Angteko 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2010 Dude, both i changed. Kitchen toilet white coz my living spaces i used white powder coated window frames coz my walls in the kitchen, toilet, living and dining will be pristine and bright colours (likely). Bedrooms, including store and MBR toilet i used black window frames to give me a good colour contrast in these places since the paint will be darker then those in my living spaces. Think the louvres not blue. Must be my camera or the angle i took it from. Living spaces (including study room) i used sliding windows. My two bedrooms i used casement window coz the view there not obstructed although i just see the carpark. The sliding and casement windows i used blue tinted glass...although i feel not blue and dark enuff. So might have to consider blue film (sorry for the pun... ) only for the bedrooms. haha..this time is my turn to say it's photographer issue lah!! wahaha hey hey, u put blue tinted, then how are we going to watch u perform??? wah, the bathtub import from australia must be very pricey eh? any pics of the chosen tub? He simply love foreign import. hoho The moon in other countries are always rounder. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
england 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2010 haha..this time is my turn to say it's photographer issue lah!! wahaha hey hey, u put blue tinted, then how are we going to watch u perform??? He simply love foreign import. hoho The moon in other countries are always rounder. Hmmm.....when is the tub going to be installed? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2010 wah, the bathtub import from australia must be very pricey eh? any pics of the chosen tub? erm...kinda alright la...over budget abit... got mine off a catalog leh...liked the dimensions as its reasonably deep but not too much else will be hard for my wife to get in since she's rather petite... so, no pics as yet! Hmmm.....when is the tub going to be installed? patience dude...pending arrival end of the month or early May latest! *fingers crossed* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2010 haha..this time is my turn to say it's photographer issue lah!! wahaha hey hey, u put blue tinted, then how are we going to watch u perform??? He simply love foreign import. hoho The moon in other countries are always rounder. haha...yah la! u win this time coz me no acquired photography skills yet. still trying to figure out how to do those digital macro shots with my cam but i got a feeling its the camera's limitations though... performance and viewing is upon invitation only!!! hahahaha.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
england 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2010 haha...yah la! u win this time coz me no acquired photography skills yet. still trying to figure out how to do those digital macro shots with my cam but i got a feeling its the camera's limitations though... performance and viewing is upon invitation only!!! hahahaha.... I guess by invitation means it is open to private viewing? haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2010 (edited) I guess by invitation means it is open to private viewing? haha. which by that is in reference to the participants only... Edited April 22, 2010 by El Nino_Al Nito Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Electrical, Plumbing and Ceiling Works - Part 1 Besides Lighting Points, Electrical Planning was also something i poured hours into. Things i factored were: 1) Location of switches - Is it conveniently located to be within reach? Dun wna be grappling in the dark to find the nearest switch do i? 2) Location of electrical sockets - Is it conveniently placed for my electrical appliances and gadgets to access without compromising aesthetics due to loose wires? Sure, those cable management sheaths are handy but i'll take my chances and minimize loose, snaking wires / cable sheaths as much as possible. 3) Location of electrical trunking and water pipes - My ulu block has no CityGas pipes laid. So im stuck with cylinders. Less pipes to worry abt but one cabinet space gone to waste for the gas cylinder. - Conceal or not to? Does laying these pipes and electrical trunking within the L-box constitute as concealed wiring & piping? Mr Yeak gave me his fave word..."No Problem"..."What if got leakage? What if got issue with some wiring points?" i asked. "No problem," says he. "Got warranty, anything call me, we fix. Anyway in my many years in this line i have never encountered such issues, " he added. K lor...sounds reasonable. Anyways, from the t-blogs on his past clients here, didnt come any issues on such, so ok la, i'll take my chances. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Electrical, Plumbing and Ceiling Works - Part 1 Electrical Trunking / Casings Awaiting Their Fate to be Permanent Fixtures on my Walls Veins of electrical cables from the MCB unit Veins of electrical cables in the hall Veins of electrical cables in the kitchen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Electrical, Plumbing and Ceiling Works - Part 1 After many fruitful discussions with Mr Yeak and Uncle Ah Huat (his electrician), we made some amendments to my initial sockets and switches layout planning made on Excel spreadsheet. Without their insightful inputs, I think my sockets and switches placement would look a tad bit unsightly with the trunking running along the walls. Where some areas with more human traffic i.e living/dining areas, we decided to lay the trunkings behind a wall. At the same time, the L-box and false ceiling were constructed as planned. As much of these will be used to conceal the pipings and electrical trunkings. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Electrical, Plumbing and Ceiling Works - Part 2 Doing up the skeletal structure Half way there More Ceiling Works in progress Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 HDB Structural Eye-Sore See that TV point (apparently this airs malaysian and indonesian channels) between the wheel barrow and stacks of cement? Well this apparently runs from top to bottom in my block and it was situated right in front of the main door. HDB could have designed it by putting it behind the door or closer to a pillar or what but nooo...the smart alec who built this decided to put right in front of the door. Is he trying to prove a point? Maybe back in the 80s, having a TV is a luxury and the first thing u want visitors to ur house to see when u open the door is the tv point.....and a tv cable running to ur TV? Not acceptable! I asked Mr Yeak to remove that but he said cant coz otherwise, the flats above me cant view the channels. I was thinking who'd be viewing those channels but i decided to be a goody2 neighbour and not force the issue. Box it up then i told him. Can be done, thankfully. Phew! Lets see what it looks like after the box up... Preparing the base for box up of ugly TV point Ugly TV Point No More... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Electrical, Plumbing and Ceiling Works - Part 2 I think its safe to say no renovation process is perfect in any terms. Sure got glitch one no matter how great and reputable is the contractor / ID. So after 4 weeks of work done on my flat, finally got one miscommunication that resulted in one error. No Pelmet at end of False Ceiling Although we had gone through this more then three times, on the actual day itself, the false ceiling was wrongly done up without leaving any gap near the walls for my curtain tracks. It was correctly done at the dining area windows, but not so here at the foyer. Lucky i was there the whole day that day but only saw as they began boxing up the TV point and plastering the false ceiling and L-box. So i quickly asked Mr Yeak what happened. He said i didnt inform him and that what we agreed on was drawn on the walls for his workers to digest. True enough, it was indicated as such but i countered saying i thought those were just for lighting and electrical works and that we had talked abt leaving 'pelmet-like' gaps for my curtain tracks. I accepted it as a miscomm and asked him to rectify as its senseless to have only pelmet for curtains at dining area but not foyer. To my relief, it was no big issue for him and he had them changed the next day. Phew! Thanks again Mr Yeak! Looks so much better now! Rectified Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 Electrical, Plumbing and Ceiling Works - Part 2 I think its safe to say no renovation process is perfect in any terms. Sure got glitch one no matter how great and reputable is the contractor / ID. So after 4 weeks of work done on my flat, finally got one miscommunication that resulted in one error. No Pelmet at end of False Ceiling Although we had gone through this more then three times, on the actual day itself, the false ceiling was wrongly done up without leaving any gap near the walls for my curtain tracks. It was correctly done at the dining area windows, but not so here at the foyer. Lucky i was there the whole day that day but only saw as they began boxing up the TV point and plastering the false ceiling and L-box. So i quickly asked Mr Yeak what happened. He said i didnt inform him and that what we agreed on was drawn on the walls for his workers to digest. True enough, it was indicated as such but i countered saying i thought those were just for lighting and electrical works and that we had talked abt leaving 'pelmet-like' gaps for my curtain tracks. I accepted it as a miscomm and asked him to rectify as its senseless to have only pelmet for curtains at dining area but not foyer. To my relief, it was no big issue for him and he had them changed the next day. Phew! Thanks again Mr Yeak! Looks so much better now! Rectified I guess no reno is perfect. It is always gd to have black and white. Really. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El Nino_Al Nito 0 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 I guess no reno is perfect. It is always gd to have black and white. Really. True that...but not all can be in black and white. Imagine, prior to start of certain works, we have to stop for abit and wait for the black and white to be drafted then both parties sign in agreement and so forth...too much paper and trees wasted leh. hahaha...end of the day, trust, patience and understanding very important ingredients in reno! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted April 26, 2010 el gor, everything coming up nicely. so when will HO be? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites