El Nino_Al Nito

El Nino's Anfield

hey el nino..i see you're installing a bathtub in your home. mind sharing what the cost of installing is? how much did the tub cost? TIA!

hi lilith,

the quotes i got varied from $500+ to $700 for

a) Construct low wall with service opening for bathtub

b) Install bathtub with inlet and outlet piping

But since i settled for Mr Yeak, his was ard $600+.

Tub wise, have not bought yet coz will only do so after detailed site measurement which coincidentally happens

to be this evening after i get keys to the house. :D

Hope the above helps. :)

hi el nino, thanks for the info..does $600 include the cost of the tub?

nope. thats just for constructing of foundation to hold the tub and piping to it. :P

cost of tubs range from low $200 to anything more than 1k.

depends on the material and size of the tub...and if you going for jacuzzi type (i.e with whirlpool jets)

materials got acrylic, porcelain etc but acrylic is good enough and cheaper also.

of course got standalone tubs but depends on individual's preferance on standalone

vs built in tubs. :D

there will be people who are against tubs and pro showers and vice versa..but its all down to individuality actually. ;)

u intend to get a tub also? my advise is space must be available first so bear in mind dimensions of at least 1.5m long and 90cm wide in ur bathroom before proceeding k. :)

Edited by El Nino_Al Nito

ok thanks for the advice! yep..we're thinking of having one in our bathroom too..going to merge the bath & WC into one and expand a bit as well. still in the consideration stages..lol. thanks again for sharing! :)

nope. thats just for constructing of foundation to hold the tub and piping to it. :P

cost of tubs range from low $200 to anything more than 1k.

depends on the material and size of the tub...and if you going for jacuzzi type (i.e with whirlpool jets)

materials got acrylic, porcelain etc but acrylic is good enough and cheaper also.

of course got standalone tubs but depends on individual's preferance on standalone

vs built in tubs. :D

there will be people who are against tubs and pro showers and vice versa..but its all down to individuality actually. ;)

u intend to get a tub also? my advise is space must be available first so bear in mind dimensions of at least 1.5m long and 90cm wide in ur bathroom before proceeding k. :)

Wow, this is an exp investment. U sure u will use the tub?

The reason I said this is becoz, my current parent's house also has tub. But we uses it like at the beginning only when everyone is so excited abt it when it is new. But after sometimes, it became useless, and we find it a burden to stand in the tub to bath. Especially, for my dad who is getting old, sometimes worried that he might slip when using the tub. :bath:

A jacuzzi might be different story, haha, coz i did not try jacuzzi at home yet. Cant comment abt the usage lifespan. :yamseng:

Wow, this is an exp investment. U sure u will use the tub?

actually my concern is if me and wife will over-use instead of under-use the tub.. :P

from our occasional getaways, we always insist that our hotel rooms come with tubs since we are both soakers...hence, have been dying to put one in our first home to the extent that during my house hunt period, i always tell the owners and my agent, show me ur MBR toilet 1st..haha

i already 'warned' my wife, that the tub is to be used on weekends only to save on water bills :deal: and minimise cleaning (she should be on scv ch70 programme abt cleanaholics, always sweep here, mop there, brush this, wipe that)... :P

but that is if i can make up my mind to push the wash basin into my MBR and place the rainshower outside and beside the tub...hmmm :unsure:

in other words, yes its an exp investment...an indulgent you may say...but one of those things that if you dun get, you will lose sleep and regret...so im getting...else cannot sleep la...haha :bleah::D

actually my concern is if me and wife will over-use instead of under-use the tub.. :P

from our occasional getaways, we always insist that our hotel rooms come with tubs since we are both soakers...hence, have been dying to put one in our first home to the extent that during my house hunt period, i always tell the owners and my agent, show me ur MBR toilet 1st..haha

i already 'warned' my wife, that the tub is to be used on weekends only to save on water bills :deal: and minimise cleaning (she should be on scv ch70 programme abt cleanaholics, always sweep here, mop there, brush this, wipe that)... :P

but that is if i can make up my mind to push the wash basin into my MBR and place the rainshower outside and beside the tub...hmmm :unsure:

in other words, yes its an exp investment...an indulgent you may say...but one of those things that if you dun get, you will lose sleep and regret...so im getting...else cannot sleep la...haha :bleah::D

Haha Looks like u are a bathroom couple. :D

U really very fierce, still planning to install rainshower outside. Preparing to do 2hrs concert performance in bathroom huh? :sport-smiley-004:

hello el nino,

i'm a bathtub person too.. like to soak and read. but as at now only got the luxury to do it during hotel stays. keke... now my dream come true, will have a bathtub in my new place. yes! and you got same taste as my hubby leh, he was looking at the same kind of tiles you used for your bath.. he also into resort style...

Haha Looks like u are a bathroom couple. :D

U really very fierce, still planning to install rainshower outside. Preparing to do 2hrs concert performance in bathroom huh? :sport-smiley-004:

coz like what u mentioned mah...abit mah fan if wanna have quick shower must climb into the tub...some more maintenance would be a chore with all the suds and shampoo etc..now we still young and vibrant ok la...30 years later after we finish paying hdb loan then realised can no longer get into the tub liao...haha

2hrs in the bath eh? now u tempt me to consider getting a sauna heater and expand that bathroom...otherwise all the soaking without sauna no point hor..haha :notti:

lucky for me all my walls cannot hack, else i can push my bed into the other room and really enlarge the bathroom...wahahaha :dribble:

hello el nino,

i'm a bathtub person too.. like to soak and read. but as at now only got the luxury to do it during hotel stays. keke... now my dream come true, will have a bathtub in my new place. yes! and you got same taste as my hubby leh, he was looking at the same kind of tiles you used for your bath.. he also into resort style...

hi merydith, congrats on living out ur dream!

its a must for our homes, regardless of naggling cons (or pros), to get what we desire and that will make us look forward to go home to at the end of a hard day at work yah.. :D

have u bought ur tub yet? whats the length urs can fit? i just measured with my contractor over the weekend, i can now hunt for 1.5m tubs! 10cm longer then he initially told me. yay! more leg room! :)

yah, bathrooms with tubs like so crying out loud for a resort style theme leh...i actually wanted a cascading water wall above the tub but my wife object saying abit bo liao since already got water there, if i want to have waterfall effect, i can lie in the tub while she hose down the wall... :bangwall::bangwall::bangwall:

More Pre Reno Pics

Study cum Gaming Room

IMG_0105.jpg

Cats Room

IMG_0108.jpg

*I totally forgot to take MBR and toilets pics that day. Was pissed coz my hp reception went blank on me that afternoon whilst waiting for Mr Yeak at the flat.

Because of the hp (and singtel's cranky network reception), i thot he was late. Then he thot i havent come up to the flat since he cant call thru to me. Lucky he waited for half an hour. When i called him on my wife's hp, he said almost gonna give me another half hour before going off.

:thumbs up: Thumbs up to Mr Yeak for always being prompt and on time and for the patience to wait for me whilst my hp and singtel mobile got itself constipated that day. :thumbs up:

i actually wanted a cascading water wall above the tub but my wife object saying abit bo liao since already got water there, if i want to have waterfall effect, i can lie in the tub while she hose down the wall... :bangwall::bangwall::bangwall:

eh your wife is so funny..hahaha..me + my hb also very bathroom "oriented". we spend so much time discussing the bathroom, planning out options etc. i hope we have enough space for a tub..sigh!

hi merydith, congrats on living out ur dream!

its a must for our homes, regardless of naggling cons (or pros), to get what we desire and that will make us look forward to go home to at the end of a hard day at work yah.. :D

have u bought ur tub yet? whats the length urs can fit? i just measured with my contractor over the weekend, i can now hunt for 1.5m tubs! 10cm longer then he initially told me. yay! more leg room! :)

yah, bathrooms with tubs like so crying out loud for a resort style theme leh...i actually wanted a cascading water wall above the tub but my wife object saying abit bo liao since already got water there, if i want to have waterfall effect, i can lie in the tub while she hose down the wall... :bangwall::bangwall::bangwall:

thanks el nino... can't wait to live there sooner... then i can shut my kid outside the door while i take a relaxing good soak in the bathroom.. keke

nope, i haven't shop for tubs.. and i didn't even check out what tubs available in the market leh, cos i have not found a contractor yet thus didn't do any on site measurements.. haha, i don't mind a sleek theme for bathroom, with a modern touch.. but hubby prefer resort style leh..

haha.. your wife really very cute..

good for you, can get a longer tub.. btw, how much does a tub cost now ah? i got absolutely no idea.

eh your wife is so funny..hahaha..me + my hb also very bathroom "oriented". we spend so much time discussing the bathroom, planning out options etc. i hope we have enough space for a tub..sigh!

hehehe...yeah, my sweetheart is quite a character. Funniest, most adorable woman i've known personally. hands down. deep down i know she originated from cartoon network background. :D

i hope u get to live ur dream too! kitchen was my most planned room followed by the bathroom. :)

will u be combining ur two bedrooms? any chance ur utilities room can be waterproofed and half converted

into a bath area? :unsure: