Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 (edited) An update on last Sat inspection Was surprised to see tilers at work when we went to look at our house. Was told by ID that they are not working on wkends. So I asked the tilers, "thought u guys not working today?". And got the reply, "Becoz nothing to do, might as well come and work, and since tiling wont create much noise, so can work on wkend". Wow, impressed by their attitude. Think like what my ID mentioned, he paid them fully and timely, thats why they are more efficient. Unlike big company like C*** I********, they have bad reputation among the contractors, as they keep holding their payment even after work are completed. (this statement was told by one of the tiling contractor) My electrician are at work as well. Not bad, they are pretty efficient. Most of the needed work are almost completed. And ah keong's 2 workers (1 chinese, 1 indian) are quite pro as well. Very friendly chap. Told them that the dining light position are off, they immediately measure based on my requirement and relocate the pt. (refer to photos on prev post) So far happy with their performance. Will review more at the end of it. Edited March 8, 2010 by Angteko Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 (edited) Bro & Sis Would like your opinion, I'm stuck in between these two lights for dining. Which one do you guys/girls prefer? My ID go for the 2nd one, and my wife seems to like 1st one better. ur theme is barcelona manhattan tio? from my understanding it should be along the lines of sleek, masculine, modern and spacious right? if that is so, i'd vote for dining light 2.......but in rectangular shape...haha 1st one kinda grandeur more for classical or older themes fused with mordernity...2nd one the round light also nice la...ask ur ID to do sample 3Ds of both lights at the dining table lor...easier for you to visualise and make him work for his money...Lol just my 2 cents yah Edited March 8, 2010 by El Nino_Al Nito Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 Hi Angteko, Saw that your electrician doing conceal wiring for you. Not sure if you have made special instruction to your electrician to do the concealing. But the last that I heard about the guideline was all electrical works prohibited from concealing under the floor. Not sure if there's any amendments to this. Just to share, we prefer not to conceal our wiring as its very difficult or quite impossible to rectify future electrical issue as most electricians prefer not to take on cases of houses with concealed wiring as they want to prevent the hassle of rectifying the conceal areas. We encounter this twice and decided to leave our wiring un-conceal for the recent reno to avoid future hassle. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 Hi Angteko, Saw that your electrician doing conceal wiring for you. Not sure if you have made special instruction to your electrician to do the concealing. But the last that I heard about the guideline was all electrical works prohibited from concealing under the floor. Not sure if there's any amendments to this. Just to share, we prefer not to conceal our wiring as its very difficult or quite impossible to rectify future electrical issue as most electricians prefer not to take on cases of houses with concealed wiring as they want to prevent the hassle of rectifying the conceal areas. We encounter this twice and decided to leave our wiring un-conceal for the recent reno to avoid future hassle. Hi Rasp, I think it is better to conceal. Look nicer. If u got a new flat these days, the wirings are all concealed. The rectification part is always difficult. But I believe it is worth the hassle in my opinion. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 (edited) Hi Rasp, I think it is better to conceal. Look nicer. If u got a new flat these days, the wirings are all concealed. The rectification part is always difficult. But I believe it is worth the hassle in my opinion. Hi Mickey, Er.. personally, I don't think conceal wiring look nicer/better. To my opinion, only conceal plug and switches look nice (meaning, totally nothing shown on the wall, clean look wall). And after going through the previous hassles, we still stick on to our easy-maintenance motto. Hee.. For our reno, we didnt conceal any wire casing or build false-ceiling for lightings, and we even avoided wiring going into our carpentry. We also put in more effort to discuss and decide the wiring route for both the aircon & electrical. The end-result was neat and hardly noticeable. But for those having hanging lights/ those spot lights on a bar, I agree that concealed wiring definitely make these lights look better without that casing sticking out. But we didn't go for any hanging lights cause we're both scare off by the cleaning of those hanging ones. We belong to the ai mia mai swee kind. I have seen some blogs here where they went for conceal electrical wiring but their aircon route was like a big maze. And another blog who did conceal wiring and after the reno, the electrical works cannot make it (trip etc) and his electrician just refused to come back to settle it as everything was conceal which make it so difficult to check/'re-do'. Even when they check out other electricians, they are refused as no electrician want to clear **** for the earlier one. Edited March 8, 2010 by Rasp Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 Hi Mickey, Er.. personally, I don't think conceal wiring look nicer/better. To my opinion, only conceal plug and switches look nice (meaning, totally nothing shown on the wall, clean look wall). And after going through the previous hassles, we still stick on to our easy-maintenance motto. Hee.. For our reno, we didnt conceal any wire casing or build false-ceiling for lightings, and we even avoided wiring going into our carpentry. We also put in more effort to discuss and decide the wiring route for both the aircon & electrical. The end-result was neat and hardly noticeable. But for those having hanging lights/ those spot lights on a bar, I agree that concealed wiring definitely make these lights look better without that casing sticking out. But we didn't go for any hanging lights cause we're both scare off by the cleaning of those hanging ones. We belong to the ai mia mai swee kind. I have seen some blogs here where they went for conceal electrical wiring but their aircon route was like a big maze. And another blog who did conceal wiring and after the reno, the electrical works cannot make it (trip etc) and his electrician just refused to come back to settle it as everything was conceal which make it so difficult to check/'re-do'. Even when they check out other electricians, they are refused as no electrician want to clear **** for the earlier one. Hi Rasp, Actually, I have to correct myself by saying so long as trunkings are not expose, it is okie. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 (edited) ur theme is barcelona manhattan tio? from my understanding it should be along the lines of sleek, masculine, modern and spacious right? if that is so, i'd vote for dining light 2.......but in rectangular shape...haha 1st one kinda grandeur more for classical or older themes fused with mordernity...2nd one the round light also nice la...ask ur ID to do sample 3Ds of both lights at the dining table lor...easier for you to visualise and make him work for his money...Lol just my 2 cents yah Hi El Nino U are right for the theme. But my house too small to be spacious. keke Thanks for the reminder, I rem my ID told me not to go for round one, so I better double confirm with him. U make sense for the 1st one too. Need to discuss with my wife abt 1st one matching the theme. So my score now is 4-0. As for 3D, I dont even have the revised 3D after some changes, haha. So I think I too lazy to chase for another 3D just becoz of lightings. Thank you thank you!! Edited March 8, 2010 by Angteko Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 Hi Angteko, Saw that your electrician doing conceal wiring for you. Not sure if you have made special instruction to your electrician to do the concealing. But the last that I heard about the guideline was all electrical works prohibited from concealing under the floor. Not sure if there's any amendments to this. Just to share, we prefer not to conceal our wiring as its very difficult or quite impossible to rectify future electrical issue as most electricians prefer not to take on cases of houses with concealed wiring as they want to prevent the hassle of rectifying the conceal areas. We encounter this twice and decided to leave our wiring un-conceal for the recent reno to avoid future hassle. Hi Rasp The concealing under the floor was proposed by the electrician. My ID was against it, I think becoz like wat u mentioned abt the guideline. Thats the part where I said in my earlier post that the electrician challenge my ID. Anyway, that portion was just for my MBR, so I'm closing 1 eye also. Hopefully, nothing went wrong after reno. The other part of the house, was originally all conceal. So I guess we just continue with the concealing idea, and I suppose it will look better than wiring casing all over. The other reason y we do the floor concealing for MBR was becoz, the point happen to be at the wall where we hacked off. So if we dont make use of the point to do wiring, may have to tag on other point and run a long long way to our destinated point. This uncle ah keong seems so experience, so decided to go with his proposal. Crossing my fingers nothing went wrong. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 The other reason y we do the floor concealing for MBR was becoz, the point happen to be at the wall where we hacked off. So if we dont make use of the point to do wiring, may have to tag on other point and run a long long way to our destinated point. This uncle ah keong seems so experience, so decided to go with his proposal. Crossing my fingers nothing went wrong. well...if u are goin ahead with it, do ensure that the points in the MBR works immediately after the electrician completed. check with him the loading that room can tahan and try to max it out. just in case u add more electrical stuff in there, u gotta be sure the loading can sustain right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 well...if u are goin ahead with it, do ensure that the points in the MBR works immediately after the electrician completed. check with him the loading that room can tahan and try to max it out. just in case u add more electrical stuff in there, u gotta be sure the loading can sustain right? U mean there is different loading for each point?? I didnt know abt this, got to ask the electrician. Thanks for reminder! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 U mean there is different loading for each point?? I didnt know abt this, got to ask the electrician. Thanks for reminder! hmmm...not sure how i can explain this further, but maybe this link could help you abit? http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/...al?OpenDocument yeah, do ask ah keong just in case, but he probably would say its fine... can help me ask him something? im thinking of getting this built in oven but read on the above link that appliances with electrical rating exceeding 15amps power is not allowed...the oven apparently has a loading of 16amps...can i just apply for a permit to fix up a point or if i use a 15amp point, what will happen? frequent power trips? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 hmmm...not sure how i can explain this further, but maybe this link could help you abit? http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/...al?OpenDocument yeah, do ask ah keong just in case, but he probably would say its fine... can help me ask him something? im thinking of getting this built in oven but read on the above link that appliances with electrical rating exceeding 15amps power is not allowed...the oven apparently has a loading of 16amps...can i just apply for a permit to fix up a point or if i use a 15amp point, what will happen? frequent power trips? So chim. I'll help u ask him abt 16amps thingy. Perhaps he can explain to me better in person, rather than the technical words. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 Day 8: Midnight spot check Really was taken by surprised that progress are so fast. Very impressive work rate!! My living floor tiles done half way to the door steps My black black kitchen wall tiles up!! Looks posh!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 Common toilet colors look bright!! MBR toilet looks abit dull. Guess need some polishing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 8, 2010 MBR wooden door frame also up. Simply very satisfied with their performance so far. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites