Angteko

Our Very First B&c Home

haiz...i guess i'll stick to the soundbar then.... sigh......... what would be the ideal location of the speakers? maybe after 2 years since I tend to move after 2 years anyway :)

another headache is the MBR sound system, haven't figured it out yet... at first thought since we will mostly be watching football there don't need proper system, but just realized if I wanna watch dvd's/listen to music, no system!!

Wah..so fast want to move after renovate so nice??? Yours look like a condo though.

Hmm..MBR i think also difficult for 5.1 as your bed head will be against the wall too,unless u not watching dvd on bed.

But if u want to listen to music only, just get a simple 2.1 should be good enough bah.

Else get another soundbar. keke

lol..I heard my name......:)

still get can get the sound effect if the sofa is right against the wall as the sofa back still has a centre thickness. U can get a good speaker with wide sound spread or if u use a bookshelf type, then need to point the speaker towards the sitting position.

In my previous place, I have a couple of Pioneer speakers as my rear as it still can give the effect though not as good as when the rear speakers are behind u.

Soundbar in the living room typically does not do well. Most soundbar uses sound reflection to provide the surround effect and like what Angteko say, if the room is not enclosed u may not get the effect well.

Go for a true 5.1, u will not regret it.

like what Angteko say too, actually if music is the key, a 2.1 system may be good enuff. Most music are delivered via the front and sub unless u are into 5.1 music but then u need to get the proper disc and player...:)

Edited by wcseow

Wah..so fast want to move after renovate so nice??? Yours look like a condo though.

Hmm..MBR i think also difficult for 5.1 as your bed head will be against the wall too,unless u not watching dvd on bed.

But if u want to listen to music only, just get a simple 2.1 should be good enough bah.

Else get another soundbar. keke

hehe, so far moved in 1996, 1998, 2000, 2007 (longest stay! EA in Joo Seng Rd!!), 2010... so who knows!! my bf already hint hint wanna look at houses, I almost hit him!

for the MBR, may actually just get those ipod docking stations with radio and a separate dvd player, don't really need surround sound to just watch tv. I did ask a fellow RT posted if he would sell me his samsung player and soundbar.... see how!

lol..I heard my name......:)

still get can get the sound effect if the sofa is right against the wall as the sofa back still has a centre thickness. U can get a good speaker with wide sound spread or if u use a bookshelf type, then need to point the speaker towards the sitting position.

In my previous place, I have a couple of Pioneer speakers as my rear as it still can give the effect though not as good as when the rear speakers are behind u.

Soundbar in the living room typically does not do well. Most soundbar uses sound reflection to provide the surround effect and like what Angteko say, if the room is not enclosed u may not get the effect well.

Go for a true 5.1, u will not regret it.

like what Angteko say too, actually if music is the key, a 2.1 system may be good enuff. Most music are delivered via the front and sub unless u are into 5.1 music but then u need to get the proper disc and player...:)

but since it's last minute, they will have to redo all the wiring/hide the wires into the cove ceiling, right? i think I'll just suffer through the sound bar for a while.. if really cannot make it, then get a proper 5.1...

It is suppose to be how hdb having shared electrical points and if 1 have problem may affect a few other units. So if the hdb would want to determine the fault they will trace the wiring. If u conceal it makes their life harder. They may make u pull the wiring out and u have to patch back yourself earlier. If in casing, it is ezier to get to and repair. For condo the way they do the electrical points they are separated for each units. Therefore if there is any issue will only affect 1 unit. Something like tat...

So it ends up this no concealing rule loh.

orh I see... Thanks Zelly for your info!

Edited by infinitie

Eh..dont know how come not showing up, anyway I repost already.

I mount on the ceiling and just nice tilt 45 deg down under Lbox with 1 extension. Initially use 2 extension and it was too long down and looks ugly. Now is perfect!! :good:

Yah, initially plan to do under TV, but TV got to be at eye level, so only can put on top. And supposedly to tilt more down wards to ear level, but due to the monster cable wiring thickness, so can only title abit, but was super clear and sharp!! And I tested only on FM hor, havent try digital signal.

Yours sound like so pro also leh. :D

Yah, now then can see the rear speakers. :good:

eh, u mount and lay the cables urself meh?

K la, so long u tilt all those satelites towards ur seating area then u can enjoy the sounds in all its glory...:thumbs up: Try on a blu ray la...u shd be blown away irregardless entry level HTS or not..

wahahaha...:P

U bought for $799 ah? How many HDMI ports does ur system have? Hmm...me itchy backside think of getting another system for my gaming room.....maybe end of the year... :unsure:

wah, i a couple of days din come ur blog so many updates liao. Ang gor, I love ur curtains!!!!!!!!! showed hubby and he say nice. so we should be settling with Mr Chew.

I even more entry level for sound sys... I bought a mini-compo for my living rm yesterday from Mega Discount store. I think it's good enough for me. best thing is it can play anything including the erm....not so original discs. :D

Edited by samgalz

for the MBR, may actually just get those ipod docking stations with radio and a separate dvd player, don't really need surround sound to just watch tv. I did ask a fellow RT posted if he would sell me his samsung player and soundbar.... see how!

but since it's last minute, they will have to redo all the wiring/hide the wires into the cove ceiling, right? i think I'll just suffer through the sound bar for a while.. if really cannot make it, then get a proper 5.1...

What is the soundbar that is in ur hands now?

with a cove ceiling it looks easier to install...just place the spkr cables within the cove but then again not good leh coz of ur T5s, direct heat will deteriorate the condition of ur cables...

unless u willing to see casing running just below the L-box / false ceiling? :unsure:

Whats ur budget for 5.1 anyway if u plan to get?

with a cove ceiling it looks easier to install...just place the spkr cables within the cove but then again not good leh coz of ur T5s, direct heat will deteriorate the condition of ur cables...

unless u willing to see casing running just below the L-box / false ceiling? :unsure:

Philips blue ray, left the receipt in the new place so don't know the model number...

Jerome didn't agree to put the wires in the cove lights for that reason.... he said best to just get a 2.1 system to avoid the wiring issues coz the casing will be ugly, and can't put it in the cove area coz the heat of the lights will degrade the cables.

Budget.. hmmm not more than $1.5k? If I get a 2.1 system, which one should I get?? The TV is a Philips 47"

Edited by patsy_sg

hehe, so far moved in 1996, 1998, 2000, 2007 (longest stay! EA in Joo Seng Rd!!), 2010... so who knows!! my bf already hint hint wanna look at houses, I almost hit him!

Wah..u another house moving god like wcseow!!! I wonder if will be able to move house like drinking water, its so tiring to just do up 1 house and moving in. :rolleyes:

LIke what El's said, can consider running with the cove, i believe cove are more for deco, after sometime u wont be using it already. haha

Or if u have downlight, the electrician still able to pull your speaker wire thru from 1 end to the other.

And since wcseow said no issue with your sofa back to wall, so might as well give it a try. keke

Philips blue ray, left the receipt in the new place so don't know the model number...

Jerome didn't agree to put the wires in the cove lights for that reason.... he said best to just get a 2.1 system to avoid the wiring issues coz the casing will be ugly, and can't put it in the cove area coz the heat of the lights will degrade the cables.

Budget.. hmmm not more than $1.5k? If I get a 2.1 system, which one should I get?? The TV is a Philips 47"

wah..u got the philips blue ray sound bar ah?? Thats the most exp one isnt it?? fierce.

Seems like u are a philips fan like me. keke

Yah, now then can see the rear speakers. :good:

eh, u mount and lay the cables urself meh?

K la, so long u tilt all those satelites towards ur seating area then u can enjoy the sounds in all its glory...:thumbs up: Try on a blu ray la...u shd be blown away irregardless entry level HTS or not..

wahahaha...:P

U bought for $799 ah? How many HDMI ports does ur system have? Hmm...me itchy backside think of getting another system for my gaming room.....maybe end of the year... :unsure:

Eh...the electrician lay the cables, I only mount the speaks and installed the wiring.

Not an easy job to connect 5 speakers to the av, total 10 wire points to work on and each has +/-. :D

Today connect TV audio out to the AV...so shiok just watching tv. haha

Not buying blue ray yet leh, dont think will be using blue ray anytime soon. Will still stuck with DVD 1st.

Is $799 exp?? 3 HDMI in and 1 out. But the cons is the HDMI only process video, not audio. So need to connect extra optical or coaxial.

Btw, do u know if component HD AV cable good for digital signal?? Wanted to get one for my xbox becoz AV cant process hdmi audio.

wah, i a couple of days din come ur blog so many updates liao. Ang gor, I love ur curtains!!!!!!!!! showed hubby and he say nice. so we should be settling with Mr Chew.

I even more entry level for sound sys... I bought a mini-compo for my living rm yesterday from Mega Discount store. I think it's good enough for me. best thing is it can play anything including the erm....not so original discs. :D

No wonder my blog so quiet. haha

Yah, Mr chew really good with his recommendation. At least for my house lah, i feel.

How come u didnt list down in detail pricing for your purchase??

Edited by Angteko

wah..u got the philips blue ray sound bar ah?? Thats the most exp one isnt it?? fierce.

Seems like u are a philips fan like me. keke

Don't know if it's the most expensive one, it's the HTS8160B/98 (found the model on the net) got it in HN with my oven, fridge and tv all for about 6k... with 5 years extended warranty.

yeah, am a super Philips fan, also cause of their service centre has been quite dependable through the years....

now cracking my head as to which one to buy!! fiancee said just get another sound bar and let the sound bounce off the bookshelf.. but dunno if nice or not.

Btw, do u know if component HD AV cable good for digital signal?? Wanted to get one for my xbox becoz AV cant process hdmi audio.

U mention component HD AV cable....if this is the right one, then it is for video not audio. For ur xbox, u should use the optical audio connection. Just buy the cheapest optical cable u can found, I do not think we can tell the difference....

Eh...the electrician lay the cables, I only mount the speaks and installed the wiring.

Not an easy job to connect 5 speakers to the av, total 10 wire points to work on and each has +/-. :D

Today connect TV audio out to the AV...so shiok just watching tv. haha

Not buying blue ray yet leh, dont think will be using blue ray anytime soon. Will still stuck with DVD 1st.

Is $799 exp?? 3 HDMI in and 1 out. But the cons is the HDMI only process video, not audio. So need to connect extra optical or coaxial.

No wonder my blog so quiet. haha

Yah, Mr chew really good with his recommendation. At least for my house lah, i feel.

How come u didnt list down in detail pricing for your purchase??

wait later u say i paid too much again how? i will cry my heart out leh...

anyway, was in a hurry so din bother to type all just total figure.

Don't know if it's the most expensive one, it's the HTS8160B/98 (found the model on the net) got it in HN with my oven, fridge and tv all for about 6k... with 5 years extended warranty.

yeah, am a super Philips fan, also cause of their service centre has been quite dependable through the years....

now cracking my head as to which one to buy!! fiancee said just get another sound bar and let the sound bounce off the bookshelf.. but dunno if nice or not.

Seems like u are more into sound than your guy. haha

Eh..as for which to buy hor..need to expertise to guide u le. :o