Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Josephine, u v strange leh. U havn't buy aircon how to do aircon on Wed ? :D

For me, I had this problem of inverter, non-inverter & whether 1 or 2 compressors as well. Here's how I analysed.

If urs 4 room flat, there is only 1 isolator (20amps). If install 2 compressor, need 2 isolator ($240). DB has 40amps circuit breaker, so it's cater for 2 isolator. 5 room flat already has 2 isolator. (hv chk w Gadgeman)

Dun take my word for it, pls chk & let me know if I'm wrong.

Future aircon usage might change. Was told 1 room will save $10 per mth for inverter. A total of $120 per yr. 5 yrs save $600. If use for 2 rooms, will save $1200 in 5 yrs.

So in the end I settled for inverter 4.

BTW for knowledge, most popular brands - Toshiba, Mitsubishi & Daikin. Toshiba current model does not meet NEA requirement (1st Jan 2008), so will be discontinued. Diakin more expensive. Therefore mitsubishi

is most popular.

Most competitive pricing @ IMM Allbest & Gain City. Remember to get 1/2" insulator if using inverter system. Can arrange 2 trips for aircon installation. 1st is to run trunking. 2nd to mount fancoil. This is for kaisu people like me afraid fancoil dirty during reno. Of course the above suggestion will add cost.

Can i know if there is any differences in energy-saving wif using 1 or 2 compressors? I supposed 2 compressors (sys 3+1) when used together will consumed more electricty than 1 compressor for all rooms (sys 4)?

Edited by PreciousThots

that's what i'm told...so, can hack or cannot hack??? if can hack, i will hack instead of waiting 3 years...but if can hack, why got people overlay???

very blur...better check with hdb... :D

if u want to hack dun get caught lor... i rem signing somethings to show tat i do noe tat got this thing tat in 3yrs u cannot hack the floor on toliet and kitchen. cuz i am overlaying my toliet not hacking it...

like mayb like some of us will take out the ugly grills on our windows....so if u want to hack dun get caught... hehe... :(

if u want to hack dun get caught lor... i rem signing somethings to show tat i do noe tat got this thing tat in 3yrs u cannot hack the floor on toliet and kitchen. cuz i am overlaying my toliet not hacking it...

like mayb like some of us will take out the ugly grills on our windows....so if u want to hack dun get caught... hehe... :D

i think id also dun dare to hack...hahaha...better dun play play... :(

Can i know if there is any differences in energy-saving wif using 1 or 2 compressors? I supposed 2 compressors (sys 3+1) when used together will consumed more electricty than 1 compressor for all rooms (sys 4)?

I tink i shd rephased my earlier post as below... (Still not familiar wif this posting of msg.. cos im not able to edit my earlier post :D )

If im having 2 compressors - 1 for living (sys 1) & 1 (sys 3) for bedrooms

will it be more energy-saving than using sys 4 since i seldom switch on the living rm aircon?

i supposed sys 4 compressor consume more electricity than sys 3 compressor?

i think id also dun dare to hack...hahaha...better dun play play... :(

Hi all

I would suggest u refer to the documents u signed with HDB earlier. Title : "Letter of undertaking on 3 yrs restriction period on removal of toilet wall tiles and toilet floor tiles provided by HDB"

I think I have contribute on this topic enough & I shall rest my case. :D

hi all, for those who already signed for the contract, did the ID state in the contract the targetted date of completion?

ie if delay for a day, company have to refund a certain amt. of $ per day?

Hi tension_z

My ID has given me a schedule date of completion but I dun think realistic. Dun think any company will refund you $$ if there is delay as there will be alot of factors involved.

Eg if you want to hack any part of your hse, need to apply for permit. So time subject to HDB & PE. If u order accessories & material, might have delivery delay. U might change ur ideas along the way & ask ID to change the design. So it is v difficult to hand up on time.

Remember, we are not govt, can fine contractors.

ok, thanks for the info, cos i read from forum somewhere that this is a clause to protect ourselves if the reno works delay for too long, say more than 4 months. Pray that that there is no major hiccups...

Dear 79ers

I found this link on the Case website. In it has a file which advices us on what to look out for when choosing a contractor for renovation, what to include in the contract, what to look out for during and after reno and how payments to the contractor should be made. Quite useful for us people now. Do go and take a look! !!

http://www.case.org.sg/central6.htm :furious:

wow...auntie...30pages...wanna read...eyes closing...wanna print...use a lot of ink...hur hur~ :notti:

y will have trunking in living?? coz u got aircon in living??

Heard from my ID that they will be doing electrical n aircon trunking this week... hope it'll turn out fine... *finger crossed*

Ms white, how many downlights do u have for ur living n dinning area?? My ID suggested 12, but i felt that it's too much so i ask her to cut down to 8 coz i'll be having light coffer at false ceiling n wall feature at TV console... so should be bright enough le ba...

thanks... where's indulge n Poh Joo?? maybe will drop by aft my exam ba... *HELP*!!! My exam's really coming soon... it's next week!!! n i'm not prepared yet... seems like a bad timing to start reno... sigh...

Anything to look out for when choosing storage heater n sink??

12 downlights is a lot wor... i've 7 downlights and dunno how many cove/coff/whatever it's called lights in the living room. it'll also be done in mbr. br2 & br3 nv do. then beneath kitchen cabinet, tv console...etc...haven't gotten the breakdown from eesy yet. will definitely get frm him...anyway shay_d has the intention to install the lights himself to cut down on cost. if it works, and u wanna cut cost, let him know..he charges at a small fee only. hahahahaha!!! 8|

Hi people...

Regarding the hacking of walls n floortiles... Allow me to share my knowledge..

1) Hacking of Wall n Floor tiles in KITCHEN

2) Hacking of Wall n Floor tiles in TOILETS

These are 2 different places.. we CANNOT hack for toilets... but we CAN hack for kitchen...

Hope I can get my point across .. hehe :jawdrop::dribble::dribble:

Hi There!

Haven't been contributing to this forum for a long while.... So sorry. Hope you all didn't forget me... Hee... :)

These few weeks been busy with my wedding preparations & shopping. Finally took our wedding photos last Sunday and lucky to capture the sunset before the heavy downpour. :P:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Thanks Gadgetman & S_Pear's hubby for allowing us to pop-in to update on your reno progress.

And thanks Alister & wife for sharing ideas on getting the different types of lights and which shop to go for good bargains.

Here's a little update on my reno progress:

We have recently done with our tiles laying, walls hacking, aircon piping installation, and cement screeding. Next step is to do laminate flooring, electricity, plumbing, painting, glass works, aircon installation, carpentry, and finally the wall papers! :)

Hope all is good and well for all of you too.

Yesterday I had an car accident along PIE on my way to work.... Suay my tyres brakes failed on me. Luckily was travelling at 65km on the wet slippery morning. Ended up kissing the car's backside in front of me when the driver jam brake for a chain collision on front of her. She's a very nice lady but I ended up paying her $285 for her bumper respraying & re-knocking. Heartpain as I ended up paying not only for her damages, but also my car damage is $600. Definitely not during this time when money is spent a lot on reno & wedding. Sigh~~~

Glad that both she & her baby is ok (baby was sleeping in the backseat), luckily her car is a 7-sitter and my car didn't bang too hard onto it.

Later on I got to know that she's actually an artist and has her own website gallery. I remember somewhere in this thread that some of you said might be interested to get some paintings. Why not visit her website? She got nice paintings there.

Here's the weblink for you: www.artzhouse.com

By the way, for those going to Sitex tmr onwards (I will be going either Fri or weekends coz my car in workshop now), I'm thinking if anyone wants to post here your items that you intending to get but want to know the pricing.

I try to ask for you if it's within my means. Guess it will be crowded as usual. :(:(:( TV, or electronic items also can post. Besides checking out on the TVs & Home Theatre System, I'll probably check out on the external HDD and printers.

Please post in the following sample format:

Eg. <your username> - <what kind of item> - <brand> <model>

1. almonddust - LCD TV - LG 32LB9R1

Edited by almonddust

Yesterday I had an car accident along PIE on my way to work.... Suay my tyres brakes failed on me. Luckily was travelling at 65km on the wet slippery morning. Ended up kissing the car's backside in front of me when the driver jam brake for a chain collision on front of her. She's a very nice lady but I ended up paying her $285 for her bumper respraying & re-knocking. Heartpain as I ended up paying not only for her damages, but also my car damage is $600. Definitely not during this time when money is spent a lot on reno & wedding. Sigh~~~

Wow, I just had a small accident too last Saturday at Blk79 carpark. Was going with Strawberry Pear and her hubby to view curtains at Bukit Batok and was just driving down the ramp to exit the carpark. In front of me was a van (probably contractor) and he headed wrongly towards the carpark entrance to exit the CP. Halfway through, he realised that he had taken the wrong turn and immediately put his gears on reverse. I was just behind him and immediately horned to warn him. But alas, he did not pay any attention and the next moment....bang!

The driver immediately admitted that it was his fault. The damage: My license plate was already dented and there were some marks on my front bumper. Luckily though, the car is still intact and apart from the license plate, there was no other major damage. The driver offered me $50 as compensation which I accepted.

The irony of the whole thing is that the incident happened just as I was telling Strawberry how careful I have to drive on that day. It was actually the anniversary of my traffice offence last year and under the DIPS scheme, all my demerit points could be expunged if I maintained a clean record for one year. Suay suay just mention only and then kena accident! But the bright side of the story is that despite the incident, we had a great trip to the curtain factory and had a productive and enjoyable day! The next day I was also very happy to find that all my demerit points are removed....yeah! :yamseng:

Hi people...

Regarding the hacking of walls n floortiles... Allow me to share my knowledge..

1) Hacking of Wall n Floor tiles in KITCHEN

2) Hacking of Wall n Floor tiles in TOILETS

These are 2 different places.. we CANNOT hack for toilets... but we CAN hack for kitchen...

Hope I can get my point across .. hehe !! :notti::notti:

Ive hacked my toilet wall!! Approval given by HDB PE. so go ahead and break all limits to have your dream home!! (but of course exercise wisdom in obtaining HDB's approval before hacking)

Ive completed my a/c piping today! so happy. can only see the ugly pipes in common toilet so i shall close one (no i think i need to close BOTH eyes ba) LOL

Will start painting tmr. then acidwash the floor then laminate then all the cupboards then Whoala- the house is ready!! LOL. BUT this process shld take up to 3 wks i think.. haiz..

Good job to my ID Kelvin :good:

Ive hacked my toilet wall!! Approval given by HDB PE. so go ahead and break all limits to have your dream home!! (but of course exercise wisdom in obtaining HDB's approval before hacking)

Ive completed my a/c piping today! so happy. can only see the ugly pipes in common toilet so i shall close one (no i think i need to close BOTH eyes ba) LOL

Will start painting tmr. then acidwash the floor then laminate then all the cupboards then Whoala- the house is ready!! LOL. BUT this process shld take up to 3 wks i think.. haiz..

Good job to my ID Kelvin :notti:

WAH... i got the info by calling HDB... lol... urs is approved de ar... then safe.. keep any approval letter in case anything ... can push the blame !!

Good job to my ID Kelvin !!

that's very pleasing to hear...

your id from where???