Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 I spoke to an ID, she assured that it wont be dusty or insects hiding in cove lighting area, of coz I wasn't convinced at all. Can you explain the giddy part? I once had a cove light shinning outwards and my fan is inward..not sure if you get wat i mean (cove light not facing fan), no giddy problem. I love warm light for the house. my previous house had a big living, about 5m by 4.5m.. i had a fan in the middle and 4 corners each a downlight and 1 each along the 4 sides (a rectangle with 8 lights) i never had to on all 8 lights, coz its very bright (my standard). Good enough if i on 4, usually i on 2. I have seen people mixing warm n white, i think its personal perference I think the giddy part is when your cove light is shining inwards cuz the fan will create alternating shadows. Tt happened to my mom's place, she had a ceiling fan and a light installed close to each other, then when you on the fan, it really is nauseating becuz of the shadows, so she had the light moved and the problem was resolved. I think finally, my DH decided no need cove lights lah... In terms of electrical costs, will also be expensive cuz u need to install light points for them, and buy the tubes. But he still worried abt the strength of the lighting. He wants the ID to think of another ceiling plan so that there's enough light, especially for the living area. btw, do u know if a curtain pelmet is still necessary if we already have false ceiling or L box running across the window area? Eg, if I have an L-box running the whole length of my planter and balcony area, do I still need a pelmet? My ID says must have, but other IDs which quoted me, never say anything about pelmet. If I don't do the pelmet, can save abt $300-$400. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 I think the giddy part is when your cove light is shining inwards cuz the fan will create alternating shadows. Tt happened to my mom's place, she had a ceiling fan and a light installed close to each other, then when you on the fan, it really is nauseating becuz of the shadows, so she had the light moved and the problem was resolved. I think finally, my DH decided no need cove lights lah... In terms of electrical costs, will also be expensive cuz u need to install light points for them, and buy the tubes. But he still worried abt the strength of the lighting. He wants the ID to think of another ceiling plan so that there's enough light, especially for the living area. btw, do u know if a curtain pelmet is still necessary if we already have false ceiling or L box running across the window area? Eg, if I have an L-box running the whole length of my planter and balcony area, do I still need a pelmet? My ID says must have, but other IDs which quoted me, never say anything about pelmet. If I don't do the pelmet, can save abt $300-$400. You don't need a pelmet if you already have L-box or false ceiling across the window. You're getting chopped. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 am so impressed you've gotten so much done already! i have barely started my shopping!!! You getting keys on 22 Mar is it? Quite close aredy leh....if u dun hv many new things to buy and u dun hv to move out so soon, ok lor... I v kan cheong, so early already book curtains. Very excited, mah.... Anyway, i hv to move out before my 2nd appt with HDB cuz my buyer also want to start their reno early. Last month they come down to my house while I was away and brought 3 reno contractors and was already discussing what to knock down, what to take out etc. Like quite sad they're going to tear down my kitchen but i know tt kind of style not to everyone's taste. My maid told me they also go and open my fridge to check how big it is cuz they want to buy something like it !! . And they asked my maid if they can have my cute telephone table and wood bench. Wah, I so mad at them . Thank goodness they never open my wadrobe! Next time they say want to come down, I make sure I'm around... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 (edited) You don't need a pelmet if you already have L-box or false ceiling across the window. You're getting chopped. Grrr...... (Edited to add: Wah, i aredi Bronze member....!) Edited March 10, 2010 by Umaisarah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 My house has this store which is along the wall leading to the rooms (see pic below). I thot the door there is quite an eyesore cuz it really sticks out, it's still within the living/dining area (unlike the bathroom which is already near the bedroom area) and curious pple are going to open it and see a big pile of mess inside (or worse!) I'm thinking of doing something to the wall so that it's seamless and hv the same look throughout (until the door of the common bathroom). I've seen this effect in some of the newly launched condos like Livia. My ID gave 2 suggestions, laminating the whole area, or just the door to match the paint on the wall. I'm going for the 2nd option cuz it's cheaper, but thinking of using wallpaper. But to do this, do I need to change the entire door, or remove it, wallpaper it then put it back? Anyone has done something like this before? I think it's something like hiding your household shelter door but slightly different cuz we're not trying to hide the door, just disguising it so it won't stick out too much. Anyway, do u think it's even necessary? Should I leave it as it is and just a put a sign 'DO NOT OPEN' at the door Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 You don't need a pelmet if you already have L-box or false ceiling across the window. You're getting chopped. Oh, oh! My DH just explained to me why L-box need pelmet cuz with L-box, it is flush to the wall, so no space in between box and wall for the curtains, whereas with false ceiling and U-box, got space so no need pelmet. Does this sound logical? Can u make L-box without flush to the wall? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 I think the giddy part is when your cove light is shining inwards cuz the fan will create alternating shadows. Tt happened to my mom's place, she had a ceiling fan and a light installed close to each other, then when you on the fan, it really is nauseating becuz of the shadows, so she had the light moved and the problem was resolved. I think finally, my DH decided no need cove lights lah... In terms of electrical costs, will also be expensive cuz u need to install light points for them, and buy the tubes. But he still worried abt the strength of the lighting. He wants the ID to think of another ceiling plan so that there's enough light, especially for the living area. btw, do u know if a curtain pelmet is still necessary if we already have false ceiling or L box running across the window area? Eg, if I have an L-box running the whole length of my planter and balcony area, do I still need a pelmet? My ID says must have, but other IDs which quoted me, never say anything about pelmet. If I don't do the pelmet, can save abt $300-$400. ya i agree with ossify, you dont need a pelmet. This was what the curtain guy told me and i followed his advice, it went well Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 Oh, oh! My DH just explained to me why L-box need pelmet cuz with L-box, it is flush to the wall, so no space in between box and wall for the curtains, whereas with false ceiling and U-box, got space so no need pelmet. Does this sound logical? Can u make L-box without flush to the wall? if i imagine right, seems like can leh. Leave a "drain" between the window n the L-box for the curtain? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
butterfingerzz 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2010 Everytime we go window-shopping, kena more damage to the wallet Yesterday, went down to Harvey Norman at Millenia to look at their bedframes. DH was surprised HM sells beds cuz he thot they're like Best Denki, sell only electronic items. Anyway, their furniture range is quite atas, and hence expensive. Saw a bedframe we like, it was about $1000+ for king-size. KIV for next time. We also saw a mattress selling for $12k. Crazy..... but this was not the only crazy and amazing thing we saw...., heh heh Then we came across this furniture store called SPACE. Curious, went in to take a look, but almost fainted at the prices! Wah, this one only new citizens like Jet Li with banglo at Bukit Timah or Holland can afford! Never mind, pretend like we belong in the shop and took a slow walk around the shop. Saw some dining chairs that I really like but of course, one piece alone costs $1000+!!! We saw a life-size horse lampshade (which was featured in one of the home decor mags, I think it was LookBook) and a life-size pig table. If you're curious, here's a link to what it looks like, it really IS life-size. Mooi Life-size Horse Lamp Shade Needless to say, we didn't check the price for those items cuz dun think it will fit with our decor theme, Actually, I'm wondering what the designer was thinking when he got the idea for this thing..."Hey, why not I put this lamp shade on a horse's head, make it life-size, and see if anybody is gullible enough to buy it cuz it's a designer item! and then I'll do a similar design with a pig and pair it with a table this time!" Ah, well, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.... So that's the story of my window-shopping for bedframe Lessons learnt - Haggle and bargain like you're in a Turkish bazaar! And groom my daughter to be a world-class designer so she can charge lotsa money for crazy designs that people call 'avant-garde' LOLX... i actually burst out laughing on this post.. we went SPACE as well and eyes popped out at the prices too.. haha.. but the wardrobe by poliform is really niceee... anyways, SPACE is actually owned by harvey norman's boss. oh and welcome to the east side !! have a smooth reno ahead. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 my hb and I like SPACE and AIR furniture too... but like what you said, eyes pop out on the price tag. But last couple weeks they were having sale, so a 2 seater sofa is about 2k+, not too bad (not leather though). My children are younger then yours and my son abuses furniture, so i suggest to my hb to get cheap ikea furniture ...he was grumbling all the time bout the suggestion. feeling excited about the start of your reno, cant wait to see the transformation Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 hi umaisarah, btw we swap places ha... i used to stay in katong, now am at and going to move to very near where you "were"..so u are west to east , i m east to west Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 Oh, oh! My DH just explained to me why L-box need pelmet cuz with L-box, it is flush to the wall, so no space in between box and wall for the curtains, whereas with false ceiling and U-box, got space so no need pelmet. Does this sound logical? Can u make L-box without flush to the wall? I suggest you call up a few curtain makers, and seek their opinion and their quote for the material you want. They are the field experts, not your DH nor your ID. ya i agree with ossify, you dont need a pelmet. This was what the curtain guy told me and i followed his advice, it went well You have pictures to show? if i imagine right, seems like can leh. Leave a "drain" between the window n the L-box for the curtain? That's what I thought so too. L-box can be terminated before touching the wall. I think ID just wants more $. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 I suggest you call up a few curtain makers, and seek their opinion and their quote for the material you want. They are the field experts, not your DH nor your ID. You have pictures to show? That's what I thought so too. L-box can be terminated before touching the wall. I think ID just wants more $. unfortunately i sold my place, so cant take pics anymore. i totally agree with ur saying of L-box terminating before touching the wall..so it creates a "concave" for the curtain (this was what I did, the curtain guy "laughed" at me when i asked if I needed to put pelmet..he said that the L box can cover liao, pelmet for what (and that was what my contractor said too) but i also agree with you to ask the experts! ours just "opinions" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 sorry for the noob question, but what is a pelmet? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 correct me if i m wrong, its the little cover to cover the top of the curtain n the tracks, right? (wah talk so much already n still not very sure what is it haaa) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites