alister 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 Hi allMy advise to all new proud owners , pls look at buying fire insurance for your love nest. It covers thefts, home contents, personal accidents & alternative accomandation as well. The premium is actually very affortable and it is transferable to a new address if you move in future.I bought one under AIG for my old flat under SERS and I am transferring to my new flat. Can't remember the premium I paid for it back in 2004 for 5 yrs. Contend coverage up to $100,000.Public Housing Protection Plan Q: Who are covered under the policy?Household items and personal effects belonging to the Insured or any member of his family permanently residing with him are covered.Q: Can I increase the limit for Household Contents?Yes, you can increase the sum insured for Household Contents by paying additional premium. There will be a charge of $26.00 for every additional S$10,000 sum insured.Q: How much can I claim for my valuables (eg. jewellery and watches)? You can claim up to a maximum amount not exceeding one third of the Contents Sum Insured and S$1,000 for any one item. As excess of S$100 will apply for each and every claim, e.g. if your stolen ring costs S$2,000, we will pay S$1,000. (Example: S$2,000 less S$100 excess = S$1,900 but the policy limit of S$1,000 applies. You can only claim for S$1,000)P/s : I dun work for AIG or any insurance company Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 Hi Redwyrm,Gadgetman is showing his extended room as his avatar now. We from Blk A also can do this if we want. It is the space in the hall at the aircon ledge. So which ID have you short listed so far? Hi Shivan,I was thinking about that area too, cuz got window for ventilation.. Need to see will it over my budget or not.. I only shortlisted Gplan and Idealhouse.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 Wow.. nice and it looks big.. i am also thinking of building another room for my study room\gaming room.what is the quote for this area? May want to ask my ID to quote me on that..ThanksThis is actually the killer item on my reno cost. It may not look like much, but the whole room could easily cost up to 5K...the bifold doors are settees are very expensive. An alternative is to just have glass and glass sliding doors without the wooden structure, that could cut down cost quite substantially. Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 Hi allMy advise to all new proud owners , pls look at buying fire insurance for your love nest. It covers thefts, home contents, personal accidents & alternative accomandation as well. The premium is actually very affortable and it is transferable to a new address if you move in future.I bought one under AIG for my old flat under SERS and I am transferring to my new flat. Can't remember the premium I paid for it back in 2004 for 5 yrs. Contend coverage up to $100,000.Public Housing Protection Plan Q: Who are covered under the policy?Household items and personal effects belonging to the Insured or any member of his family permanently residing with him are covered.Q: Can I increase the limit for Household Contents?Yes, you can increase the sum insured for Household Contents by paying additional premium. There will be a charge of $26.00 for every additional S$10,000 sum insured.Q: How much can I claim for my valuables (eg. jewellery and watches)? You can claim up to a maximum amount not exceeding one third of the Contents Sum Insured and S$1,000 for any one item. As excess of S$100 will apply for each and every claim, e.g. if your stolen ring costs S$2,000, we will pay S$1,000. (Example: S$2,000 less S$100 excess = S$1,900 but the policy limit of S$1,000 applies. You can only claim for S$1,000)P/s : I dun work for AIG or any insurance companyYa I think the insurance is affordable enough to buy from AIG.I think i will claim the compensation from my neighbour if they started the fire.. just joking.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 Hi Shivan,I was thinking about that area too, cuz got window for ventilation.. Need to see will it over my budget or not.. I only shortlisted Gplan and Idealhouse.. That's what we thought too initially, but after installing our two air-con compressors, we realised that the window is not meant so much for ventilation, but more for servicing the aircons! It is also quite an eyesore to be looking at the exposed compressors and the rubbish chute! So in the end, we permanently closed up the window and covered it up. Many people who have renovated have also opted to cover this window up...One area for consideration if you built an additional room is aircon and aircon-truncking related problems. You will have to assess if a normal 3 unit system will be sufficient and if the additional trunckings will affect the looks of your living areas....Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redhat 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 hi neighbours!collected my keys yesterday!! finally...but actually no point now...hehe..can only start work after CNY...but useful for getting measurements etc for buying stuff for hse....for those yet to collect keys ...just to share with you the following...for those collected keys pls advise if i missed out anything..thks1. Buy fire protection (cover structural only) - $7+2. Buy fire protection (personal belongings/furniture etc) $70/yr3. collect keys4. Buy padlock4. Go to HDB branch (just opp hdb hub) apply for cement screed and pass them the padlock keys only.5. Proceed to new hse to check defects (which i havent do it yet) clear junk mails under the door, check letterbox ( a lot of cables inside).thats all.... Sign up with SP services for water, gas & electricity.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 (edited) Sign up with SP services for water, gas & electricity.... haha, dis is sooo important, yet we missed out. Let mi compile e list:1. Buy fire protection (cover structural only) - $7+2. Buy fire protection (personal belongings/furniture etc) $70/yr3. Sign up with SP services for water, gas & electricity4. Collect keys5. Buy padlock6. Go to HDB branch (just opp hdb hub) apply for cement screed and pass them the padlock keys only.7. Clear letterbox (junk mails, cables, 'tap-head').8. Clear junk mails at front main gate, under the door.9. Open Door Ceremony.10. Check defects.11. Submit defects list.Pls update if e sequence is wrong or any step is being overlooked. Below is e link to geomancy net, FYI & necessary actions ->FREE geomancy info on auspicious date Edited February 10, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 (edited) That's what we thought too initially, but after installing our two air-con compressors, we realised that the window is not meant so much for ventilation, but more for servicing the aircons! It is also quite an eyesore to be looking at the exposed compressors and the rubbish chute! So in the end, we permanently closed up the window and covered it up. Many people who have renovated have also opted to cover this window up...One area for consideration if you built an additional room is aircon and aircon-truncking related problems. You will have to assess if a normal 3 unit system will be sufficient and if the additional trunckings will affect the looks of your living areas....Cheers!Hi gadgetman,covered up meaning not permanent kind of covered up right if not you will have problem when you want to service your aircon.Thanks for the info and suggestion, will think think about it and my budget.. haha, dis is sooo important, yet we missed out. Let mi compile e list:1. Buy fire protection (cover structural only) - $7+2. Buy fire protection (personal belongings/furniture etc) $70/yr3. Sign up with SP services for water, gas & electricity4. Collect keys5. Buy padlock6. Go to HDB branch (just opp hdb hub) apply for cement screed and pass them the padlock keys only.7. Clear letterbox (junk mails, cables, 'tap-head').8. Clear junk mails at front main gate, under the door.9. Open Door Ceremony.10. Check defects.11. Submit defects list.12. Put up a notice "To all Burglars, Thiefs, Suspicious Characters, please beware that you are being watched." Pls update if e sequence is wrong or any step is being overlooked. Below is e link to geomancy net, FYI & necessary actions ->http://www.geomancy.net/reports/free-repor...pt-dateboth.htm Edited February 1, 2008 by Redwyrm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 Hi gadgetman,covered up meaning not permanent kind of covered up right if not you will have problem when you want to service your aircon.Thanks for the info and suggestion, will think think about it and my budget.. Oh yes! Cover up the window only, but it will still be accessible when necessary! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 (edited) Hi gadgetman,covered up meaning not permanent kind of covered up right if not you will have problem when you want to service your aircon.Thanks for the info and suggestion, will think think about it and my budget.. Oh yes! Cover up the window only, but it will still be accessible when necessary!i assume its a Feature Wall c/w tic-tac door.2 refresh our memories; It Is Not Allowed To Permanently Seal-up Any Window Openings in hdb flat.Below is e hdb general reno guidelines link, fyi & necessary actions ->HDB Flat General Renovation GuidelinesBelow is e hdb electrical reno guidelines link, fyi & necessary actions ->HDB Flat Electrical Renovation Guidelines Edited February 10, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 i assume its a Feature Wall c/w tic-tac door.2 refresh our memories; It Is Not Allowed To Permanently Seal-up Any Window Openings in hdb flat.Below is e hdb reno guidelines link, fyi & necessary actions ->http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10205p.nsf/WP...Menu=Guidebooks Hi JaCKY777,Understood. Can i ask another question? Can we change the window panes in the toilet? to those 1 piece window? Er.. if you know what i meant.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coco_mybibi 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 Oh yes! Cover up the window only, but it will still be accessible when necessary!An ID proposed the same thing to me too... to cover up the window with a feature wall. However, my current ID said it will be good to leave the window there cos it will be good if you are eating steamboat and the room will not be too smelly, which I think is quite true too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 (edited) Hi JaCKY777,Understood. Can i ask another question? Can we change the window panes in the toilet? to those 1 piece window? Er.. if you know what i meant.. Hey Redwyrm,if i ans correctly, got marks anot? if i ans wrongly, got detection class anot? i noe wat u meant lah. u r refering 2 e approx. 600mm x 600mm adjustable alum window with wire-mesh glass panels.- S e name suggests, its a window, suppose 2 provide ventilation.- There is a certain ventilation requirement for buildings, not just toilets, under Building Regulations Act.- Some 'units' had replaced dis 'adjustable vent' 2 'fixed glass panel c/w exhaust fan'. Eg. coffee shops at ground floor.hdb flat by rite can or canot? - mayb those who had done dat wld like 2 comment? - mayb can check with ur ID/contractor Edited February 1, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yeoman 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 haha, dis is sooo important, yet we missed out. Let mi compile e list:1. Buy fire protection (cover structural only) - $7+2. Buy fire protection (personal belongings/furniture etc) $70/yr3. Sign up with SP services for water, gas & electricity4. Collect keys5. Buy padlock6. Go to HDB branch (just opp hdb hub) apply for cement screed and pass them the padlock keys only.7. Clear letterbox (junk mails, cables, 'tap-head').8. Clear junk mails at front main gate, under the door.9. Open Door Ceremony.10. Check defects.11. Submit defects list.Pls update if e sequence is wrong or any step is being overlooked. Below is e link to geomancy net, FYI & necessary actions ->http://www.geomancy.net/reports/free-repor...pt-dateboth.htm Thanks for updating the list neighbors of Blk 79.Btw, anyone has some standard sop for opening of the door for the first time? will be collecting keys soon and willhead straight to my house for the first time so need to knowwhat to do.. Thanks for sharing~~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted February 1, 2008 An ID proposed the same thing to me too... to cover up the window with a feature wall. However, my current ID said it will be good to leave the window there cos it will be good if you are eating steamboat and the room will not be too smelly, which I think is quite true too.Hi Coco,If ur feature wall has tic tac features, you will still be able to open the windows. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites