Angteko

Our Very First B&c Home

1. U will have shelvings right?. should be ok. What I meant is that since there is not enuff space when u put in the AV receiver, u will not be able to connect the audio/video/speaker cable as u cannot reach the back right?....so it mean u have to hold the AV receiver , find something to put in onto, connect the cables and then put into the cabinet. Quite tough. Lol Lol...I hope I explain it right....

2. The depth according to manual is 328mm (13'). If u use component cable, u will probably need around 1.5 to 2 in for the connectors and cable turn. So the depth will be around 15'. Longer if u used HDMI cable cause they are not that flexible to turn.. I think it is going to be a tight fit. Maybe good to do a quick measurement, just remember to give allowance for cable connectors and turns...:). I notice there are power cables being laid into your console area, so the location of the power socket is important too as power plug also take up space....

3. My Yamaha was 3 years old now, it goes with the house when I sold it. Still working.....I always open the door....lol

4. Normally. the front speakers and centre speakers should be at ear level when u sit and enjoy the movie. So it is not advisable to mount the front at the top corner of the wall. The centre speaker should be place below the TV. The rear speakers can be mounted on the top wall, though ppl also put it at ear level just behind where u will be sitting. U can get the manual at http://www.intl.onkyo.com/downloads/manual...00_manual_e.pdf. There is a page where it show a typical speaker placement. it is on the Enjoying Home Theatre section. Hope it helps

5. I have not see the physical unit of the speakers. Some speakers come pre-drilled holes to support different kinds of bracket. So it is advisable to take the speaker or photos of it when u go shopping. The last time I hunt for brackets, I went to those DIY shops and manage to get it. But for the bigger sets, i ask my AV supplier to do. Easier...:)

Oh dear...hope u did not fall asleep reading this long post.........

:good: Very impressive analysis!!

1. I got what u mean already. haha Will find my ways to do it when doing the connection. Maybe get a tall chair to support it 1st. keke

2. Ok, I better go measure if there are 15" depth available. :yamseng:

3. :good: probably yamaha was more durable?? How is onkyo? Seriously this is my 1st HTS in my life time. keke

4. I got no other place to put my front speakers with the audio cable concealed. So no choice on the top corner wall. What if i tilted it to face 45 deg down? What u think?

5. The pre-drill hole are those typical one on most speakers as can be seen in the manual. Thinking of just getting a screw with a bigger head plus putting on a rubber band to aviod any abrasion to the speakers. But for the back one, thinking of using those hook type, and screw on the Lbox, u think able to handle the speaker?? the speakers are relatively small for the back one.

lol.......but I sold the place liao, now living in a rental condo, cant wait for my unit to be ready and back to gaming...lol

I got my mum support because she used to play games on my dreamcast....but now her eyesight not so good, so she play on iTouch....:)

ur mum also tok gong! how old is ur mum ah? play iTouch wor.... :bow::bow::bow::bow:

lol...she is 77 this year.......ya lor.....she is the only one in the family that has iNano, iPod and iTouch....:)

3. :good: probably yamaha was more durable?? How is onkyo? Seriously this is my 1st HTS in my life time. keke

They are reputable too. Yamaha, Denon, Onkyo, Marantz are those typical choice. Every one's ear is different, so as long u like it when u audition it, its good

4. I got no other place to put my front speakers with the audio cable concealed. So no choice on the top corner wall. What if i tilted it to face 45 deg down? What u think?

Tilt the speakers to face where u all will be sitting, typically the sofa area.

5. The pre-drill hole are those typical one on most speakers as can be seen in the manual. Thinking of just getting a screw with a bigger head plus putting on a rubber band to aviod any abrasion to the speakers. But for the back one, thinking of using those hook type, and screw on the Lbox, u think able to handle the speaker?? the speakers are relatively small for the back one.

Front speaker, if u are mounting on the top corner wall and need to tilt it towards the sofa, then its probably better to get a proper bracket to support the weight and maintain the angle. Similarly with the rear. There are ceiling mounts brackets, u can check them out too

Enjoy the experience!!...lol

lol...she is 77 this year.......ya lor.....she is the only one in the family that has iNano, iPod and iTouch....:)

Salute 5x!! :bow::bow::bow::bow::bow:

I dont even have any of the gadget u listed and your mum is enjoying it at her age!! My mum less than 60, but think she already has visibility difficulties using normal hp wor.

No wonder nowadays i see all uncle and auntie carry iphone. More high tech than me! :bangwall:

Enjoy the experience!!...lol

Thanks for the info bro!

Which is the place u recommend to source for the bracket??

Is it exp??

Salute 5x!! :bow::bow::bow::bow::bow:

I dont even have any of the gadget u listed and your mum is enjoying it at her age!! My mum less than 60, but think she already has visibility difficulties using normal hp wor.

No wonder nowadays i see all uncle and auntie carry iphone. More high tech than me! :bangwall:

me salute infinite! :bow::bow::bow:

my mum 50+ got to bug me and hubby when ever she want to do something to her iTouch or laptop. my MIL dun have any high tech stuff and prefers even HP to be as simple as possible. Jus call and answer, she still cannot master SMS. and she is only 60+

ur mum sibei tok gong!!!! :thumbs up:

huh? not ongoing ah??sianz cos i haven't got the keys. dun even know what type of aircon is it that current house is having.

nvm, me company just next block to n.cool. will drop by often to c if got good offers. :D

ehhh...its ongoing now since its up till the 31st march... after 31st no-more-going liao...:D

oh...ur company at that woodlands centre ah?? there got alot of good food yah..:good:

gna miss that place once i move in to my new home...

In fact, the bulb i think is using halogen? Which can choose either white or warm, and comes with controller, which u can select either on the inner layer bulb, outer layer bulb or all. After playing with the controller, simply love it! :yamseng:

fun hor play with the controller? no dimmer?

at the shops can la u play play with the controller...at home, must play less...

later u SP Powers come show u :deal: can pay pls? :D

coz halogen bulb not energy saving plus it gives out more heat. but since u put at dining table i think its not bad la coz can keep ur food warm...but then there got aircon also...hmmm...will hypothermia set in if u eat food mixed unexpectedly by differing temperatures?? :unsure: Lol... :bleah:

:good: Very impressive analysis!!

KNS! Put on rubber band?!?! :bangwall:

like what wcseow suggested, buy a bracket la bro..i think $30 or less for a pair of ceiling mount sanus bracket. u put rubber band later the kacua come up and nibble2, few months later drop kena ur heads how?

sue the poor kacuas ah?? :bleah:

btw, i also doing ceiling mount for the 4 satelite speakers. but mine i intend to concentrate within the tv and sofa area. if u mount at the corner, will the sound be littered? :unsure:

i bought my system from KEC and the fella also said ear level is better but i told him i dun have feature wall and dun seem like can put on my console (except for centre speaker)..so he said if i mount on ceiling, will have to invert my speakers upside down and tilt towards the sofa area. hope this arrangement wont spoil our home entertainment experience. :dunno:

ehhh...its ongoing now since its up till the 31st march... after 31st no-more-going liao...:D

oh...ur company at that woodlands centre ah?? there got alot of good food yah..:good:

gna miss that place once i move in to my new home...

not the woodlands one, tai seng one....

fun hor play with the controller? no dimmer?

at the shops can la u play play with the controller...at home, must play less...

later u SP Powers come show u :deal: can pay pls? :D

coz halogen bulb not energy saving plus it gives out more heat. but since u put at dining table i think its not bad la coz can keep ur food warm...but then there got aircon also...hmmm...will hypothermia set in if u eat food mixed unexpectedly by differing temperatures?? :unsure: Lol... :bleah:

wahah..u mean playing with controller actually will use more power??

hmm..dont remind me of the aircon placement against the light anymore..abit sian already...haha

temperature i hope no issue lah...will there be anyone place their food in dining and hoping that the light will keep the food warm?? whaaha

KNS! Put on rubber band?!?! :bangwall:

like what wcseow suggested, buy a bracket la bro..i think $30 or less for a pair of ceiling mount sanus bracket. u put rubber band later the kacua come up and nibble2, few months later drop kena ur heads how?

sue the poor kacuas ah?? :bleah:

btw, i also doing ceiling mount for the 4 satelite speakers. but mine i intend to concentrate within the tv and sofa area. if u mount at the corner, will the sound be littered? :unsure:

i bought my system from KEC and the fella also said ear level is better but i told him i dun have feature wall and dun seem like can put on my console (except for centre speaker)..so he said if i mount on ceiling, will have to invert my speakers upside down and tilt towards the sofa area. hope this arrangement wont spoil our home entertainment experience. :dunno:

wahah..thats my most cheapo idea lah...keke

But u guys havent tell me a good place to get the bracket leh...$30 quite ex leh..need 2 pair wor.

And I wonder if it will look good with bracket, becoz a screw behind is a total concealment to me.

1st time i heard kacua like rubber band leh..keke

hmm..sound issue i think shouldnt be that bad loh..my living rm so small only, with a good angle, it should be no less than putting at ear level.

Angteko

That time I bought mine at those DIY stores, like HomeFix though the selection is not large. Those Adelphi stores have too, but they could be priced higher. Really depend on the type and support of speaker weight. The price range could go from $20 to $100....lol

El Nino Al Nino

Speaker placement, IMHO, is still best at ear level. Either put on the console or buy a pair of speaker stand..:)...ceiling mount is still ok, just that u got it tilt...:)

Lol...my mum is just the user. Setup I need to do...:)...not so power....but power enjoyment...!!!...lol

wahah..u mean playing with controller actually will use more power??

hmm..dont remind me of the aircon placement against the light anymore..abit sian already...haha

temperature i hope no issue lah...will there be anyone place their food in dining and hoping that the light will keep the food warm?? whaaha

No, i mean, the moment u on will use power and since its not energy saving, might wna use sparsely.

but if just the dining light is halogen, wun impact ur bills much la...only if maybe all ur lights use halogen then worry more lor...hehe

Lol...i think it indirectly warms the area under its light la...not intended to purposely warm food loh...:D