wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 lol..the 3D come and mess it up hor....... but my thinking is this........... 1. Always invest in a good set of speakers. And typically speakers sounds better as they aged. AV receiver is cheaper to replace, and typically one may want to replace it as new features/chipset/pricing appear more often. So likely change in system would be AV receiver 2. 3D come, need to have 3D TV too. Now 3D TV too ex. So when it becomes more popular, buy 3D TV and if do not want to change AV receiver, connect 3D blu-ray player direct to TV lah and still have audio to AV receiver.......or change AV receiver....lol Sony PS3 3D implementation...not sure whether they need 1.4 or not leh..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 lol.... CLC This is first time they do a site visit and have a more accurate measurement. There are some additional things and modification need to be done. So need requote Intra They have seen the site before. So their site visit is for the air-con and electrical ppl. There are some modification need to be done. So need to requote. My experience with Intra is that they will take in modifications within the original quote as they quote in one lump sum unless the changes are major. And...............even as we speak.....my wife and I are trying to made as little structural changes as possible considering we might want to sell the place. So we are thinking of having the kids sleeping on bunk beds...........shhhhh....I will probably tell the ID this after we decide which one to take... lol eh??!! thinking of selling even before staying??!! GG, u fantastic lor dun tell me u found another better place? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 (edited) hah...yah man, that calibration thing is a bummer. not sure if it auto detects or have digital presets? Ehh..we like getting same system almost...im looking at the oppo80, 83 and LG BD390... is urs a 3D LED TV? coz the 608 is rather new with HDMI 1.4a compliant (supports 3D video). read that both 707 & 608 are pretty similiar in power & in performance. And that the 608 uses the faroudja chipset as the 707. if that were the case, i may not be too inclined towards the 707 but would like to know the price nonetheless...haha Furthermore, not many bluray content are in 3D format yet. but its a good investment for the future. although if u have the ps3 slim, there's also the highly anticipated PlayStation 3 firmware upgrade to enable 3D playback as announced by Sony. most likely getting oppo80 and 608, i prefer to start mid-range first and upgrade along the way if necessary. 3D tv is just out, sure have plenty of bugs, so will only consider them after the technology stablises. IMHO and simplistic mind.... 1. There is another thingy that AV receiver do is the video processing for video upscale etc. Thus if u have multiple types of video input sources (component, 720p, analog) and want to upscale to a single HDMI 1080p (or i), the different model may matter. 2. Comparing 707 with 607, then 607 has inferior video upscaling/processing (inferior does not mean bad)... 3. 707 is on par with 608 as far as video processing is concern (base on specs), but the big thingy of 608 is the Audyssey 2EQ thingy. 4. As for Denon 2310 to 1910, difference may not be that much other than the number of inputs and the power. 5. As for compatibility, in my own simplistic mind is that having a more powerful AV to drive the same set of speakers could just mean that u can get the same blast/clarity with lesser volume. lol and normally u will do the calibration once and u can keep it if nothing changes, including ur sitting position and the speakers position..... glad to hear only need to calibrate once...maybe can get the installation guys to calibrate them after the setup. heard 708 will only come in at the end of the year. lol..the 3D come and mess it up hor....... but my thinking is this........... 1. Always invest in a good set of speakers. And typically speakers sounds better as they aged. AV receiver is cheaper to replace, and typically one may want to replace it as new features/chipset/pricing appear more often. So likely change in system would be AV receiver 2. 3D come, need to have 3D TV too. Now 3D TV too ex. So when it becomes more popular, buy 3D TV and if do not want to change AV receiver, connect 3D blu-ray player direct to TV lah and still have audio to AV receiver.......or change AV receiver....lol Sony PS3 3D implementation...not sure whether they need 1.4 or not leh..... ya, i believe in point 1. if i have the budget, would have gotten the B&W speakers... Edited April 29, 2010 by joseeng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 eh??!! thinking of selling even before staying??!! GG, u fantastic lor dun tell me u found another better place? lol....actually one did made an offer which tickle me before the last round of changes were announced but after that he disappeared........now have one that is scheduled to view the place this weekend. But we are still not sure as it is quite tiring to look for a place again and we have look at almost all the condos in the area that we wanted before we decided to buy this unit.... mmm....decision decison........ but then I think I am quite sure we will sell this place as my daughter get married and move out.....lol oh...we are leaning towards..............(after the commercial break)....lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 lol....actually one did made an offer which tickle me before the last round of changes were announced but after that he disappeared........now have one that is scheduled to view the place this weekend. But we are still not sure as it is quite tiring to look for a place again and we have look at almost all the condos in the area that we wanted before we decided to buy this unit.... mmm....decision decison........ but then I think I am quite sure we will sell this place as my daughter get married and move out.....lol oh...we are leaning towards..............(after the commercial break)....lol GG no good lah... Give us cliff hanger. . Which area did u look at. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 lol....actually one did made an offer which tickle me before the last round of changes were announced but after that he disappeared........now have one that is scheduled to view the place this weekend. But we are still not sure as it is quite tiring to look for a place again and we have look at almost all the condos in the area that we wanted before we decided to buy this unit.... mmm....decision decison........ but then I think I am quite sure we will sell this place as my daughter get married and move out.....lol oh...we are leaning towards..............(after the commercial break)....lol GG u tok gong lor haven move in, haven even reno u selling it away... u addicted to house hunting liao wor. but if u can get a better one at a cheaper price then still ok lah, but the hassle of going thru the procedure...i shudder.... GG u very bad leh, make us hanging there..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 hi... (don't dare call you Gor Gor cause I think I may be older than you ... which 2.1 system would you recommend? Have decided to move the sound bar to the MBR and get a new system for the living room, but can't do 5.1 cause ceilings etc all done up liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 lol....actually one did made an offer which tickle me before the last round of changes were announced but after that he disappeared........now have one that is scheduled to view the place this weekend. But we are still not sure as it is quite tiring to look for a place again and we have look at almost all the condos in the area that we wanted before we decided to buy this unit.... mmm....decision decison........ but then I think I am quite sure we will sell this place as my daughter get married and move out.....lol oh...we are leaning towards..............(after the commercial break)....lol GG needs to be rename liao, to house moving God. Dont know how many times u move liao. Or u rather stay in rented place?? haha I tell u what lah, buy a HDB, then u wont be able to sell off immediately. haha Your daughter need at least 7 yrs onwards for any possible marriage leh..unless...someone boarded the bus 1st b4 paying...keke Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 (edited) GG no good lah... Give us cliff hanger. . Which area did u look at. lol....Tampines/Simei/Pasir Ris area... GG u tok gong lor haven move in, haven even reno u selling it away... u addicted to house hunting liao wor. but if u can get a better one at a cheaper price then still ok lah, but the hassle of going thru the procedure...i shudder.... GG u very bad leh, make us hanging there.... lol...thats the thing..not sure whether can do that...but the thought of making some money also tickle me... Edited April 29, 2010 by wcseow Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 hi... (don't dare call you Gor Gor cause I think I may be older than you ... which 2.1 system would you recommend? Have decided to move the sound bar to the MBR and get a new system for the living room, but can't do 5.1 cause ceilings etc all done up liao I do not think u are older than me....I am very old.........hee hee some soundbar (like Yamaha) is actually quite good for a 2.1, but if u like better sound, then can go Adelphi and do some audition....and maybe u will get hookon 5.1........let ur own years decide which speakers is good cause u will be the one listening........... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 (edited) GG needs to be rename liao, to house moving God. Dont know how many times u move liao. Or u rather stay in rented place?? haha I tell u what lah, buy a HDB, then u wont be able to sell off immediately. haha Your daughter need at least 7 yrs onwards for any possible marriage leh..unless...someone boarded the bus 1st b4 paying...keke wah...I definately have move a lot if counted my childhood days.... Edited April 29, 2010 by wcseow Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 wah...I definately have move a lot if counted my childhood days.... How come u dont work as property agents?? I think u know more rules and regulation + history than most of them. haha And u should try moving off east side mah, u need to go airport often is it?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 wah...I definately have move a lot if counted my childhood days.... Lol...GG, u officially a nomad liao...i thot i was one, but considering ur childhood days, then we must go back looong time ago wor.....wahahaha...must have experienced kampung huts did you? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 (edited) Lol...GG, u officially a nomad liao...i thot i was one, but considering ur childhood days, then we must go back looong time ago wor.....wahahaha...must have experienced kampung huts did you? me moved enough liao....haven even start reno i already so tired of packing and moving. imagine finish reno....the cleaning, the moving...the unpacking.... *starts to scream in fear* *panicking* *fainted* already declare to hubby that i'm staying put after this round. he say "we'll see how...dun say so fast" *FAINTED TWICE* Edited April 30, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Lol...GG, u officially a nomad liao...i thot i was one, but considering ur childhood days, then we must go back looong time ago wor.....wahahaha...must have experienced kampung huts did you? lol....only in Malaysia hometown........... but when I pak-toring with my wife, she stay in kampong hut......take almost 20 minutes to walk in from main road if walk alone....30 minutes if walk together Share this post Link to post Share on other sites