a_star 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 (edited) Hi ms-white!Thanks for the advice! Yes, I like meepok very much indeed! I may not be doing any laminates at all in fact, all tiles for the entire flat. Trying to keep cost down, otherwise got to live like Korean after reno!!So does that mean I need not get HDB to do the screeding if I'm not doing laminates?From what I've been reading here and in SGbrides, seems like there are many bad IDs out there! Still deciding on either ID or contractors since I'm not very keen on those stylo-mylo designs anyway. Too many false ceilings, etc.Heard there is a difference in fittings and finishing between those SERS and us balloting flats?Will keep u guys posted after my "door opening" soon!Thanks again!Hi meepok,Welcome and congrats on getting your keys! If u are tiling your entire flat, then the contractor will need a rough floor to work on - no screeding required. However, if u intend to install laminated flooring, then a smooth finish on the floor is required, hence screeding.There should not be any difference between the SERS and ballot flats. The SERS folks get to choose the flats first,cos we r first in line. After the SERS folks finish then open the rest for balloting. Edited December 18, 2007 by a_star Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Hi meepok,Welcome and congrats on getting your keys! If u are tiling your entire flat, then the contractor will need a rough floor to work on - no screeding required. However, if u intend to install laminated flooring, then a smooth finish on the floor is required, hence screeding.There should not be any difference between the SERS and ballot flats. The SERS folks get to choose the flats first,cos we r first in line. After the SERS folks finish then open the rest for balloting. !!Thanks a_star! !! Was asking about the difference cos I read about tiles for the kitchen floor, but I remembered HDB telling me only tiles for the bathrooms for balloters, or maybe I'm mistaken??Anyways, really glad to have stumbled upon this forum for 79ers! If only I knew of it last year, cos I've been snooping around the area when they were still in construction Only managed to "visit" my flat earlier this year when they removed the barriers. Still, it's a nice kampung feeling here to have all 79ers coming together! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
a_star 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 (edited) Thanks a_star! Was asking about the difference cos I read about tiles for the kitchen floor, but I remembered HDB telling me only tiles for the bathrooms for balloters, or maybe I'm mistaken??Anyways, really glad to have stumbled upon this forum for 79ers! If only I knew of it last year, cos I've been snooping around the area when they were still in construction Only managed to "visit" my flat earlier this year when they removed the barriers. Still, it's a nice kampung feeling here to have all 79ers coming together!Err, don't know who told u that. From what I know, 4-rm kitchen is tiled and 5-rm kitchen is not tiled. Bathroom all done up for both types of flats, so u cant hack it, only overlay. Yes, this forum does give a sense of community to all. Renotalk is bak 2 business again Aiyo, sounds bad lei. Thieves Think frm now on WE HAVE TO BE REALLY VERY EXTRA KIASU, TAKE MORE PRECAUTIONS, BE SAFE THAN SORIE.Think we olso try not 2 mention 2 much in e forum (such as wat is yor unit no., wen u will not b at yor unit, wat u had bought etc). Who noes thieves can use e forum s a platform for such info As time goes by, more & more neighbors join renotalk. It had olso been quite sometime since e las meet-up. Y dun we organiz a mini gatherin/tour 4 us neighbors 2b?We gather, self-intro, get 2 noe future neighbors, xchange ph. nos., tour 'show flats' (tour-guide is e owner of e respective flat) frm blk C dn 2 blk E.Jus my suggestions. !!O dear, But I think in this case, the thieves are most likely to be the kind who walk around waiting for chance. Not likely to be so high-tech to monitor this forum for what has been purchased by who. Good idea! Still a lot of neighbours I hv not gotten any chance to meet up with... !! Edited December 18, 2007 by a_star Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 (edited) Hey meepok. i jus taken my supper. Dis batch of flats of ours, basically, 4rm cums with non-slip ceramic floor tiles, glazed wall tiles for kitchen & bathrms. Whereas, 5rm dun cum with floor tiles for kitchen. Toilets tiles canot hack, can overlay. Simply bcos, hdb oleady done e waterproofing 4 us, once hack, e waterproofing membrane will b punctured. The elect wiring & water piping & gas piping r done-up, concealed in e walls. xposed r e connecting pts. Sanitary fittings, basic taps & shower nozels r olso provided. Wen renov, jus need 2 xtend e pipings & wiring outlet pts 2 their new locations.Checkin of HOLLOW WALL TILES, think is better 2 use e tip of e middle-finger to tap or knuckler to knock. Hear the different in sound. SERS & BALLOTING EXERCISE, e main difference every1 noe is PURCHASE PRICE !! SERS can opt 2 do without e bedrms doors. BE no option, pay more, so get more loh. !! Btw, SGD20k renov, s mentioned, can b done. But it wil only b e basic simple renov, without e L-box/false ceilings, feature walls, customiz furnitures/fixtures, long kitchen cabinets, long built-in-wardrodes. On top of that, u gotta hav excess of mayb SGD10k for ready-made furnitures, elect appliances, lightings, decoratives...Look 4ward ur updates, esp e 'DOOR OPENING CEREMONY' part. Wana learn olso. Edited December 18, 2007 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Err, don't know who told u that. From what I know, 4-rm kitchen is tiled and 5-rm kitchen is not tiled. Bathroom all done up for both types of flats, so u cant hack it, only overlay. !! Yes, this forum does give a sense of community to all. !!O dear, But I think in this case, the thieves are most likely to be the kind who walk around waiting for chance. Not likely to be so high-tech to monitor this forum for what has been purchased by who. Good idea! Still a lot of neighbours I hv not gotten any chance to meet up with... Thanks for the info bro! Just out of curiosity... have u completed your reno? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Hey meepok. i jus taken my supper. Dis batch of flats of ours, basically, 4rm cums with non-slip ceramic floor tiles, glazed wall tiles for kitchen & bathrms. Whereas, 5rm dun cum with floor tiles for kitchen. Toilets tiles canot hack, can overlay. Simply bcos, hdb oleady done e waterproofing 4 us, once hack, e waterproofing will b punctured. The elect wiring & water piping & gas piping r done-up, concealed in e walls. xposed r e connecting pts. Sanitary fittings, basic taps & shower nozels r olso provided. Wen renov, jus need 2 xtend e pipings & wiring outlet pts 2 their new locations.SERS & BALLOTING EXERCISE, e main difference every1 noe is PURCHASE PRICE !! SERS can opt 2 do without e bedrms doors. BE no option, pay more, so get more loh. !! Btw, SGD20k renov, s mentioned, can b done. But it wil only b e basic simple renov, without e L-box/false ceilings, feature walls, customiz furnitures, long kitchen cabinets, long built-in-wardrodes. On top of that, u gotta hav excess of mayb SGD10k for ready-made furnitures, elect appliances, lightings, decoratives... Hi there bro!Thanks for all the info... really appreciate it!Yeah... my limited budget doesn't quite allow for all those bells and whistles I guess... cos after seeing the various ID's portfolio, they all seem quite similar to me, the overall concept & design I mean. Don't want to spend a bomb on reno with nothing left for the other stuffs... I suppose a bigger budget of 40K or more will allow for a more show flat standard design. Am actually looking at a simple, contemporary style with an oriental twist. Just not used to the false ceilings, feature walls, etc. that's why... just feel that these may feel dated in years to come, just like cornices Maybe if strike toto... then different thing altogether! haha! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
M&M 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Hi to all fellow 79ers!Just got my keys this week for my 79E unit. Will be doing the usual "door opening" ceremony soon. As I'm very new & green to this reno thingy, just like to find out some info from fellow neighbors here before I start with all the major reno.Any important defects I should be looking out for besides the "hollow tiles" mentioned by fellow 79ers?What's this cement screeding thing all about? Will HDB be involved with this?Am thinking of simple reno with budget of 20K max for 4 room 90 sqm, practical?Have yet to source for ID/Contractors, any good ones to recommend?Sorry for all the queries, very green to this!Thanks again!Hi Meepok,For the defects rectification, good to find some ways to place your markings so that u noe where are the defects. Previously I used masking tape and after the rectification, all the tapes are removed. So me and my poor wife got to verify everything again. On the 2nd verification, we took photos. However might not be too practical if the 1st round has a lot of defects. I have no good suggestions to offer at the moment. perhaps more season neighbours here can advise? My only suggestion is to use a notebook to track. U can give each wall/ floor a reference and then use letters for the rows and then use numerals for the tiles (hee just a personal suggestion dunno if it works Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaCKY777 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 (edited) Hi neighbours,below is e link to hdbinfoweb website.It contains renovation guildlines of hdb flat, fyi & necessary actions ->HDB Flat General Renovation GuidelinesHDB Flat Electrical Renovation Guidelinesbelow is e link to check whether e ID/contractor is registered with hdb ->Listing Of Registered Renovation Contractorsbelow is e link to RADAC website ->RADACbelow is e link to hdb virtual showflats ->HDB virtual showflats Edited February 10, 2008 by jaCKY777 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Hi ms-white!Thanks for the advice! Yes, I like meepok very much indeed! I may not be doing any laminates at all in fact, all tiles for the entire flat. Trying to keep cost down, otherwise got to live like Korean after reno!!So does that mean I need not get HDB to do the screeding if I'm not doing laminates?hi meepok, welcome to the forum.Juz to clear a misconception that doing laminate is more expensive. It is wrong. Homo tiles are infact more expensive than laminates. When u do laminates, HDB carries out cement screeding for u FOC. If you do homo tiles, u bear the cost of the cement.U can check by asking ur ID to quote homo tiles for living room & laminates for ur bedrooms. Divide out to get the cost per square feet.Also, I'm doing up my whole flat with budget of 30k, no need 40k. If u really have tight budget & u already hv an idea of what u want, look for contractor instead of ID as u pay for ID fees as well. The downside is u have to co-ordinate everything urself instead of leaving it to ID. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sushibabe 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Hi Ms WhiteWat time u will be there on thurs ? I will be going to mine @ 11am staying till 1pm. All are welcome as well. Juz identify urself.alister, if i'm free, i will drop by your house...i just realised it's public holiday tomorrow...hahaha...school holiday until dunno when is public holiday...if i can't make it, have to wait till a weekend lor.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ms_white 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 (edited) Hi Ms WhiteWat time u will be there on thurs ? I will be going to mine @ 11am staying till 1pm. All are welcome as well. Juz identify urself.i'll be there ard 12pm. =) so shall see ya either at yours or mine ok! haha!who else is going to their unit tmr? i wanna go see see look look too! josephine, i wanna go to yours! are u going up? Edited December 19, 2007 by ms_white Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
carelinwen 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 (edited) Hi Carelinwen , did not chase HDB for your keys release? I hope I can be around on thurs as I need to take some measurement... just feel free to pop in.I have not confirm this aircon installer yet.I just brought him up to my unit for a site survey.When everything is more firm, will definately have him sit down together with my ID for further discussion.Hi Redhat,We did chase, started chasing when had news that loan letters for B were out from early Nov. Ours was dated 14 Nov, not as early as some of you. But we were overseas so only handed in on 2nd last day of deadline (27th). Chase and chase since their initial answer to us was 'keys by Dec'. Finally, got news yesterday that we can collect in early Jan lor.Hi All,Since we will only be starting renos after CNY, any advice when should we start the utilities? It will be no use for more than a month so should I only plan to start them in Feb?Then can I also submit the defects list later? Coz if no electric supply, how to test power or lighting points? Edited December 19, 2007 by carelinwen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 My flooring has gone thru 1st acid wash, now it doesn't look like war zone anymore. Feel free to drop by as I enjoy talking to neighbours.I will also go hopping to Ms White, Crispy, Josephine's hse (if I can get them) as well, so if my door is lock, do wait for me. Else give me a call on my mobile. Juz a note, appreciate u take out ur shoes if u drop by my hse.Thanks and happy holidays !?Hi Redhat,We did chase, started chasing when had news that loan letters for B were out from early Nov. Ours was dated 14 Nov, not as early as some of you. But we were overseas so only handed in on 2nd last day of deadline (27th). Hi All,Since we will only be starting renos after CNY, any advice when should we start the utilities? It will be no use for more than a month so should I only plan to start them in Feb?Then can I also submit the defects list later? Coz if no electric supply, how to test power or lighting points?Hi CarelinwenU activate ur electricity & water on the day u collect ur keys. One of the steps when u collect ur keys will be to open an account with PUB b4 the HDB officer pass the keys to u. If u don't use the electricity & water, u can turn them off as u are given the keys to the meter. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Hi 79 kakis,Anyone here from 79A know when will we be getting the keys?.. sorry if i seems impatient.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
carelinwen 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Hi CarelinwenU activate ur electricity & water on the day u collect ur keys. One of the steps when u collect ur keys will be to open an account with PUB b4 the HDB officer pass the keys to u. If u don't use the electricity & water, u can turn them off as u are given the keys to the meter.Orrh...can turn off then okay..can't imagine if you activate liao but cannot off mains then if one switch forgot to off after checking or taps not tight... then few days no one knows. *$$ fly*I will also pop by your place if free then, you sprayed yr common toilet right? I want to see effect good or not. Hee... i haven't seen Crispy's nor Jo's place yet too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites