strawberry_pear 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2007 wow!! thanks dear! ur info's definitely an immediate remedy to clear the smog~so to confirm..we'll start throwing the mix frm MBR, MBR toilet, BR2, BR3, Common Toilet, Living/Dining, Kitchen, House shelter, Doorway...correct!!what's a guanyin leaf? teochew call the "ang hway" can or not? no children will be going in with us..but will be a few adults..there4 they can come in but have to follow according to where the mix has been scattered is it? yes its ang hway... but does ur hse have this plant? cos from wat i know pple won't give it cos it's like giving away ur luck (according to my mil and yeye) so for mine, my yeye cut a sprig from his cos he's my closest dearest yeye! as for the adults coming in, when u open the door, only the owners and the person scattering will go in first rest of the pple will wait outside till everything is done... Hi strawberry_peardo we have to look at the 'tong xin' for an ausipicous date to open the door the first time??did yr mil say anything abt it???helo dino, my mil and yeye only look into those chinese calendar and see if it is a "man ri"(hanyu pinyin) cos they know my hubby and i not pantang. if its a "po ri", then most of the chinese traditional good things cannot be done according to them...as i got my key during lunar 7th month, thus i waited until after it which is lunar 8th mth then go in...but all these are done cos i really want mil and yeye to be happy.hope that this helps! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dino 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2007 hey shivan, dun worry! i v kaypo so will definitely come and support ur reno one!!! and somemore ur gou gou so cute! i think i'll definitely drop in more with kids to play ok??thanks in advance!!!!shivan,by the time u collect yr keys u would have know the best of most stuf discuss via this forum, beside there will be so many flats to view oso...yes its ang hway... but does ur hse have this plant? cos from wat i know pple won't give it cos it's like giving away ur luck (according to my mil and yeye) so for mine, my yeye cut a sprig from his cos he's my closest dearest yeye! as for the adults coming in, when u open the door, only the owners and the person scattering will go in first rest of the pple will wait outside till everything is done... helo dino, my mil and yeye only look into those chinese calendar and see if it is a "man ri"(hanyu pinyin) cos they know my hubby and i not pantang. if its a "po ri", then most of the chinese traditional good things cannot be done according to them...as i got my key during lunar 7th month, thus i waited until after it which is lunar 8th mth then go in...but all these are done cos i really want mil and yeye to be happy.hope that this helps!wells tks a million,... me as lost as ms white with this sop thingy.. so oni one person will enter the flat first. Do the cleansing procedure then the rest can enter is it?? sorry for being so losor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strawberry_pear 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2007 (edited) oh yeah i forgot, the container to contain the rice and coarse salt mix must be new one!! my yeye bought for me a brand new red "gong" for that day when we carry out the 's.o.p". also when sprinkling water also must use new container to hold the water to sprinkle in the new hse.... and if ur daddy or mummy or a zhang bei doing it for u, must give hong bao to the person....dino u not losor la... hehe sometimes i also need to seek clarification a few times then will know what to do...however, it should be the owners (u and ah lao) go in together with the person doing the ceremony for u... if its u urself doing then u and hubby will go in first. hope this helps! :-) Edited October 16, 2007 by strawberry_pear Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2007 Hi Josephine,just to share, I don't think electric storage heaters will have a huge impact on your electric bills. Right now, I have a 30L ariston electric storage heater at home. I turn it on for 15 mins in the morning and after that off it. I can take a bath and my wife takes a bath. Later on at night when we return from work. We can take our baths again without turning on the heater and the water is still hot! That means we only incur the cost for the 15 mins when the heater was on. That's the beauty of storage heaters. But of course, you will have to remember to turn it off after 15-20 mins. Hi shivan,can i find out, where did you get your storage heater and do you still remember how much it cost??Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2007 (edited) Josephine,I dun mind joining the aircon bulk buy... will be going down to IMM tomorrow to check out some of the brands and models... I'm looking at Mitsubishi Starmex non-inverter ... most of my friends are using that.. saw some ppl in forum recommend this shop call Allbest at IMM which offer quite good price.. Let me know if any of u guys are interested i can go and find out the price.yup..add me in the list too..i wouldn't mind as long as sys 3 non-inverter costs less than $2k~! =B so far only Panasonic's below $2k (saw in Courts) Edited October 16, 2007 by shay_d Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shay_d 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2007 yes its ang hway... but does ur hse have this plant? cos from wat i know pple won't give it cos it's like giving away ur luck (according to my mil and yeye) so for mine, my yeye cut a sprig from his cos he's my closest dearest yeye! as for the adults coming in, when u open the door, only the owners and the person scattering will go in first rest of the pple will wait outside till everything is done... helo dino, my mil and yeye only look into those chinese calendar and see if it is a "man ri"(hanyu pinyin) cos they know my hubby and i not pantang. if its a "po ri", then most of the chinese traditional good things cannot be done according to them...as i got my key during lunar 7th month, thus i waited until after it which is lunar 8th mth then go in...but all these are done cos i really want mil and yeye to be happy.hope that this helps!<frm ms_white> yeah..we have ang hway also..so it shouldn't be an issue right..hee! i'll just pluck frm my mum's pot eh..few questions: 1. "dong tu" = start of renovation is it?2. how do i know where to place the coins (any coins)? 3. roll pineapple frm doorway to where it stops and place it there for 3 days? or got specific place to put? during these 3 days can start reno or after 3 days?so sorry to "ma fan" with all these "pantang" qn... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2007 hi tension z,did we meet up last sunday?? u fm D too?? pardon me abit forgetful le.. u gotten yr keys??hi dino,No, I didn't make it for the meeting last Sunday. Yes, I am from Block D. I am getting my keys on 25 Oct.Please count me in for the aircon bulk purchase.By the way, who do I approach to give the information list? ie email address, occupation etc.haha, too many things happening in this thread. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 I'm be getting my keys coming monday and proceed with the neccessary SOP include Xie Tu / Dong Tu the next day.Ikoice, please add me into your list too... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinni 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 hey xinni, ur daughter is v sweet... can play w my gers next time??Hi strawberry_pear,No problem. Yours also sweet ley. She's only 2 n half yrs old n like to make frds but not adults.Maybe can discuss abt their schooling. BLK 79,Wah! Everyone got keys liao. Mine still in process. Maybe Nov. !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 Me interested in looking for aircon too. If anyone is organizing, pls let me know.ThanksHiSaw your son!Look like you!And also your wife.DO inivte me to view your renovating house if you agree.Best regards. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zanie98 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 (edited) Dear 79-ersOkie Okie. A bit messy....I wanna bulk order for aircon as well. But I'm looking for a System 4 inverter system frm either Mitsubishi/ toshiba. Lets start a list k?Interested Parties to bulk purchase aircon1) Zanie 98 (Mistubishi/ Toshiba Inverter System 4)Lets continue the list from here?(^_^) Edited October 17, 2007 by zanie98 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Snuffleupagus 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 Dear 79-ersOkie Okie. A bit messy....I wanna bulk order for aircon as well. But I'm looking for a System 4 inverter system frm either Mitsubishi/ toshiba. Lets start a list k?Interested Parties to bulk purchase aircon1) Zanie 98 (Mistubishi/ Toshiba Inverter System 4)2) Snuffy (Mitsubishi Non-inverter system 3)Lets continue the list from here?(^_^) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ms_white 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 Interested Parties to bulk purchase aircon1) Zanie 98 (Mistubishi/ Toshiba Inverter System 4)2) Snuffy (Mitsubishi Non-inverter system 3)3) ms_white/shay_d (Non-inverter system 3 @ >$2k)4)5)6)7)Lets continue the list from here?(^_^) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 hey gadgetman, thanks for the beautiful pics!! btw,how's reno works coming up?? turns out that last sun i only managed to pick my bathroom accessories and then we spent the rest of evening confirmning with leonard with the remaining works in progress and upcoming works.. he's gd and has planned for works to continue as he left for overseas.... if u free, this weekend we can catch up!! Hi Strawberry Pear, the reno is still continuing at a very slow pace. I guess the carpentry works are on the way, but we can't really see the progress until the finished items are shipped in. Went to my unit yesterday and there is some progress on the toilet tiling works. (this has been delayed due to the hacking for the door frames) But even so, some of my designer tiles are still out of stock and it will still be a wait before the toilet tiling can really be completed. BTW, I will usually pop by my unit afterwork around 6.25pm. If you happen to be around just drop by and we can catch up again! I was thinking through the space issues and was really worried that there will not be enough storage areas in the new unit (cos we got so much junk at home!). Do you have any good storage ideas in your renovation that you can share with me? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shivan 0 Report post Posted October 17, 2007 Hi shivan,can i find out, where did you get your storage heater and do you still remember how much it cost??Thanks! Hi shay_d,I bought it from Goh Ah Bee for $200+ i think, can't really remember the exact cost but i do remember the difference between the 30L and the smaller one from ariston is only about $20-30 difference so might as well get the bigger one... Ariston is a good brand, the previous one in my present house lasted us more than 10 years before it started leaking because of corrosion of the pipe. Other than that, the heater was still working fine... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites