jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 (edited) hi zanie98,feel free to drop by my unit. my person-in-charge is Andy, tik surname is ong. can't comment much on him now cos so far many disappointments were experienced loo~ honestly, now can't c much reno done at my unit. the process was su~~per Sl~~~OW....hopefully they can finish our carpentry and painting next wk then u can c more of their workmanship....jacky777,just when i tot our billing is solved, chi ho replied me dat we nid to repay them back the debris collection amt in a later date...haiz...abit sian loo. i m trying to ask him to absorb for us loo..just hope dat he can...else, really "one field happy, one field empty" - (direct translation from chinese..hehe..hope u understand). anyway, welcome to kapo my unit too...like wat i told zanie98, now nothing to show u all...actually very pai seh loo cos my reno started on 9 nov and it still look very much unrenovated...haiz....just hope dat Andy (my person-in-charge) keeps his promise and done all the carpentry works & painting by next wk nicely and hopefully can hangover the unit to me by next wk too...haiz....will keep u update...Hey doremi,mayb u try 2 negotiate with Lee CH, say their work progress blah blah blah SO0o SLOWww, u wan them 2 absorb e 'TC' thingy. Or mayb at a later stage, u try 2 get watever freebies frm them loh. !! e person-in-charge of ur reno is Andy? Tot is Lee CH himself?Andy izit e middle-age guy, talks slow slow, no constructive ideas 1?If he's e 1, i gave up on him. Had changed 2 another younger guy who can give mi creative & practical ideas. !! Aniway, din sign with them due 2 budget. Edited January 4, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 (edited) Hi NeighboursNeed ur feedback/advise/opinion on the following:1. Planning for kitchen and tot of doing tinted glass backing for the wall in between the counter top and top cabinet. I do heavy cooking and a friend advise that its difficult to maintain. So is glass backing better or stainless steel mirror finish better?glass tinted backing got many colors, very nice.stainless steel backing is practical (like restaurant kitchen).i'l choose glass tinted backing if i got enough $$$2. The solid surface for kitchen counter top comes in many brands so should i get CORIAN brand or other brands will do....Different brands different price different quality different % in material composition.if i'm not wrong, CORIAN cums with a warranty cert & a NICE price tag.3. A friend mentioned that to do a solid surface for kitchen top it is advisable to do the kitchen structure (internal) in cemented hollow block structure/ concrete structure to prevent it from collapsing as the solid is heavy and I do heavy cooking so to prevent it from corrode.Have u heard or seen any kitchen counter top collapse due 2 e lower cabinets is made of wood instead of conc. hollow block?If its made of conc. hollow block, e external expose surface gota b tiled, painted or chemical smooth finished. So end of e day, everything wil b additional cost. Cant deny it looks nice with e 'industrial' look. No matter wat superior kitchen counter top u gona use, it will stil b xpose 2 wear & tear. Regular maintenance may increase its lifespan.4. I would like to place the hood higher than the standard or usual height and then purchase a good hood with high suction power. Is it advisable?U shd roughly noe e exact distance between e hod & e hood, consult e 'Sales' whom u r buying frm. i think he/she shd b able 2 give u a good & professional advice.5. Any recommendations on the brands for Hob and Hood?Teka, Ariston, Cuizino..........i can only think of these 4 now. hehe Would really appreciate your assistance...Thanks!!!!Hey Liana79B,e above r my personal views.Cheers. Edited January 4, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ms_white 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 Hi NeighboursNeed ur feedback/advise/opinion on the following:1. Planning for kitchen and tot of doing tinted glass backing for the wall in between the counter top and top cabinet. I do heavy cooking and a friend advise that its difficult to maintain. So is glass backing better or stainless steel mirror finish better?2. The solid surface for kitchen counter top comes in many brands so should i get CORIAN brand or other brands will do....3. A friend mentioned that to do a solid surface for kitchen top it is advisable to do the kitchen structure (internal) in cemented hollow block structure/ concrete structure to prevent it from collapsing as the solid is heavy and I do heavy cooking so to prevent it from corrode.4. I would like to place the hood higher than the standard or usual height and then purchase a good hood with high suction power. Is it advisable?5. Any recommendations on the brands for Hob and Hood?Would really appreciate your assistance...Thanks!!Point 1: won't suggest mirror since u mentioned u do heavy cooking so many times. though it's tempered, it is not as "durable" to long exposure of heat. stick with the tradition, stainless steel. it's easier for u to maintain as well. same goes for cooker hob. get stainless steel.Point 2: Corian is good and "branded". Like what jaCKY777 mentioned, it's costly too. might as well get india granite. solid surface can't come in direct contact with hot pots as it might burn/melt/leave a mark (solid surface is made of partial acrylic as well. different brands use different percentage of it.)Point 3: no comments.Point 4: u may get the chimney hood for stronger suction but do be prepared to spend a bit on your filters as it traps oil...difficult to wash off. most ppl will just throw & buy. dun understand why would u want to place the hood higher though..cos u'll just allow the smoke to escape and ur hood isn't really "working" for the $$ u spend on it.Point 5: brands like Rinnai (choose the one that's made in Japan...it's more costly due to quality & it's inner flame), Fujioh (also good), Electrolux, Techno, Teka. wouldn't rec Cuizino as we've heard some things abt it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ms_white 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 M&M, thanks! i got ur email! u've got mail too!hehe! but it's not easy to find them...do u know where to get? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 Heloooo. Anyone bought rinnai's hood model RH-90CD?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Liana79B 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 Hi jacky777 & Ms WhiteThank you for the info...am considering glass backing and the stainless steel...such a difficult choice...I like the look of the glass backing but many recommended stainless steel...I guess I will check out Rinnai since there has been so many good comments abt it...Would be checking out teka too but I heard as it is german made it is not made for asian cooking ...any comments on this??Might be using alternative brands for the solid surface....hope it works the same....As for the Hood Im considering Electrolux (1300m3) ...one of the models could absorb oil but not the smell...according to the salesperson we could only choose one function whne choosing Hood...either the ones that have charcoal filter to absorb the smell....or the one that can absorb oil but cant absorb smell...but its very ex....but i tot that absorbing oil is important....otherwise I will just get those with charcoal filter....which is cheaperhaiz.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 Heloooo. Anyone bought rinnai's hood model RH-90CD?? Hey droplets,wat happen? y face black black? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 Hey droplets,wat happen? y face black black? Id says due to the beam, i cannot use this model otherwise when they cut away the top chimney, the ventilation will be cut off too therefore no ventilation. Anyone using this model?? Need urgent advise before i gotta opt for another model.M&M, sorry today rushing off cos of my niece and nephew tat's y only there for 5 mins i think Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babymaro2003 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 Hi Neighbours,Anyone in 79 using WEIKEN ID? Appreciate any feedback. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babymaro2003 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 (edited) Hi guys just added myself to the listBlk 79Asushibabe, sha08ron, justnoop, rickyer8, coco_mybibi, apple68, soudezne, poohnie23, HarryP, whiteboxer, Skywu, Shivan, Darkwing, cece, TPY, rachel79 Blk 79B bonkitty, twotwobravo, jen t, carelinwen & craB, Slog, gui99, Redhat, janicezuzu, will&pet, REDCRYSTAL, joelex, lcylimBlk 79Cdoremi, humster / nancy, meowie49, Bethel, Derrick, Stardust, almonddust, M&M, strawberry_pear, Platonic1, joesphine, zanie98, gadgetman, nakazoru, sdaleBLk 79DYel, yingsan, droplets, Ikoice, pink_sea79, Zeester, Mario, Snuffleupagus, tension_z, rainbow04, alister, ms_white, shay_d, dino, xinni, tweakmax, auralBlk 79EMapleleaf, hobbes, axis, Happy, kiwy, Darry, Skyblueie, Ebing & Chrispy, marklim, jaCKY777, Meepok, Babymaro2003 Edited January 5, 2008 by babymaro2003 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jensze 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 hi jensze, welcome to tpy forum too! i think this is a common "problem" cos we experienced the same thing. u may report as defects, but they might not rectify cos it can still be closed and locked. anyway, we probably won't use it cos if war really comes, we'll still die inside...locked or unlocked. so might as well die in "free style" (exploded) hahahahaha!oops! HI,,, haha.. thanks.... my colleague is telling me it's 90 deg.. it didn't really bother me much as u say can still closed and locked. just wanna solve my "curiosity"hehehhe.. by the way i'm staying at blk 79D... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 Id says due to the beam, i cannot use this model otherwise when they cut away the top chimney, the ventilation will be cut off too therefore no ventilation. Anyone using this model?? Need urgent advise before i gotta opt for another model.M&M, sorry today rushing off cos of my niece and nephew tat's y only there for 5 mins i thinkHey droplets,huh? so bad! think most of e units at 79 got a beam running along e long side of e kitchen wall. Only some do not have, s their dat wall is thicker.Then change model lah, cut chimney 4 wat Any other alternatives, any1? !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Happy! 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 hi guys...happy new year!i need some advice wo...i saw some cheap reno packages just opposite our blocks...$8500 for 4 room 90sqm..from 1. Design Profession 2. Living Artany comments on the quality of materials and work from the 2 contractors?i just wanna do a simple reno- floor, paint, kitchen stove, sink ...stuff Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 (edited) hi guys...happy new year!i need some advice wo...i saw some cheap reno packages just opposite our blocks...$8500 for 4 room 90sqm..from 1. Design Profession 2. Living Artany comments on the quality of materials and work from the 2 contractors?i just wanna do a simple reno- floor, paint, kitchen stove, sink ...stuffHey Happy!,$8500 reno for 4 rm 90 sqm? To mi its TOo CHeeap. i doubt e materials, workmanship, schedule... etc.If u r goin 4 e basic reno, think u get licensed contractor better. $$$ wise, <$15k. Many 'branded' ID olso hav reno package <$15k. Read thru e forum, many recommendations.Furthermore, e 2 co u mentioned, they r e so cal Interior Design Company, registered under R.O.C. to provide interior design, consultation service etc. But they r not hdb licensed renovation contractor.Can check here ->Listing Of Registered Renovation ContractorsOnce u ngage them, basically, they wil get sub-con here & there to do e respectives scope of work.Big ID co olso abt e same, except dat e ID & e subcon may have had long term work relationship oleady.Good or no good, depends on individual requirements, standards.One man's meat is another man's poison.Anyway, luck & timing r important too.Better 2 start reno after CNY. !! Edited February 10, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 (edited) hi guys...happy new year!i need some advice wo...i saw some cheap reno packages just opposite our blocks...$8500 for 4 room 90sqm..from 1. Design Profession 2. Living Artany comments on the quality of materials and work from the 2 contractors?i just wanna do a simple reno- floor, paint, kitchen stove, sink ...stuffHi Happy,I have to comment abit abt de***n profe***on. If you wanna get them, PLEASE PLEASE go n take a look at their workmanship b4 u decide. Their price no doubt is on the cheaper side... but their quality and workmanship is also on the lousier side... i am strongly against taking them... but then again.. it is ur call... this is just my personal opinion... Edited January 8, 2008 by meowie49 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites