Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Gentle reminder: Gathering this Sunday @ Sky Garden @ 5pm.

So far, interested respondents:

1) zanie98: Bringing packet drinks

2) jaCKY777 : TBC

3) Gadgetman : Tiong Bahru Paos from TPY Central

4) Alister : Haven't decide yet

5) Redcrystal : tba

6) Shivan : Goreng Pisang?

7) Snuffleupagus (May pop-by ard 5+ )

8) Liana79B: Haig Road Popiah (combination of popiah and fried popiah)

9) shay_d & ms_white : ALMONDE bakery/tarts

Wow, so much food? Can finish anot? Like dat huh, if i go, then i bring myself can liao. :thumbs up:

i wld suggest

- meet at 3pm

- at blk C sky garden

- house hopping frm 1 blk 2 another

- higher flr dn

- kpo e units of e kakis who r present

- gather at 5pm at sky garden agin

- debrief, comment... :yamseng:

Btw, any1 can repost e 'open door ceremony' post?

2mr i gona perform open door ceremony if time permits lei.

If not wrong, its page 76.

Hey Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

For e benefit of doubts for New Renotalk Members & Old Renotalk Members who had 4goten, i'd xtracted e posting frm pg98 & beyond.

For your infomation & necessary actions :drunk:

hey ms white and zanie, i think open door also need some "sop"aka standard operating procedures le...(although i'm christian but cos mil and my grandparents are v particular thus did the following):

1. b4 open door, knock on door 3 times, say gd things like we are v happy with this place, everything is going to be smooth for us..

2. depending on ur dialect (i'm teochew and hb is cantonese), we did the following:

- brought up a bottle of 1l water, 1 guanyin sprig of leaf, 1packet of rice and 1 packet of coarse salt (according to my yeye he told me this is standard requirement to clean the house. salt must be coarse to disperse/chase out all naughty things).

- mix the rice and salt together, start from the inner most room and throw it all the way towards the other rooms, and do the same for other rooms as well all the way to the front door

- repeat procedure but this time, use the water to sprinkle the guanyin leaf all over the house

- after that, all family members can come in(children can only come in at end of sop)

saw some of my colleagues during the dongtu ceremony got place coins in strategic locations to bring wealth and some even say that when u open door, roll a pineapple into the house and place it there for 3 days(wang cai gun gun lai).

altho my yeye and mil did this, i also brought my bible up and me and hubby pray in our house for God's blessings... hope the above helps ;):good:

to all 79ers collecting key.... CONGRATS!:dancingqueen:!!!so our next gathering will have more places to go liao? :notti:

anyway, really happy that all my neighbours are getting keys liao!! HIP Hurray!! this calls for a celebration!:thumbs up:

btw alister, will everything be done in time for ur wife's labour? must ask her to stay at home, leave the reno works to u.... if she dun mind, i have a Medela pis at home, can lend her next year... and also, if u need any bb ger clothes, i really do have some, and am willing to pass it on if u dun mind... all in good condition.... :good: oh yeah, and must ask wife to eat more salmon and avocado tooo!!

hi ebing..sorry for the late reply!!

the taiwan chinese calendar was from webbie and we used it to check for our wedding date. :D

the auspicious date for 动土 can be found on those "tear daily" calendar. u'll see 宜 for good and 忌 for bad.

if under 宜 got 动土, u may proceed. but must check the time to see if it's 吉, 中 or 凶. and also check whether it clashes with yours and chrispy's zodiac cos both of u are the owners. this method is the most simplified form. if u ask fengshui shifu, some will tell u no need to do anything, some will say must buy oranges, joss sticks, burn incense etc. up to individual's believe. i only check the date for 动土 and did the door opening ceremony on that day @ the specific time..

together with strawberry_pear's advise -->> http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...843&st=2240 , we used rice, salt (by right shld be coarse but we used fine cos can't find...) and those chinese dried "tie guan yin" tea leaves (this item was added as i read in other thread). if u're buddhist/taoist, u may wanna use the "ang hway" to sprinkle water in the house. we didn't do so cos of religion. after we opened the door, we rolled pineapple and left it in the house for 3 days (very sweet! hahaha!) we bought a new hammer to 开工 too. knock until got some bits lor.

hope i'm not too lo-soh... ;)

Ernest's Benedict's design. shay_d & I find it pretty cool. :P Check it out -->> http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...7987&st=160 :wub:

wah lau..jaCKY777..of all ppl u're asking these questions! u're more experienced than many of all us leh!

dun be lazy..go back to the previous pages to find the answers to ur questions. tsk tsk tsk *shake head* :P:P:D

1) u only need to bring the things stated in the HDB letter. and u only need to pay & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign...until they ask u to stop. then u'll collect 21 keys for the entire household.

2) u may go to page 72 to check out what i did (according to what strawberry_pear advised) or check out Geomancy/Fengshui forum for the numerous fengshui threads. many ppl do different things so it depends on how deep your beliefs are.

3) do ur defects list within 7 days of keys collection OR before ur renovation begins. check from windows, doors, locks, switch plate, leaking taps/mixers, toilet bowls, tiles...etc...many things can check but depends whether they see the importance to rectify your "defects".

4) sit back and relax while money flow out of your pocket! :lol:

Congrats!:yamseng:! :good:

Hey ms_white and shay_d,

Congrats to you as well!:dancingqueen::good::thumbs up::yamseng:

Lol!! Thank you a_star! that is a really wonderful night! Haven't seen you for some time, when are you coming to your new house?

:drunk:

If not wrong, its page 76.

Hey MRS_white & shay_d,

:yamseng::dancingqueen::drunk:

So wen goin Honeymoon?

Which country & location u & shay_d had planned 2 go? :good:

e 'open door ceremony' post was found & reposted. :good:

Think dat day wat i saw at ur windows wen i pass by dnstairs, r ur newly fixed up curtain. Jus realise frm ur avatar. :lol:

:thumbs up:

Hey MRS_white & shay_d,

:yamseng::dancingqueen::drunk:

So wen goin Honeymoon?

Which country & location u & shay_d had planned 2 go? :good:

e 'open door ceremony' post was found & reposted. :good:

Think dat day wat i saw at ur windows wen i pass by dnstairs, r ur newly fixed up curtain. Jus realise frm ur avatar. :lol:

:thumbs up:

I'm still ms_white...only mrs shay_d...hahahaha!!

wanted to go for a short trip to either phuket/krabi to relax cos both of us love these places...but shay_d couldn't extend his leave..so putting it on hold lor. =)

LOL!! but i have curtains in living room only. the rest are roman blinds...so u could have seen my gowns instead too. =)

wanted to go for a short trip to either phuket/krabi to relax cos both of us love these places...but shay_d couldn't extend his leave..so putting it on hold lor. =)

LOL!! but i have curtains in living room only. the rest are roman blinds...so u could have seen my gowns instead too. =)

Oh, he muz hav been doin all e hse chores? :thumbs up:

Aniway, can any1 tel mi?

- if i do not intend 2 reno & move in so soon, can i not apply e water & elect & gas account 4 e time being?

- if i do not apply an account now, there wont b water & elect supply, can i stil check 4 defects or malfuction?

(read somewhere dat there is water supply for 3 days & is sufficient 2 check 4 chockage etc)

- if i open an account now but do not utilize e water & elect 4 e nex 6 mths or so, wat wil b e mthly bill i need 2 pay?

My intention is 2 start reno mayb 3mths later & move in once reno completes.

- Wat is e best possible suggestions? (eg. wen 2 apply SP services, telcom etc. Wen submit defects list?)

Thks 4 watever advice in advance.

Edited by jaCKY777

Hi jaCK777,

- if i do not intend 2 reno & move in so soon, can i not apply e water & elect & gas account 4 e time being?

Yes you can. You may apply the utilities a few days before your reno starts.

- if i do not apply an account now, there wont b water & elect supply, can i stil check 4 defects or malfuction?

(read somewhere dat there is water supply for 3 days & is sufficient 2 check 4 chockage etc)

Remember to bring a phillips screwdriver and testpen/power adapter with light indicator to your new home

1) Water - Tap head and screw found in the letterbox to fix at water riser with the phillips screwdriver (do not drop the screw).

2) Electric - Make sure the electrical meter in the riser is not cable-tied and stick with a yellow sticker before you can "ON" all your circuits (from riser to MCB) to test 13A/15A socket with the testpen.

3) Defects - You can have up to a year to submit the defects but the best is to get all your defects done before your reno or before the Blk 79C Service Centre "close shop".

- if i open an account now but do not utilize e water & elect 4 e nex 6 mths or so, wat wil b e mthly bill i need 2 pay?

Items you need to pay are Sanitary Applicance Fee ($6 - 2 toilet fittings), Refuse Removal (depends on company collecting the waste) plus GST per month.

- Wat is e best possible suggestions? (eg. wen 2 apply SP services, telcom etc. Wen submit defects list?)

You can plan your time/schedule, but you must have some lead times for Service Centre to rectify all the defects (can take months depending on defects type) and for your ID to touch up the leftovers after your reno.

Good Luck for your key collection. :sport-smiley-003:

Oh, he muz hav been doin all e hse chores? :P

Aniway, can any1 tel mi?

Thks 4 watever advice in advance.

:sport-smiley-003:

If u do not intend to start reno, no need to apply for SP Services yet. After collecting your keys, you should go up to your new flat to check up on water and power. You should have a few days grace to do this.

You should only apply for SP services a week before you start renovation. They will schedule a tech to come down to turn on your power and water and take a meter reading at the same time. If you have not checked your water and power, you should do so now before your reno starts.

You must submit your defects list to HDB before your reno starts, best to do it at least 1 week before the reno, then HDB got time to fix the defects, otherwise may clash with the reno contractor work.

If you turn on power and water, but do not stay in your house, you do not pay anything, only the monthly fee for the 2 toilets + rubbish deposal fee, I think. It comes up to about $20 per month in all. Others can correct me there. I do not have my SP bill with me at the moment.

Good luck! :~

Lol!! Thank you a_star! that is a really wonderful night! Haven't seen you for some time, when are you coming to your new house?

Yes, I have been MIA for a while. Been in and out of town for the last couple of months. :~ Our unit now under reno. Flooring is done, now waiting for carpentry.

Am out of town this week, but should be around during the weekend. :~

Hey Redcrystal,

I have put up a photo of my kitchen. Instead of PM you, I have decided to share with everybody as an avatar instead. :sport-smiley-003:

I don't remember how long is the kitchen cabinet but I think from the avatar photo you can get the idea. :~ There is around 8 feet of space from the fridge corner to the kitchen cabinet for my dining table.

Maybe you can put up a photo of your kitchen as well? Just to share share...? :P

Ptro

ms_white, mdm_white, mrs_shay_d... :P

you just reminded me...on sunday, hubby and i were crossing the road and we saw the gowns...looks nice leh...congrats ar~~~

:sport-smiley-003:

Hi Snuffy

My hubby and I are keen to kpoh your flat too! (^_^)

(As ms white is still asleep, its shay_d here. lazy to log out and log in. hehe)

Hi Snuffy

Me too!! hehe!

Edited by ms_white