wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 me moved enough liao....haven even start reno i already so tired of packing and moving. imagine finish reno....the cleaning, the moving...the unpacking.... *starts to scream in fear* *panicking* *fainted* already declare to hubby that i'm staying put after this round. he say "we'll see how...dun say so fast" *FAINTED TWICE* ya...not so fast...sekali more babies come....lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 lol....only in Malaysia hometown........... but when I pak-toring with my wife, she stay in kampong hut......take almost 20 minutes to walk in from main road if walk alone....30 minutes if walk together Ermm...what u do in the cheeky 10min??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Ermm...what u do in the cheeky 10min??? during pak-tor-ing, of course walk must be slow...and take opportunities too as the road is not well lited....the rest u can imagine........ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 1, 2010 ya...not so fast...sekali more babies come....lol i would like that ....but even with more babies, should be able to stay put. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuben82 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2010 ok...reading all the posts here start making me confused. going to ask some noob questions....lol.... I know TV, I know Blu-Ray Player, I know speakers. WTH is the AV stuff? amplifier? Maybe I should leave this thing the last thing to worry of. Hahahaha.....Or, experts out there can recommend me which brand of speakers and other accessory to buy? I just want to have those cinema feeling while watching blu-ray. simple. I'm not those ppl sitting at the middle of living room with all the speakers being arranged and listening to a female singer (forgot her name...someone mention it to me before....hehehe..he told me is a MUST for everyone who fancy on speaker system) CD. hahahaha.... So, any nice and cheap sound system to recommend? hehehe... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2010 ok...reading all the posts here start making me confused. going to ask some noob questions....lol.... I know TV, I know Blu-Ray Player, I know speakers. WTH is the AV stuff? amplifier? Maybe I should leave this thing the last thing to worry of. Hahahaha.....Or, experts out there can recommend me which brand of speakers and other accessory to buy? I just want to have those cinema feeling while watching blu-ray. simple. I'm not those ppl sitting at the middle of living room with all the speakers being arranged and listening to a female singer (forgot her name...someone mention it to me before....hehehe..he told me is a MUST for everyone who fancy on speaker system) CD. hahahaha.... So, any nice and cheap sound system to recommend? hehehe... reuben, wats your budget for your HTS? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2010 ok...reading all the posts here start making me confused. going to ask some noob questions....lol.... I know TV, I know Blu-Ray Player, I know speakers. WTH is the AV stuff? amplifier? Maybe I should leave this thing the last thing to worry of. Hahahaha.....Or, experts out there can recommend me which brand of speakers and other accessory to buy? I just want to have those cinema feeling while watching blu-ray. simple. I'm not those ppl sitting at the middle of living room with all the speakers being arranged and listening to a female singer (forgot her name...someone mention it to me before....hehehe..he told me is a MUST for everyone who fancy on speaker system) CD. hahahaha.... So, any nice and cheap sound system to recommend? hehehe... lol......dats y need u those to have the cinema feeling............for music, normally a 2.1 (front speaker and sub) is sufficient unless u going for surround music stuff....... for movie, definately at least a 5.1 so u need to have the speakers around u..... The AV receiver does many things depending on which one u buy. Some basic functions would be 1. Decode audio and send it to the speakers to produce the movie effect 2. Amplifier function 3. Video switching, so u could have many video inputs and one out to the TV (will support many out too...) 4. Video conversion, so u could have different sources (analog, 720p, 480p etc..) and convert to one output to TV.... My suggestion is not to leave it to the last as sometimes u need to cater for it in ur reno. As speakers can be satellite (those small but powerful one and nice looking one,), bookshelf, floor standing...etc. And most AV receivers are bigger than the normal players, so the console got to cater for it....... Go Adelphi and audtion and u will run the risk of being hooked.......but its nice... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuben82 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2010 reuben, wats your budget for your HTS? I really got no idea on this budget thing leh.....hmm...how about recommend me some mid range system and roughly tell me how much it cost? lol......dats y need u those to have the cinema feeling............for music, normally a 2.1 (front speaker and sub) is sufficient unless u going for surround music stuff....... for movie, definately at least a 5.1 so u need to have the speakers around u..... The AV receiver does many things depending on which one u buy. Some basic functions would be 1. Decode audio and send it to the speakers to produce the movie effect 2. Amplifier function 3. Video switching, so u could have many video inputs and one out to the TV (will support many out too...) 4. Video conversion, so u could have different sources (analog, 720p, 480p etc..) and convert to one output to TV.... My suggestion is not to leave it to the last as sometimes u need to cater for it in ur reno. As speakers can be satellite (those small but powerful one and nice looking one,), bookshelf, floor standing...etc. And most AV receivers are bigger than the normal players, so the console got to cater for it....... Go Adelphi and audtion and u will run the risk of being hooked.......but its nice... Wah, nice information. Already copy into notepad and save it. Next time I can sound pro when tallking with those sales ppl. hahahaha.... BTW, recommend me a mid range system please...includes the AV receiver and speaker as well. hehehehe.....I need to hook up my PS3, XboX, Wii, Blu-ray, and maybe another normal DVD/CD player. Suggestion? I think mid range will do. Low range might sounds too cheap...hehehehe...high range i think too costly and don't think I can see/hear the differences. lol.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2010 I really got no idea on this budget thing leh.....hmm...how about recommend me some mid range system and roughly tell me how much it cost? Wah, nice information. Already copy into notepad and save it. Next time I can sound pro when tallking with those sales ppl. hahahaha.... BTW, recommend me a mid range system please...includes the AV receiver and speaker as well. hehehehe.....I need to hook up my PS3, XboX, Wii, Blu-ray, and maybe another normal DVD/CD player. Suggestion? I think mid range will do. Low range might sounds too cheap...hehehehe...high range i think too costly and don't think I can see/hear the differences. lol.... midrange should cost around 2-3k bah...most impt is you plan for your surround speakers if you intend to get a 5.1 system, ie if you have false ceiling, then you can lay your surround cables first...you can go to adelphi and audition their systems. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuben82 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2010 midrange should cost around 2-3k bah...most impt is you plan for your surround speakers if you intend to get a 5.1 system, ie if you have false ceiling, then you can lay your surround cables first...you can go to adelphi and audition their systems. so it is adelphi ak? any recommended model? how come 2-3k so expensive? i thought all the while you guys are talking like around 1000++?? 2-3k quite alot ler....got 0% installment bo? hahahaha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 4, 2010 (edited) so it is adelphi ak? any recommended model? how come 2-3k so expensive? i thought all the while you guys are talking like around 1000++?? 2-3k quite alot ler....got 0% installment bo? hahahaha... if u no requirement then be like me get mini compo....hahaha $300 plus only. cos to me the effect no big diff. so long got sound out, clear can liao. Edited May 4, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2010 so it is adelphi ak? any recommended model? how come 2-3k so expensive? i thought all the while you guys are talking like around 1000++?? 2-3k quite alot ler....got 0% installment bo? hahahaha... 1k+ system and 0% instalment i am not very sure wor...these you gotta check it out yourself...you can go to KEC (one of the shops there) and ask them to recommend you with the budget you have lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2010 Those packaged system like what Angteko has bought should be around the $1K region. The sound is ok but the best judge is still your ears. Go and listen to those a well. Bear in mind the packaged AV receiver will probably have some limitations, maybe in number of inputs and HDMI audio processing, video conversion.... It is good u count the number of inputs first, e.g. 1) PS3- Video - HDMI, Audio - HDMI. IF AV receiver do not process HDMI audion, then ur audio will be optical 2) Xbox - Video - HDMI (older system is component). Audio - HDMI or optical (similar to PS3) 3) Blu-Ray player (U are not using the PS3 as a blu-ray player?), Video-HDMI, Audio - HDMI or optical 4) normal DVD player - Video- HDMI or component, Audio-HDMI or optical (for older DVD players, maybe analog) Please note most AV receiver will have sufficient HDMI/Component input. But most Audio inputs will be in the number of 2 optical, 1 coax. So u have to pay attention to those..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2010 Those packaged system like what Angteko has bought should be around the $1K region. The sound is ok but the best judge is still your ears. Go and listen to those a well. Bear in mind the packaged AV receiver will probably have some limitations, maybe in number of inputs and HDMI audio processing, video conversion.... It is good u count the number of inputs first, e.g. 1) PS3- Video - HDMI, Audio - HDMI. IF AV receiver do not process HDMI audion, then ur audio will be optical 2) Xbox - Video - HDMI (older system is component). Audio - HDMI or optical (similar to PS3) 3) Blu-Ray player (U are not using the PS3 as a blu-ray player?), Video-HDMI, Audio - HDMI or optical 4) normal DVD player - Video- HDMI or component, Audio-HDMI or optical (for older DVD players, maybe analog) Please note most AV receiver will have sufficient HDMI/Component input. But most Audio inputs will be in the number of 2 optical, 1 coax. So u have to pay attention to those..... Wah, good info!! Mine really got 2 optical and 1 coax. But I think it is already more than enough for my usage, xbox & dvd player, and probably wii next time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
reuben82 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Those packaged system like what Angteko has bought should be around the $1K region. The sound is ok but the best judge is still your ears. Go and listen to those a well. Bear in mind the packaged AV receiver will probably have some limitations, maybe in number of inputs and HDMI audio processing, video conversion.... It is good u count the number of inputs first, e.g. 1) PS3- Video - HDMI, Audio - HDMI. IF AV receiver do not process HDMI audion, then ur audio will be optical 2) Xbox - Video - HDMI (older system is component). Audio - HDMI or optical (similar to PS3) 3) Blu-Ray player (U are not using the PS3 as a blu-ray player?), Video-HDMI, Audio - HDMI or optical 4) normal DVD player - Video- HDMI or component, Audio-HDMI or optical (for older DVD players, maybe analog) Please note most AV receiver will have sufficient HDMI/Component input. But most Audio inputs will be in the number of 2 optical, 1 coax. So u have to pay attention to those..... OK. Let me do a conclusion for this. In order to plug in all Xbox, PS3, DVD and Wii, i need an AV receiver with 1) Video - 4 x HDMI (PS3, XboX, DVD and Wii) 2) Audio - total 4 ports which can be mix of HDMI audio or Optical (PS3, XboX, DVD and Wii) Lastly, anyone know where to study on the comparison between HDMI, Component Input & Optical? Or someone got the time to give me free express tuition on that? hahahaha. BTW, the coax port used for what? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites