Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Haha... Didn't know AMK also can see our new house! :D

hahaha you can see it from the higher floors if you look across the bishan depot that side. :D

My gf lives around there... so i can see our new place from far whenever i go her house :D:P

check with u all...

i intend to get married only after i get the keys and done up my house :P

but then...., this option doesn't leave me with much time preparing for my wedding :)

i intend to have a simple ROM + Tea Recep, doing away with the traditional wedding dinner. Roughly how much time do i need to prepare for this? Assuming now I haven't start a single preparation yet (ie. not yet source for wedding package, wedding dates, etc...)

as i will be living in Blk C, which most of u think that will be among the 1st to collect keys 8| , could someone share with me that assuming i get my keys in 4Qtr 07, when is the latest i should book my wedding date coz i think hdb need the ROM cert rite?

check with u all...

i intend to get married only after i get the keys and done up my house :rofl:

but then...., this option doesn't leave me with much time preparing for my wedding :)

i intend to have a simple ROM + Tea Recep, doing away with the traditional wedding dinner. Roughly how much time do i need to prepare for this? Assuming now I haven't start a single preparation yet (ie. not yet source for wedding package, wedding dates, etc...)

as i will be living in Blk C, which most of u think that will be among the 1st to collect keys :) , could someone share with me that assuming i get my keys in 4Qtr 07, when is the latest i should book my wedding date coz i think hdb need the ROM cert rite?

i will be having my ROM end of the year and started planning in jan but already read alot beforehand and shortlisted some places...during may, i've confirmed my bridal and venue...i'm also doing without the traditional dinner....for customary, i think anytime my house is done lor...hopefully march 2008 school holidays because i'm a teacher, easier for me lah....

i think it's good to book all these about 1 year ahead...because bridal needs time because you need to confirm the gowns, and if you want MTM, need more time...and then got photoshoot which needs time also...

check with u all...

i intend to get married only after i get the keys and done up my house :good:

but then...., this option doesn't leave me with much time preparing for my wedding :(

as i will be living in Blk C, which most of u think that will be among the 1st to collect keys :D , could someone share with me that assuming i get my keys in 4Qtr 07, when is the latest i should book my wedding date coz i think hdb need the ROM cert rite?

Hi, my friend took the keys to her new flat, produce her ROM cert only a year later. She keep giving excuse to HDB that she can't find an auspicious date to customery. So within a year should be fine.

Hi, anyone has any idea on HLE? Do we have to apply ourselves or upon receiving of letter for key collection from HDB but wouldn't this be too late as they need time to approve.

Hi almonddust,

If I's not wrong, there is a HDB policy of allowing 3 months to produce the ROM cert after getting the keys. There are exceptional case like what droplets has mentioned.

To be safe, just go down to HDB hub and look for the person in charge. They will be the best person to answer you. You can then plan your dates accordingly.

I also think that you need at least 1 year to prepare your wedding, especially booking your ideal venue. My first choice last time is Merchant court but end up choosing 2nd choice, Grand copthorne even I book the venue 1 year 2 months before wedding actual date. Hehe, Kia su.

Looks like many of my future neighbours here are getting married soon. Anyone interested in attending a Marriage Preparation Course (MPC)?

I attended it last year and would say that it is definitely a very useful course. Realised that no matter how long a couple have dated/known each other, u'll not really know wat marriage is like. Or i should say marriage is very different from dating. :P

Instructors are husband & wife team and the course is of course non-religious.

Topics covered include marital commitment, personality differences, communication skills, mutual decision making, conflict management, finances, sex, family planning issues, roles and expectations.

You can visit www.family.gov.sg/marriagepreparation for more information.

As my friends are conducting the mpc which is organised by MCYS, you'll can pm me for more info if u're interested to attend. !!

Hi Bethel

My gf has been nagging me to attending this MPC.

Seems like the course is quite ex right??

It is very seminar like where an instructor will lecture a group or there is activities to participate and stuff??

Sorry if i ask too much questions :thumbs up:

Hi almonddust,

I heard that it is quite easy to convince the HDB officer in delaying to show the cert, so you dun have to worry :dancingqueen:

hi sushibabe, droplets, Darry, Bethel, gui99:

thanks for all your advices.

from what i gather, preparations roughly takes about 1year. initially was thinking maybe prepare 3-6mths should be sufficient but seems like may be too rush. me & my bf only thought about it recently to get a wedding date from a fengshui master. do u have anyone to recommend?

for those who are getting married soon and at the same time getting our keys, it's really like a big financial commitment happening all at one time. Imagine need money for wedding, paying for the remaining downpayment for the house, then renovation works, after reno must pay for tv/bed/fridge/washing machine/etc...., How i wish the toto $5mil prize this friday can be mine... haha.... then no need to feel so stressed lor... :D:~:~

as i see my new house getting ready bit by bit each day, i couldn't help but feeling excited and yet, feeling stressed. Or am i the only one feeling this way??? :D

Hi almonddust

You are not alone. I am feeling the same way too.

My AD is in Jan 08 and the house shd be coming around that time also. It feels very xiong on both our pockets for the wedding and the upcoming reno. Moreover we just paid for a bulk of the payment for our Bridal studio. :)

Part of me hopes that the completion of our flats is earlier, part of me hope that it is later :bleah:

ask you all ar, you think blk 79A agar when can finish??? because i really wanna have my AD in march 08...i myself agar maybe jan 08 take keys...then reno and hope by march everything done...but i never go and ask for a date leh...just pick a date we like and check the calender see if it's ok lor...

anyway, about financial matters, stressful surely it will be...now i believe all of us are saving up as much as possible...my wedding is on a budget, everything can save i save...so far, our rings are bought at half price because got friend working there, bridal and venue all not the costly kind...AD won't be spending alot also...it's the reno that will be headache...but so far, we both save about 1k or more each per month...by end of the year plus our savings in joint acc, should be enough la...just do the important works and get the neccessary furniture, the rest slowly take our time lor...

let's all jiayou~~~

Hi gui99,

I think you should accede to ur gf's idea of attending a mpc..u know..to assure her lah.

It's not very ex...u pay $200 upfront, then when u complete the course will full attendance, they will refund u $70. So effectively u pay $130, that's $65/person. I feel that it's a good investment. Marriage is for a lifetime leh...we spend thousands on our wedding (which lasts only 1 day), what is $130 as an investment for a lifetime marriage compared to what we spend for our wedding? :sport-smiley-004:

It's not really like a seminar thing...cos it's held in the instructor's house..so it's a very comfortable course. For most parts of the course, we just sit down and listen to their teaching and sharing of their own marriage...then some parts will have discussion...to share each other's experience. I find learning from other ppl's experience very good. And also get to know more friends. The course only takes abt 6 couples each time.

Here's more info:

Organiser: Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS) and Touch Community Services (TCS)

Duration: 5 consecutive Sundays, 3pm to 5.30pm

Venue: Instructors' home

Cost: $200 ($70 rebate will be given by MCYS upon full attendance)

My hubby and i can't wait to move in!

Just like all of u, it's also financial tight for us...coz we're currently renting a flat so that's cash outflow every month already. So have to be prepared for our savings to be totally wiped out when the new flat comes. :)

Fortunately for us, we already had our customary last Dec. so not that stressful for us now...

Coz we only had a church wedding plus lunch reception and no banquet, so we managed to cover all our costs with the ang baos. Even covered the cost of our honeymoon...hehe... :)

Whatever it is, u all must enjoy ur wedding preparations leh...it's quite fun (for me lah).. 8|

But that doesn't mean u have to spend alot on ur wedding....

coz i believe we shud spend more on the house rather than wedding. Wedding is only 1 day mah...and nobody will remember what happened that day also... Only u and ur husband will remember. :jawdrop:

Almonddust,

Altho mine is only a church wedding plus lunch reception and no banquet, we started planning it 1 yr before. But in between, a few months u wun need to do much. only like nearing the AD then will get busy. So the impt things to do first is book venue and bridal package. The rest can do later.

However, my friend planned her wedding in 3 months leh....she held her solemnisation plus banquet at the hotel. So it's not impossible also lah...just that u wun really enjoy the planning process.

Hi Bethel

Thanks for the info.

I will discuss with her again before deciding whether wanna go or not. Understood from your point how beneficial to attend this prep course. Haiz seems a bit ex for me....prob will need to count my piggy bank. and decide when it is closer to my wedding date. Mostly likely will go attend... cos my gf really really keen...

Haha we should start a poll to find out who is already married and who is not :dancingqueen:

thanks for all your sharing! :jawdrop:

so glad that i'm not the only one feeling this way. Starting a new home, and entering a new phase of life are part and parcel of life's progression. Although it seems like money can be the main source of concern for most of us, i'm reminding myself that this is once in a lifetime experience so learning to enjoy every moment of it! :furious:

Since our new house are basically either 4rooms and 5rooms, have you all thought about how to make use of each room???

I think for newly weds (like me!), I intend to convert one room to study, and another one for guest (or future kid's room). My proposed studyroom will have a part convert to warerobe coz the master bedroom can be rather cramp to put a big warerobe.

Does anyone here planning to put a bathtub into the masterbed room toilet? We are exploring this possibility but hesitated because the length of the bathtub will be quite short. Hence would like to hear if anyone is planning for it.

Update Repost:

Hi All, Just an update.

2weeks back i went to blk79 and have i chance to talk to one of the office people. He told me told me Blk C will start handing over to HDB by July and rest will hand over one by one till last blk about Feb-08.

But i'm not sure how long it will take HDB to inspect and release key once they have taken over. The route behind the carpark is about 90% done. Hope to get it soon.

I'm still looking for my future from Blk C 19Floor.

I got a suggestion, anyone here is a webDesigner? Maybe can create a website/forum for TP blk79 Neighbours and we can Occasionally organise some party on OUR 12Floor Garden in future. If there is, i'll be the first to join.