Umaisarah

Natural Living

Hi! Hi! Wah, din realize been almost a mth since my last post! Been superbz with move and work.

House is still messy but not as bad as last week. All the TV and electronic stuff are hooked up last weekend, so we finally get to try out our new, free PS3. With a very tame Lego Indiana Jones game :D

My dining set is STILL NOT DELIVERED yet. Very upset about that. Apparently got miscommunication btw the shop and me (meaning the shop owner MISINFORMED me). Said it will take 10 days (2 weeks to be safe) but now its been almost five weeks already. Grrr.....Now he's in the UK cuz his mom is sick. and I hv no idea when my dining set will be ready. So we're eating off the coffee table.

Ngunadi, if you're reading this, better check and re-check with D when the sideboard will be ready in case he 'misinformed' you also.

Also upset that the main contractor for the condo didn't want to repair my store door. It came off the hinges on a paticularly windy afternoon abt a week before I even moved in. But when they checked, they said it's due to the fault of the reno, and since warranty period over, they are not responsible for repairing it. Grrr.....but the developer person was nice enough to offer to fix the hinges if I bought the hinges myself. In the end, my hubby said he will do it himself.

Dunno whether it's just my place, but is it superhot these days??? There's hardly any breeze or wind, and my place is very warm even in the evenings. I miss my windy and breezy Strathmore flat (ok, stop reminiscing and whining!)

Was planning to post the final pictures when the dining set comes home, but since I dunno wen that'll be, I'll post some pictures later tonight.

Till later!

Hi! Hi! Wah, din realize been almost a mth since my last post! Been superbz with move and work.

House is still messy but not as bad as last week. All the TV and electronic stuff are hooked up last weekend, so we finally get to try out our new, free PS3. With a very tame Lego Indiana Jones game :D

My dining set is STILL NOT DELIVERED yet. Very upset about that. Apparently got miscommunication btw the shop and me (meaning the shop owner MISINFORMED me). Said it will take 10 days (2 weeks to be safe) but now its been almost five weeks already. Grrr.....Now he's in the UK cuz his mom is sick. and I hv no idea when my dining set will be ready. So we're eating off the coffee table.

Ngunadi, if you're reading this, better check and re-check with D when the sideboard will be ready in case he 'misinformed' you also.

Wow ... D mentioned about you ordered a dining set from him. I would have presumed that he would have delivered it.

I would have to give him a call about the sideboard. He mentioned the timeline is 3 weeks, which supposed to be this week. But, i think I have to check with him again.

PS: I didn't get the ps3 (from lightings.com.sg) from u but I got it from someone else who also won it from lightings.com.sg :P :P

Wow ... D mentioned about you ordered a dining set from him. I would have presumed that he would have delivered it.

I would have to give him a call about the sideboard. He mentioned the timeline is 3 weeks, which supposed to be this week. But, i think I have to check with him again.

PS: I didn't get the ps3 (from lightings.com.sg) from u but I got it from someone else who also won it from lightings.com.sg :P :P

It's actually my old dining set that he's refurbishing. I find D a bit cranky and odd. He seems supernice when I met him at my house and at his shop, but when correspond over SMS, he's sometimes quite nasty in his choice of words and very rude at times. Is this a British quality? Maybe England can comment, hah hah. Anyway, not sure if he's still in the UK or not if u intend to SMS him.

Wah, how u track down the other person who won the PS3? Got any game to recommend or lobang for cheap games? I find them quite ex leh.....

It's actually my old dining set that he's refurbishing. I find D a bit cranky and odd. He seems supernice when I met him at my house and at his shop, but when correspond over SMS, he's sometimes quite nasty in his choice of words and very rude at times. Is this a British quality? Maybe England can comment, hah hah. Anyway, not sure if he's still in the UK or not if u intend to SMS him.

Wah, how u track down the other person who won the PS3? Got any game to recommend or lobang for cheap games? I find them quite ex leh.....

Hmm ... I also found him supernice when I met him at his shop. Since I dropped in my sideboard, I haven't contacted him. I tot I would give him some time. I also want to "test" his customer service whether he would initiate to update me or not.

I dropped him sms, if no reply til this afternoon, i'd give him a call.

The other person who won the PS3 is a fellow forum-ers also. I don't need to track the other person :P

It depends on what you like to play. Could try to play Final Fantasy XIII, the safe bet. Or, for more adventerous, should play God of War Trilogy. (can get the older edition that has GoW 1 and 2) then finish it of with GoW 3.

Usually, I go to gameaxis forum for 2nd hand game. It's much cheaper. I also don't buy new games :P

Umaisairah, D has replied my sms. He said, I could collect my sideboard on Sunday. Which is ... slightly difficult because my mover contact doesn't do moving on Sunday :(

I'll see what I can do. He also mentioned he is in UK now.

hi, for ur materbedroom balcony, can i ask did u install any doors to it? can you show me a pic of it? my new hse hv a balcony in the masterbedroom and im wondering wat doors sld i install to it...

Umaisairah, D has replied my sms. He said, I could collect my sideboard on Sunday. Which is ... slightly difficult because my mover contact doesn't do moving on Sunday :(

I'll see what I can do. He also mentioned he is in UK now.

Wah, so good yours is ready! I hvn't check with him again. Each time I chk with him, I kena scolding so now got phobia.

Anyway, u can collect on Monday, mah....let the sideboard sit there in his shop lah :)

hi, for ur materbedroom balcony, can i ask did u install any doors to it? can you show me a pic of it? my new hse hv a balcony in the masterbedroom and im wondering wat doors sld i install to it...

Er...the doors came with the house. I just need to put in curtains, that's all.

But surely u need doors to shield the room from the elements, right? and for privacy and security? Is yours a private or HDB flat?

Wah, so good yours is ready! I hvn't check with him again. Each time I chk with him, I kena scolding so now got phobia.

Anyway, u can collect on Monday, mah....let the sideboard sit there in his shop lah :)

That's what he said .. If monday, means i can only collect the next saturday otherwise no one at home.

I'm waiting eagerly for my sideboard .... ;)

Reno Picture Story, Chapter ??? (lost track aredy)

Okay, finally took pictures yesterday nite, with a proper camera this time, not my crummy iPhone.

View of the hallway and living room from the main door. That's the Crystal Homes shoe cabinet on the right with some dusty Ikea candles on top.

4680833546_a2e707b8cc.jpg

Turn to your left and you get a peek of the kitchen from the glass window. That's quite a nice design touch as it brings in light into the kitchen and vice versa. You can also know who's in and out of the house, so you won't get a shock when your hubby comes home and suddenly appear at the kitchen door, heh heh :D

4680835622_dcd4cc2e49.jpg

Moving on to the kitchen first!

View of the tiny kitchen from the entrance and looking into the yard area. The microwave above the washing machine has been with the family for close to 10 years now. National brand is the best! I dun think they make this type of microwave anymore. Anyway, the cabinets above the microwave was something I added in, that's why the colour is a bit off from the rest. Bargained it down from $500 to $250 with my ID cuz she made it without me agreeing to it first, hah hah. See that trolley next to the washing machine? Got it from Howards, very useful if you hv narrow spaces. Helper put all the detergent, softener, peg holder etc there so it's easy to take when want to use. So now my eldest can also do her own laundry :D

4680197971_5d730e63c9.jpg

Btw, yes we're going to do something with the mops, cans of paints hanging out by the window. My hubby has yet to sort out the store. Those things are going in there obviously.

View of the kitchen from the yard. I love my collection of blue plates tt you see on top of the dish drainer. Collected on my two trips to Turkey.

Can't find a good place for it except in the kitchen for the time being.

4680831534_ac4e56a49d.jpg

Close-up of the kitchen. That thing on top of the toaster is actually a fan. Since we can't install a ceiling fan, we got a cute little box fan to provide some relief for my helper when she's slaving over a hot stove :D

4680195923_b36a59ca19.jpg

Oh yah, the built-in oven which comes with the condo DOESN'T WORK! :furious: Tried to bake some chicken with the oven on Sunday (helper's day off), and half the house tripped! Not sure if it's to do with the electrical wiring or the oven. And now I can't find the warranty card. Haiz......

Moving on to the kitchen first!

View of the tiny kitchen from the entrance and looking into the yard area. The microwave above the washing machine has been with the family for close to 10 years now. National brand is the best! I dun think they make this type of microwave anymore. Anyway, the cabinets above the microwave was something I added in, that's why the colour is a bit off from the rest. Bargained it down from $500 to $250 with my ID cuz she made it without me agreeing to it first, hah hah. See that trolley next to the washing machine? Got it from Howards, very useful if you hv narrow spaces. Helper put all the detergent, softener, peg holder etc there so it's easy to take when want to use. So now my eldest can also do her own laundry :D

4680197971_5d730e63c9.jpg

Btw, yes we're going to do something with the mops, cans of paints hanging out by the window. My hubby has yet to sort out the store. Those things are going in there obviously.

View of the kitchen from the yard. I love my collection of blue plates tt you see on top of the dish drainer. Collected on my two trips to Turkey.

Can't find a good place for it except in the kitchen for the time being.

4680831534_ac4e56a49d.jpg

Close-up of the kitchen. That thing on top of the toaster is actually a fan. Since we can't install a ceiling fan, we got a cute little box fan to provide some relief for my helper when she's slaving over a hot stove :D

4680195923_b36a59ca19.jpg

Oh yah, the built-in oven which comes with the condo DOESN'T WORK! :furious: Tried to bake some chicken with the oven on Sunday (helper's day off), and half the house tripped! Not sure if it's to do with the electrical wiring or the oven. And now I can't find the warranty card. Haiz......

if the oven trips the house circuit, its fine. its just that the heating element is damp and needs to be on for some time to "burn' off the moisture. just continue to switch it on and trip maybe 2-3more times then it will be fine.

Really? We noticed that it trips about 1-2 minutes after it's on, and if the temp is above 75 degrees. Weird. Ok, will try as you suggested. but we hv tried it already a few times and still trip leh....