wcseow

A Place To Retire

OK. Let me do a conclusion for this. In order to plug in all Xbox, PS3, DVD and Wii, i need an AV receiver with

1) Video - 4 x HDMI (PS3, XboX, DVD and Wii)

2) Audio - total 4 ports which can be mix of HDMI audio or Optical (PS3, XboX, DVD and Wii)

Lastly, anyone know where to study on the comparison between HDMI, Component Input & Optical? Or someone got the time to give me free express tuition on that? hahahaha.

BTW, the coax port used for what?

1. Wii do not have HDMI. Its either component or composite video.

2. If the AV receiver u are buying can process HDMI audio, then all those boxes (ps3, xbox, DVD) do not need another audio port. It will be delivered via the same HDMI connection. Note some older DVD players have HDMI port but it is only for video only.

3. So assuming ur AV receiver process HDMI audio and ur DVD player can send audio via HDMI, then u need 3 HDMI inputs, and 1 composite (for ur Wii)

The coax port is also for audio.

HDMI - supports video and audio.

Component - only video

Optical - audio only

There are too many variables in determine which is better (video resolution, cable quality etc). Generally, for video, both HDMI and Component can carry the same resolution up to 1080p although not many TVs/devices support 1080p on Component. Thus generally people prefer HDMI. Couple to that HDMI can carry audio also, it is better to have one cable that carry audio/video rather than separate cable for video (component) and audio. Thus HDMI is preferred generally.

With the newer audio like TrueHD etc. it can be carried by HDMI only. The standard Dolby Digital, DTS, can be carried by both HDMI and Optical/Coax. For reasons similar to above, ppl also generally prefer HDMI.

Hope it help

OK! super clear now!

so easy thing. 3 HDMI port and 1 component as minimum requirement! hehehehe....

I thought hdmi only carrying video..lol....i am so dumb!! :bangwall:

To me, i think the quality differences between different technology is hard to notice. I will take whatever technology using less cable! hahahaha...so i guess HDMI is the way to go!

OK! super clear now!

so easy thing. 3 HDMI port and 1 component as minimum requirement! hehehehe....

I thought hdmi only carrying video..lol....i am so dumb!! :bangwall:

To me, i think the quality differences between different technology is hard to notice. I will take whatever technology using less cable! hahahaha...so i guess HDMI is the way to go!

Just note that some AV receiver do not process HDMI audio (they pass it thru) and some devices do not output audio via HDMI (more rare).

Take a look at this thread http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...0&start=320 , there a fellow forummer that bought Onkyo 607 with Mordaunt Short Carnival 5.1 speaker system for $1.3K.................:).

u can go down to Adephi to audition, the more u listen, the higher ur budget goes...lol......

Those packaged system like what Angteko has bought should be around the $1K region. The sound is ok but the best judge is still your ears. Go and listen to those a well. Bear in mind the packaged AV receiver will probably have some limitations, maybe in number of inputs and HDMI audio processing, video conversion....:)

It is good u count the number of inputs first, e.g.

1) PS3- Video - HDMI, Audio - HDMI. IF AV receiver do not process HDMI audion, then ur audio will be optical

2) Xbox - Video - HDMI (older system is component). Audio - HDMI or optical (similar to PS3)

3) Blu-Ray player (U are not using the PS3 as a blu-ray player?), Video-HDMI, Audio - HDMI or optical

4) normal DVD player - Video- HDMI or component, Audio-HDMI or optical (for older DVD players, maybe analog)

Please note most AV receiver will have sufficient HDMI/Component input. But most Audio inputs will be in the number of 2 optical, 1 coax. So u have to pay attention to those.....

Hi wcseow,

I'm looking forward to see your pix too, I'm waiting for my 1st appt but doing some groundwork on getting prices and looking over designs.

I got my HT setup from KEC 2 years back, they are pretty good with after sales even after so long. Console design is & has always been a headache for me. Myabe you can give me some pointers on how you are planning to do yours - cable management can be such a pain! :P

Hi wcseow,

I'm looking forward to see your pix too, I'm waiting for my 1st appt but doing some groundwork on getting prices and looking over designs.

I got my HT setup from KEC 2 years back, they are pretty good with after sales even after so long. Console design is & has always been a headache for me. Myabe you can give me some pointers on how you are planning to do yours - cable management can be such a pain! :P

Lol..I bought my previous system from AV1....KEC service was pretty good too but unfortunately the Heco/Castle combination suited me more and matches my reno as well.

and yes, cable management is a pain. In my previous reno, my AV receiver was inside the cabinet. Unfortunately I decided to purchase the system only after the reno. So it was a pain especially if u wanted to re-connect and the receiver was heavy and the depth of the cabinet was not deep enuff.

This time round though, I instruct my ID to ensure there is sufficient depth, not just to seat in the receiver but to also allows for cable turn (+3 inch is what I give, a bit kiasu...:)..). The preference is to have the receiver exposed but to have a back cover to cover the interconnects.

Lol..yes I am also interested to see what they come up with after I decided who to chose which will be Sunday!!!!...:)

Lol..I bought my previous system from AV1....KEC service was pretty good too but unfortunately the Heco/Castle combination suited me more and matches my reno as well.

and yes, cable management is a pain. In my previous reno, my AV receiver was inside the cabinet. Unfortunately I decided to purchase the system only after the reno. So it was a pain especially if u wanted to re-connect and the receiver was heavy and the depth of the cabinet was not deep enuff.

This time round though, I instruct my ID to ensure there is sufficient depth, not just to seat in the receiver but to also allows for cable turn (+3 inch is what I give, a bit kiasu...:)..). The preference is to have the receiver exposed but to have a back cover to cover the interconnects.

Lol..yes I am also interested to see what they come up with after I decided who to chose which will be Sunday!!!!...:)

Mr. Seow, understood that you did alot of renovation before for all your previous houses. hehehe....any information for me when come to my TV console design? Things like cable opening, length, depth for all my gaming console, AV receiver, speaker and cable running? hehehehe.....Thanks in advance! lol...

so u decided?????? I am so camping here on Sunday to find out who's the "World Cup" champ. :D

so no more being tickled hor, GG....dun lah...this house shd be nice nice swee swee once u reno...u will :wub:

Mr. Seow, understood that you did alot of renovation before for all your previous houses. hehehe....any information for me when come to my TV console design? Things like cable opening, length, depth for all my gaming console, AV receiver, speaker and cable running? hehehehe.....Thanks in advance! lol...

lol......TV console design quite standard and typically it would be good enuff for those standard equipment. U have to be careful only when u have those bigger than normal sizes, like AV receivers, some amplifiers and also wireless modem if u intend to put in ur TV console area. So it is important that u decided what u wanted to buy before confirming the design so that the ID can take extra care for it.

Most console design will have cable outlets drilled and typically they will use those standard cover, for the console exit/entrance cabling point. But those cover are standard colors, thus just make sure it blend with the color u select for that portion of the console.

For my previous one, I have small cable trunking made and painted with the same color as the wall. I had small holes drilled just enuff for the speaker cables for my console top speakers.

Guess the most important now for u is to decide on the sound system..lol........

have fun

so u decided?????? I am so camping here on Sunday to find out who's the "World Cup" champ. :D

so no more being tickled hor, GG....dun lah...this house shd be nice nice swee swee once u reno...u will :wub:

lol.......no more...need to decide liao.........

one month ago........Intra.........then engage CLC..mmm...looks ok....

2 weeks ago...........leaning towards CLC......got housekeys......then kenna neutralized.

1 week ago...........leaned towards CLC again......

this week.............back to neutral with a slight lean towards to Intra again.........

Sunday................final day

lol.......no more...need to decide liao.........

one month ago........Intra.........then engage CLC..mmm...looks ok....

2 weeks ago...........leaning towards CLC......got housekeys......then kenna neutralized.

1 week ago...........leaned towards CLC again......

this week.............back to neutral with a slight lean towards to Intra again.........

Sunday................final day

so now is intra 1 clc 0. Why sunday is the final day????

lol..Sunday is the day we need to decide on the ID...:)

lol......TV console design quite standard and typically it would be good enuff for those standard equipment. U have to be careful only when u have those bigger than normal sizes, like AV receivers, some amplifiers and also wireless modem if u intend to put in ur TV console area. So it is important that u decided what u wanted to buy before confirming the design so that the ID can take extra care for it.

Most console design will have cable outlets drilled and typically they will use those standard cover, for the console exit/entrance cabling point. But those cover are standard colors, thus just make sure it blend with the color u select for that portion of the console.

For my previous one, I have small cable trunking made and painted with the same color as the wall. I had small holes drilled just enuff for the speaker cables for my console top speakers.

Guess the most important now for u is to decide on the sound system..lol........

have fun

Thank you for your advice! When I'm going to hunt for sound system, sure will asking you more questions! hahahaha..

lol..Sunday is the day we need to decide on the ID...:)

why sunday then decide. why not now leh? :notti:

i think u already decided in your heart...

Edited by samgalz

Okie, how many say Intra how many say CLC.

I still think GG will go to Intra unless CLC gives more perks as GG's bait.

lol...Sunday is the deadline to decide. if do not set it, sure will dilly-dally again.........:)

just now discuss with my wife at length, over dinner, over while waiting for kid to finish her class, over supper.....:)

at the end...wife say "I have say my piece, final decision lies with me"...aargh!!!!!......

so I say "ok, I will sleep over it..:).............."

Edited by wcseow