Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 I didn't get my dream dining chair, but I did get my dream bookshelf! While at Park Mall, I spied a bookshelf that had a similar design to the one I had in mind. The shop was Air Division, whch I remembered from Home & Decor mags, sell some pretty expensive stuff. Anyway, I braved myself, stepped in, touched and felt the bookshelf then subtly checked the price. Okay, not as expensive as I thought it wld be. After 25% off, it was about $2.3K. Then I saw another shop at the basement, Nakim Home, and after a few enquiries, discovered they do custom-made furniture. So I showed Alex, the owner, a design of the bookshelf which a kind soul had done up for me, and after punching some nbrs, he quoted me $1,800, in solid teak wood in dark walnut finish. Now, I've asked about 3 carpenters previously to quote the bookshelf for me, and the cheapest I got was $1,500 but that was for solid ply and laminate finish. So, I figured I'm getting a good deal for $300 more but in teak wood. So, I confirmed after a feeble attempt at negotiating the price. Good thing is that it'll take 8 weeks for Alex to do the shelves so I hv abt 2 months to save to pay for the balance I'm so happy about the bookshelf Oh, forgot to mention that the shelf would not come with the pull-out stool. I can do without it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Hubby dun want to varnish the sideboard cuz we're already giving it away. I told him we can varnish it and sell it off for like $600 or something. Anybody interested? Picture ??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Picture ??? Okay, pictures here David from Barossa Furniture told me that a similar sideboard will cost abt $1.6k in the shop. Pictures of my chair, in case anyone's interested Side view Back view Sorry for the poor quality, taken w my iPhone. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Wow .... nice :D If you want to give away, I don't mind. I think it can fit to our house Maybe sell w/o varnish? Then next time, we engage David to varnish Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Wow .... nice :D If you want to give away, I don't mind. I think it can fit to our house Maybe sell w/o varnish? Then next time, we engage David to varnish Sorry hor...somebody already chope leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
england 0 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Sorry hor...somebody already chope leh... Hey there! Can't believe you are giving away the chairs!? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Hey there! Can't believe you are giving away the chairs!? No no not e chairs. I'm keeping them. I'm giving away my sideboard. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 great that you've sorted this out! one less thing to think about.... i like your chairs too, very classy and won't go out of style, not too trendy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 29, 2010 Wow ... that's fast. Congrats for the person, it's a nice sideboard Sorry hor...somebody already chope leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 (edited) Found it! This is what I hope my dining set will look like after varnish and upholstery. Just need to convince my hubby to go for full upholstery (Picture copyright www.julian-bowen.co.uk) Edited April 30, 2010 by Umaisarah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Do they provide a service to revarnish a wood main door ? Eh, sorry Ngunadi, I didn't notice your question. I visiting their shop tmrw. Will ask David. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 (edited) RENO PICTURE STORY - CHAP 4: DECKING OF BALCONY Decking of balcony took place yesterday. The men took only 1 day to finish, even though they came late (12 nn instead of the agreed 10 am). Job done was pretty good, the varnish or oil used for the bamboo planks were darker than what I expected, and which I preferred, so am happy abt how it turned out. But let the pictures tell the story Living Room Balcony Close up These are strand woven bamboo planks on a chengal base (which u can't see). Doesn't require regular re-staining like chengal, but would need oiling for good maintenance. It has a matt, non-slip surface. Master Bedroom Balcony Pictures of some more lights which were installed last week. My MBR Hanging Light - personally chosen by Dear Hubby who wanted a moon in the bedroom. This was the cheapest of this type of light in the size that we wanted (abt 35 inches diameter). A shop at Balestier was selling a slightly bigger one for $290. We got this for $190 at a shop at Jln Besar. And finally my Ice Cube light in the passageway. It's supposed to be in a pair but the 2nd one didn't get installed cuz the guards chased the workers out at 2 pm last Saturday! There's also an Ice Cube in the Entrance Foyer. Edited April 30, 2010 by Umaisarah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Thanks ... currently my main door has black varnish and i think it's very ugly ... but thinking whether to get new fire-rated door or i revarnish the current one ... Eh, sorry Ngunadi, I didn't notice your question. I visiting their shop tmrw. Will ask David. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted May 2, 2010 RENO PICTURE STORY - CHAP 4: DECKING OF BALCONY Decking of balcony took place yesterday. The men took only 1 day to finish, even though they came late (12 nn instead of the agreed 10 am). Job done was pretty good, the varnish or oil used for the bamboo planks were darker than what I expected, and which I preferred, so am happy abt how it turned out. But let the pictures tell the story Living Room Balcony Close up These are strand woven bamboo planks on a chengal base (which u can't see). Doesn't require regular re-staining like chengal, but would need oiling for good maintenance. It has a matt, non-slip surface. Master Bedroom Balcony HEY!! The decking looks great!! can't wait for mine to be up next week!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted May 6, 2010 HEY!! The decking looks great!! can't wait for mine to be up next week!! Thanks, thanks! Mistake to have it installed before reno was over. It's now back to being dirty and dusty Share this post Link to post Share on other sites