El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 Hi Angteko That time I bought mine at those DIY stores, like HomeFix though the selection is not large. Those Adelphi stores have too, but they could be priced higher. Really depend on the type and support of speaker weight. The price range could go from $20 to $100....lol El Nino Al Nino Speaker placement, IMHO, is still best at ear level. Either put on the console or buy a pair of speaker stand.....ceiling mount is still ok, just that u got it tilt... yah, i know tats why i thot of getting a pair of speaker stands but the KEC guy advised me against it. my major concern is, if i go for ceiling mount, that means the installer have to run the cables up into the L-box already...then the brackets will be up there also..but if sound quality is crap to me, i gotta move the speakers onto console thus leaving the brackets all lonely up there. then, if i decide to go for console placement, what abt the rear spkrs? my concern here is, if i move around my furniture, i.e. change tv position from wall A to the opposite wall B, my rear spkrs on wall B i gotta shift to wall A right or just swap the cables at the amplifier ports? i think worse come to worse, ceiling mount with the 4 satelites being tilted towards seating area is fine for me.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 yah, i know tats why i thot of getting a pair of speaker stands but the KEC guy advised me against it. my major concern is, if i go for ceiling mount, that means the installer have to run the cables up into the L-box already...then the brackets will be up there also..but if sound quality is crap to me, i gotta move the speakers onto console thus leaving the brackets all lonely up there. then, if i decide to go for console placement, what abt the rear spkrs? my concern here is, if i move around my furniture, i.e. change tv position from wall A to the opposite wall B, my rear spkrs on wall B i gotta shift to wall A right or just swap the cables at the amplifier ports? i think worse come to worse, ceiling mount with the 4 satelites being tilted towards seating area is fine for me.. 1. mmm...they advise against speaker stand?...probably the Pro600 speaker may not have support for stand...:0 2. Since u bought Pro600, according to the website, the 4 satellites are all the same. So u do not need to change speakers per se, since any can be use to front or rear. So yes I guess, just move the connecttions....but...u will move TV around?... 3. L-box easy to patched up, right?...lol........... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 1. mmm...they advise against speaker stand?...probably the Pro600 speaker may not have support for stand...:0 2. Since u bought Pro600, according to the website, the 4 satellites are all the same. So u do not need to change speakers per se, since any can be use to front or rear. So yes I guess, just move the connecttions....but...u will move TV around?... 3. L-box easy to patched up, right?...lol........... yah man...was served by dennis if u went there before. hmm...no support for stands meh? will check this out if i intend to...i think his reasoning was coz sound diffusement is better if on the shelf or wall mount at ear level but like so goondu lor to have 4 spkrs sticking out on the walls...haha yup...dennis also assured me on this...but i better test out that baby when i get it just in case he bluff me..haha izit? L-box easy to patch up by ourselves ah? if not and i require contractor considered not easy la...must be able to DIY one..hehe... thanks for the sharing wcseow! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 Hi Angteko That time I bought mine at those DIY stores, like HomeFix though the selection is not large. Those Adelphi stores have too, but they could be priced higher. Really depend on the type and support of speaker weight. The price range could go from $20 to $100....lol El Nino Al Nino Speaker placement, IMHO, is still best at ear level. Either put on the console or buy a pair of speaker stand.....ceiling mount is still ok, just that u got it tilt... Lol...my mum is just the user. Setup I need to do......not so power....but power enjoyment...!!!...lol Thanks!! I'll pop by homefix and see what they got. No, i mean, the moment u on will use power and since its not energy saving, might wna use sparsely. but if just the dining light is halogen, wun impact ur bills much la...only if maybe all ur lights use halogen then worry more lor...hehe Lol...i think it indirectly warms the area under its light la...not intended to purposely warm food loh... Orh..lucky, I thought my bill will be horrible with just dining light. haha yah, i know tats why i thot of getting a pair of speaker stands but the KEC guy advised me against it. my major concern is, if i go for ceiling mount, that means the installer have to run the cables up into the L-box already...then the brackets will be up there also..but if sound quality is crap to me, i gotta move the speakers onto console thus leaving the brackets all lonely up there. then, if i decide to go for console placement, what abt the rear spkrs? my concern here is, if i move around my furniture, i.e. change tv position from wall A to the opposite wall B, my rear spkrs on wall B i gotta shift to wall A right or just swap the cables at the amplifier ports? i think worse come to worse, ceiling mount with the 4 satelites being tilted towards seating area is fine for me.. Dont think so far away lah, try not to change placement for 10 yrs loh..keke Try to put place everything the best way it is now and nothing can be better until u moved...haha Another idea is to do a round movable flooring for living, something like Mickey's. Then u want to shift opposite, just turn the whole flooring...wahah Actually i dont like speaker stand, like so bulky. If want speaker stand, might as well buy those HTS with the big tall front speaker right? And I doubt it will sound so bad by hanging up the wall right?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 yah man...was served by dennis if u went there before. hmm...no support for stands meh? will check this out if i intend to...i think his reasoning was coz sound diffusement is better if on the shelf or wall mount at ear level but like so goondu lor to have 4 spkrs sticking out on the walls...haha yup...dennis also assured me on this...but i better test out that baby when i get it just in case he bluff me..haha izit? L-box easy to patch up by ourselves ah? if not and i require contractor considered not easy la...must be able to DIY one..hehe... thanks for the sharing wcseow! eh..u saying me goondu?? whaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 I think the most important thing is stability. Thus u see the good speakers stands are very solid and sturdy. Sometimes, those tall boy type are actually speakers on the stand, they just blend the stand in. E.g, if console is made of plywood(lol.), then also not advisable to put on console. But then having said all these, most ppl cannot hear the difference, especially if it is use for movies as placement/effects/sub takes over the experience. Will they come and set it up/tune it for u?.....or just let the Denon do it automatically after u have set it up. (MultiEQ and Room EQ).... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 Day 25 Arrival of kitchen accessories Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 My Fav industrial tap Kitchen cabinet upz upz!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 The cabinet layout looks abit weird. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 25, 2010 Wood backing for my dining mirror Look at how thick the backing is! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2010 eh..u saying me goondu?? whaha Lol...not you la...! im saying the KEC suggestion was abit goondu la to mount speakers on the middle of the wall... im also gonna have 4 speakers sticking out from ceiling like urs mah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2010 The cabinet layout looks abit weird. what is weird abt the cabinet layout? no doors...? hahaha u got go thru with the carpenter how u want the layout and dimensions to be right? yeah, thick wood backing for a large mirror is good mah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted March 26, 2010 Wood backing for my dining mirror Look at how thick the backing is! All the better to support your heavy mirror Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Clementi_PR 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2010 Wood backing for my dining mirror Halo Angteko, Is there any Feng Shui consideration to put mirror on the dining? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angteko 0 Report post Posted March 26, 2010 what is weird abt the cabinet layout? no doors...? hahaha u got go thru with the carpenter how u want the layout and dimensions to be right? yeah, thick wood backing for a large mirror is good mah! haha..not sure, maybe really no doors that make it looks weird..haha Did went thru with ID, but didnt not went thru on the sink area, where the drawers are placed inside. Then left with only 1 door for the L area. Wonder how i can make use of the space deep in. The thicker it is, the more space it is taking up mah, my house so small already wor. Somemore sofa 3m, think no walking space liao, must climb over sofa everytime. wahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites