Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Just want to let everybody know that we have finally moved in. Was so swamped with the packing that I did not have time to log in this forum after the last get together. Thanks to all who kindly showed their wonderful flats last month.

Just for info, I found that I could get all the Malaysian TV channels - RTM1, RTM2, TV3, NTV7, 8TV and TV9 on the HDB MATV in addition to the MediaCorp channels. What a bonus compared to my old house! :bleah:

Now can watch Cantonese shows for free!

I also don't know when I will be moving in.

Hi tension_z,

Sounds like you have been through a lot with an unprofessional ID. For me, I will not take the excuses that your ID gave. It is important to countercheck what the ID says. A lot of times, they will tell all sorts of tales to try to get away with substandard workmanship. If it is not right, voice out and keep a clear mind of the sequence of things that are required. If there's any help required, let us know. Lots of volunteers here :wub:

I must say that I'm glad we got a good contractor who was very practical and walked us through our ideas. Told a number of times that a lot of things are not necessary and no need to do, so saved a fair amount of money there.

Edited by a_star

I would like to take this opportunity to thank my contractor for his superb coordination. We have engaged Ho Bee as our contractor. As we are budget-constrainted, we got 3 contractors in total. Ho Bee is incharge of the tiling, ceiling and piping works. We have another contractor for carpentry and 1 more for electrical. Even though we had 3 contractors, we are not really doing the coordination work. Patrick from Ho Bee is very professional and he helped with all the coordination. He is also prompt with replies and doing his best to suit our needs and wants. Really appreciate his help. :wub:

Also, during out lights shopping, we stepped into this shop called "Lights Zone Enterprise". There, we meet an old uncle. We call him Uncle Chua. He is abit long-winded, but he is very generous with the discounts and most importantly, he is a very detailed man. He plans the lights in ur house (very important for us as we got no ID) and also advices on different types of lights. He changed all our lights to GE lights and OSRAM lights at no additional charges. :bleah: strongly recommend this shop for those who is looking for lights.

Lastly, I would like to thank my boyfriend (hubby-to-be) for spending 3 weekends in our house knocking walls and consealing wires so that all our wires for the lighting points are consealed and mostly 2way switches. :P

Hi 79ers,

Can I check with you guys, are we allow to seal up the service Sanitary ducts as showed below?

This can be found at the kitchen beam just below the cloth hanger.

p1010626ui3.jpg

Does anyone else sealed up this area like I did.

Please advise as I don't think this is the right way, :bleah: should I ask my ID to change?

Thanks in advance.

Rachel

Can't say if allowed or not, but I think this is a bit risky. If later need to open the access panel, you will have to move or cut up the cabinet.

In the first place, don't know why your ID agreed to this. Suggest to get your ID to change.

Edited by a_star

Hi tensionz

i tink we both facing the same scenario...reno competion soon...so before handover i want to make sure standards are met but not sure how to check. as mentioned overall looks great to me but i dun want to discount myself and find out defects later after handover then who to take responsibility...

would you like to come by my place and i go to your place to have a look? and those whose reno works competing soon or just completed can we pop by so that we could see the differences?

just a suggestion...not sure if its a gd idea tho

i'l go kpo ur unit dis sat lunch time, if i got e time. (hope i hav not 4got ur unit no.) :P

i will post my pics this week ..

pix pix more more :P

I also don't know when I will be moving in.

i noe u wldnt like 2 read dis, i est it gona take at least another mth 4 u 2 b able 2 move in :o

pts 2 take note ->

- existing flat gota b disposed within 6 mths.

- SERS owners gota return hdb e existing flat within 4 mths.

- if had applied reno permit due 2 hacking, once 4mths time frame is up, gota apply 2 xtend.

- by rite, watever reno gota b completed within a specific timeframe. If it canot b done due 2 un4seen circumstances, e ID/contractor gota compensate e 'owner' = 'u'.

- urs is merely a simple reno 4 new hdb std flat, mayb u wana highly 2 ur ID.

- if ur ID cant complete e reno 4 a new hdb flat & handover within e stipulated timeframe, dat wil decrease their credibilty. If dats e case, i dun think they r able 2 handle big scale reno such s Landed Propoerty. Not 2 say Additions & Alterations (tear dn & rebuild).

Hi Jacky

Its the MBR door. We intend to shift the MBR door to just before bedrm 2. My ID din mention whether need or not.

- whenever hacking is involved, there's a need 2 apply permit frm hdb.

- ur ID or contractor gota b hdb licensed contractor & applies via e-submission with all relevant docs & drgs.

- if hdb deems there's a need 2 hav a Professional Engineer endorsement on e type of hackin works, u gota ngage 1.

- u can ngage on ur own or thru ur ID/contractor.

- P.E. fees range frm abt $350-<$1000.

- honest ID/contractor do not gain anythin frm dis P.E. fees u gona pay.

- dishonest ID/contractor wil mark-up e fees on top of e rate offer by e P.E.

- e process of hackin & how a P.E. does his job, oleady describe in e earlier post.

- if u r shifting e door along e same pcs of wall, pts 2 take note ->

-- hackin existing door frame = $ aaa

-- make good affected area after hacking = $ bbb

-- install door frame (reuse existing) = $ ccc

-- reuse existing door (so call F.O.C.)

-- Total cost involve = $ aaa + $ bbb + $ ccc + P.E. fees

- if u r sealing up e existing door, open a new doorway at an adjacent wall, pts 2 take note ->

-- hackin existing door frame = $ aaa

-- to seal-up existing doorway, construct wall using 63mm hollow blk with plaster finished on both sides or gypsum board with smooth finished on both sides = $ ddd

-- hack adjacent wall, create new doorway = $ eee

-- make good affected area after hacking = $ bbb

-- install door frame (reuse existing) = $ ccc

-- reuse existing door (so call F.O.C.)

-- Total cost involve = $ aaa + $ ddd + $ eee + $ bbb + $ ccc + P.E. fees

:wub:

Just for info, I found that I could get all the Malaysian TV channels - RTM1, RTM2, TV3, NTV7, 8TV and TV9 on the HDB MATV in addition to the MediaCorp channels. What a bonus compared to my old house! :)

Now can watch Cantonese shows for free!

I must say that I'm glad we got a good contractor who was very practical and walked us through our ideas. Told a number of times that a lot of things are not necessary and no need to do, so saved a fair amount of money there.

Wow,

then no need 2 subscribe SCV liao.

Who's ur contractor? Neber intro? :P

Also, during out lights shopping, we stepped into this shop called "Lights Zone Enterprise". There, we meet an old uncle. We call him Uncle Chua. He is abit long-winded, but he is very generous with the discounts and most importantly, he is a very detailed man. He plans the lights in ur house (very important for us as we got no ID) and also advices on different types of lights. He changed all our lights to GE lights and OSRAM lights at no additional charges. :bleah: strongly recommend this shop for those who is looking for lights.

Lastly, I would like to thank my boyfriend (hubby-to-be) for spending 3 weekends in our house knocking walls and consealing wires so that all our wires for the lighting points are consealed and mostly 2way switches. :D

seems like ur BF is ur Contractor.

Address & contacts of dis lighting shop? :P

Edited by jaCKY777

Hi Jacky777, all comments are welcome.

the rehacking of hollow tiles and all the touch up for carpentary and touch up paint, I did ask my ID based on his experience, when can it be done.

He told me he can't give me a definate answer. I see at this point, even if I pester him for a date, it is unlikely to come true.

so...

however, I got to say that ID arrange for touch up immediate and didn't dilly dally.

so for this while, I am waiting to see miracle to happen.

for neighbours coming on sat, if you see those defects disappearing means ID and workers did their job. they are doing touching up on defects on 2 days during this week. See what they can do these 2 days.

You guys help me to see what is the standard of acceptance based on ur recent reno.

I feel that it shouldn't be too different in workmanship, right?

I am not Sers, from Jan 7 when my HDB permit is approved, effective expired date should be May 08. I hope I won't wait to see that ID has to extend. It is ridiculous to renovate a 4 rm HDB for more than 4 months.

by right, yes, ID has to compensate for the extended time doing reno, since it is way passed 3 weeks. whenever I see neighbour started reno in Mar, moving in in April, how envy.

since taken into account hacking, CNY, (rehacking hollowing tiles which takes time-which is no fault of mine), I didn't argue with them.

my last limit of tolerance will be by end of April.

Till then, if I am still in such mood, you will know who my ID is.

I give chance already, still being trusting, understanding.

I think word of mouth is an important advertising for the ID and also the company.

I almost recommend him to my colleague last month,

but I think he better concentrate in finishing up mine 1st.

of course, if he is good eventually, facts will be posted.

Just hope that mine long reno is an isolated case.

=) (be calm, be cheerful)

hi mrs png do u have a pic of ur huge sliding door? and what is the size??

this is my master bedroom wardrobe... full height and width is 7ft...

image112em7.jpg

Hi Toppie,

I think there's a few 79ers using the same ID company.

There's nothing much to see at my house now other than the

covered tiles and wiring works.. next week the false ceiling

and cables for aircon will be up. :D

Anyway, just wana kaypoh, which designer are you using? You already

signed the dotted line??

Btw, i'm staying on the 6th storey~~

same lvl as Liana79B. Feel free to drop by~~

Thanks yeoman,

I'm staying in the 16th floor. Left with carpetry, grills, lightings etc. My ID is Kenneth Tan. How about yours? How do you find him or her so far?

Hi Liana,

Can lo. We make it this Sat say 11 am at my unit?

same here loh, overall looked fine, my non-experienced father saw the house and thought it was nice.

but on closer look, my contractor uncle shake his head non-stop.

i just want to know if he is too fussy or it is really bad.

Another neighbour is coming over to take a look at my unit after hearing my scenerio.

we can see together if you don't mind. More heads better than one?

can u PM me ur hp number, I will give u mine too. easier to contact.

hi cece,

sorry I think at this point, I shall keep his identity 1st as this is not final stage of renovation.

I still trust that he is rectifying the defects.

I will post facts here. If he is good, I will share.

If he is not good eventually, i won't recommend.

That's all I can say for now.

I would love to join in to view one another's house but I am only available on Sunday. So far, only my flooring and painting work done. First washing done by ID workers as well. If anyone interested to view my flat, feel free to let me know though nothing much to see.

Hi tension_z

Heard understand your frustration...

From excitement to frustration to disappointment

Hope that your reno can finish soon and the nightmare will end

Jia you

:dunno:

thanks bonkitty,

i m not disappointed actually.

till date, ID is still responsive and helping to touch up whatever he could.

On Sat, you can see the almost final product.

Guess there will be some dust after rehacking, hope you don't mind.

I need neighbours who did laminated flooring to step in my MBR to see if it is the correct feel.

where it should be soft/hard/produce no sound or have kok kok or tiak tiak sound when it is step on.

Appreciated that.

have a good day all.

ID, if you are reading this,

you can bring your potential customers to view my unit.

This is your actual work anyway.

=) (calm and cheerful)

Thanks yeoman,

I'm staying in the 16th floor. Left with carpetry, grills, lightings etc. My ID is Kenneth Tan. How about yours? How do you find him or her so far?

Mine is Flora. So far so good..She's very patient

and gives practical and creative solutions.

But I leave my rating for her till the completion of

the whole project. Hope nothing big crops up.

Hmm, so when did u sign up with them and when did

your first work started? would like to see your house

tiling works. Not very pleased with mine and wish

to compare. :dunno:

Your aircon pipings up already?

I need neighbours who did laminated flooring to step in my MBR to see if it is the correct feel.

where it should be soft/hard/produce no sound or have kok kok or tiak tiak sound when it is step on.

I also want to see your laminated flooring

They r still redoing my skirting... cross fingers it will be ok