Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Would like to know where do I request for cement screeding? is it from Building Service Centre?

Thank in advance.

Nope. You should do it at the HDB Branch Office located above the Toa Payoh KFC...

As posted earlier, I do have a problem waiting for the warm water to travel to the outlets in the toilets initially. But it is really a matter of getting used to it. After using the heater for almost 3 months now, this is really not an issue anymore.

- Half a pail of water is really not a lot, by the time we finish with washing our hands and feet after we got home, the warm water has already travelled to the taps!

Not forgetting that there are other advanatages too:

- Water output is stronger when warm and cold water is mixed. So, the shower is more shoik!

- Can also access warm water at more than one outlet. Remember, its not just the bathroom showers, but also the taps at your bathroom sinks and kitchen too!

- *Based on our usage, we are also not seeing any sudden rise in electricity bill (compared to using the instant heaters last time).

*Usually we would try to leave the switch off. We will only on it in the morning, off it when we leave house, and then in the evening when we are home and then off it before going to sleep. Once you are used to this habit, the heater will always have enough time to heat up so that warm water is always available when you most need it.

Actually come and think of it...even the hotels had similar problems with the delay of supply of hot water too. I just returned from my trip to KL during which i stayed at the Concorde hotel. You guess what? I turn on the hot water and there was none for almost a minute! I thought it was a problem unique with my room until my other colleagues also reported the same problem. So, by comparision, our 1/2 pail of water is still OK!

As posted earlier, I do have a problem waiting for the warm water to travel to the outlets in the toilets initially. But it is really a matter of getting used to it. After using the heater for almost 3 months now, this is really not an issue anymore.

- Half a pail of water is really not a lot, by the time we finish with washing our hands and feet after we got home, the warm water has already travelled to the taps!

Not forgetting that there are other advanatages too:

- Water output is stronger when warm and cold water is mixed. So, the shower is more shoik!

- Can also access warm water at more than one outlet. Remember, its not just the bathroom showers, but also the taps at your bathroom sinks and kitchen too!

- *Based on our usage, we are also not seeing any sudden rise in electricity bill (compared to using the instant heaters last time).

*Usually we would try to leave the switch off. We will only on it in the morning, off it when we leave house, and then in the evening when we are home and then off it before going to sleep. Once you are used to this habit, the heater will always have enough time to heat up so that warm water is always available when you most need it.

hey Mich, this sound like what my colleague practice.... and he says he dun find using storage heater a prob. as he'll usually on it in the morning and only off it when he is going to sleep. but, reason why he leave it on during the day can be due to his parents are at home. i do intend to use this method when i move in. but of cos need to monitor the electrical bill as well.

Hi guys, got bad experience with Al* Bes*. Currently looking at natural cool but the price abit ex. Any recommendation for a reliable and value for $$ a/c company? Thanks!

My wife got someone(not those big a/c companies) we know to install our Daikin a/c sys 3..

Maybe you would like to get a quote from him to compare??

If you are interested, email me @ adrianz_13@yahoo.com.sg

Was toying the idea of engaging them. Mind PM me your bad experience? Thanks alot.

Hi all..i know you guys have discussed on the haulage and debris removal fees charged by the town council before. Spoke with my ID today. He told me that town council only charges 1xx+ for the haulage and debris removal fees. He said he paid another 600+ to someone to transport sand and remove debris and said this is under table and common practice to pay to the people downstairs. So i was surprised to read that HDB charges a fixed fee of 900 for 4 rm and 1100 for 5 rm flats. are we referring to the same charges?? he said they only collect for new flats. if you start the renovations a few mths down the road, nobody will ask us to pay.

Try searching this forum or Singaporebrides, and sure you should be able to get some leads.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=218461

Or checkout those neighbourhood shops (they may be good too)

Aircon Installation Specs that you may like to ask for.

- 16mm copper pipings thruout. (unlimited)

- Copper gauge: 23

- Insulation thickness: 1/2" (must emphasize and ensure it is reflect in quotation) as most will insist to provide 3/8"

- Installation to be done in 2 trips (1-trunking, 2-install aircon)

And request installer to avoid running trunking at these locations:

- along wall that have hot water piping.

- along sun facing wall

- near electrical heat source. (eg.spotlight, TV,etc)

Hi all..i know you guys have discussed on the haulage and debris removal fees charged by the town council before. Spoke with my ID today. He told me that town council only charges 1xx+ for the haulage and debris removal fees. He said he paid another 600+ to someone to transport sand and remove debris and said this is under table and common practice to pay to the people downstairs. So i was surprised to read that HDB charges a fixed fee of 900 for 4 rm and 1100 for 5 rm flats. are we referring to the same charges?? he said they only collect for new flats. if you start the renovations a few mths down the road, nobody will ask us to pay.

Hey Wildreds,

my views below.

Neighbours pls update if i'm wrong.

Haulage ->

- $900 (4-rm),

- $1000 (5-rm).

- payable 2 e Term Contractor who sub e whole 79 contract.

- their workers wil upload ur watever goods & materials frm grnd lev 2 inside ur unit.

- ur ID/contractor wil olso buy sand & cement (for flooring & masonry works) frm them.

- unless ur ID/contractor got their own source of sand cement supply & uploading goods workers.

- dis scenerio wil happen esp with resale flat.

Debris Removal ->

- different Town Council charges differently.

- less than $200.

- dis fee is for e clearing of reno debris (esp. hacking of walls), frm outside ur unit 2 their designated disposal areas. (eg. collection tank)

- if no hacking of wall, unlikely wil b chargeable. (TC dependent)

- gota take note, if u pay dis Debris Removal Fee 2 ur ID, make sure wen u receive e letter frm Town Council, it is a Receipt of Payment / Tax Invoice not a Bill 4 payment.

- I gues ur ID got his own lobang, if u can save some $$$, then y not?

- But mus take note, who is dis 'another person'?

- If 'they' r e ID's own men, then y not?

- If 'they' r whom ur ID met & been offered e service, then pray hard?

- Ur ID firm is an old company, hdb licensed & RADAC accredition etc.

- Unlikely they wil cheat u. Jus gota b sure wat can b done, wat canot b done, s rules may change anytime.

e above r base on my own understanding & views.

It does not prove my stand for any of e parties mentioned.

Also, u might wana read thru 1 pg bak, check with fellow member here, whether hers is e same situation? Her ID co is e same s urs. Clue - she posted b4 i asked abt e bathtub thingy.

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey Wildreds,

my views below.

Neighbours pls update if i'm wrong.

Haulage ->

- $900 (4-rm),

- $1000 (5-rm).

- payable 2 e Term Contractor who sub e whole 79 contract.

- their workers wil upload ur watever goods & materials frm grnd lev 2 inside ur unit.

- ur ID/contractor wil olso buy sand & cement (for flooring & masonry works) frm them.

- unless ur ID/contractor got their own source of sand cement supply & uploading goods workers.

- dis scenerio wil happen esp with resale flat.

Debris Removal ->

- different Town Council charges differently.

- less than $200.

- dis fee is for e clearing of reno debris (esp. hacking of walls), frm outside ur unit 2 their designated disposal areas. (eg. collection tank)

- if no hacking of wall, unlikely wil b chargeable. (TC dependent)

- gota take note, if u pay dis Debris Removal Fee 2 ur ID, make sure wen u receive e letter frm Town Council, it is a Receipt of Payment / Tax Invoice not a Bill 4 payment.

- I gues ur ID got his own lobang, if u can save some $$$, then y not?

- But mus take note, who is dis 'another person'?

- If 'they' r e ID's own men, then y not?

- If 'they' r whom ur ID met & been offered e service, then pray hard?

- Ur ID firm is an old company, hdb licensed & RADAC accredition etc.

- Unlikely they wil cheat u. Jus gota b sure wat can b done, wat canot b done, s rules may change anytime.

e above r base on my own understanding & views.

It does not prove my stand for any of e parties mentioned.

Also, u might wana read thru 1 pg bak, check with fellow member here, whether hers is e same situation? Her ID co is e same s urs. Clue - she posted b4 i asked abt e bathtub thingy.

Ah thanks jacky. i did not ask the ID much since he said he is not going to charge me extra. He is just charging me $200 :D just find it strange that the amounts charged by the subcon is so expensive compared to the service that they provide, which is not much at all, according to my ID.

Congrats to you, sci10109! :(

My collection is only 1 day earlier than yours. Time to search for an ID to renovate your flat liao. So far, I have only went to Unimax (opposite blk 79) and Home Interior (beside Toa Payoh Kbox). Will be going down to more IDs for more quotations to compare.

My new flat is on the 9th floor, what's yours? Later we both might be neighbours! :D

Hey EuphObear,

My collection was supposed to be the 27th too but I have urgent stuff in office so can't take the time off to collect keys.

Yes, we'll be neighbours but I am on 26th floor.. Keep me updated on your reno progress yeah? My wife and I can't wait to shift in!:P

I have decided on Promax as my ID.. Anyone any opinions? :(

My flat's a 5 rm flat. And my Id's *****. (^_^)

***** is pricey? BTW, when your house ready, we come by to kay poh kay poh? :(

Hi all

I want to give away 10 empty boxes. I used it for my hse shifting the last round.

Pls pm me if u need. If no takers, I will throw away this Sat 1st Mar.

When collecting my keys, I saw from the Request for Cement screeding form that it would take 3-4 weeks for the work to be completed. I ask the HDB officer if it would be able to expedite the process. She told me that i can go to the building service center and hand the form to them for "express service"

So, happily, i cross the TYP central road and walk to the Building service center. Guess what, they told me that they cannot do anything about it and i have to hand the form at the Branch office. Wah Liew..

BTW, anyone staying on Blk A level 23 like me?

Edited by alexneock

When collecting my keys, I saw from the Request for Cement screeding form that it would take 3-4 weeks for the work to be completed. I ask the HDB officer if it would be able to expedite the process. She told me that i can go to the building service center and hand the form to them for "express service"

So, happily, i cross the TYP central road and walk to the Building service center. Guess what, they told me that they cannot do anything about it and i have to hand the form at the Branch office. Wah Liew..

BTW, anyone staying on Blk A level 23 like me?

If not, get your contractor to do it for you, at some cost, faster and nicer than HDB. For sure. Cheers.

Hey EuphObear,

My collection was supposed to be the 27th too but I have urgent stuff in office so can't take the time off to collect keys.

Hi, my wife and i faced this situation the other time. We went to HDB counter to ask for the earliest date. Guess what? we were issued the keys that day and we didn't even brought any of our documents except our IC!!