tension_z 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 I used a Mr Tan for moving. His contact is 96778340. His workers are very fast. Moved everything within 2hrs. For me, I moved a mattress, study table, 2 cupboards and 30boxes - $150 (without boxes). But there were some scratches to my cupboards alto has already wrap with plastic. Ok for me as those cupboards already has scratches anyway. He does provide boxes. S_Pear used him before and is please with his service.thanks, I have smsed him.. now waiting for his reply.Is he uncle type or young man?any hidden costs when he moved your house? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 That's what we thought so too. The PE even gave the endorsement as per the picture, but HDB says cannot just hack a portion, must remove the whole wall and rebuild it again. That's why I suspect it was a case of HDB applying different standardsMine gotta hack the whole wall and rebuild partial.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 thanks, I have smsed him.. now waiting for his reply.Is he uncle type or young man?any hidden costs when he moved your house?He's late 40s or early 50s. No hidden cost. He didn't even come for site survey when I told him the number of items. If too many, he will arrange with u to take look.He did drop by S_Pear hse to survey when she engaged him. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 He's late 40s or early 50s. No hidden cost. He didn't even come for site survey when I told him the number of items. If too many, he will arrange with u to take look.He did drop by S_Pear hse to survey when she engaged him.Oh, then i think i better call him straight, i smsed him but he haven't reply..btw, any neighbours here have used boxes which u want to throw away after your moving can pass to me..quite excited to move but scare the packing process.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pooh_75 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 As a guide from SP services, 25L is good for 4 to 6 members in the family.Yes I have a slope outside my flat. My contractor told me there is no prob but no harm asking ur contractor to submit to HDB for approval.For newspaper, look out for promotion from SPH. Previous benefit I have come across eg 3 mths free for 2 yrs subscription. Free BBQ/steamboat hotplate etc.Call up to enquire - Circulation Hotline : 6388 3838Hi All,Heard from my friend that there was a case of cars being broken into at our multi-storey carpark today.Understand that the windows of the affected cars had their windows smashed.Guess those of us who own cars have to be extra vigilant and help keep a look out for suspicious characters lurking around the estate. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yeoman 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 hmm..i actually thought it cld have been faster...and i cant wait for carpentry to be up coz thats when i get to see the workmanship...haiz hopefully there will be no probs...well yeoman hope ur works start soon coz i would like to kaypoh kaypoh as well...btw ur neighbour started their reno work too rite...mine yet to start hopefully they start soon.i bumped into a neigbour at the lift and sadly they are not so friendly hope to see more friendly neighbours who will at least smile......Hi Liana,Glad to see u today.. Wow u really on the ball, monitoring the contractorswith the carpentries. Hope everything turns out to ur expectations.Saw a tall lady outside ur house, at first I thought she is u..Perhaps she 's fromunit 27? Their progress is as fast as yours~~doing up carpentry already~~My ceiling works should be up this week. hope everything goes smoothly~~Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Liana79B 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 Hi Liana,Glad to see u today.. Wow u really on the ball, monitoring the contractorswith the carpentries. Hope everything turns out to ur expectations.Saw a tall lady outside ur house, at first I thought she is u..Perhaps she 's fromunit 27? Their progress is as fast as yours~~doing up carpentry already~~My ceiling works should be up this week. hope everything goes smoothly~~CheersHi YeomanGlad to meet friendly neighbours like u and ur wife...not that i want to monitor...im just excited and anxious to see the final product fo the carpentry works...so got to keep my fingers crossed...hehe anway hope ur reno turns out well too...feel free to drop by anytime to look at our unit...all carpentry works shld be completed mid of this week........cant wait to kpoh ur unit toodidnt speak to that tall lady...she was at my place when i arrive...she didnt say anything so i actually tot she's the carpenter's friend or colleague...hmmm whether she's fm next doo im not too sure since she didnt say hi... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rachel79 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 Using the alumix (sounds something like tat) pole system type. My id advised we take tat instead of the wardrobe kind as it will free up more storage space. Think that shld be good enuff la.there is a more expensive brand in the market, illumix or something, but it is more more expensive. This illumix is on display at a shop beside the hk cafe on level 3, and a nice set cost more than $3k! Hi chocofudge,Have you compare Alumix with Stolmen Pole system from IKEA?Thinking of DIY with IKEA Stolmen system.The cost of the main post cost around $55 each and the shelves will cost around $20 to $30.I think it should be cheaper than Alumix. Any advice or comments on the IKEA system? Rachel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chocofudge 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2008 Hi chocofudge,Have you compare Alumix with Stolmen Pole system from IKEA?Thinking of DIY with IKEA Stolmen system.The cost of the main post cost around $55 each and the shelves will cost around $20 to $30.I think it should be cheaper than Alumix. Any advice or comments on the IKEA system? Rachel Hi rachel79,were discussing tat with hubby, but concluded tat the ikea one might not be able to take the weight.so decided to pay a little more for the alumix one. afterall, new house, dun want the risks of things falling apart. of cos, the hassle of having to DIY. Dont think got time admist the furnishing / electronics hunting... too many precious weekends spent on walking... kekeke... That's what we thought so too. The PE even gave the endorsement as per the picture, but HDB says cannot just hack a portion, must remove the whole wall and rebuild it again. That's why I suspect it was a case of HDB applying different standardshmmm... worrying... im at XX-39 too intention is to hack the exact same wall... all the way to the edge og the BR2 door. will do a f/u with my id in a week's time... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aural 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 Hi chocofudge,Have you compare Alumix with Stolmen Pole system from IKEA?Thinking of DIY with IKEA Stolmen system.The cost of the main post cost around $55 each and the shelves will cost around $20 to $30.I think it should be cheaper than Alumix. Any advice or comments on the IKEA system? Rachel I was planning an Ikea pole system but realised it takes up more space than a normal wardrobe so gave up. If you plan the measurements you will understand what i mean. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ronin 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 I used a Mr Tan for moving. His contact is 96778340. His workers are very fast. Moved everything within 2hrs. For me, I moved a mattress, study table, 2 cupboards and 30boxes - $150 (without boxes). But there were some scratches to my cupboards alto has already wrap with plastic. Ok for me as those cupboards already has scratches anyway. He does provide boxes. S_Pear used him before and is please with his service.this is a good lead. thank you alister.I was planning an Ikea pole system but realised it takes up more space than a normal wardrobe so gave up. If you plan the measurements you will understand what i mean.gulp. i was actually planning on getting the ikea pole system myself. let's see if i can work something out. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 Hi GAD...thanks for your pic...is your cabinet in really in line with the pillar, that's why your id make a 'kerb' to join to the other cabinet? Sorry to ask stupid question... OK, I have checked the cabinets already, both are not exactly in line! The long side is a bit protruding whereas the short side is recessed, but I guess this is deliberate. In any case the "kerb" will be necessary if you like a continuos cabinet that "runs" from one side to another. Without the curb, there will be an unsightly break between the cabinets showing the original white tiles Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 Hi GADWell, at least your ID is creative enough to make a curb so that there is a running flow line towards the other countertop!It really depends on individual ID, like yours, you are very lucky. For others, they might have have think of that: Unsightly break flow.HAPPYOK, I have checked the cabinets already, both are not exactly in line! The long side is a bit protruding whereas the short side is recessed, but I guess this is deliberate. In any case the "kerb" will be necessary if you like a continuos cabinet that "runs" from one side to another. Without the curb, there will be an unsightly break between the cabinets showing the original white tiles Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yeoman 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 Hi YeomanGlad to meet friendly neighbours like u and ur wife...not that i want to monitor...im just excited and anxious to see the final product fo the carpentry works...so got to keep my fingers crossed...hehe anway hope ur reno turns out well too...feel free to drop by anytime to look at our unit...all carpentry works shld be completed mid of this week........cant wait to kpoh ur unit toodidnt speak to that tall lady...she was at my place when i arrive...she didnt say anything so i actually tot she's the carpenter's friend or colleague...hmmm whether she's fm next doo im not too sure since she didnt say hi...Yeah Liana, hope to see more friendly neighbours like us on our storey. At least we met one now. I bet your carpentries will turn out just as good as your reno works!! Feel free to drop by our unit anytime too~~Oh, you didn't know that lady too.. At first we thought she's you or your friend..turn out to be neither.. Maybe she's too shy to intro herself.. Could be ourneighbour too~~ Anyway, cya around neigbour~~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
312079 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2008 If you're still looking, how about trying Unimax from across the road? 2 of my friends (tho not TPY) have gone for them.I'm also from Blk B unit 19, I am still looking for ID. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites