Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Yeah, anyway even if I get the key now also useless as chinese newyear is coming. There will not be any contractor/ID willing to take up the reno project till after 15th of lunar new year. Why waste another one month of conersative charges to HDB?

So be patient lah. Just like you i started to give up the idea of getting key before the new year commence.

Hey TPY,

not 4geting e mthly loan instalment. Once keys collected, $$$ starts 2 deduct liao. Unless e 'flat' is fully paid. (no loan frm hdb or bank) ;)

Wonder wen e water & elect & gas bill starts 2 take effect?

Btw, conservancy charges is payable to Town Council, not hdb.

There r stil ID/contractors willing to take-up prj during e CNY period. Though majority of e reno workers r foreigners (go bak hmland to celebrate), there r olso some who r locals who r willing 2 work during CNY period. The main thing is to get e required materials ready b4 e materials suppliers close 4 e yr. :dunno:

Fyi, my keys collection day had further delayed since nov07 til mar08. (not solely bcos of no manpower durin CNY) :notti:

:sport-smiley-004:

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey TPY,

not 4geting e mthly loan instalment. Once keys collected, $$$ starts 2 deduct liao. Unless e 'flat' is fully paid. (no loan frm hdb or bank) ;)

Wonder wen e water & elect & gas bill starts 2 take effect?

Btw, conservancy charges is payable to Town Council, not hdb.

My keys collection day had further delayed since nov07 til mar08. :notti:

:sport-smiley-004:

Yo, I agree, rather than chasing after a ball thst has no returns in the mean time, i would concentrate my effort on other matters. CNY preparation, sourcing for reno ideas.....

Dear Toa Payoh Neighbours,

I would like to share something to sidetrack on the usual renovation topics.

I wrote to Dr Ng Eng Hen (MP of Toa Payoh) today, sharing my feedback and objection on the ERP Gantry set up at Toa Payoh Lor 6.

Although LTA announced that they have not decide when these new gantries will be switched on, I feel that their decision to set this gantry up with the intention of managing traffic congestion where ERP charging will be activated only when traffic conditions deteriorate and warrant the implementation of ERP is really unfair for the residents of Toa Payoh estate.

It is common that traffic congestion usually occurs during the peak evening hours. My main concern is that LTA may likely switch on ERP during these hours to ease traffic.

I treasure work-life balance and I am about the start my new phase of life as a married woman with the intention of building quality family life with my husband and parents who are also living in Toa Payoh. But if ERP switches on during such hours, then I cannot bear the cost of paying money to go home early. This will add financial burdens to me and my household as I'm also financing my new house, car, saving for a baby, supporting our parents, and trying our best to save every bit of money we can as young married couples.

My main concerns:

- Why are residents of Toa Payoh being so-called "penalise" by the ERP?

- If I choose to avoid paying ERP, then I may have to sacrifice going home early by waiting for ERP to switch off. Then this will have adverse impact on my family life and the time that I can dine with my family members together.

- Why must LTA set up so many ERP gantries where there are already 2 ERP gantries before the CTE Braddell Exit?

Dunno how many of us will be affected next time by this ERP Gantry. Hope our MPs will speak on our behalf, with cost of living gone up significantly. :thumbs up:

I wrote to Dr Ng Eng Hen (MP of Toa Payoh) today, sharing my feedback and objection on the ERP Gantry set up at Toa Payoh Lor 6.

Although LTA announced that they have not decide when these new gantries will be switched on, I feel that their decision to set this gantry up with the intention of managing traffic congestion where ERP charging will be activated only when traffic conditions deteriorate and warrant the implementation of ERP is really unfair for the residents of Toa Payoh estate.

It is common that traffic congestion usually occurs during the peak evening hours. My main concern is that LTA may likely switch on ERP during these hours to ease traffic.

I treasure work-life balance and I am about the start my new phase of life as a married woman with the intention of building quality family life with my husband and parents who are also living in Toa Payoh. But if ERP switches on during such hours, then I cannot bear the cost of paying money to go home early. This will add financial burdens to me and my household as I'm also financing my new house, car, saving for a baby, supporting our parents, and trying our best to save every bit of money we can as young married couples.

My main concerns:

- If I choose to avoid paying ERP, then I may have to sacrifice going home early by waiting for ERP to switch off. Then this will have adverse impact on my family life and the time that I can dine with my family members together.

- Why must LTA set up so many ERP gantries where there are already 2 ERP gantries before the CTE Braddell Exit?

Dunno how many of us will be affected next time by this ERP Gantry. Hope our MPs will speak on our behalf, with cost of living gone up significantly. :)

I dont think, even if there is a petition or a marching protest, that LTA will bring down the ERP. Once it is built, they will definitely use it.. :)

Edited by Redwyrm

My main concerns:

Dunno how many of us will be affected next time by this ERP Gantry. Hope our MPs will speak on our behalf, with cost of living gone up significantly. :)

Hey almonddust,

:deal::good:

u shd hav gather s many TPY ppl petition signatures s possible b4 u email in. :lol:

Actually, i kinda lost. Dunoe izit gona b charge IN or OUT of TPY?

Can i noe wher is e exact loc of e new ERP gantry at TPY lor 6?

1) Exit frm Braddell Rd (come frm Bartley Rd), enter TPY lor 6;

2) Exit TPY lor 6, enter Braddell Rd, 2wards Bishan Rd /Marymount / Lornie Rd;

3) Exit TPY lor 6, via TPY North Flyover, enter Braddell Rd, 2wards Bartley Rd;

4) Exit frm Braddell Rd (come frm Bishan Rd /Marymount / Lornie Rd), via TPY North Flyover, enter TPY lor 6.

Hey almonddust,

u shd hav gather s many TPY ppl petition signatures s possible b4 u email in. :lol:

4) Exit frm Braddell Rd (come frm Bishan Rd /Marymount / Lornie Rd), via TPY North Flyover, enter TPY lor 6.

Both 1 and 4 will hit the gantry! :):deal::):bow::bow:

I think it is all BS when they said they want to monitor the speed around there. Once the ave speed drops to 20-30km/h, they will activate it. All they know is how to build ERP gantry but they should think of how to solve the design of the road instead.

That road has been there for at least 30 years! They should think of ways to widen it and move the bus stop somewhere else. That stupid bus stop is just a few metres from the entrance and everytime the bus stops, it will affect all the cars behind it. The traffic light is another 50m away. With both the bus stop and traffic light there, how can the traffic move any faster??? :lol:8|

Edited by shivan

Both 1 and 4 will hit the gantry! :):deal::):lol::deal:

I think it is all BS when they said they want to monitor the speed around there. Once the ave speed drops to 20-30km/h, they will activate it. All they know is how to build ERP gantry but they should think of how to solve the design of the road instead.

That road has been there for at least 30 years! They should think of ways to widen it and move the bus stop somewhere else. That stupid bus stop is just a few metres from the entrance and everytime the bus stops, it will affect all the cars behind it. The traffic light is another 50m away. With both the bus stop and traffic light there, how can the traffic move any faster??? :good::good:

Any ideas what time the gantries start-end.

I dont think, even if there is a petition or a marching protest, that LTA will bring down the ERP. Once it is built, they will definitely use it.. :lol:

Yes I agree! Ever since LTA announced in Nov last year, they are putting it up DESPITE strong voices from residents of Toa Payoh and those working in Toa Payoh. It is just a matter of time that we will have to pay money to go home during the evening peak hours. Or in the morning driving home after we sent the kids to school.

Joke of the Year: "The LTA spokesman explained that the location of the gantry is unlikely to affect residents as it charges motorists entering into Toa Payoh from Braddell Road who add on to the traffic in the area." :deal::good::bow:

Hey almonddust,

:bow::lol:

u shd hav gather s many TPY ppl petition signatures s possible b4 u email in. 8|

The gantry is opposite Beatty Secondary School, just next to the Lor 8 market, towards the Seu Teck Sean Tong Chinese Temple. If you travel via Braddell road and enter Toa Payoh, you will kena. I always thought ERP gantries are built to deter people from going into city. But this is the first time i see they deter people from going into a neighbourhood. There are already 2 ERP gantries before the CTE Braddell Exit (towards AMK direction) which one operates until 10:30pm after the other is off. :):deal::good:

Edited by almonddust

Joke of the Year: "The LTA spokesman explained that the location of the gantry is unlikely to affect residents as it charges motorists entering into Toa Payoh from Braddell Road who add on to the traffic in the area." :):):notti:

Mayb thers a catch in e above sentence :)

It would b HEART-WARMING if

- Toa Payoh residents motorists got immunity frm dis ERP gantry or

- Toa Payoh residents motorists would b issued with special IU/cash card dat would not deduct wen passing thru dis gantry. This in turn deters non Toa Payoh residents frm entering via dat rd during operational hrs. Lessen e traffic.

If dats e case, e gahment is HAPPY, Toa Payoh residents olso HAPPY.

:~8|:lol:

:dunno:

wah...if like that...we spent so much $$$ buy tpy flat and yet we still have to kena erp!:dunno:!:) so duh~~~

it makes sense to them but doesn't make sense to the residents...

but they will surely go ahead with the gantry thingy...

cost of living is getting up to our throats!:)!:) how to think of having a kid???

My main concerns:

Dunno how many of us will be affected next time by this ERP Gantry. Hope our MPs will speak on our behalf, with cost of living gone up significantly. :dunno:

I think the government just want to encourage us to sell our cars and take the public transport instead. I remembered one ex-colleague of mine with 2 kids already have planned to sell away his after the MRT circle line starts. He said, "Once the circle line is ready, it is not necessary to drive a car liao..." Hmm....is it true? MRTs are always congested especially when there's a train fault like yesterday at west bound line...

Hey almonddust,

:unsure:

Looking at the whole TPY map, there are only 4 ways of entering and leaving TPY

1. Exit from CTE Bradell to enter TPY

2. From Bishan , AMK , Lornie Rd enter TPY by the high flyover

3. From PIE exit coming from east side of SG

4. From PIE exit coming from west side of SG

Basically TPY residents only have 4 routes of entering and leaving TPY estate.

By setting ERP gantry isNOT fair to us... :furious:

I am already cursing and swearing when they started to have ERP charges on CTE until 10.30pm.

I fully agreed with almonddust and I fully support ur move to voice out to the MPs :thumbs up:

Mayb thers a catch in e above sentence :unsure:

It would b HEART-WARMING if

- Toa Payoh residents motorists got immunity frm dis ERP gantry or

- Toa Payoh residents motorists would b issued with special IU/cash card dat would not deduct wen passing thru dis gantry. This in turn deters non Toa Payoh residents frm entering via dat rd during operational hrs. Lessen e traffic.

If dats e case, e gahment is HAPPY, Toa Payoh residents olso HAPPY.

:deal::good::lol:

:thumbs up:

I think it doesn't make sense to set up gantries inside an estate.. they are penalizing ppl staying in the estate from leaving home & returning home.. I used to joke with my friends that eventually we hv gantries when we exit our doorstep.. looks like it's coming true!! :furious:8|8|

is this the kind of "bargain" one gets for supporting P@P... :thumbs up:

wonder how's the corruption like... they get pay increase to tide the surge in living expenses...

we get nothing in the pocket but bigger holes... *ptui*

is this the kind of "bargain" one gets for supporting P@P... :thumbs up:

wonder how's the corruption like... they get pay increase to tide the surge in living expenses...

we get nothing in the pocket but bigger holes... *ptui*

No lar to be fair, everybody the same. The Lor 8 estate next to bradell entry belongs to Potong Pasir TC, if they enter they also need to pay. So no diff between the support. There is no free lunch in this world.