Angteko

Our Very First B&c Home

u beri fast hor, i only post in another thread not long ago, u found out liao ah. :bow::bow:

no la, i just happen to read your other post prior to this....lol

too formal liao for her...

Samy jie, if ur hubby comes ard RT, do we address him as Mr Ong or Uncle Sam? :huh:

sam is my name lah....not his. u like u call him mr ong lor :D

he not likely will log in...so far jus peep over my shoulder when i show him nice pics, that's all

GG, good info here. Any idea if the Wii have optical audio connection? i think Wii has no HDMI right?

i read that PS3 connects via HDMI and uses bitstream for best audio. But i thot HDMI only process video, not audio? If i have to use the optical connection, this would force the PS3 to downgrade the HD audio (lossless/HR) to low bitrate lossy SD audio leh...:unsure:

So basically, if a device only provides Dolby Digital/DTS (eg DVD or Mio/SCV), i dun need to connect to the AVR if im short of ports tio?

The current WII do not have optical audio nor HDMI. They have component video though but most games will run at 480p.

HDMI support both video and audio (thus Dolby TruHD etc...). Some AV receivers do not, but most current dedicated AV receivers support it. By dedicated I mean it is not part of a HTS (lol..like Angteko one)...:).........btw DVI support video only and it is similar to HDMI video part...:)

Only PS3 slim support HDMI bitstream and LPCM, fat PS3 support HDMI LPCM only. But either way u get "true" 5.1. Most ppl will not be able to differentiate lossless from "non lossless" anyway...so IMNO not necessary a downgrade...:)

I will say for all audio should go to AV receiver so that u can listen from the main speakers. U also get simulated surround from analog sources as well, or u can program it to be send to all 5 speakers...lol. Video u might not need to as some DVD players(e.g) already do the upscaliing and some ppl prefer the DVD players (those good ones like Oppo etc..) to do the upscaling then low-range AV receiver....:)

Hope it help

Edited by wcseow

I dont know why mine dont have optical socket leh. U know where can it be found??

Btw, mine is the xbox 360 arcade, no hard drive one.

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x/xbox3...mponenthdcable/

This is the component cable I'm referring to, it says in description,

Showcase stunning Xbox 360 high-definition graphics with the component connection on your HDTV. Play high-quality audio with the included stereo connection or use the optical audio port for digital sound. The eight-foot shielded cable also includes the more traditional composite connections for use with standard-definition televisions.

and also in specs

Dolby® Digital 5.1 Surround Sound output

This is the optical socket u also talking abt right?? So analog does not give 5.1 ah??

Then my TV audio output to AV will not have 5.1 le loh. :bangwall:

So just to confirm, if I uses this, i will get both digital video and audio right??

The "old" Xbox arcade version only comes with composite video/audio cable (all analog). The current Xbox arcade version have HDMI port already. Which version u bought?....

Yes, that is the optical socket I am talking about. U will need a optical cable too to connect to the AV receiver. The component video will goes into the appropriate component video input.

BTW component video typically is analog not digital, but they can achieve up to 1080p (though not common) resolution. Optical audio typically carries digital audio.....:)

Your TV audio output may have optical audio output....:)

Also there is a switch on the xbox cable, remember to switch it to HD, and then configure ur xbox for 1080p or 1080i and enable optical audio...:)

din really bang wall lah...cos it's a different thing I bought...thought to splurge a little on ourselves...but after thinking thru, we are checking with Edmund whether he can construct a small table top in the common for us to mount a countertop basin at the price cheaper than the basin set. if ok then i shall change the basin set at GR Link to something else since my kitchen sink, tap, accessories, 2 way bath tap, MBR basin all not decided yet. told hubby maybe it was a little too much splurge we did....hehe :D We check with GR and they say should be ok to change cos we are also worried about the dimensions.

I thought Zelly is referring she is imagining me like Queen singing "Champion"...this is not eyes got prob. this is communication prob, ok bro? *faint*

Eh..u mean Edmund did not follow u to your purchase?? How abt WC? I think there are different sizes of dont know what it may called.

So becareful with the WC also, and make sure they give u all the necessary bracket required, especially if u want to go for wall mount sink.

;)

sam is my name lah....not his. u like u call him mr ong lor :D

he not likely will log in...so far jus peep over my shoulder when i show him nice pics, that's all

wah..then the both of u got ong ong (lucky) or not?? keke

My unit no. skip 1st prize again last sat. :bangwall:

The same no. as I mention b4 that came out 1st prize on my 1st appointment. :curse:

I went to check the unit, and it is my corner unit neighbour who has 2 big pineapple hanging at their door steps.

Maybe I also go hang pineapple. haha :sport-smiley-004:

Super lucky neighbour, got 1st prize twice within 4 mths.

Edited by Angteko

The current WII do not have optical audio nor HDMI. They have component video though but most games will run at 480p.

HDMI support both video and audio (thus Dolby TruHD etc...). Some AV receivers do not, but most current dedicated AV receivers support it. By dedicated I mean it is not part of a HTS (lol..like Angteko one)...:).........btw DVI support video only and it is similar to HDMI video part...:)

Only PS3 slim support HDMI bitstream and LPCM, fat PS3 support HDMI LPCM only. But either way u get "true" 5.1. Most ppl will not be able to differentiate lossless from "non lossless" anyway...so IMNO not necessary a downgrade...:)

I will say for all audio should go to AV receiver so that u can listen from the main speakers. U also get simulated surround from analog sources as well, or u can program it to be send to all 5 speakers...lol. Video u might not need to as some DVD players(e.g) already do the upscaliing and some ppl prefer the DVD players (those good ones like Oppo etc..) to do the upscaling then low-range AV receiver....:)

Hope it help

The "old" Xbox arcade version only comes with composite video/audio cable (all analog). The current Xbox arcade version have HDMI port already. Which version u bought?....

Yes, that is the optical socket I am talking about. U will need a optical cable too to connect to the AV receiver. The component video will goes into the appropriate component video input.

BTW component video typically is analog not digital, but they can achieve up to 1080p (though not common) resolution. Optical audio typically carries digital audio.....:)

Your TV audio output may have optical audio output....:)

Also there is a switch on the xbox cable, remember to switch it to HD, and then configure ur xbox for 1080p or 1080i and enable optical audio...:)

Wah..wcseow u really live up to your nick. :good:

I just read more on the audio thingy also, just realise need additional optical cable, and that one sold by xbox is only a audio adaptor. KNS!!

My set comes with HDMI port, I wonder if they sell audio adaptor alone, as I got a few HDMI cable liao.

Btw, component that display up to 1080p, does it present equally well as HDMI?

Conceal wiring in the floor

p1040340v.jpg

p1040339z.jpg

Conceal wiring in wall :good:

p1040334n.jpg

I thought HDB does not allow homeowners to do their own concealed wiring? I asked my ID to conceal it and he told me it is illegal... :-(

Orh..mine special...mine is condo HDB. keke :D

Wah..wcseow u really live up to your nick. :good:

I just read more on the audio thingy also, just realise need additional optical cable, and that one sold by xbox is only a audio adaptor. KNS!!

My set comes with HDMI port, I wonder if they sell audio adaptor alone, as I got a few HDMI cable liao.

Btw, component that display up to 1080p, does it present equally well as HDMI?

If ur set comes with HDMI port, then u can buy the HDMI/optical adaptor which come with a cable. U are refering to this right?

http://www.xbox.com/zh-SG/hardware/x/xbox360hdmiavcable/

I will say it will be the same, 1080p over HDMI or component. But not all TV (and for that matter AV receviers too) support 1080p on component. Most support 1080i only. Thus it will need ur AV receiver to do the conversion or just maintain the same.

Hi Angteko

Ur philips TV is 42PFL7409 right?.....if it is there should have a digital audio output. It is coax SPDIF not optical. Ur AV receiver should have a audio digital input as well. So u can connect it there. The AV receiver should pass HDMI video/audio to the TV and TV should then output the audio via coaz back to AV receiver. Pls note u will also need to configure the TV to output audio to digital coax port.

U can try by using the normal composite audio cable first...if it works, then u can buy a better one.

Hope it help

Eh..u mean Edmund did not follow u to your purchase?? How abt WC? I think there are different sizes of dont know what it may called.

So becareful with the WC also, and make sure they give u all the necessary bracket required, especially if u want to go for wall mount sink.

;)

no we went ourselves. we prefer to go ourselves. I know abt the WC thingy and GR also reminded us. but the model we order has both 6" and 10", just that we have not indicated which size. GR says that can pend until our contractor inform us the size, so long before delivery. Already mentioned to Edmund and he say he will inform me after they hack.

yup know abt the wall mount sink thingy, anyway we dun hv wall mounted ones. BTW, in the end we decided to keep the glass basin set and Edmund has calculated that size is ok. Edmund says the glass basin set is worth it. :good:

If ur set comes with HDMI port, then u can buy the HDMI/optical adaptor which come with a cable. U are refering to this right?

http://www.xbox.com/zh-SG/hardware/x/xbox360hdmiavcable/

I will say it will be the same, 1080p over HDMI or component. But not all TV (and for that matter AV receviers too) support 1080p on component. Most support 1080i only. Thus it will need ur AV receiver to do the conversion or just maintain the same.

Yes, referring to this one, but I only want the optical adaptor. keke

Wonder if they sell like OEM pack with that only, going to search for it 2morrow.

Btw, today I tested with HDMI video input to AV then out to TV.

The video selection in my xbox console come with choices in this format 1280x1080 (cant rem the num) and not like what u mention 1080i or 1080p.

Is this correct? Image looks good though.

Hi Angteko

Ur philips TV is 42PFL7409 right?.....if it is there should have a digital audio output. It is coax SPDIF not optical. Ur AV receiver should have a audio digital input as well. So u can connect it there. The AV receiver should pass HDMI video/audio to the TV and TV should then output the audio via coaz back to AV receiver. Pls note u will also need to configure the TV to output audio to digital coax port.

U can try by using the normal composite audio cable first...if it works, then u can buy a better one.

Hope it help

Yah, thats my TV model, but hor, no digital audio output leh. The coax is input wor.

I tested with composite audio cable from TV av out to HTS, works fine.

I dont think I cant use HDMI from HTS to TV then back to HTS for audio. So I need to connect my xbox with the optical adaptor HTS, and HDMI to HTS to TV for video.

Hope I am correct in this way. :D