Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hey Redhat & ebing, thanks for your advice. Send them a chaser and I will be collecting my keys next week.

Now I can join in the reno fun too. Hee hee.

Congrat Mapleleaf, that's good news... have fun :notti:

hoh... u taking which paper?? i'm taking F9... next thurs... sob sob... :(

Hi ebing and Preciousthots,

No, I not taking the ACCA exams, but I am working for ACCA Singapore. I can really understand the kind of stress you guys have to go through...but trust me, it will be worth the while. I have personally seen many success stories of people who have benefitted greatly from the qualification. Just today, I rang up one of our top affiliates about a video project and guess where he answered his call from...? Paris! he is on a work assignment and the qualification takes him to Paris! (Actually, he goes to North Korea too...but that's beside the point...)

Just remember that under the new syllabus, things will be much better now. You are now allowed an extra 15mins to take notes and plan your answers before the actual 3hr paper. The core paper rule is also gone now, so you can take the essential papers at your own pace. Finally, as this is the first time the new syllabus is being examined, the pilot papers will be very important. Please make sure you have practiced sufficiently on the pilot papers over and over again (without referring to the model answers).

All the best for your coming exams. Do PM me if you have anything you are not sure about (except of course exams tips which I won't have!)

Sorry to hijack this discussion... :notti:

spend $$$$ on lightings and $$$$ on kitchen/toilets accessories!;) ARGH!:( Super BROKE BROKE BROKE!!! Think i cant afford to go to the Sinex Fair this week le. Will surely spend again! Haiz!!!!

Tmr finally doing my cement screeding and Wed doing air-con. Yea!

Im now considering to do non-inverter but the price difference only alittle. With Inverter I only use one compressor. With Non-inverter I can use 2 compressors. So if one unit spoilt still not so bad? hmm. stress now. Any recommendations? THANKS in advance!

spend $$$$ on lightings and $$$$ on kitchen/toilets accessories!;) ARGH!:( Super BROKE BROKE BROKE!!! Think i cant afford to go to the Sinex Fair this week le. Will surely spend again! Haiz!!!!

Tmr finally doing my cement screeding and Wed doing air-con. Yea!

Im now considering to do non-inverter but the price difference only alittle. With Inverter I only use one compressor. With Non-inverter I can use 2 compressors. So if one unit spoilt still not so bad? hmm. stress now. Any recommendations? THANKS in advance!

Josephine, u v strange leh. U havn't buy aircon how to do aircon on Wed ? :dunno:

For me, I had this problem of inverter, non-inverter & whether 1 or 2 compressors as well. Here's how I analysed.

If urs 4 room flat, there is only 1 isolator (20amps). If install 2 compressor, need 2 isolator ($240). DB has 40amps circuit breaker, so it's cater for 2 isolator. 5 room flat already has 2 isolator. (hv chk w Gadgeman)

Dun take my word for it, pls chk & let me know if I'm wrong.

Future aircon usage might change. Was told 1 room will save $10 per mth for inverter. A total of $120 per yr. 5 yrs save $600. If use for 2 rooms, will save $1200 in 5 yrs.

So in the end I settled for inverter 4.

BTW for knowledge, most popular brands - Toshiba, Mitsubishi & Daikin. Toshiba current model does not meet NEA requirement (1st Jan 2008), so will be discontinued. Diakin more expensive. Therefore mitsubishi

is most popular.

Most competitive pricing @ IMM Allbest & Gain City. Remember to get 1/2" insulator if using inverter system. Can arrange 2 trips for aircon installation. 1st is to run trunking. 2nd to mount fancoil. This is for kaisu people like me afraid fancoil dirty during reno. Of course the above suggestion will add cost.

Edited by alister

hi ppl.. wow this thread is growing so fast... i am getting my keys soon to le ^.^ hehehehehehee...... look for ID now... I think I found a really cheap one.. but let me confirm the price then I will let u guys know.. (but then again.. the quality more impt than the price) :good:

Hi Meowie49, congrats ! Welcome to the league.

For ID, be careful of hidden costs as there is a mkt rate for all reno works. Esp w costs going up recently, the pricing cannot be too far off. And u are correct, quality is definitely very impt. U dun want things to start falling, tiles start popping, paints start peeling on you etc 2 or 3 yrs down the line.

Hi Meowie49, congrats ! Welcome to the league.

For ID, be careful of hidden costs as there is a mkt rate for all reno works. Esp w costs going up recently, the pricing cannot be too far off. And u are correct, quality is definitely very impt. U dun want things to start falling, tiles start popping, paints start peeling on you etc 2 or 3 yrs down the line.

hi alister, i have a few friends.. they actually asked me to go looks for ID to get ideas... then look for this particular contractor to do.. hahaha ... heard the workmanship is good.. i will go my friend house one of these days to see.. then decide :good:

Many thks to alister, gadgetman, josephine, twotwobravo and Yel for letting me view your house...

And nice meeting redcrystal

Learn a lot of things and new ideas for my house....

Btw are we allowed to hack the kitchen floor? Cos different ID having been telling me different things..

1 say can hack e other say cannot due to the water proofing can only overlay..

So confusing... :good:

Edited by bonkitty

Dear 79ers

I found this link on the Case website. In it has a file which advices us on what to look out for when choosing a contractor for renovation, what to include in the contract, what to look out for during and after reno and how payments to the contractor should be made. Quite useful for us people now. Do go and take a look! :good:

http://www.case.org.sg/central6.htm :P

Many thks to alister, gadgetman, josephine, twotwobravo and Yel for letting me view your house...

And nice meeting redcrystal

Learn a lot of things and new ideas for my house....

Btw are we allowed to hack the kitchen floor? Cos different ID having been telling me different things..

So confusing... :bangwall:

Confirm can hack b'cos HDB officer says there is no waterproofing at kitchen floor. But ur contractor need to apply for HDB permit.

Hi Alister,

Although mine in Blk A, haven come. But mine come with kitchen floor tiles worh. If there is no waterproofing then how to be kitchen? Abit kena conned by HDB liao right?

LIke that must scold HDB CSO liao leh.

Anyone in the ballot system can confirm?

Very confusing leh.. how can kitchen area deemed as wet area no waterproofing??

hacking away and redo the area cost $$$

hi all, for those who already signed for the contract, did the ID state in the contract the targetted date of completion?

ie if delay for a day, company have to refund a certain amt. of $ per day?

So confusing...

bonkitty can ask ur unit is a 5 room or 4 room? think 5room unit dun come with titles...u have to do it urself. 4 room one dun allow us to hack for 3 yrs... if i am not wrong lah... :D

Edited by chrispy

Dear 79ers

I found this link on the Case website. In it has a file which advices us on what to look out for when choosing a contractor for renovation, what to include in the contract, what to look out for during and after reno and how payments to the contractor should be made. Quite useful for us people now. Do go and take a look! :D

http://www.case.org.sg/central6.htm :(

super good info for us now since most of us renovating now. juz in case we got any prob with our contractor or ID. !!

bonkitty can ask ur unit is a 5 room or 4 room? think 5room unit dun come with titles...u have to do it urself. 4 room one dun allow us to hack for 3 yrs... if i am not wrong lah... :(

that's what i'm told...so, can hack or cannot hack??? if can hack, i will hack instead of waiting 3 years...but if can hack, why got people overlay???

very blur...better check with hdb... :D