gadgetman 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 Just wanted to check if you did the homo tiles first or the laminate flooring first?.I have some bedrooms going to have laminate flooring, so not sure about the order.ps: Order as in the order on what to do first, home tiles or laminate flooringCan kindly advise please?.Thanks! !!For my case, its the homo tiles first then followed by the laminate. I guess it also depends if you are also going to have platforms in your bedroom or living room. Usually the carpentry work (the platforms) will only come in after the flooring and ceiling is done. In this case, it is only logical for the laminate to be done later. The other thing to consider is also that the first phase of the reno tends to be more rough, unlike homo tiles that can be polished later, scratches on laminate will be harder to fix. It therefore makes more sense to have the more delicate laminate to only come in towards the end of the renovation... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cece 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 I think I will explore the idea with him this Sat. Sure, you are welcome to take a look when more work is done. They are laying the floor tiles today.S_Pear, I wanna drop by your hse tomorrow to kepo again.hi Alister,can i check with you... where is ur summit design located? is there workmanship good?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zanie98 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 For my case, its the homo tiles first then followed by the laminate. I guess it also depends if you are also going to have platforms in your bedroom or living room. Usually the carpentry work (the platforms) will only come in after the flooring and ceiling is done. In this case, it is only logical for the laminate to be done later. The other thing to consider is also that the first phase of the reno tends to be more rough, unlike homo tiles that can be polished later, scratches on laminate will be harder to fix. It therefore makes more sense to have the more delicate laminate to only come in towards the end of the renovation...Hi Gadgetman and strawberryMay I know when are you going up to your flat again to take a look? Can I join u? Would like to see your laminate flooring and cabinets! (^_^) I'll PM my hp no to you?Thank you so much! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 (edited) hi Alister,can i check with you... where is ur summit design located? is there workmanship good??hi CeceThey are juz starting work on my hse, so can't comment abt workmanship. But I got them after reading up renotalk. Their pricing is reasonable.So far Alex service is fine. He drove me to 2 hses to preview. He also drove us to choose tiles and bathroom accessories. Also most of the meeting is at Toa Payoh. Only went to his office once for the initial discussion.Here's the link to their homepage - http://www.summitdesign.com.sg/ Edited November 9, 2007 by alister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 Hi Gadgetman and strawberryMay I know when are you going up to your flat again to take a look? Can I join u? Would like to see your laminate flooring and cabinets! (^_^) I'll PM my hp no to you?Thank you so much! No problems! Check your PM too.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ms_white 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 Yes! maybe, it'll be blk 79 meeting point if the coffee shop food is good. diy shop is good, 24hr clinic is good also, kindergarden will be best for parents with small kids lo..... nothing beat a convenient shop just right below you. thou there's already 7-11 and cheers in tpy. wah....is the work really good? I'm so happy and excited for you.....can't wait for my lamination to be complete too!! oh ya...hope to be able to view your hse on sat or sun can? my other tiles for my MBR toilet are here! can see a more completion of my tiling work. and yes, Eesy plan to ask his men to hack down one of our bedroom wall on friday! more work can be proceed! thanks to him, if not for him to keep pestering HDB to send the officer down, think our work will just stall there... jia you every one!! i was wondering when did "I" do this posting...only to realise, it was mr. shay_d who used my nick...feel so kuku after that... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ms_white 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 i've noticed that shop...should be that shop along the flower shops right??? very small!! i always drool at the cakes on display....wah, if they move to our downstairs, shiok leh...but will grow fat ar....that shop is really tiny..and it smells very oily too.. probably stink after eating their nice food.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 (edited) For those thinking of using Alex from Summit, maybe you let him know Mr Lau from 40th storey (that's me) recommend. Maybe can give you better pricing ? Afterall, I am his first blk 79 customer Edited November 9, 2007 by alister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Derrick 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 Hi All, Has anyone plan to install "Heater Tank" in the Bathroom instead of in the kitchen? (As I only need hot water for shower) I just notice a Pipping layout drawing in my letter box, after looking at it, i think it is possible to install it in the bathroom.Please advice if you had done so or plan to do it. Thank you Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ebing 0 Report post Posted November 10, 2007 Hi All, Has anyone plan to install "Heater Tank" in the Bathroom instead of in the kitchen? (As I only need hot water for shower) I just notice a Pipping layout drawing in my letter box, after looking at it, i think it is possible to install it in the bathroom.Please advice if you had done so or plan to do it. Thank younot too sure.. but heard that if you're installing a electrical one, then there might b a posibility to install it in the bathroom, but not for those who sign with city gas. Better get a plumber or whoever to check it out. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted November 10, 2007 No problems! Check your PM too.... hi, gadgetman and s_pear, what time are you guys going to your respective new hse today?? can i go kpkp also? want to look at your cabinet and laminated flooring! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 10, 2007 (edited) Hi All, Has anyone plan to install "Heater Tank" in the Bathroom instead of in the kitchen? (As I only need hot water for shower) I just notice a Pipping layout drawing in my letter box, after looking at it, i think it is possible to install it in the bathroom.Please advice if you had done so or plan to do it. Thank youHi DerrickThat's interested. Never thot of that. It is a gd idea, since my toilet ceiling is high enough. I will check my letterbox and explore with my ID as well.Thanks for giving me another option.BTW, I have confirm with my ID not to build the washing machine & fridge base. Save me $160. Can use the $$ to buy more bathroom accessories. Edited November 10, 2007 by alister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted November 10, 2007 Hi DerrickThat's interested. Never thot of that. It is a gd idea, since my toilet ceiling is high enough. I will check my letterbox and explore with my ID as well.Thanks for giving me another option.BTW, I have confirm with my ID not to build the washing machine & fridge base. Save me $120. Can use the $$ to buy more bathroom accessories. wow, that's good news! now, i'm having a problem with my fridge location....i can't open the fridge door more than 90 degrees....sianz.....hmm.....its a good idea to place it in the bathroom. already hoping that we can install it in the bathroom. but i tot since the piping has already done up, it can only be install in the kitchen. but alister, if we are getting joven storage heater, the exterior is not stainless cover le. install in bathroom, the exterior might rust due to the moist in the near future.what time are you going to your new hse today?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted November 10, 2007 wow, that's good news! now, i'm having a problem with my fridge location....i can't open the fridge door more than 90 degrees....sianz.....hmm.....its a good idea to place it in the bathroom. already hoping that we can install it in the bathroom. but i tot since the piping has already done up, it can only be install in the kitchen. but alister, if we are getting joven storage heater, the exterior is not stainless cover le. install in bathroom, the exterior might rust due to the moist in the near future.what time are you going to your new hse today?? I going to meet him @ 1.30pm at blk 79D. Then to do final tiles selection and if got time, ask him to drive me to Poh Joo to buy the Joven storage heater. Already told Ms White maybe I will call her if I confirm buying.Maybe I can ask Poh Joo people regarding the rust issue. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted November 10, 2007 I going to meet him @ 1.30pm at blk 79D. Then to do final tiles selection and if got time, ask him to drive me to Poh Joo to buy the Joven storage heater. Already told Ms White maybe I will call her if I confirm buying.Maybe I can ask Poh Joo people regarding the rust issue.i see. maybe we'll call you later also. cos we are getting ready to go over now. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites