Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Engaging a P.E cost $500. The contractor will find the P.E for you.

Thanks, I just want to double check cos' the amount stated by my contractor was higher, I wonder why.

Hi meepok,

Still waiting for my keys lah... :notti:

Hi a-star,

So you from 79A? I think should be after CNY judging from the progress. Don't know why the delay was so long for 79A, all started around the same time. Some how along the way, things slowed down for 79A while the rest continued...

Hi Meepok,

I had been paying $10 for the past 2 months. The $10 is for the following:

Refuse collection - $4

Sanitary appliance fee - $6

Hi M&M,

So that means this $10 is on top of the usual $52 S&C charges?

Haven't got my water and electricity turned on yet, will be going down for "door opening" ceremony next week. That means I can't check the flushing and tap defects, if any.

The lady in the office downstairs said it's alright to report the defects even after 1 week. As long as before reno starts. Am I correct??

Haven't got my water and electricity turned on yet, will be going down for "door opening" ceremony next week. That means I can't check the flushing and tap defects, if any.

Hi Meepok,

sorry if you dont mind me asking what sort of "door opening" ceremony will you be doing? I'm just curious, just wanted to know what usually do people do.... :notti::D

hi guys

better check your sinks/basins whether water go down too slowly/choked before starting renovation. today the plumber come and he dig out huge cement rocks from my Master Bedroom sink....think the workers anyhow pour cement into the sink and it choke...

Hi Meepok,

sorry if you dont mind me asking what sort of "door opening" ceremony will you be doing? I'm just curious, just wanted to know what usually do people do.... 8|:P

Hi Redwyrm,

Not too sure about the details of the ceremony, I'm not as "pantang", it's my MIL, she'll be guiding us along...

So far I was told to bring a hammer, lighter, a big empty paint can (to burn the offerings), some loose change in coins, some red packets.

I was warned not to say anything "negative" after entering the flat. Not even complaining about how small the place will be! :deal:

Upon opening of the main door, we're not suppose to enter immediately, need to wait for

"other things" to exit first... eerie huh?

I suppose there are many different ways to do this ceremony... I'm leaving it to my MIL to lead the way.

Will keep you posted after the ceremony... but if you're not so "pantang" then I suppose it will be quite simple

hi guys

better check your sinks/basins whether water go down too slowly/choked before starting renovation. today the plumber come and he dig out huge cement rocks from my Master Bedroom sink....think the workers anyhow pour cement into the sink and it choke...

Hi tweakmax,

Aiyoh... these workers sometimes too much also... I was snooping around the place before I got my keys and I saw this notice stuck next to my unit, with some details about defects and errors spotted during HDB's inspection. Guess what? One of the points said there was faeces on the bathroom floor. WTF??!

Saw the same description on some other units as well...

Guess I'll have to bring bottled water to test the drainage since I haven't turned on my water mains yet.

Hi Redwyrm

I am from 79A too, I did manage to sneak in to 6th level last weekend.

All doors are not locked yet and they had just washed the common corridor floor.

I saw a notice on the ground floor lift stated as followed:

BLK 79A

1st BIT INSPECTION

3 JAN 08, 4 JAN 08 & 7 JAN 08

2nd BIT INSPECTION

14 JAN 08, 15 JAN 08

DEFECTS CLOSE UP

18 JAN 08

BTD AUDIT

21 JAN 08

So my guessing the loan letter will be end of Jan 2008 once the building was handled over to HDB after final Audit.

Key collection will be starting after CNY or earlier March 2008.

So all 79A neighbours will have to wait long long and don't have to rush the reno work.

Start spring cleaning of the old flat and prepare CNY.

Hi Redwyrm,

May I ask how did you manage to sneak up into Blk A? Through where? I want to sneak in and take a look also! !! :lol:

Hi a-star,

So you from 79A? I think should be after CNY judging from the progress. Don't know why the delay was so long for 79A, all started around the same time. Some how along the way, things slowed down for 79A while the rest continued...

Hi M&M,

So that means this $10 is on top of the usual $52 S&C charges?

The lady in the office downstairs said it's alright to report the defects even after 1 week. As long as before reno starts. Am I correct??

HI Meepok,

Yes this $10 is on top of the S&C charges. Yes the lady is right, u should report the defects before ur reno commences. For us, we reported the defects 1 month after we collected the keys.

Hi Redwyrm,

Got Blk A pple lah.. I am also from blk A. I live only a stone throw away. All our blk A Khaki waiting everyday at the letterbox from sunrise to sunset for letter..

And reading forum here and camping at our blk everyday, seeing the lights from many of our neighbours unit light lit everynite.

Also getting info every where.. learning from our seniors here their experience.

Bo bian.. our blk abit slow.. but nevertheless good as after CNY easier. No need to rush and plan it out.

Somemore can wait for the June Comex..

To look at Electronic Products

Steady Our hectic time will come

Hi Redwyrm,

May I ask how did you manage to sneak up into Blk A? Through where? I want to sneak in and take a look also! :notti::notti:

Hi Shivan,

It is not me who sneek up, is Rachel79.. :D We all seems pretty excited.. :thumbs up::P

hi all,

I have decided not to use my ID's recommended P.E,

those who have done hacking in TPY blk 79, or going to hack yet need P.E endorsement, can you give me your P.E contact?

I have a website of all the P.E namelist in Singapore

http://www.peb.gov.sg/peb/process/searchPe

but there are different type of engineers, not sure which type is the one for HDB hacking,

so to be safe, i better ask the one who you neighbours have engaged before.

Need your help, do PM me if you have PE contacts.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by tension_z

Hi Redwyrm,

Got Blk A pple lah.. I am also from blk A. I live only a stone throw away. All our blk A Khaki waiting everyday at the letterbox from sunrise to sunset for letter..

And reading forum here and camping at our blk everyday, seeing the lights from many of our neighbours unit light lit everynite.

Also getting info every where.. learning from our seniors here their experience.

Bo bian.. our blk abit slow.. but nevertheless good as after CNY easier. No need to rush and plan it out.

Somemore can wait for the June Comex..

To look at Electronic Products

Steady Our hectic time will come

Hi Hi darkwing,

Ya this site is great with wonderful info..I still havent finish reading this thread...now only at page 18..haha..

I agreed with that if we collect the key after CNY, so need to rush, as I also need to sell my current flat within six months after collecting the keys..

Hi Shivan,

It is not me who sneek up, is Rachel79.. :notti: We all seems pretty excited.. :thumbs up::notti:

Yes my husband & I had went up 3 times to the 79A, try going around 6pm while threre are lesser workers around.

You should be able to sneak your way to the lift lobby area and take the staircase up to at least 6th level as there are still temporary offices & workers living quarters on the 3rd & 4th level that you should avoid to prevent being stop.

You will only have less than an hour of sunlight for viewing your unit layout although it might not be your floor level but there should be more or less the same if you enter the correct unit no.

At first we were a bit upset at the 75sqm unit but after seeing 5rm & 4rm 90sqm and comparing the extra amount $$ paid, we soon get use to & accept that 75sqm is enough for 3 of us.

You can also check out your letter box location as it was just installed about 2 weeks ago.

Mine was the 2nd lowest so have to bent down everytime collecting the mails.

For those interested in sneaking in, you better keep our fingers crossed that all units are still unlocked.

Hi Hi darkwing,

Ya this site is great with wonderful info..I still havent finish reading this thread...now only at page 18..haha..

I agreed with that if we collect the key after CNY, so need to rush, as I also need to sell my current flat within six months after collecting the keys..

Hi Redwyrm,

Do you mind me asking where is your current flat now?

I had already put up my flat in the market now.

Rachel79

Hi Mee Pok, water and electricity is already turned on, even if you did not activate it at the PUB counter.

So you can do the necessary defects check.

But they will dis-activate it after a few days.

And before you go up your unit, you may like to check out your mailbox.

You should find a tap-head which is meant for turning on the water valve.

Hi Redwyrm,

Do you mind me asking where is your current flat now?

I had already put up my flat in the market now.

Rachel79

Hi Rachel79,

my current flat is at Admiralty Link (Sembawang area). I havent ask HDB to evaluate my house yet.. actually havent really started anything yet.. :dunno:

Edited by Redwyrm

Anyone heard of Diamond water. Me using for the past 1 1/2 yrs. You couldn't believe the amount of rust in our pipes. The next time I take out the filters to wash, I will take a picture of b4 & after. U will be shock !

It's good for drinking straight from the device. No need to boil water. Takes away water taste as well.

Me NOT selling the device. Juz wanna share to let people be aware.

If u are interested, I know an agent. She is olso staying in Toa Payoh. In fact, she juz reno her hse mid of this year and she uses *****.

But hor, the device not cheap. I think the price has increased to under $2k.

Alamak ! If I dun know myself better, I would be very suspicious of myself. Must be giving sales pitch.

Hi all

To sidetrack a little, I am following up on the diamond water thingy. Finally managed to take time off to clean my filter and take some pictures. The govt says our water is save for drinking, but are out pipes clean ? Look for yourself.

Just take note I am now living in a 40yrs old flat, since our new flat is NEW, might not have this issue. I will follow up again after I have shifted in and see if I still get the brown **&^.

Picture of my current set

dsc01777re9.th.jpg

All the filters, total of 6

dsc01778tn5.th.jpg

The dirty filter (brown color, original is white). Not cleaned for 3 mths

dsc01779yz3.th.jpg

This is after brushing off the brown rust ?

dsc01781sd1.th.jpg

Imaging drinking this water everyday and using it to wash your face, eating utensils.

Edited by alister