Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi everyone,

Can i also sidetrack a bit? If say my capentry needs 2 weeks to be done starting from next week & 2-3 days to install, do you all suggest doing the lightings, window grilles & curtains installations during this 2 weeks break? However, the capentry is from my ID side & the other items are from other contractors which i have sourced. Or should i wait till the capentry is done before i install the other stuff? My concern is that my other installed stuff will be damaged during the moving & installation of the capentry. Does it happen? Any advice?

Hi liverpoolforlife

in my opinion its better not to do up the curtain installation before carpentry. Again it also depends how many carpentry works ur doing. From our experience when they brought over the carpentry works for installation its really really dusty, their machines here and there etc etc. So u might not want to dirty ur curtains. And whether ur doing any final coat of painting then it will be a hassle with the curtains up.

As for lightings, if urs is hamburger lights or normal ceiling lights i tink its ok unless u wanna install the hanging lights then better not. my lightings was installed before capentry works. but ive got no hanging lights.

as for window grilles im not too sure coz we didnt install any....thks

Hi Everybody

Anyone can advise, if i need to dismantle the existing doorframe and move it further in front and construct a new door frame, do i need to get HDB approval?

We have got the design from the ID but he did not mentioned if need HDB approval... so i wanna ask just in case

Tks! :notti:

Btw i'm in Blk 79A. Nicer to meet all of you :notti:

Hi Everybody

Anyone can advise, if i need to dismantle the existing doorframe and move it further in front and construct a new door frame, do i need to get HDB approval?

We have got the design from the ID but he did not mentioned if need HDB approval... so i wanna ask just in case

Tks! :notti:

Btw i'm in Blk 79A. Nicer to meet all of you :notti:

Hey,

which door & door frame u r talkin abt? Main entrance dr?

Hi Everybody

Tks! :)

Btw i'm in Blk 79A. Nicer to meet all of you :yamseng:

I presume you're moving one of the bedroom doors.

The answer is yes. That's what I did. :yamseng:

hi neighbours

need ur advise on laminate finishing. We chose glossy/piano black, dark red and white. is it normal to see wavy effect? anyone knows how to check the workmanship of laminate?

overall im happy with the wkmanship juz that the glossy finish im not tat sure if its normal to see the wavy effect.

fm pictures it looks ok so it doesnt help if i post a pic here, anyone got a similiar experience?

hi neighbours

need ur advise on laminate finishing. We chose glossy/piano black, dark red and white. is it normal to see wavy effect? anyone knows how to check the workmanship of laminate?

overall im happy with the wkmanship juz that the glossy finish im not tat sure if its normal to see the wavy effect.

fm pictures it looks ok so it doesnt help if i post a pic here, anyone got a similiar experience?

Yes, there'll definitely be a wavy effect on most glossy type of laminating so it's normal. My ID had told me that beforehand and recommended me not to choose glossy laminate for things such as kitchen cabinet as over time there will be more scratches and the wavy effect will be more prominent.

I did chose glossy laminate for my wall feature though since I will seldom touch that. :yamseng:

Yes, there'll definitely be a wavy effect on most glossy type of laminating so it's normal. My ID had told me that beforehand and recommended me not to choose glossy laminate for things such as kitchen cabinet as over time there will be more scratches and the wavy effect will be more prominent.

I did chose glossy laminate for my wall feature though since I will seldom touch that. :yamseng:

Hi euph0bear

Thanks for the info...i would like to ask one more ting...cant remember the size but i have 4 huge panels of sliding door (top n bottom track) and it seems a bit flimsy. is it normal coz its huge? or is it due to the thickness of the door? are there standard thickness for all sliding doors or it depends on the contractor or designer?

sorry for asking so many questions...reno completion soon so i wanna make sure everything is ok before i accept the handover

Hi euph0bear

Thanks for the info...i would like to ask one more ting...cant remember the size but i have 4 huge panels of sliding door (top n bottom track) and it seems a bit flimsy. is it normal coz its huge? or is it due to the thickness of the door? are there standard thickness for all sliding doors or it depends on the contractor or designer?

sorry for asking so many questions...reno completion soon so i wanna make sure everything is ok before i accept the handover

Hi liana78B

Can I see you pics of your reno! :yamseng:

Regards,

Allinthehead

Hi euph0bear

Hi Liana

I also have huge sliding door but only 2, it is quite firm when sliding... dun think it should be flimsy...

Hi 79ers,

Can I check with you guys, are we allow to seal up the service Sanitary ducts as showed below?

This can be found at the kitchen beam just below the cloth hanger.

p1010626ui3.jpg

Does anyone else sealed up this area like I did.

Please advise as I don't think this is the right way, :P should I ask my ID to change?

Thanks in advance.

Rachel

did ur ID bring that metal ball stick?

My ID didn't.

how much % of ur floor are hollow?

mine is like 30% of the dining/living area.

bedroom 2 perfect, another bedroom 3 like sai.

MBR used laminated flooring, but when I step on it, like soft soft feeling.

when I knocked the laminate, I have different sound all over the room, some sounds like kok kok, some sound like tiak tiak tiak.

Supreme brand...AC3

Those who used supreme, did anyone say because the HDB floor is not straight, thus such effects?

I think I can kiss goodbye to moving in this month :/

how long did your ID take to rectify the defects? Is it a lot or a few?

What are some of the defects u guys have in your final stage?

I m still trusting my ID since he agree to rectify the 'faults' which I am not too sure if this is standard.

My ID did bring e metal ball stick to check with us together for my toilets since I overlay

About 30% is hollow tiles

Will be doing the living room check soon b4 carpentry is up

I also use Supreme laminate

The skirting is like ****...The joint lines r slanted, 2 pieces up and down..

Nails holes on the skirting, corners r peel off

Lousy workmanship

2 weeks already never come n replace...

I do my defects check as I go along during reno... no point to do until at e final stage

just a feedback from my id...when we chose our laminate on tuesday, we asked for recommendations, he said don't choose supreme because they always need touch-ups...we dunno wanna believe him anot but since supreme got quite little to select, we go for another brand which i forgot the name...

so, after seeing bonkitty being fed-up with supreme workers, and tension_z's comment, maybe what my id said is true???

for hollow tiles, i usually check using a 50 cent coin...just tap around the tile and you can hear the 'hollow' sound...while checking for hollow tiles after collecting the keys, my id said usually those pop-ups that happened are due to hollow-ness in the middle of the tiles rather than the corners...he said, if it's the corners that are being hollow and the area is small, it should be ok...

can i ask, for laminate flooring, also have to check for hollow-ness ar???

I dun remember Alister's hse is tat bad...

I know they got a lot of jobs but doesn't mean they give me this type of crappy work

I dunno why I so sway...

Meeting them today to thrash things out

Hi Everybody

Tks! :D

Btw i'm in Blk 79A. Nicer to meet all of you :good:

Hi howlupjac,

Usually the ID will required to submit for HDB approval, and HDB approval will replied as "Repositioning of internal door at BEDROOM X as shown on plan."

If you are using back the same door, then need more care to ensure that it fit into your new door frame. :D

My ID did bring e metal ball stick to check with us together for my toilets since I overlay

About 30% is hollow tiles

Will be doing the living room check soon b4 carpentry is up

I also use Supreme laminate

The skirting is like ****...The joint lines r slanted, 2 pieces up and down..

Nails holes on the skirting, corners r peel off

Lousy workmanship

2 weeks already never come n replace...

I do my defects check as I go along during reno... no point to do until at e final stage

I dun remember Alister's hse is tat bad...

I know they got a lot of jobs but doesn't mean they give me this type of crappy work

I dunno why I so sway...

Meeting them today to thrash things out

ya, alister's house the laminate quite ok...anyway, i check with my id, the brand of laminate we'll be using is call 'premier'...i never hear before but i see the samples quite ok lah...anyway, we chose the laminate pattern we like instead of the brand...also, my id recommended it...i saw the 'premier' brand also got lifetime warranty like supreme...and got more choices too...in fact, our first choice out of stock so have to settle for second choice...

and i think my id knows i cannot handle another huge hiccup after the aircon episode so he knows he have to do the rest of the work swee swee already...

but now i see my house getting into shape, whatever hiccups also gone already...i can't wait for my very own kitchen!:D

hi bonkitty, so did you remove the 30% hollow tiles? and how long it takes?

it is a Sunday.

I might write a very long post. I didn't finish writing my T-blog, figured out that I have "die heart" updating and no one will surf there w/o photo.

Neigbours, pardon me if I get grumpy, naggy or whatever.

This is a post of mixed feelings actually.

Nothing bad about renovation. Just wanting to know if this is standard practice.

I shall not name my ID firm for the time being, as I still trust them much to give me a wonderful finish to my renovation.