Umaisarah

Natural Living

You can go to the web site for more details bah. I know about this shop because everytime i take the east bound mrt I see a rooftop with wood furniture in geylang area. :P . pagoda teak

I went to their website. Their designs not bad. Will chk them out soon. Thanks for the tip, Zelly! :D

Wah, $2222 is sure one lucky nbr! Lightings.com.sg just called to say I won their lucky draw, leh....

One PS3 coming my way :sport-smiley-018:

For those interested in buying Clipsal Zencelo switches, got these prices from Choo Chiang:

W=White, C=Colour

1-gang: $5.50(W), $6.50 ©

2-gang: $9.00 (W), $10 ©

3-gang: $14 (W), $15 ©

1-gang, 2-way: $8 ©

Was disappointed the switches only come in either all-white or all-coloured, cannot mix and match :( .

I really like the dark-switch, white faceplate combination I saw in their online brochure.

Wah, $2222 is sure one lucky nbr! Lightings.com.sg just called to say I won their lucky draw, leh....

Wow! you are one lucky gal!

Yes, yes :good: No relaxing even if you engage the most famous and expensive ID.

RT is full of stories of pple who take their ID and contractor for granted and got burnt.

Unless you the type who heck care and dun mind living in a house which doesn't hv any of your personal touches or inputs at all.

That's why I like your home, Mickey! :D When pple see, they sure know it's yours :)

Very unique and different, with its own personality. Something you said in your blog about other houses being almost the same, with the same feature wall, TV console etc, really strike me, cuz I think that's what my house is going to be :( No $$ to make it unique and anyway, can't change a lot to the structure of the place. But hopefully with the soft furnishing and the odds and ends, it'll look more like Umaisarah & Family home.... :D

Can't wait to see the final completion of your house. Take so long leh..... but you're like the 'real' Mickey Mouse...I nvr see him throw a tantrum! :D

Umaisarah, looking at your house, I believe the reno is not cheap also, with all the carpentry works. :)

Personally, yes, I do not like the fact that same designs are reuse again and again. IDs are suppose to do a better job than that. :)

Own personal touchs are going to make it your own truly Umaisarah & Family home. :D. Some of the stuffs we did are not very practical to some but is what we prefer. :)

Lastly, you haven't seen me crossed swords with my ID. Ha. Really. I didn't say much negative stuffs doesn't mean there are no issues but I see them as hurdles which we have to try to cross them. :)

Very lucky! Congrats! :D. I also want a PS3!!!!!

Here's the 3D for eldest daughter room, she's going to 12 this year, and so really growing up.

What's with kids these days? She's into purple, hot pink and black! what happen to blue and pink and yellow?

4475359367_b8d4417426.jpg

Doing the study table and top hung cabinets. Bringing over our old Billy Bookcases. She chose the purple colour wall herself.

If you notice the bay window, one end will hv this slanted ledge for her and her sisters to chill out while spying on the neighbours.

I'm also going to have that slanted ledge for the MBR for me to chill out and check out the hunk.... in my room lah...... :P

To sidetrack, I came across this Canadian furniture company which specialises in unique hand-made furniture. It was featured in RT.

It's called Straightline Design. Check the website out. I made some enquiries, and yes, they do not come cheap, just like this Tree Bookshelf I fell in love with :( Mbe KIV for next bonus time :D

Finally, 3D for my other 2 daughters' room. This is where the major carpentry works happen.

4476137552_659d128c85.jpg

Doing the bay bed and the loft bed with the study table below it. We requested for the loft bed not to be too tall (about 1.6m) as we're going to have a ceiling fan in the room. With this design, we free up the floor space so they can chill out and hv more space to throw their mess about :) But they still hv place to do their h/w or revising. But one of them has got to share study space with the eldest next door. Wall colour supposed to be yellow but didn't come out well in the 3D rendering.

The 3D drawings are nice. Just one small advice from my own reno, which is going to be completed on 9 April (Is that the day you are collecting your keys? :yeah: If you are using light colur laminate for your carpentry, the edges may have some obvious dark lines unless you have ABS trimming for all your shelves and cabinets. My ID told me that usually ABS trimming is only for cabinet doors. So when I saw my book shelves for the first time last week, I was rather disappointed because the dark edges of the book shelves really spoil everything. Luckily, my laminates are close to white colour so I ask my ID to paint the adges white. After the painting, the shelves look very much better. So you may want to discuss with your ID on this first.

can you post a picture of your shoe cabinet from Crystal Homes?

Oh, I didn't take a picture of the cabinet, but the design is similar to this one in their website. Only the colour of the model I chose was walnut for the frame and white for the doors (or is the other way round??).

The 3D drawings are nice. Just one small advice from my own reno, which is going to be completed on 9 April (Is that the day you are collecting your keys? :yeah: If you are using light colur laminate for your carpentry, the edges may have some obvious dark lines unless you have ABS trimming for all your shelves and cabinets. My ID told me that usually ABS trimming is only for cabinet doors. So when I saw my book shelves for the first time last week, I was rather disappointed because the dark edges of the book shelves really spoil everything. Luckily, my laminates are close to white colour so I ask my ID to paint the adges white. After the painting, the shelves look very much better. So you may want to discuss with your ID on this first.

Are you referring to the white bookcase? Actually I'll be bringing over my existing Billy Bookcases, my ID put them in the 3D drawing just to make it complete.

But I do hv light colour laminates for the other room, light green and cream. Will chk w my ID if there'll be dark lines or not.

Thanks for the heads up! :D

9 April, yeah!!! Important and happy dates for both of us.:dancingqueen:

Went for HDB 1st appointment yesterday, and finally met the female half of the couple who bought our flat.

So young, and so loaded already.....wah!

Soooo many pple at HDB, only managed to meet the HDB officer about an hour after our alloted time.

Signed this document and that document, then it was over.

Buyer agreed to completion date of 19 May, and let us stay for 1-2 more days as we're only moving out on 20 May.

But today they're coming down with their FSM and getting my DH to sign a reno permit application cuz they scared cannot get it approved in time.

Heard from my agent that they plan to spend abt $60-70K on renovations :jawdrop:

Anyway, enough of the gossip (and hope they don't surf RenoTalk, haha!). Just one more day before we get our hands on the keys to our new home!!!

I so excited, feel like taking today and tomorrow off from work :P

Had a minor glitch with my chosen electrician. Never respond to my simple request to resend an email he sent me which got lost in cyberspace (which makes me doubt if he had sent it to me in the 1st place). Each time I sms or call, he say he will do so when he comes home, but I wait and wait, he never did. In the end I so fed up, I fired him via SMS. And he didn't even respond to THAT! Good thing hvn't paid him anything. But sad thing is that his rates were **** good. Ah well, always a catch.....

Managed to find alternative electrician, with slightly higher rates, but sounds reliable (over the phone). Will be meeting up with him and my ID this Saturday afternoon.

And then next Monday, the reno STARTS! :horse:

congratulations on getting your keys!!!

I've gotten my keys a while back but reno hasn't started yet....

BTW, can you share the contact of kent for the bamboo deck, would like to see it, how much would your entire deck cost?

congratulations on getting your keys!!!

I've gotten my keys a while back but reno hasn't started yet....

BTW, can you share the contact of kent for the bamboo deck, would like to see it, how much would your entire deck cost?

Kent, Styline H/p 9173 9939. Tell him Rose from Casa Merah refer you so he will do me a good job :D

His shop/showroom is at Jln Besar area, near City Square. He quoted me about $2,600 for my living and MBR balconies.

Total area is abt 6.8 sqm. I remember the price was comparable to the quotes I got for chengal wood and teak.

but bamboo is 'greener' product, tt's why I chose it. Tt's my little contribution towards saving the earth :D

that's actually why I'm considering it also! coz it's eco-friendly... but can you lift the panels up to clean underneath? I have visions of dead lizards and dried leaves accumulating below the decking that's why am considering laying teak tiles instead... so easier to lift up and clean!

BTW, went to look at the bamboo bathroom caddy in Howard's storage world the other day, looks very nice.. will deffo get some when I've moved in.

that's actually why I'm considering it also! coz it's eco-friendly... but can you lift the panels up to clean underneath? I have visions of dead lizards and dried leaves accumulating below the decking that's why am considering laying teak tiles instead... so easier to lift up and clean!

BTW, went to look at the bamboo bathroom caddy in Howard's storage world the other day, looks very nice.. will deffo get some when I've moved in.

You can try diy buying the decking tiles yourself, like hua hng, http://www.huahng.com.sg/ their website under online catalogue -> wooden and bamboo product they have interlocking bamboo tiles at $8 per piece. They also have balau wood at $7 per piece and chengai at $15 per piece. The tiles quoted to me are in 30cm x 30 cm size. My hubby is tempted to diy himself.

yep, am tempted to do that, but i need the balcony wood to match the planter wood... wonder if they can do that??

thanks for the info!!!