the colors u have choosen very nice liana79, ur kitchen is my dream kitchen but no $$$ to spendryuukie, do serach for more ID before you commit although u have pay a depositHope to have another gathering soon !! Edited April 13, 2008 by bonkitty Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Happy! 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 Hi...i'm just wondering if you guys ever asked your ID / contractor to buy the sinks/taps/Hop/Hood on your before? Do you pay him any commission?Appreciate if you guys know anywhere online where i can check the prices/ models.eric Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 usually they get their commission from the shop, while the shop sell u more expensive than walk-in cust. eg, retail price for walk in= $ 100come with ID= $ 130$30 is their commission.invoice will have ID's name written somewhere. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Liana79B 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 Hi Neighbours!!Great meeting nice neighbours in the neighbourhood....i also wanna thank to tension_z, meowie49 and rachel79 for allowing us to view your hse and sharing tips on checking good workmanship, defects etc...it was really a learning experience for me...Mrs Phng,ryukie: im not too sure if we met coz there's too many ppl and i cant really remember if ur there...hope to pop in ur hse too hehe 312079, redcrystal, meepok, gadgetman, bonkitty and those i forgot to mention: nice meeting you!!For those who came by thank you for dropping by my place and giving all the compliments as well as helping to point out the areas to highlight to my ID. As for the BLUM system...good and bad la...good bcoz its wat ive always wanted bad bcoz its a BIG investment!! going broke liao!! hehetension_z: will invite u over again once my bombshelter is up....meowie49: Ur kitchen size is my dream kitchen!!!! plssss invite me once its done up would love to see it....meepok: hope to see ur place too...rachel79: nice laminate flooring...good choice!! ryuukie, do serach for more ID before you commit although u have pay a depositHope to have another gathering soon ps: Either Monday or Tuesday everything will be up. Anyone keen to drop by pls PM me I will be there at 6.30pm - 7.30pm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 hihi... I will come again to see ur house. urs is a different concept altogether, it was bold =) and ur super longggg warbrobe... gosh... y didn't I think of that.. hahaha....ur mbr looked real cosy after the hacking. =)by the way, does anyone here have lobang for bomb shelter racks? I havent do. want to check the market rate with some of u who have done it.Is the metal one good or plastic ones better? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Liana79B 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 Forgot to share my experience last Saturday!!THOMSON LIGHTING in SHAW BALESTIER!! SERVICE IS TERRIBLE!!Scenario:Electrician installed lightings last week and found few lights not working. Wednesday went to Shaw Balestier to inform the salesperson to send somebody down to rectify or to exchange a new one. Shop claimed that they never experience such incidents as the supply good Osram tubes and say that it might be the cause of the Electrician. I told them that im not too sure whose fault this is and suggest that they send someone down together with my Electrician to sort it out. Should the Electrician be at fault he will be responsible to purchase the lights. Argued that it is not possible and asked me to send the lights to the shop and check. I bought more than $1k worth of lights and they had delivered it to my place so i expect them to go down to my place to settle this. After much argument thay said they will send someone down on Saturday and will call us on Friday to inform the timing. I even mentioned that it is a must that Saturday the job is rectified coz the handover will be next week. Kept arguing that by right they cant do this....On Friday still no call fm them to inform the timing. Called them but no answer. So I thought they will call me on Saturday morning and inform me. And indeed they called me on Saturday at 9.15am and told me to be there before 10am...I told them that im not stayin there and how could it be possible i reach there in few minutes... If they wanna make such early arrangements they shld inform me on Friday. So i told them that 11am or 12 noon wld be ok. BUT INSTEAD THEY SAID "OH SORRY IF YOU CAN'T MAKE IT BY 10AM TOO BAD THERE'S NOTHING THAT WE CAN DO" AND HE JUST HANG UP THE PHONE ON ME!! When i call back I said I want to speak to the BOSS he said "OH YOU WANT TO SPEAK TO THE BOSS...OK..CALL BACK AT 11.30 THEN" THEN HANG UP ON ME...Can u imagine how mad i was early in the morning!! I had to call back give the guy a piece of my mind @#%&*&* and then told him to ask the guy to wait and i rush over!im not too sure if im in the right to ask them to come down in the first place...Somebody plsss enlighten me..till today im really mad with how these ppl handling situations like this. Not only the salesperson at the shop is soooo rude even the guy arranging the schedule is **** rude!! it runs in the company!!ELECTROLUX Oven (bought fm Harvey Norman):I arrange for delivery on saturday (the week before). Was told that delivery is between 12-2pm. Went at 11am to wait just in case they came by early. Waited till 2.30pm and gave them a call..they said "They are on the way"...waited till almost 5pm and still no delivery and when i called they said sorry maam today no delivery was scheduled...I was soooooo angry i felt like killing someone...as if i had something to do in my empty house walking around...went for lucnh...came back..walk aorund in my dusty and empty house and no delivery???? can u imagine!!! then change to tuesday delivery...as my husband to be is not available on tuesday we called on monday to request for delivery to be on Wednesday 10am -12 noon..everything was arranged...On wednesday he waited frm 10am -12noon still no delivery and when we call them they say no delivery at that time...they arranged from 2-4pm.. HOW COULD THIS BE...HOW DO THESE PPL WORK???? This sooo FRUSTRATING!!So one lesson learnt: double confirm a hundred times with these ppl...take down their names when making delivery schedules or making changes to schedules!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 liana, i can understand totally how u feel. for the lights shop, u r not in the wrong. U have the right to ask them to come. May I know did u pay the lights in full before they deliver?did ur buy the lights on ur own? for me, i bought my lights with my ID,though everything is somewhat more expensive than other shops, but ID assured me that lights will be up and his electrician will receive the delivery on my behalf, so for me no such problem.I have heard of people buying spoilt lights, shop say replacement is free, so they deliver down but they charge for transportation which is $30, imagine if only 1 downlight is not working, then u pay $30, isnt this more ex than the light?cool down liana, i think most of us will be around on sats.. hah.if u are waiting for delivery, plan to do other things as well, maybe house hopping, or something else. u know, at 1st, on sat my carpenter told me he will reach my house at 1030a.m I reached at 1015am, waited till 1045am, also see no one. I called him up, he said he is buying some stuff, his workers should be on the way. they reached at 12.30 eventually. I thought they will come at 1030,so I think by 1pm they should finish their work, so I can house hop. But sometimes they just cant helpto be late.I ever waited for my ID for 4 hours before..zzzso I took that 2 hours to shop around TPY loh or makan, go library read books, then u wont feel so angry. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted April 13, 2008 hihi... I will come again to see ur house. urs is a different concept altogether, it was bold =) and ur super longggg warbrobe... gosh... y didn't I think of that.. hahaha....ur mbr looked real cosy after the hacking. =)by the way, does anyone here have lobang for bomb shelter racks? I havent do. want to check the market rate with some of u who have done it.Is the metal one good or plastic ones better?Hi Tension_z,Have yet to do mine also, thinking wait for all the works to be completed before fixing the rack.The normal metal+wooden shelf L-shape type should cost around $160-180+. There's a few shops in the Ubi area doing such racks. I believe they also stuck some of the advertisements in the lifts. They can come by your house to take measurement, etc. Then I also saw this more chio-looking but more expensive racks from this site: http://www.gawa.comThe cost is much much more, using metal planks for the shelving. But I think I'll just get the normal metal frame+wooden plank racks... since hidden in the bomb shelter all the time, doesn't need to be so expensive loh!meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites