Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 3, 2010 Tiles are also here! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dannywmp 3 Report post Posted March 3, 2010 Thanks Danny! How is your Philips TV so far?? I'm targeting 40" 7409 series..not sure how it fare. Alot of pple tell me not to get philips but I simply like the design, specs also looks good. Hopefully next wk IT fair will give good offer! I simply love my Philips TV with no regrets at all and as you know I am great supporter of Philips products. My TV, Soundbar, Blue ray, DVD recorder, DVD player and previous 32" LCD all from philips Why I like the brand because of the design and its "curve" ...the only design that can match will be Samsumg but the LED series... You are right, the specs are unbeatable... but why the 7 series and not the 8 series (LED) leh? I think if I have not gotten my 9 series (good price that time...only $1999 for a 1week plus display set) I will have taken this new 8 series LED model. Anyway, my impression of getting TV from IT show is that the new and sellable model usually not cheap...maybe some extra goodies like HDMI cables, perhaps free Blue-ray player or DVD player etc... If you can wait, the Philips Warehouse sale is the really good time to gaps cheap and good philips product... I got my blue ray player at $169 and soundbar $249 and till today, I cannot find a place that can match the price... Cheers and happy shopping for goodies... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dannywmp 3 Report post Posted March 3, 2010 Thats black solid top. I know abt the con, but no choice loh. Cant match with other color also, and dont like granite. I think another con is if place hot stuff, may leave white marks right? Will see how it goes in the future. Hi Bro, Rondy is very right...is very difficult to maintenance the black solid top. Mine already had multiply scratches in many areas...eye sore. I should have taken grey colour that time... Since you not done yet, why not take black granite or quartz...or change to grey colour... Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 The 3D dwgs is impressive.. The dining room, I like the black area on the walls, is that tiles or laminates? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 (edited) I simply love my Philips TV with no regrets at all and as you know I am great supporter of Philips products. My TV, Soundbar, Blue ray, DVD recorder, DVD player and previous 32" LCD all from philips Why I like the brand because of the design and its "curve" ...the only design that can match will be Samsumg but the LED series... You are right, the specs are unbeatable... but why the 7 series and not the 8 series (LED) leh? I think if I have not gotten my 9 series (good price that time...only $1999 for a 1week plus display set) I will have taken this new 8 series LED model. Anyway, my impression of getting TV from IT show is that the new and sellable model usually not cheap...maybe some extra goodies like HDMI cables, perhaps free Blue-ray player or DVD player etc... If you can wait, the Philips Warehouse sale is the really good time to gaps cheap and good philips product... I got my blue ray player at $169 and soundbar $249 and till today, I cannot find a place that can match the price... Cheers and happy shopping for goodies... Its so encouraging to hear your review. I'm sure to stick with Philips then. Haha 8 series LED??? I'm only going for 7 series LCD wor. No $$ for LED. But if you are referring to LCD, I think the difference between 7 & 8 is only the ambience light right? Unless the price reduced alot, if not I will still stick to 7 series bah. Hopefully it will drop close to 1k. Btw, u know when the warehouse sale will be?? I also want to get the soundbar. Model 6120 I think. The lowest I seen was around 800. Still very exp. Edited March 4, 2010 by Angteko Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 Hi Bro, Rondy is very right...is very difficult to maintenance the black solid top. Mine already had multiply scratches in many areas...eye sore. I should have taken grey colour that time... Since you not done yet, why not take black granite or quartz...or change to grey colour... Cheers Hmm...then I better ask my ID. Is there are price difference for granite or quartz? Grey color like not so outstanding against white. So it is advisable not to get dark color solid top?? If thats the case, then I really got limited option. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 The 3D dwgs is impressive.. The dining room, I like the black area on the walls, is that tiles or laminates? Thanks wcseow! U mean the one next to the kitchen door? Thats my feature wall for storeroom and its laminate call "love letters". Suppose to have wordings like writing love letters. So far havent seen anyone use that, coz it might look messy. But my ID keep assure me that it would be nice and unique. He always proposed something bold and something nobody uses. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dannywmp 3 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 (edited) Its so encouraging to hear your review. I'm sure to stick with Philips then. Haha 8 series LED??? I'm only going for 7 series LCD wor. No $$ for LED. But if you are referring to LCD, I think the difference between 7 & 8 is only the ambience light right? Unless the price reduced alot, if not I will still stick to 7 series bah. Hopefully it will drop close to 1k. Btw, u know when the warehouse sale will be?? I also want to get the soundbar. Model 6120 I think. The lowest I seen was around 800. Still very exp. I have a link for you to compare the specs of 7,8 and 9 series...for 8 series there is 2 model, 1 LCD and 1 LED both with ambient light... http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/televisi...CONSUMER%3Dtrue In the link, u will also see the soundbar model... Last year was around Aug/ Sept...for thr warehouse sales. Haha...I did not get the very ex sound bar, mine the lower end one with without DVD/ Blue ray function...but cost less then $240 and with 2 HDMI Input and 1 HDMI output so I bought a blue ray player to connect up...total damage less then $500... so far happy with the outcome... My ear not very sensitive to high quality audio but my eye more choosy to visual ...so invested in better TV set... Back to the black solid top...those scratches if not too deep can still be polish by this 3M stainless steel spray...recommend by installer...but if the scratch is deep hor...good luck. Until today, I still dunno how some of scratches were formed? Edited March 4, 2010 by dannywmp Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 Its so encouraging to hear your review. I'm sure to stick with Philips then. Haha 8 series LED??? I'm only going for 7 series LCD wor. No $$ for LED. But if you are referring to LCD, I think the difference between 7 & 8 is only the ambience light right? Unless the price reduced alot, if not I will still stick to 7 series bah. Hopefully it will drop close to 1k. Btw, u know when the warehouse sale will be?? I also want to get the soundbar. Model 6120 I think. The lowest I seen was around 800. Still very exp. hi, that makes three of us who are fans of the philips ambilight tv! 7 series up is worth getting for philips in terms of functions but u gotta know ur needs and wants yah. wah, danny u got the soundbar for $249??? good price leh...but to wait till aug or sept ah..hmm.. im thinking of getting one for my gaming room. either that or a yamaha. hope can find one less than $300 like urs also sia..haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 last time i went to my friend place and saw his black Solid top, barely use for 1 year already have very visible sketches line. I asked why he didnt take care of it?He told me his parent always drag the pot on top of it, and that is the end result! maybe danny can post up how badly it can be...let him have mental prepared. Granite is more expensive,but it have visible joint line unlike solid top, it come with the whole piece! By the way,just to remind you,ask the contractor to do a UNDERMOUNT sink for u in the kitchen, it looks much nicer! i agree to this. solid top is advisable to get lighter shade to minimise eye sore on the scratches. they are not as heat resistant and scratch resistant but more water resistant than granite. darker shade maybe u go for granite top. pfr is about $120 yah. granite more heat resistant but since they are natural stone, granite are porous and are not as stain resistant. so many choices and pros and cons as long as u r happy and not bothered, go for ur wants and needs! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 last time i went to my friend place and saw his black Solid top, barely use for 1 year already have very visible sketches line. I asked why he didnt take care of it?He told me his parent always drag the pot on top of it, and that is the end result! maybe danny can post up how badly it can be...let him have mental prepared. Granite is more expensive,but it have visible joint line unlike solid top, it come with the whole piece! By the way,just to remind you,ask the contractor to do a UNDERMOUNT sink for u in the kitchen, it looks much nicer! I asked my ID liao..he say granite is $12 pf more exp, but like wat u said, there will be joint line and are prone to water marks. And I need to stick to dark color top, so I guess no choice to stick with solid top. Just need to be extra careful next tiime. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 last time i went to my friend place and saw his black Solid top, barely use for 1 year already have very visible sketches line. I asked why he didnt take care of it?He told me his parent always drag the pot on top of it, and that is the end result! maybe danny can post up how badly it can be...let him have mental prepared. Granite is more expensive,but it have visible joint line unlike solid top, it come with the whole piece! By the way,just to remind you,ask the contractor to do a UNDERMOUNT sink for u in the kitchen, it looks much nicer! Btw, I think i followed your post last time for the undermount sink, and ask my ID abt it. But he said that better not undermount as the water might seep thru in between. So I'll stick to the top mount type instead. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 I have a link for you to compare the specs of 7,8 and 9 series...for 8 series there is 2 model, 1 LCD and 1 LED both with ambient light... http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/televisi...CONSUMER%3Dtrue In the link, u will also see the soundbar model... Last year was around Aug/ Sept...for thr warehouse sales. Haha...I did not get the very ex sound bar, mine the lower end one with without DVD/ Blue ray function...but cost less then $240 and with 2 HDMI Input and 1 HDMI output so I bought a blue ray player to connect up...total damage less then $500... so far happy with the outcome... My ear not very sensitive to high quality audio but my eye more choosy to visual ...so invested in better TV set... Back to the black solid top...those scratches if not too deep can still be polish by this 3M stainless steel spray...recommend by installer...but if the scratch is deep hor...good luck. Until today, I still dunno how some of scratches were formed? The LED series is out of my budget. I think i should be fine with LCD. Maybe when 3D launch and LED drop price few yrs later then upgrade. Aug is very far away wor. Plan to move in in May. Cant go without TV for 3 mths bah. I'm always at the wrong timing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 hi, that makes three of us who are fans of the philips ambilight tv! 7 series up is worth getting for philips in terms of functions but u gotta know ur needs and wants yah. wah, danny u got the soundbar for $249??? good price leh...but to wait till aug or sept ah..hmm.. im thinking of getting one for my gaming room. either that or a yamaha. hope can find one less than $300 like urs also sia..haha. El Nino, are u using the 7 series currently? How is it? I saw yamaha one, very impressive. Definitely better than philips, but the prices are like 3-4 times more also loh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dannywmp 3 Report post Posted March 4, 2010 Btw, I think i followed your post last time for the undermount sink, and ask my ID abt it. But he said that better not undermount as the water might seep thru in between. So I'll stick to the top mount type instead. bro...not true leh, undermount is much much nicer...dun worry about the water seep thru...if they do it properly, no water will go thru...they put a lot of sealent around the sink and on the wood top and put the solid top on then sealent again...no chance water seep thru... Some contractor will tell u dun do undermount because the job more effort and workmanship...top mount very easy just put on top of solid top then put sealent around it...so easy...thats why most ID/ contractor advice customer to do top mount... Actually you look at it, if water will to seep thru top or undermount got no difference leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites