Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

you're a star!

for a while i thought you're my sis there! same name!

um, thing is, we'd be visiting my father in law at the time you stated. are you available at an earlier or later time that day or perhaps on another day?

How early or how late would you like to come by? Let me know your prefered timin...

Aiyoh, talking about the Mac Delivery Guys.

I am currently staying with my mum at Blk 183 (the block behind Kfc, facing the mult-storey carpark in TPY Central). The MAc Del guys not only make the loud noises when travelling on the roads, they tend to love to ramm their engines when they are at the carpark as well! Furthermore, they love to have their "friends" gathering at the carpark and make lots of noises. Very much like gangsters. 8|

And you guys know what, there was once we gave them a disgusted look when we parked our car after coming home from a midnight movie coz they were really noisy. A few mornings later, there was this deep scratch mark on our car.... :) We made a police report, but nothing much done anyway.... :dancingqueen: From then on, don't really dare to offend them coz they know where we live. :(:help:

So I hope if we do write a petition to Macdonald's, they will do something about these 'gangsters' 8|

Hi Zanie98

Just read your posting today n saw u r using *****. Am thinkg of using the same (ID Chi Ho) as well. So far so good with them? BTW, did you also do the aircon with them or get a separate contractor to do it? Any recommendation if its some other doing the aircon? Tks much...

Hi neighbours

Just a quick question - do owners really have to pay haulage costs and removal of debris to the nominated contractor of Town Council? TC told me haulage is at least $900 for 4-room unit and removal of debris about $170. So expensive... Is our ID supposed to co-ordinate with the nominated contractor to bring in the sand when the floor tiles are delivered for reno to start? so leh-cheh meh? TKs for your advice....

hey tension_z, i don't quite understand what you mean by straight or slanted door leh...can show some pictures??? at least i can also ask my id...

Thanks Wilfred for the reply.

Sushibabe, I haven't take photo of that door. Naked eye cannot realy tell the difference, I think the Photo also can't tell much.

Let me explain. (view from top)

---------------------------------------- <- bomb shelter wall

|

|

| <------The tic tac door(when it is opened)

|

|

Theorically, the tic tac door should be 90 degree perpenticular to the wall right?

Mine was like: the tic tac door top is 90 degree but towards the bottom it became slightly slanted as in more than 90 degree (on the same piece of wood) , like 95 degree to 100 degree.

meaning not a perfect 90 degree.

Do you experience this?

you don't look at the door when it is closed, cos it will look perfectly normal.

Look at it when you open it (like above), see if it is totally straight.

Edited by tension_z

How early or how late would you like to come by? Let me know your prefered timin...

ok, we can be there at 9am, 9.30am or anytime after 2pm.

does any of these work for you?

thanks again!

Hi Zanie98

Just read your posting today n saw u r using *****. Am thinkg of using the same (ID Chi Ho) as well. So far so good with them? BTW, did you also do the aircon with them or get a separate contractor to do it? Any recommendation if its some other doing the aircon? Tks much...

Hi Tippy

Working with Chi Ho has been a relatively pleasant experience. 8| He has been very willing to help and his workmanship's pretty good. When he knows that his dateline is almost up, he will rush for us where necessary without having us going after him. When we have items that are being delivered, and we are not available, he will not hesitate to go up and receive the goods for us. He is also willing to pay for the goods for us if we couldnt find time to pass him the balance payments for the goods. Chi Ho and/ or his project co-ordinator will also go up to the flat everyday to check on works done the previous day. He knows his stuff well as he used to be an architect working for HDB. And even thou' I would bother Chi Ho every day with qns via sms, he will still patiently explain things and situations to me, even thou' it could be the 3rd/4th time that I am asking about the same thing. :P:P I would say now Chi Ho is more like a fren than a contractor to hubby and me. 8| And we felt comfy with him the very first time we met him :)

However, things that are not so nice would include if something went wrong (for eg, our light broke during renovations), they will be pretty quick to push away the blame... :o Well, who's right who's wrong, I won't know coz I was not present. 8| You'll need to be firm about your ideas as well. Hubby and I listened a lot to him with regards to colours and designs and the house turned out nice but not exactly what we wanted. 8|

I did not get the aircon from him coz me and hubby think his quote's too high. We used All Best @ IMM instead. And we did not use his electrician as well. His electrician quoted us 2.2k wherease the one that Alister recommended quoted me only 1.4k. 8| Asked for discount but his electrician refused too. :bow: However, I do have to say that Chi Ho and my electrician can't seem to work together. :(

With regards to the haulage fees, Chi Ho handled it for us. !! Think it should be inside his quote already coz he did not collect any extra from us and he liased with the sand haulage contractors directly.

Well, hope all this info helps. And if you need/ want to go up to our flat to take a peep, feel free to let me know. :notti: Reno is not completed yet but all the carpentary should be up by Friday. Washing of the house will be done next Mon and Tues. (^_^) 8|

Edited by zanie98

ok, we can be there at 9am, 9.30am or anytime after 2pm.

does any of these work for you?

thanks again!

hmmm 9am is too early for me.....is 5pm ok for you? i will be back to toa payoh at 5pm..

anyone who wanna pop by pls do so at 11 - 12.30 as I have to be there to receive a delivery. or anyone wanna pop by after 5pm pls let me know first

Thanks Wilfred for the reply.

Sushibabe, I haven't take photo of that door. Naked eye cannot realy tell the difference, I think the Photo also can't tell much.

Let me explain. (view from top)

---------------------------------------- <- bomb shelter wall

|

|

| <------The tic tac door(when it is opened)

|

|

Theorically, the tic tac door should be 90 degree perpenticular to the wall right?

Mine was like: the tic tac door top is 90 degree but towards the bottom it became slightly slanted as in more than 90 degree (on the same piece of wood) , like 95 degree to 100 degree.

meaning not a perfect 90 degree.

Do you experience this?

you don't look at the door when it is closed, cos it will look perfectly normal.

Look at it when you open it (like above), see if it is totally straight.

my carpentry not up yet...but i will go ask my id...actually, i abit understand la, but dunno i got it right anot... :)

thank you thank you thank you thank you!:notti:

i went here on their site and found that it's well-updated, complete with prices and specifications that i need for my "window-shopping".

yes the prices ARE reasonable.

No problem with that :yamseng:

How about opening up your in-house gym for the rest of us who are lazy to go out?

keke.. :rolleyes:

Cool, i kinda like the 6" folderable pool table with the option of table top.

can be used as normal study table for common room and also for some

pool session~~ but the cost will total up to 800++.

The 5ft one only cost 300+.. :rolleyes:

5 or 6 ft seems a little small for a good game.. keke... but it will fit into out tiny flats nicely.

The non-branded 9 ft table cost abt 3k minimum, not including the table top which has to be customised, so still seriously thinking abt it.. furthermore such a huge item will make our living / dining area seems smaller too.

Are you getting one?

hmmm 9am is too early for me.....is 5pm ok for you? i will be back to toa payoh at 5pm..

anyone who wanna pop by pls do so at 11 - 12.30 as I have to be there to receive a delivery. or anyone wanna pop by after 5pm pls let me know first

thanks liana, i'll work it out with mrs ronin and let you know how it goes.

No problem with that :notti:

How about opening up your in-house gym for the rest of us who are lazy to go out?

keke.. :rolleyes:

lol! sure, if you'd let us shoot pool at yours!

actually i suck at pool but my siblings and siblings in law are crazy about it.

i'm also worried if putting a treadmill and multistation gym would drastically reduce the size of our living room. hoping to have a clearer picture when we pop by liana's tomorrow (hopefully).

if it does, then too bad for me, i'm just gonna have to sign up with a nearby gym.

Hi gadgetman,

Thanks for the rough guide.

I will ask my ID to quote.

by the way does your mirror come with wooden backing?

Nice foyer area and water fixture you having. :notti:

Hope to visit your house somday. :rolleyes:

you are most welcome!

mine comes without wooden backing as they are mounted directly on the wall.

thanks for your nice comments about my house, just give me a call if u like to pop by! :yamseng:

Dear All,

Can I have some advice on the water heater? My ID told me that the pipes in the bathrooms were concealed. So if I were to use Electric water heater, I will have to do some hacking work and the overall work would be ugly.

He proposed to use those gas water heater from Citygas. What are the pros and cons between the electric water heater and gas water heater?

I am also looking for sink, taps and bathroom accessories etc. Where can I get these with reasonable price?

When I signed the contract for renovation, we were pretty green and now, we seems to have to fork out alot more. I just paid $900 for haulage. Contractor told me its usually $700 but since I dun want laminated flooring in my bedrooms and doing homogenous tiles instead, I have to pay $200 more.

I am also quite silly to follow my ID to do furniture shopping. So gullible to think that he doesnt earn commission from the furniture shop just cos he told me he isnt. Anyway, a lesson learnt.

For the aircon, my advice is to get others to do than to go thru your ID. He quoted me $3350 for Mitsubishi Easy Clean System 3. I managed to get $2700 for the same thing outside. Just in case some of you had not done up your aircon, this is some gauge for you all to have.

Dear All,

Can I have some advice on the water heater? My ID told me that the pipes in the bathrooms were concealed. So if I were to use Electric water heater, I will have to do some hacking work and the overall work would be ugly.

He proposed to use those gas water heater from Citygas. What are the pros and cons between the electric water heater and gas water heater?

don't be surprised if he's earning from citygas too. i've learnt quite a bit in my days running foodcourts.