Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

hahahah 白小姐,the items are included in the package one and it was a promotion period for substance thus they gave us.... things include.... i pm u better....

白小姐 waiting anxiously for 草莓梨's PM... *pacing up and down the hallway* :(

i pmed liao.... dun kan cheong...

hi guys just wondering, will u guys be engaging a part time helper when u shift in?? got recommendations??

i pmed liao.... dun kan cheong...

hi guys just wondering, will u guys be engaging a part time helper when u shift in?? got recommendations??

I am engaging a maid for my mother.

going to get one from nation. Finger crossed for a good maid. :(

S_pear, you are getting a part time for your baby?

going to get one from nation. Finger crossed for a good maid. ;)

heard nation not very good..maids' data not real..experience insufficient..a lot of advertising.. :(

not really cheap.i went to enquire, i need to pay 2100+ upfront for the maid's loan to the agency, and another amount for the agent's fee. + + other things.. can't rem...

I only went there cos' it is near our house, any problem, can go over, saw that it has CASE trust..

don't really trust those katong or lucky plaza agents...

do you have any recommendation?

There is nothing wrong is if the RC wants to engage us here but if some of the RC members are stakeholders at shops that they are recommending us to, then I think the indirect 'endorsement' here is not right. So maybe you should ask your friend to check that too.

Hi carelinwen

Dun think can check on that. My friend said it is possible he is for real. She suggest I get the number from the PA site and call up to verify or drop by, this way we can really confirm.

No harm asking the shop recommendated for a quote as we are the ones deciding whether we want to order from that shop.

wah how come the "arrow" kena me?? hehhehe yeah for the reading class, i'm proposing it only for the closer neighbors with kids that we have here. if the rc needs classes, shouldn't the trainers be registered with pa or watever? i dun think its up to us to "volunteer" it on such an informal mode such as a forum right? but anyway, thanks for inviting us to give u the feedback if its possible, here's my wishlist to the rc:

1. To inform/welcome us formally through letters etc instead of through forum which can really be dangerous as we really do not know the credibility. Maybe TPCRC2 u can reveal ur real name here and we can really be more sure of ur status? U must also know that not many pple in our blk actually log onto forum. The number that u see here is insignificant compared to the majority and if we propose and u accept our ideas but others don't, then how?

2. Form a "Mothers Club/ Parents Club" for both SAHM(Stay at home mothers) and WM(working mothers) to connect and share parenting tips. With so many new couples, we need all the support we can have for them in building family ties. This will greatly strengthen our ties as neighbors as we look out for one another's kids and help to build a safe environment for our neighborhood.

3. Senior Citizens Afternoon tea sessions. There are a lot of SERS elderly here and as they are used to living in the old blks and some of their neighbors are no longer staying beside them, it will be good if there are tea sessions every alternate days for them to catch up and talk to each other. If there could be simple finger food being provided, it will also be nice cos most of them are under financial assistance.

4. Monthly/ Bimonthly barbeque sessions in 2008. Many neighbors are shifting in in 2008. To foster better ties and relationship, can we have frequent bbq sessions to get to know one another better? During major festivals, we can also have theme parties for teenagers,children, adults and senior citizens. I know that during "Mid Autumn festival" Potong Pasir always have a big bang in celebration with floats and carnivals roping in schools nearby.

5. Making the rooftop garden at MSCP and 12th floor a place for celebration.

There will be plenty of couples getting married and making this blk their first home. During 2008, we can hold monthly celebrations for couples getting married, for bbs having their first birthday,for bbs having full mth, birthdays for neighbors in the same mth together. Maybe there can be a big cake for them to cut and rc can get either the teenagers in the blk to plan the activities so as to get them to be more involved in the community.

all the above are just some small little sesame worth of opinions. i'm just sharing it so that we can forge this "Kampong" spirit of togetherness and making our home a pleasant and joyful one. Even if the rc doesn't get this pc of info, its ok.

Applause to S_Pear for all the above ideas :( . I am still racking my head to think of any ;)

Edited by alister

hi strawberry pear.. what a detailed list for the young to the elderly in the RC :( haha. I think those suggestions are great! Particularly like the parenting class and the study groups for the kids. And yes, I totally support teaching our kids the mother tougue. And maybe can have dialect class too! haha. cos i cant speak my dialect well at all. haiz... sad..

Gadgetman.. any luck with your lights today?

Actually all agencys are the same. My maid is from Honesty emplyment blk 450. Biodata said 33yrs old but actually is older.

I wun recommend this agency as they have very limited biodata. If u have any problem with your maid, you might find it very difficult to find another replacement. We were lucky as the one we have is still ok.

Take note, she understands and talks mandarin, so cannot say anything bad about her in front of her. ;)

BLK79,

Gentle reminder : Carpark attendants started operation. Pls put coupons if needed.

I was talking to my ID on sat @ 4plus in the evening and the carpark uncle paid a visit. Luckily another ID informed him.

Did you all notice that our carpark does not have free parking on sundays and public holidays!:(;):P

Yes it's true. I notice it today as well. Maybe the RC can help us on this. As these blks have a high percentage of old folks, it should be free on sun and PH to encourage children to visit their parents.

going to get one from nation. Finger crossed for a good maid. :)

hihi i'm thinking of getting a part time cleaner heheh not a maid....cos i expect from next year onwards the chores to be done will be quite a lot and thus will need the extra help if not my parents in law will definitely worry.... heard that there are local cleaning aunties who will come in every once or twice a week to clean and charge by per hour... but i have no contacts for this....

maids will be very EXPENSIVE :jawdrop: and tension u are such a filial daughter!!! 要向你多多学习!! so how's things in choosing id?

alister and jo,

thanks for the compliments but just sharing a penny of my thought cos my hse got these 3 age categories all in one hahahahahahah! and can u believe it? my pil and the neighbors are already talking abt going to miss each other next time liaoz.... sighz!!! :rolleyes: but its just a wishlist la.... i believe u guys got better ideas too!!

so anybody got ideas as to where i can look for part time cleaners?? :thumbs up:

Yes it's true. I notice it today as well. Maybe the RC can help us on this. As these blks have a high percentage of old folks, it should be free on sun and PH to encourage children to visit their parents.

yo alister, good suggestion!!!!

hhahaha i think if we have a ESSS suggestion like in public sectors, our blk will sure win liao hahahha :dancingqueen::dancingqueen::good:

hihi i'm thinking of getting a part time cleaner heheh not a maid....cos i expect from next year onwards the chores to be done will be quite a lot and thus will need the extra help if not my parents in law will definitely worry.... heard that there are local cleaning aunties who will come in every once or twice a week to clean and charge by per hour... but i have no contacts for this....

maids will be very EXPENSIVE :jawdrop: and tension u are such a filial daughter!!! 要向你多多学习!! so how's things in choosing id?

alister and jo,

thanks for the compliments but just sharing a penny of my thought cos my hse got these 3 age categories all in one hahahahahahah! and can u believe it? my pil and the neighbors are already talking abt going to miss each other next time liaoz.... sighz!!! :rolleyes: but its just a wishlist la.... i believe u guys got better ideas too!!

so anybody got ideas as to where i can look for part time cleaners?? :thumbs up:

yo alister, good suggestion!!!!

hhahaha i think if we have a ESSS suggestion like in public sectors, our blk will sure win liao hahahha :dancingqueen::dancingqueen::)

Yes, I like the idea of hiring a part time helper long time ago. Anybody has the experience of hiring

a part time helper? are most of the part time helper locals or foreigners? what is the rate?

hmm....

I have heard of part time cleaner, they count their salary by per trip. Usually it is $50-$100 per trip, 4 hours a session,

depending on how big your house is and

how detail you want them to clean.

but not really worth it.

because a maid's salary now is about 300-350 ..last time used to be 280-320... and the maid is with you everyday.

of cos' I haven't add govt levy+ maid's makan+ other misc expenses.

to maintain a maid, you will need to fork out at least a $1000

(assuming $320 pay+ $280 levy + $300 makan + $100 unforseenable expenses like fall sick, buy toiletries etc = about $1000)