Angteko

Our Very First B&c Home

My philips TV came today as well. Took photo with wife sleeping infront of it and was ban from uploading the photos. haha :P

Anyway, I had an issue with the reception. I connected to the SCV point, but the only channel I'm able to find is channel U and Okto. Somemore it was blurred. What's wrong with it?

1) The antenna wire issue?

2) The SCV point issue??

If no. 2 then jia lat liao, wonder if can fix easily. :unsure:

Does anyone knows what to do if its no. 2 issue?

My philips TV came today as well. Took photo with wife sleeping infront of it and was ban from uploading the photos. haha :P

Anyway, I had an issue with the reception. I connected to the SCV point, but the only channel I'm able to find is channel U and Okto. Somemore it was blurred. What's wrong with it?

1) The antenna wire issue?

2) The SCV point issue??

If no. 2 then jia lat liao, wonder if can fix easily. :unsure:

Does anyone knows what to do if its no. 2 issue?

1) U got to determine first whether it is a SCV point or TV antenna point. Sometimes there are 2, and electrician mixed it up and connect wrongly. Do u remember original are there 2 points?

2) If it is a SCV point, it is actually easier cause u could either use ur cable modem to measure the signal quality or have Starhub measured it when u applied for SCV..

3) But either way,. u are supposed to receive the Mediacorp channels well, especially if it is a SCV point.

I think since the TV is already there, can get CLC to have it check out......do u have a chance to test out other point?

Edited by wcseow

Hey, the dining table is nice.

I am trying to find a rectangular dining table with centre stand only and can sit 6-8 ppl.

What is the stand material made of?....

Do they have a frosted glass top instead...:)

Can tell me how muchie...:)

1) U got to determine first whether it is a SCV point or TV antenna point. Sometimes there are 2, and electrician mixed it up and connect wrongly. Do u remember original are there 2 points?

2) If it is a SCV point, it is actually easier cause u could either use ur cable modem to measure the signal quality or have Starhub measured it when u applied for SCV..

3) But either way,. u are supposed to receive the Mediacorp channels well, especially if it is a SCV point.

I think since the TV is already there, can get CLC to have it check out......do u have a chance to test out other point?

Ah..got 2 different point ah?? I thought nowadays all 1 point only. But either point should do the trick for normal TV channel isnt it?? Or do I have to subscribe from HDB on TV?? I rem there is a annual charge for TV license???

I dont have cable modem now, I wonder with the poor reception, still can go for cable modem or not.

Going to test out the other point in room, coz tv too heavy, and nobody help me carry. haha

Hey, the dining table is nice.

I am trying to find a rectangular dining table with centre stand only and can sit 6-8 ppl.

What is the stand material made of?....

Do they have a frosted glass top instead...:)

Can tell me how muchie...:)

That table can only house 6 max, dont think have a longer one. If u want 6-8 with center stand, I recommend u to Rustica. I like one alot, but too long for me. The middle portion are 4 stand poles, then just one thin layer of cushion. The con is, u are not able to stretch your legs with this.

I cant recall seeing any frosted top, usually they do it with black coated below and floral design on top.

My dining set cost RM1388, cheap. keke

This is the set I referring to. If you have mirror in your dining, the V shape legs are actually very nice. But size too big and out of my budget also.

p1040262r.jpg

p1040263d.jpg

Edited by Angteko

SCV is cable infrastructure, thus technically u should not have poor reception issue. Signal quality issue may arise but that is most likely due to poor cable joints or inappropriate isolation/termination. These are typically easily fixed by the wiring guy.

Mediacorp TV used antenna, via air, thus u could have poor reception due to a number of factors. If it is due to poor air reception, then it is typically difficult to fix. Otherwise, it will be due to poor cable joints/termination also.

Not sure about new flats, but those old flats they will have 2 points...:)

SCV is cable infrastructure, thus technically u should not have poor reception issue. Signal quality issue may arise but that is most likely due to poor cable joints or inappropriate isolation/termination. These are typically easily fixed by the wiring guy.

Mediacorp TV used antenna, via air, thus u could have poor reception due to a number of factors. If it is due to poor air reception, then it is typically difficult to fix. Otherwise, it will be due to poor cable joints/termination also.

Not sure about new flats, but those old flats they will have 2 points...:)

Orh...thanks for the great info! My probably can fix easily. Will ask my electrician.

I just move my heavy tv to my mbr to test the point, and it was clear!

So confirm is the point prob. Hopefully is like what u mention, is easily fix for scv. :D

Grats Ang! Finally it's hand over! hehehehe....

Your kitchen looks very very very nice leh....come come, post more photos plz!!!!

BTW, where is your MBR photos? P&C? hehehehe...

Grats Ang! Finally it's hand over! hehehehe....

Your kitchen looks very very very nice leh....come come, post more photos plz!!!!

BTW, where is your MBR photos? P&C? hehehehe...

haha..thanks...kitchen still want more photos?? No more angle for me to take le leh...haha

MBR still empty wor...got to wait for my official move in, then my bed and study desk will all come together.

P&C only when we are around, not P&C when empty. keke :P

Next wkend sofa arrive, clean and rearrange le then got more pic bah.

So tiring cleaning the whole house by myself. :o

hey ang! congrats on your reno completion! love the bright orange in your kitchen..i think the overall theme of barcelona manhanttan came out well..you must be very pleased! :) my turn coming soon... :unsure: wish me luck!

eh...lilith...his is red backsplash....either his camera no good or the photographer skill no good :P

oops, my bad..haha ok la, red/orange about the same..looks good can already..!

Agree...actually if orange also nice ah.... :rolleyes: