h4happy 1 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Yeah, agreed with GAD.I remembered bringing my kids to my aunt house, her house got no grills, I constantly keep a look out at my kids! What if.....The bottom grilles can't be helped cos HDB already installed them and we are not suppose to remove . The top ones are necessary cos got small boy at home...safety first. Besides, we got to do something to shut up all our visitors! Everytime someone comes up, we got another lecture on windows safety...since installing the grilles, no more of such lectures! Ha Ha! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 The bottom grilles can't be helped cos HDB already installed them and we are not suppose to remove . The top ones are necessary cos got small boy at home...safety first. Besides, we got to do something to shut up all our visitors! Everytime someone comes up, we got another lecture on windows safety...since installing the grilles, no more of such lectures! Ha Ha!Agreed with u since u have kids at home, we didnt install any window grilles and most of the visitors make comment on it, but wifey dont care so we will only install it when we had kids at the mean time jus enjoy the view of our neighbour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bonkitty 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 hi neighbours, those who are doing homogenous tiles, how do you check for hollow tiles?and what do you do with it?Knock it with a coin...I do the hollow tiles check with my IDHe use a metal ball and attached with a metal handle and roll over the floorWill have a very distinctive soundAnyway I also replace several tiles.... so tiring Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 (edited) did ur ID bring that metal ball stick? My ID didn't. how much % of ur floor are hollow?mine is like 30% of the dining/living area. bedroom 2 perfect, another bedroom 3 like sai.MBR used laminated flooring, but when I step on it, like soft soft feeling.when I knocked the laminate, I have different sound all over the room, some sounds like kok kok, some sound like tiak tiak tiak.Supreme brand...AC3Those who used supreme, did anyone say because the HDB floor is not straight, thus such effects? I think I can kiss goodbye to moving in this month :/how long did your ID take to rectify the defects? Is it a lot or a few? What are some of the defects u guys have in your final stage?I m still trusting my ID since he agree to rectify the 'faults' which I am not too sure if this is standard. Thanks. Edited April 4, 2008 by tension_z Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tris28 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 (edited) Dear neighboursI need some help regarding flooring. Any neighbours here did granite flooring? What's the difference between granite and homogenous flooring? I have been reading until I confuse liao. Is granite designs more limited? Is homogenous durable? Do we need to give special care to both the tiles??Thanks!! Edited April 4, 2008 by tris28 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Seaswirl 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Hi Alister,Would appreciate if you can post again the contact number for the movers that you have used before. Tried searching through the forum but cannot find as this forum too huge liao.. kum sia many many..I kaypoh and help Alister reply, cos' I took down the contacts last time for future ref. Here it is ...."I used a Mr Tan for moving. His contact is 96778340. His workers are very fast. Moved everything within 2hrs.For me, I moved a mattress, study table, 2 cupboards and 30boxes - $150 (without boxes). But there were some scratches to my cupboards alto has already wrap with plastic. Ok for me as those cupboards already has scratches anyway. He does provide boxes. S_Pear used him before and is please with his service." Dear neighboursI need some help regarding flooring. Any neighbours here did granite flooring? What's the difference between granite and homogenous flooring? I have been reading until I confuse liao. !! Is granite designs more limited? Is homogenous durable? Do we need to give special care to both the tiles??Thanks!!My 2 cents worth ... My parents place used granite and my sis' place used homo tiles.I beleive granite is harder and more expensive.But for my parents' they picked a grayish one and with the specks/streaks in the stone, everytime we drop small things on the floor, it seems to be gobbled up by the floor. (We can't see it!) Good also cos' dirt also not obvious. I find the floor slippery when wet. It feels cooler than homo tiles (to me).Homo tiles have nicer designs (in my opinion) and quality-wise ... So far my sis have no problem with her floor. No crack etc and cleaning is as usual. Never stepped on it when wet so not sure if it's slippery. Maybe other neighbours can add on? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Knock it with a coin...I do the hollow tiles check with my IDHe use a metal ball and attached with a metal handle and roll over the floorWill have a very distinctive soundAnyway I also replace several tiles.... so tiringdid ur ID bring that metal ball stick? My ID didn't. how much % of ur floor are hollow?mine is like 30% of the dining/living area. bedroom 2 perfect, another bedroom 3 like sai.MBR used laminated flooring, but when I step on it, like soft soft feeling.when I knocked the laminate, I have different sound all over the room, some sounds like kok kok, some sound like tiak tiak tiak.Supreme brand...AC3Those who used supreme, did anyone say because the HDB floor is not straight, thus such effects? I think I can kiss goodbye to moving in this month :/Thanks.just a feedback from my id...when we chose our laminate on tuesday, we asked for recommendations, he said don't choose supreme because they always need touch-ups...we dunno wanna believe him anot but since supreme got quite little to select, we go for another brand which i forgot the name...so, after seeing bonkitty being fed-up with supreme workers, and tension_z's comment, maybe what my id said is true??? for hollow tiles, i usually check using a 50 cent coin...just tap around the tile and you can hear the 'hollow' sound...while checking for hollow tiles after collecting the keys, my id said usually those pop-ups that happened are due to hollow-ness in the middle of the tiles rather than the corners...he said, if it's the corners that are being hollow and the area is small, it should be ok...can i ask, for laminate flooring, also have to check for hollow-ness ar??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mrs_Png 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Hi everyone,just to side track abit.... for those who are looking for nice nice step-bin, friven at suntec is having sale... quite nice... i think it's stainless steel and quite cheap, abt $10-$35... they are also selling bedsheets with treadcount up to 650... just to share... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
liverpoolforlife 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Hi everyone, Can i also sidetrack a bit? If say my capentry needs 2 weeks to be done starting from next week & 2-3 days to install, do you all suggest doing the lightings, window grilles & curtains installations during this 2 weeks break? However, the capentry is from my ID side & the other items are from other contractors which i have sourced. Or should i wait till the capentry is done before i install the other stuff? My concern is that my other installed stuff will be damaged during the moving & installation of the capentry. Does it happen? Any advice?Hi everyone,just to side track abit.... for those who are looking for nice nice step-bin, friven at suntec is having sale... quite nice... i think it's stainless steel and quite cheap, abt $10-$35... they are also selling bedsheets with treadcount up to 650... just to share... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yeoman 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Hi Yeoman,Just realised that we are using the same ID company. May I ask which floor are you staying in Blk 79B? I would love to take a look if you dun mindHi Toppie,I think there's a few 79ers using the same ID company.There's nothing much to see at my house now other than thecovered tiles and wiring works.. next week the false ceilingand cables for aircon will be up. Anyway, just wana kaypoh, which designer are you using? You already signed the dotted line?? Btw, i'm staying on the 6th storey~~same lvl as Liana79B. Feel free to drop by~~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Wildreds2 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 Hi everyone, Can i also sidetrack a bit? If say my capentry needs 2 weeks to be done starting from next week & 2-3 days to install, do you all suggest doing the lightings, window grilles & curtains installations during this 2 weeks break? However, the capentry is from my ID side & the other items are from other contractors which i have sourced. Or should i wait till the capentry is done before i install the other stuff? My concern is that my other installed stuff will be damaged during the moving & installation of the capentry. Does it happen? Any advice?i guess not much of the difference lah if the lightings are and curtain tracks do not get in the way of the carpentry. I installed most of my lightings before the carpentry are up. curtains only when floor and carpentry is completed. didnt install grilles but i would think it should be alright to install before carpentry too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 just a feedback from my id...when we chose our laminate on tuesday, we asked for recommendations, he said don't choose supreme because they always need touch-ups...we dunno wanna believe him anot but since supreme got quite little to select, we go for another brand which i forgot the name...so, after seeing bonkitty being fed-up with supreme workers, and tension_z's comment, maybe what my id said is true??? for hollow tiles, i usually check using a 50 cent coin...just tap around the tile and you can hear the 'hollow' sound...while checking for hollow tiles after collecting the keys, my id said usually those pop-ups that happened are due to hollow-ness in the middle of the tiles rather than the corners...he said, if it's the corners that are being hollow and the area is small, it should be ok...can i ask, for laminate flooring, also have to check for hollow-ness ar??? the problem is not with supreme laminate, it is in fact one of the well known brand, i think it has got to do with the workmanship. see if your brand is Power dekor (cheaper china brand), or Kronotex (More expensive brand) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2008 (edited) Hey, here's another sidetrack ->extracted from hereHey,be it Homogeneous, Ceramic, Marble, Granite or Slate Tiles.All olso got joint lines, its a matter of How Wide is e Joint?Standard width shd b 2-3mm bah.Homogeous tiles r perpendicular (90deg) at e edges, while ceramic tiles r rounded at e edges. S time goes by, e 'white cement' in between e joint will be stained. e white appearance of e joint can b cleaned by 'chemical' & Ceramic tiles's r easier to clean bcos of its rounded edge. Olso, homo floor tiles tends 2 have e kind of 'cut leg' feeling if e 'white cement' in e joint is insufficiently filled s 1 can feel e sharp edges of e tiles.Below is an xtract frm website, on other properties of common tiles, FYI ->Ceramic- Brittle clay material is baked with glaze. This is to achieve a glossy or semi glossy appearance in colour.Strengths- Wide variety in colours and sizes, it is also easy to maintain.- Ideal for bedrooms and living and dining rooms.Weaknesses- When chipped, the top glazed surface may reveal the whitish clay underneath.- Though huge in variety, the designs are usually monotonous and unnatural looking. Homogeneous- Brittle clay material with pigmented colouring throughout the whole tile. Strengths- Wide variety in colour and sizes, it is also easy to maintain.- When chipped, it will not reveal significant whitish clay as it is pigmented with the same colour throughout the tile.- Ideal for kitchen flooring and toilet flooring.Weaknesses- Usually spotted with assortment of colours in one single tile.- Too monotonous in design.- Not appropriate for a large surface area, as it may look 'cheap' Marble- Natural limestone, which is partly crystallized and irregular in colour. Rich glossy appearance with natural grains adding a touch of class to any interior. Strengths- Natural grains adds a touch of class.- Cold to the touch, which makes it very ideal for the climate in Singapore.- Wide variety in sizes and colours .- May be polished when surface clouds.Weaknesses- Generally porous by nature. Water will seep in if the top protective coat is strip off.- High in cost.- High in maintenance. Not suitable if pets are around. Granite- Hard, coarse-grained igneous rock composed chiefly of quartz, mica and orthoclase, which are used for building material.Strengths- Relatively tough industrial flooring.- Relatively classy looking due to glossy surface.- May also be used for countertops.- Lower in maintenance compared to marble.- May be polished when surface clouds.Weaknesses- High in cost.- Dull in design with specks of granite.- High in maintenance. Slate tiles- A fine-grained rock that splits into many layers. Strengths- Natural looking floor treatments.- Offers a lot of varieties in different sizes and colours.- Rustic in appearance.- Versatile and may be used in wet and dry areas.- Will season and 'aged' in time.Weaknesses- Not ideal for families with kids around the house as its surface is generally rough textured. It may cause hurt.- Colours are usually dark and earthy tones. Therefore restricting the flexibility in changing themes or designs, as it will not match easily with a contemporary look.- Algae may grow on the slabs when the area is wet and sunlight abounds. Laminated flooring- Synthetic wood flooring with laminated wood like appearance on the tops. Joined by either a 'tongue and groove' system or the uniclic system. The new designs are recyclable, as it will not be adhere to the ground using glue. Strengths- Relatively high in scratch resistance.- Compared to real wood flooring, it is cheaper in cost.- Wide variety in brands and colour of grains.- Easy to install and requires no 'drying' time unlike tiles.- Easy to remove as there is no glue involved.- Easy to maintain.- Ideal for country design homes.- Ideal for bedrooms or raised platform/flooring.- Creates a 'warm' feeling.- No hacking is needed as laminated flooring may be laid over existing tiles. Only the skirting needs to be hacked.Weaknesses- Sensation under frost is synthetic.- May only mop with 'dry-mop'. Water residue may leave watermark.- Not ideal for large surface area as it may look cheap and synthetic.- Too much monotony in the grain and patterns of the laminated flooring.- Discoloration may occur in flooring if exposed under extreme sunlight. Edited April 4, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2008 tonight liverpool vs arsenal leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2008 tonight liverpool vs arsenal leh... I think it will be a draw as they want to save energy for Champ league game. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites